Lynchburg, VA 
Peaks View Park Share
Uploaded By: heymistahdj Hole #11
3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
View from the Tee- Hole 11



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great Starter

5+    3/17/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: dgsouthpaw
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of the most beautiful in the area. Holes 1, 2, 6, and 18 have a great view, especially at sunset/sunrise.
There are very few holes where you can just put everything behind it unless you're playing with a midrange disc (which a lot of people choose to do) It was my first course and I have played it many many times, even though I have been trying to expand my horizons I keep coming back because it's a great way to unwind. The thing that stands out most to me about this course can be summed up in one word, peaceful. It's very serene, and while the woods are somewhat open, they still provide a bit of solace.
Possibly one of the best courses to work on improving putting as the trees provide slight interference and there is enough elevation change to make the short throws interesting. On several holes the trees are thick but never too thick. Very fun course
Cons: After it rains the course get very muddy, especially hole 4 which can remain muddy for days. Not much to not like about this course, although the second time I played it ate my disc I can hardly blame the course for that.
Other Thoughts: With the exception of hole 4, the course is very well kept and very pretty, it provides a good bit of a challenge, especially to beginners. I can guarantee any first time player will want more after playing this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Peaks View

5+    1/24/2011   1/26/2011
Review By: Jeremy Reynolds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Peaks view is a great way to learn the game. It was the first course i ever played and since then I have scored my first ace on hole three. The holes are not super long and you do not need to have a beast arm to play the course. Holes 1-6 are mostly open with a few trees which add some cool obstacles. The course is pretty technical at times because holes 7-16 are in the woods and you need to be accurate to keep a good score. Being accurate is how this course will help you become a better player.
Cons: The upkeep around the park is good, but it could be a little better. More grass would be a plus especially on holes 3-6 because of all the mud that gets everywhere if you play when its wet. The park is really nice though so its not really a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Peaks view is alot of fun to go out and play a few quick games at because the course can be played through quickly if you hustle.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great, Short, Ace!!!

5+    7/6/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Han_Tzu
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a great confidence booster course. For any beginner grab your disc and start throwing it. Every hole is a chance to learn something new. The elevation changes and the wooded area (from 7-16) are not terrible challenges. You can learn throw many shots with this course. As I have gotten better I have left my drivers in the bag and played the whole course with my Mid-Range Buzzz. It is short so you can play through a round or two in a day or just squeeze in a game. Many Ace opportunity's, also a good drive and good putt may land you well under par for the day.
Cons: Only real con would be the baskets have seen their share of abuse from weather or a individual that decide the inanimate object needed a thrashing because he sucks at putting. Basket 11 the top is being held on by rocks balancing it to the pole. I called the park and left a message to no avail!  Some of the other baskets look like the will be joining 11 soon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/28/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is located in a scenic park and several of the holes are played by softball fields and soccer fields and along walking paths.

There is a great mixture of trees, slopes, and open holes. The woods shots are not impossible and there are plenty of birdie, and even a couple eagle opportunities.

Each hole is clearly marked, the tees are in great condition and there is a sign with the hole layout, distance, and par for each hole.

Just about impossible to lose a disc on this course unless you roll one into the pond.
Cons: The course is great for a beginner as far as length and open shots, but for anyone with more experience, the course is short. Most of the holes only average 200 feet, with the longest not even touching 300 feet. Therefore, if you are looking for a challenge or improving your game, this wouldn't be a course for you.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course for beginners. And for all others, it is still a nice course to play where everything is laid out nicely and kept up. And it'll be a confidence booster when you tally up your score! Will definitely visit again!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Mini Disc Golf Course of Disc Golf

5+    7/14/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: MrDger
Played: 50  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A great course for all skill levels.
- Advanced players will love the ace and birdie runs.
- Beginners will get to work on the basics of the game and have a lot of fun as well.
- You can use most throws on any hole, I've seen people hammer the whole course.
- Concrete pads with good signs on every hole.
- Great use of elevation, ranging from extreme uphill to moderately downhill.
- Good mix of hyzers, annies, and straight shots.
- Easy to get multiple rounds in very quickly, shortest round I've gotten in without running is 25 minutes.
- Good mix of open/wooded holes (about half & half)
- Bathrooms between #18 and #1 with water fountain.
- Trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: - Pond that comes into play on #6 and #10, if it goes in there, most likely, you're not getting it back.
- Hole #5's easiest throw for a RHBH is a easy hyzer over a walkway and near a pavilion, so you have to pay attention to other park-goers.
- Hole #6's tee is located right next to one of the baseball fields, which I've seen people use as a place to set up their chairs.
Other Thoughts: - The best place to park is the parking lot by the tennis courts that you get to by using the Ivy Creek Lane entrance (170 Ivy Creek Lane).
- #1's tee from the parking lot is past the tennis courts and pavilion.

:: Hole Notes ::
#4 - If you've got a flick (RHFH), use it to get through the trees and have it fade towards the basket.
#5 - The absolute ideal shot in my opinion would be a RHFH flick that would annie and then come back towards the basket at the end, but generally just use the big easy hyzer route.
#6 - For a RHBH, either a long annie or a flick would work, just don't overshoot the hole to the right, otherwise the pond comes into play.
#7 - One of the more difficult tee shots on the course, keep it going from left to right the whole time and you'll be fine.
#8 - A hammer up the hill will work every time.
#10 - Hammer works here as well.
#11 - A spotter on this hole wouldn't be a bad idea, you get bad rolls often. If you can land it to the left side of the basket, you'll have a good chance for the 2.
#16 - Either a flick on the left side of the fairway or an accurate backhand through the trees on the right work well.
#17 - I've seen rollers work on this hole, but a hyzer around all of the trees over the garden is the easiest shot for me.
#18 - A low soft backhand through and under the trees put you right near the basket. Just watch the hill to the right as it'll roll all the way back to 17's tee if you're not careful.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

4/27/2008   4/28/2008
Review By: PVP#3Ace
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2008
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course is short, easy to do three or four rounds a day. The city keeps good care of the course making sure that it stays nice. This is a good course to develop your skills and enjoy a quick game. There are many holes which can be aced with ease, almost all can be birdied.
Cons: Course weaves in and out of a public park. Many in this area are not aware of disc golf, therefore they sit, play, etc. in the middle of the course. Some of the baskets are old and the baskets have rusted and are barely connected to the pole. The course does get very muddy with rain or after rain.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1- Moderately easy. Over 200 feet, slight right. Power throwers can easily birdie this hole.
Hole #2- Par 4, another easy hole. Power throwers again should be able to get a birdie or ace this one. There used to be a huge three blocking the path, but lightening go it.
Hole #3- First hole I ever aced. Straight shot to the whole, about 160 feet.
Hole #4- There are trees blocking the path to the hole. This one can be birdied, but it is difficult to do so.
Hole #5- A tree blocks a straight throw to the hole, but you can hyzer it and get close to the basket. The hole is near a pavilion so you have to watch out for people.
Hole #6-Last hole before you enter the woods. The basket is over a hill and to your right. A strong anhyzer will putt you in a good spot for an eagle.
Hole #7- Follow the path to the hole, or go straight through the woods. Hole is made for a left handed thrower.
Hole #8- Basically straight uphill. The elevation change make the hole difficult to judge.
Hole #9- Over a slight hill, but basket is visible. An ace is a real possibility on this hole.
Hole #10- Watch out for the water trap to the right. The hole is on a hill which leads right to the water. This hole is an easy birdie.
Hole #11- Enter hole is on a steep slope. Don't be surprised if your first throw rolls down the hill.
Hole #12- The is a tree that curves right into your path (it's been hit MANY times). Avoid that and you are in good shape for a birdie.
Hole #13- Throw a roller on this hole or a slight anhyzer. Easy stuff.
Hole #14- Avoid the trees, and you can get an easy ace.
Hole #15- Basket is slightly to the left. Another hole where an ace is a good possibility.
Hole #16- This hole is blocked by many trees. Basically throw it however you prefer and hope it gets to the hole.
Hole #17- You are now out of the woods. Longest hole on the course. For those with power an eagle is very possible.
Hole #18- Get through the trees and the basket is on the side of a hill. Don't throw a roller or you'll end up at the bottom of the mammoth hill!

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.