Lynchburg, VA 
Peaks View Park Share
Uploaded By: heymistahdj Hole #3
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
View from the Tee-Hole 3



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Short Game Course

1    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 0. Great maps with distance and par
1. Short
2. Concrete Tees
3. Navigation is simple
4. Elevation changes
5. Mixture of open and wooded holes
6. Bathrooms, trashcans, playground, tennis courts, shade, baseball field, and a water fountain
Cons: 1. Some holes are too short
2. Pars are too high (Should be all 3's)
3. Walking path near the first 5 holes
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed this course. This was a great, short, very fun, enjoyable course to test and tone your short game. While being a very easy course, the elevation in the wooded holes still leaves you enough of a challenge to feel accomplished. Leave the driver in the car because you won't be needing it. With the average length of a hole at probably 175 feet this is the course to get your first ace on. This course will challenge your accuracy so be careful. Baskets aren't the best, but hey they do the job. A couple of the wooded holes were unique. Can't wait to play this course again. BTW course starts just past the tennis courts.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a Goodie

5+    2/15/2012   2/16/2012
Review By: pdiddy71
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads, easy to follow, low lost disc chances, good for quick evening rounds
Cons: needs better erosion and ground maintenance on some bases of baskets. overcrowding during nice days and summer, parking lot parallels hole 18 - problem for beginners, softball game players and watchers are possible obstacles on hole 6.
Other Thoughts: For those that don't know, this course was built in 1998. This was before most of the high speed drivers that are out now. Very fun course for introducing people to the game and improving mid-range, & putt and approach skills. This course is friendly for all levels of ability and ages. My Dad has played here several times, and he is 68. Hopefully the City will able to build another course to help alleviate the overcrowding at times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great First Course

5+    1/2/2012   1/2/2012
Review By: frabs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees
Good signs
Good variety of shots
Great Flow
Wooded holes value control and accuracy over distance
Cons: Tees are kind of small
Erosion
No really long holes to bomb a drive
Little Leauge baseball spectators sit on the fairways of holes 5 and 6 on weekends during the season
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and where I learned the game. The tight wooded fairways taught me the value of learning to throw a putter on tee shots, which I feel has made my game much better. I can play this course in 40 minutes to an hour, so it is great for getting in a quick round. I would say that it is a perfect course for learning the game on, but it will begin to feel easy after a while.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

2-4    6/28/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for a beginner (which is DEFINITELY me). I got my Starter Set for Father's Day the week before my first round at this course, and learned a lot from playing here.

While this isn't a long course by any stretch of the imagination, it requires some good course management and some accurate throwing. There are a few holes that I would consider wide open, but most of the course is certainly designed with risk-reward in mind. This is the place to go if you want to work on accuracy and your short game. Leave the driver at home -- even as a beginner, I I threw my Leopard driver past a couple of the holes the second time I played here.

#13 is certainly a birdie hole for a newb (I've done it every time I played here, including my first round ever playing disc golf), and I'm sure that a more experienced player could throw an ace with no problem.

#5 is a tough hole if you're a backhand thrower. As has been mentioned by other reviewers, you need a forehand to score well here -- which means I don't score well on #5. Practice, practice, practice!!
Cons: Lots of non-golfing traffic on the first six holes, especially on the weekends. You've got pavilions and baseball fields to contend with until you get to the woods on #7. I even had a kid pick up my disc and bring it over to me while I was playing up #5 -- thankfully I remembered where it had landed.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for beginners to learn the game without feeling the pressure to bomb a drive. You'll learn accuracy and strategy, and have some fun without getting overly frustrated. Great place to bring some beginners, too!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

3/9/2008   3/9/2008
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good course for beginners and the player who wants a lot of tricky approach shots. it's a nice course to just go play a relaxing 18 on. well laid out, with all but 2 tees immediately obvious after finishing the previous hole. Every tee is concrete, with solid maps, even when you can't see the basket you know exactly where it is. it's extremely fun to play
Cons: it's in and among the middle of the park. I've hit numerous things, including people, dogs, cars, and i've had numerous people that have no idea what disc golf is mess with my disc, not to mention people that take 10 minutes to play every hole. one of these things happen probably every 10 rounds I play though, so it's not that often. Also, the sewage pond on 10 is pretty nasty to lose a disc in (I almost lost my roc in it once-that would have been a day of mourning)
Other Thoughts: This is my home course that I have played well over 100 rounds on. that sounds ridiculous, but 8 rounds per week on it adds up quick. I've made up a second set of tees to make it more difficult, because most tees have a path behind them. The people aren't all that annoying, plus it's a great course to improve your approach game on. 1-easy downhill to uphill approach shot that bends slightly right. 2-wide open 275 straight shot with two big pines guarding the pin for us right to left throwers. THere use to be a huge tree right smack in the middle of the fairway that made this hole difficult, but it died a little over a year ago. 3-branches guard a low hammer from the tee, but it's easily the most accurate throw on this hole, as most other shots will leave you in bad putting position or create a huge roll for ya. 4-the hole is up the hill on the right, but tough to get to. the easiest path for a birdie is straight through and then putt it 20 feet up a hill-going through the trees on the right of the tee is risky at best. 5-either a small hyzer shot or a small 2 curve will work, although it's the toughest hole to birdie-and the longest at only 290. 6-just over the crest of the hill, one of my friends aced this hole before he ever saw the basket. 7-somehow this was the first hole i ever aced. you've got to either throw a high, high hyzer right or a quick left to right curving throw that flattens out after 50 feet. 8-straight up the hill. all you have to do is miss the trees and you've got a good birdie putt (the basket is broken on this hole because of wear and tear). 9-right over the hill, shortest hole in the course. be careful not to roll-i've got 100 feet past the hole before. 10-just don't go in the sewage pond. 11-this hole will put 3 strokes on your score if you're not careful. just play it straight, and don't roll down the hill. 12-this hole is uphill, but the putting area is a downhill slope, so be sure to let it slide up to the hole. 13-easy, 150ish hole. stay a little left, and you've dropped a (or another) stroke. 14-keep it straight or go right with some hyzer. 15-play it short, and let the discs natural hyzer take over-this hole is all about touch. 16-you can go right, straight, or left, but neither way is that good. take a good look before you throw this one. 17-not the longest, but the furthest hole since it's uphill 20 feet or so. this one can be tricky, but it's got a good path. The pines guard the hole, but if a straight shot naturally hyzers at the very end, it'll slide right below the pin. 18-this hole is wierd. through the trees, left 50 feet, and on the side of a huge hill lies this hole. just don't roll (it's a good 150 feet to the bottom of the hill back near the sewage pond.) Good luck, it's a great course to shoot your best score ever on!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lotsa Ace Possibilities!

7/26/2003   2/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2008
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's in a lovely manicured city park. The course design is well thought out utilizing the grounds as much as the designers could. I really enjoyed the back nine playing up and around the small mountain/hill. These holes are short, technical shots with plenty of ace possibilities there. But you can still get in trouble on them and I still didn't rack up any aces.
Cons: The front nine play through the high-usage park area so be careful of pedistrians, dogs, bicylists, ballplayers, etc. There are no big air holes for you big arm gents.
Other Thoughts: I'd love to live near this course! This would really be a fun little home course. Between the ace possibilities and the elevation throws on the back nine, I found Peaks View Park to be one enjoyable throw in the park.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.