Kingsport, TN 
Warriors Path State Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #23 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Warriors...Come Out and Get Lost?

1    6/26/2016   7/14/2016
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 129  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes if you're a quantity over quality type. Concrete tees scattered around nice woods in a nice park with functional baskets. Some longer, open holes are sprinkled into the mix to break up the wooded monotony. You'll be throwing your mids and putters a lot out here as distances aren't very long and the lines are usually straight and tight through the woods. If you can do work with a straight putter or mid you'll bag a lot of birdies here. If you struggle with straight shots off the tee you'll get roughed up a bit but this is an old course so the rough isn't too punitive. There's a pinch of elevation change and a creek comes a bit into play to pretty up the round and give it a little character, a raised basket too. The third nine has some really nice, Harmon-esque terrain with big rocks and such.
Cons: Really showing its age. If you can find a tee sign, its info is sparse and old. I mean look at the pics of the tee signs on here, that is like minimalist art at its finest. Little trails run all over the place, maybe they take you to the next hole, maybe they don't. The baskets have seen better days but are well functional. The flow is rather goofy at times, especially with the third nine holes considered. Navigating the first 18 isn't terrible since it's mostly in the woods and intuitive (there will be a path, just maybe not the right one but a path nonetheless). The third nine seems newer and way less intuitive on transitions and is more open so you'll be trekking around the property a bit to find the next hole.

Design-wise there is a lot of repetitiveness with the woods golf. I can't remember if I played any doglegs except for hole 5 which I possibly played from the wrong tee due to lack of signs. Just a lot of straight holes, sometimes ending a bit to the right (you'll mop up if you can FH a mid). The holes aren't bad per se, it's just that their challenge is mostly mitigated by newer disc technology surpassing the design.
Other Thoughts: I think this course could use a face lift. It might be better off starting with the third nine and then combining the original 18 into a more versatile nine holes that gets rid of a lot of straight, blah holes, annoying walks, and adds some doglegs and maybe a legitimate par 4 or two.

Overall it's a fun course, just a bear to navigate the first time around. I don't know if I'd recommend it to someone on a roadtrip unless they bring a map, otherwise they'd spend as much time hole finding as playing disc golf and that eats up a lot of time, time you could be spending at Harmon HIlls or even Sugar Hollow. But it's a deuce-or-die romp through some nice woods and mowed lawns so bring your Viper, Cyclone, Stingray and Aviars and enjoy the time warp.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great course, needs directions

5+    5/26/2016   5/26/2016
Review By: MaxZero1496
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging holes
Good mixture
Tee-offs are in good repair
Baskets are highly visible
Cons: No signs or directions and lots of random paths...extremely easy to skip holes or get lost completely
Other Thoughts: The first 18 holes are fun, but the last 9 are my favorite.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun and technical without being too demanding

1    6/4/2015   8/29/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 119  Reviewed: 117  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warriors Path is a classic old-school course that offers a diverse set of 27 holes spread throughout the park. You get the opportunity to play both tight, technical holes in the woods as well as chances to open up your arm. It's for this reason that I think the course appeals to a wide range of players, evident by the large crowd that we saw on a Thursday evening. What keeps things fresh throughout the round is that you are constantly traversing in and out of the woods, hitting up various patches of forest among the expanse of the park in between open sections.

Roughly 2/3 of the holes are in the woods, so the course emphasizes technicality a little more than distance. Still, you'll get plenty of chances to air it out with the other 1/3 playing more in the open. With 27 holes, you really get a wide spectrum of hole types.

The designers did a nice job of making sure no holes felt too similar. The design offers different kinds of shots with the use of elevation changes and levels of woodenness. If downhill holes excite you, you'll be plenty satisfied here with different looks for this type of shot. There are some fun downhill wooded shots in 4 and 15, while 6 and 22 give you a chance to really let loose being more in the open.

A few holes do a good job of changing appearance/terrain from tee to basket. 25 is a fun valley shot that plays down through a tight fairway, out over an open section, and up and to the left through another set of trees. 18 is another one that uses a combination of terrain, playing from in the open into a patch of trees.

The fairways were very well maintained and the grass cut short.

The course loops back near the parking lot before 19-27.

Plenty of benches help this long round to be less grueling.
Cons: The wear and tear is showing on this 35-year-old course. The baskets are rusting (though still performed up to standard) and some of the tees are cracked. There were a few tee signs missing.

It truly has an old-school design, which means it's entirely set up in par 3 format. The layout is well-varied within this type of design, but it would appeal to even more players if it had a few par 4's. Because of the par 3 layout, the course leans on the shorter side.

Some of the holes play too close together, added by the busyness of the course. My brother got hit with someone's drive on 6 when he was standing at the tee on 5.

The navigation isn't too hard, but gets confusing in a few spots with other holes close by. Bringing a map can't hurt.
Other Thoughts: This is a great casual course, one to play with friends for a relaxed round because it offers a good balance of difficulty: plenty of technical challenge without being too demanding or punishing. This I didn't mind, coming directly from Harmon Hills to play here. Definitely worth stopping at if you are in the area to play HH and it makes a nice three-course combo with Winged Deer Park also nearby.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Come lick your wounds here after Harmon.

1    6/4/2015   8/12/2015
Review By: Qikly
Played: 99  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Warriors Path State Park DGC offers a lot of bang for your hypothetical buck. It's not just a matter of sheer quantity, though that is here too: Warriors Path's 27 holes feature a lot of variety in distance, line, and woodedness. The emphasis is on technical par 3s that feature well-defined, challenging but fair lines. These run the gamut from ace runs to challenging birdies to tough pars. Distance covers a range of lengths, though for the most part stays within the comfort level of a decently skilled rec player.

The elevation at Warrior's Path is significant and varied, and helps distinguish the course. Fairways run across hillsides, approach dangerous slopes, or move directly with the terrain for uphill and downhill shots. There are in particular a few nice downhill holes, including one with a shallow creek in play. The elevation here can equally play spoiler or act as an aid, helping to keep you on your toes and jazzing up otherwise conventional shots: a few shorter holes become challenging with the accompanying elevation, and a few longer ones become less daunting if still interesting.

Overall, the challenge factor occupies a sweet spot, accommodating a broad range of skill levels. Beginners will find enough inroads to enjoy the course via shorter holes and friendly elevation, while more experienced players will appreciate the variety, with enough trees, distance, and elevation to keep their game engaged.

As a long established course, Warrior's Path is well-worn in a comfortable way. The nearby Winged Deer Park makes for a nice one-two punch of courses.
Cons: The real limitation of Warriors Path is simply its solid but unspectacular design. The strictly par 3 layout isn't deviated from, and although there are a diversity of approaches to this general hole type, the emphasis is almost always on a single shot or hazard. Par 4s and their emphasis on placement and chaining shots together would do a lot to mix up the feel. The varied terrain could certainly accommodate holes with more internal variation.

Some of the final 9 holes seem a bit of an afterthought. They plan in and around a smaller patch of woods than the front 18, and some of the lesser wooded holes seem like transitions rather than being there for their own sake.

The course seems to be popular, and has the potential to get backed up: our Thursday afternoon round was surprisingly busy.

Only one set of tees.
Other Thoughts: Warrior's Path DGC offers a solid round and I'd be more than happy to have it as my home course. The par 3 focus limits it a bit for me, but it offers enough challenge and some great terrain to more than justify a visit. It's nearby the fantastic Harmon Hills, too, so that alone makes it worth a visit.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

5+    4/10/2015   6/6/2015
Review By: bigegan18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course with some open shots, narrow technical shots and everything in between.
Good for practicing driving and mid-range shots.
Cons: Some tee signs were missing.
Foliage is rough on some holes.
Navigation can be hard for visiting players.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to work on driving and mid-range shots. And you are able to use all kinds of shots, back hand, sidearm, roller etc. Some tee signs were missing, so if hole had different pin locations, we had to walk and see where the pin was.
Have also been told by local pros that hole 1, 5, 18 and 21 are par 4 according to pdga standards when in long positions.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

disappointment

1    12/30/2014   12/31/2014
Review By: bigwin321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Good place to practice your mid range game and putting. Cool looks and good use of mandos
Cons: SHORT. Not well marked. Way over rated.
Other Thoughts: If you are thinking of traveling to this course just drive by and say you've seen it and continue on to Harmon Hills. You will be glad you did.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    5/17/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: SikMonkey
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall nice design and layout. Large park set in the beautiful TN mountains. Good mix of shots and a nice challenge.
Cons: Could use better directions between holes and some of the tee pads could use some maintenance. Hole 1 basket was missing.
Other Thoughts: Great park but I like Winged Deer better.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Course for the Experienced Player

5+    5/20/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
Pros:
- Challenging course, tests driving and mid-range abilities.
- Hole maps located at the tee of every hole.
- Variety of hole types; some in narrow wooded areas while others are for distance in open fields.
- Two pin locations for multiple holes.
- Grass and obstacles are well maintained.
Cons:
- In my most recent play, one basket had been stolen and litter was found throughout the course.
- Somewhat difficult to navigate, some holes end with two or three trails around the pin and visiting players may be unsure of where to go next.
- Surrounding foliage can be fairly dense, be weary of bushes with pricks and of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: All holes are either par 3 or 4's, depending on the location of the pin. This course can be very fun as long as the challenges of narrow holes lined with trees don't get in your head. I would certainly recommend playing this course if you ever find yourself in the tri-cities area.

 Good and Varied

5+    3/13/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: lammersk
Played: 37  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of something for everyone. Long straight shots over grass for pins 1, 18, and 27 with a lot woods and hills in between. Pins 23 through 26 are some of the funnest on the course and it is a shame that they are in the less played back nine.

The course has a number of deceptive fairways that look easier than they actually are (5) and some look harder than they really are (15). All in all, you will have to use skill more than power or you will be one of the people I hear thunking into trees (and, yes, I hit them too, but I'm usually cursing too loud to hear my own thunks).
Cons: You don't know where the baskets are. Most have two possible positions and there's no way of knowing which unless you walk out to look.

Crowded. When the weather is good you will be waiting for the guys in front of you to clear and feel pushed because there is a group right behind you. Last weekend, the park was so full I couldn't find a place to park (I left and went to Winged Deer instead). I recommend trying to play in mornings or off times.

Basket 9 is the worst on the course. After a little bit of fairway, it's just buried in a bunch of trees. Some people try skip shots, some just throw and pray. My personal best ricocheted off three trees before coming to rest behind a fourth.

Does anyone par 21? I personally detest this hole, but I think better players than I may find it an appropriate challenge. Still, it should at least be a par 4.

27 is a terrible way to end a course. And it's a shame because 26 is so good. On 27 first you walk down a steep hill to get to the tee. Then you throw back up the same steep hill. Then you trudge up it to see where your disc has gone once you've thrown over its crest. It's not really technically challenging; it's just a pain and saps some fun out of your day right at the very end.

This course badly needs signs telling people where to go to get to the next tee. This is especially bad going from 22 to 23, 23 to 24, and one of the baskets in the first eighteen (can never remember which) that has three paths leading away from it.
Other Thoughts: Over the winter this was the course I played the most. I prefer Winged Deer, but this one is closer to home and I really like quite a few of the holes. I only really have issues with three of the pins and really like most of the rest.

I like the fact that there are 27 pins. Personally, I find this to be just about the perfect length.

It's worth making the trip to play here and worth returning.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 best course so far

2-4    5/4/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: kungfubear
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very challenging for newer players retygjuklhgferyjkuihlkj;<:kjgh
Cons: the garbage cans on the course were over flowing and the back nine could use more upkeep.
Other Thoughts: By far this is the most fun course I've ever played.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.