Lynchburg, VA 
Peaks View Park Share
Uploaded By: heymistahdj Hole #7
3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
View from the Tee- Hole 7



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Still fun despite lower rating

1    10/26/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.7 Years
Pros: This course is certainly fun to play despite being a pitch and putt course for all but probably 5 holes.

The first 5-6 holes were actually pretty cool. They're more of your typical disc golf shots, with mostly open fields and sparse trees protecting the basket. They're still mid-to-fairway distance, but you'd actually be proud of an ace on those holes. Same can't be said on the remaining.

Ok, so I mentioned aces. Yea, you'll have a lot of opportunities for an ace out here. Realistically every hole could be aced, with hole 17 being the only one where it wouldn't be easy. BUT, it's hard to be proud of a jump-putt ace...unless you like the novelty of it.

The tee pads were concrete and plenty big enough. Heck, they could've been toe boards and they'd have been big enough for most holes!

The signage was also great. No navigation signs that I recall but you probably won't need them. I played with a local, however your only stumbling blocks might be finding holes 1 and 7.
Cons: The biggest drawback of this course is the hole variety, or lack there of. Once you hit hole 7, you'll be throwing short (Very short) putter shots until you get to hole 17. When I say short, I mean I jump putted from the tee pad on 2-3 holes...

With the above being said, you certainly won't be able to hone all aspects of your game at Peaks View. I've been told Liberty's disc golf team practices here with a putter and mid restriction, which makes total sense. Don't expect to come here and pull out drivers.

Several of the baskets are in pretty rough shape. The course is old and has been played quite a bit. Several baskets are leaning pretty bad/chains are starting to rust/ basket welds are broken. It wouldn't hurt (during a redesign?) to get some new catchers!

I'm not going to go into a big rant about additional con's that this course has (no water-shots, etc...) because it doesn't warrant the nit-picking. The glaring flaw is the length of the holes/variety of shots. I'd rather this be a longer 9-hole course that could tailor to a well-rounded game.
Other Thoughts: The other park amenities looked great upon pulling in, but you might find it difficult to find the first tee, which is down the hill from the lot and to the left of the picnic area.

I caught myself thinking, man I wish all of the holes were like the first 5. I mean, I love to change things up as much as the next guy with a short putter hole, but 10+ in a row is too much.

If you read too much into my con's you might misunderstand my overall consensus of Peaks View. Yea I ragged on it, but it's actually pretty fun to play. I'll definitely stop by and play it again whenever I'm in town. I just don't expect to get any real "practice" out of it other than up-shots.

 Fun Little Putter, Mid Course

1    6/18/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Short, but FUN. With holes ranging from 100-250', Peaks View is a shorter course that would be an ideal place for beginners to learn the game and for advanced players to work on their putter/mid drives and "upshot" game. Even though some of the holes were extremely short, the shots were pretty fun and required you to hit a gap, or curve the disc around trees, or used the elevation (or threat of elevation) well.
- Cubby Aces All Day. Some of the holes on this course are extremely short putter shots. I had an ace (the non-Cubby variety) bounce out of the bottom of the basket during my single round at Peaks View. If this were my home course, I would easily have 10,000 aces by now.
- The Front 6. The first 6 holes at Peaks View were pretty decent holes… short, but decent. Open city park grassy fairways type shots that utilized the trees, vegetation and elevation wisely. They were also some of the longer and more demanding holes on the course.
Cons:
- Some of the Holes are Ridiculously Short. Once the course made it into the woods, it shortened up considerably. I don't remember having to throw anything longer than a putter from about Hole 7-17.
- Where's the Course? I pulled into 3 different parking lots, each of which had their own neighborhood maze of roads to follow to get into the park, before I was able to locate the course's parking lot. This is probably my fault for having not written down the directions and for following my GPS, but I eventually got there.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I had a blast at Peaks View… after all, who can't have fun shooting a 12 under, with 5 of the 6 missed holes hitting metal for birdie. The only hole I didn't hit metal in 2 on was Hole 17. The course was perfect for beginners due to the length, but suitable for advanced players to practice their putter drives / upshot game. I like aces, and I especially like aces in other states than my home state, so I would definitely play / practice here again if in the region for work… I would however, probably not make a special trip to Peaks View from I-81 if traveling by on a road trip.
- Saigon Palace. I like to eat somewhat adventurous foods and decided to eat at Saigon Palace, a Vietnamese restaurant in Lynchburg. The reviews on Yelp claimed that it was better than the Vietnamese restaurant in Roanoke, which I enjoyed. IT WAS NOT. I would not go back there. (just in case you were thinking about doing so)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Round

1    7/24/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice beginner course.
-easy navigation without a map
-concrete tees
-mix of open/wooded
-some elevation changes
-informative tee signs
-clean/well kept course and facilities
Cons: It's hard to find many cons that are a major issues but most holes are very short with limited challenges for advanced players.
Becareful teeing off many pads have a drop-off at the end of the tee. (you don't need a long run up anyhow.)
-some baskets in rough shape (bent, leaning)
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a fun short course and it's worth playing if you're nearby. Water hazards aren't a huge worry unless you have a really bad throw. My favorite hole was #17 because it's longer with more obstacles. Park near the bathrooms where you will see the sign pointing you towards the 1st tee down the path.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner (mostly) course

5+    4/10/1998   9/12/2008
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2011
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: For me? Short. Can fit in 18 during lunch "hour", and can be done with one or two discs (Good putt/approach and a stable mid) so no need to hump the whole bag
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: My previous home course (since before the baskets went in). Plays very short and very quick. Was designed, intended to be beginner friendly but still provides a *bit* of challenge to experienced players wanting to work on their short game.

Man this review went in before the pros and cons section. . . well, and I just got back to Lynchburg to play it a few times. It has definitely aged well.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.