Kingsport, TN 
Warriors Path State Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9
3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    11/19/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 191  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, very close to the highway.
Great variety - all shots come in to play (except for 600 footers, which I'm fine with). Open holes with great little obstacles. Everyone loves #26. The only two locals I saw on the course (played early on a weekday morning) were very friendly and helpful. Course is well kept. Benches (and rocks and logs to sit on). Lots of privacy. Lots of other park amenities to keep a family occupied. An old park that's aged very well.
Cons: Can be tough finding your way.The currently-posted course map helps some. #1 tee is right past the Warrior's Path sign on the right as you first enter the park. After #1, walk down to the playground (which is awesome), across the bridge, and to the right of the treehouse they're building. Two is down that way. From there it gets easier.
Short. I actually liked that, but for the guys who want to throw 500' a bunch of times - this isn't for you.
Other Thoughts: Took a few minutes to find several tees and then several baskets. However, I played solo and found everything on my own. Once you get past #2 and then #5/6, it's easy. Bring a camera.
I gave it a 4 because it was a great course. I held back because of the navigation (which only affects drop-ins) and because it can be repetitive/short at times. However, all of the holes fit really well. I don't know if they could have done a longer 18 hole course with the layout of this land. This is a great 27-hole course. It doesn't wear out your arm, but it may wear you out if you're not in shape. Wear hiking shoes.

Don't let talk of repetitive holes discourage you. The last 9 are unique and spectacular

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Balance

1    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: chucker10
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Scenic, nice large concrete tee pads, signage on every hole. 27 holes.

Great balanced course. To score well here you have to be accurate and have good placement. Distance does not play in but for a couple of holes and even then it's not much. Good mix between left and right dog legs and elevation changes on the majority of the holes. Very nice layout and extremely fun to play. If you are a beginner to intermediate skill level player you will love this course. The course is very forgiving on most holes where you can have a bad tee shot but a good second shot can bail you out and still par the hole. If you're a highly skilled player you may find this course too easy.
Cons: Can be a bit confusing going from hole to hole in some parts of the course (i.e. from hole 1 to 2). Could use a map. Heavily wooded and easy to lose a disc if you have one that gets away from you slightly. I imagine in the fall this wouldn't be a problem though.
The difficulty of the holes is a little deceiving. You walk up to the tee for the majority of these holes and you're thinking birdie all the way but if your shot is a little off and you don't get any tree love you quickly realize that your aspirations for birdie turned into " I will be happy with a bogey."
Other Thoughts: All in all a great course for beginner and intermediate skill level players and a good course to enhance your short game. Scenic park and great layout. I highly recommend to anyone that is up in the Kingsport area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course!

5+    5/20/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: Prototype
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course offers every shot imaginable. It is very well kept and offers 27 holes. Large to extra large teepads are present on big D holes. The course usually doesnt get too backed up either. Bring a selection of discs because this course has a lot of different doglegs.
Cons: For a new beginner, finding hole 2 is a little difficult. Other than that it is a well maintained course.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course. I would love to see more tournaments held there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warriors has a great variety of technical and power holes both in the woods and in the open. This course plays differently throughout the year so it is fun to play all year long. Three new holes have recently been added: #10-Long narrow straight woods shot, #23-Awesome looking hole(big rocks in fairway) with two pin positions including one elevated pin, #24-Short technical hole(possible ace)
Cons: Navigation from hole 1 to hole 2. Holes 1,17,18,and 19 can get realy crowded on some days so watch out for other poeples' drives. The rough can get realy thick at times, but right now it's fairly clear. Hole #27 is a disapointing hole to end on.
Other Thoughts: Best course in East Tennessee. It's in a great park and can be enjoyed over and over again. The pictures of this course don't have the new holes and the pictures are fairly old. The course has changed alot since they were taken. So if the pictures don't impress you still come and play cause' it's changed alot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A true, 27-hole Warrior of a course

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The course has a little bit of everything: plenty of open holes, wooded holes, long and short ones, holes with elevation. There is a nice flow here that you never feel you're playing the same type of hole too often. For example: #1 is wide open, #2 - 4 are shorter wooded holes with a mix of elevation and doglegs, #5 is open again, #6 is a tricky tee shot….all the way to #27.
- Great use of elevation. There were few flat holes. Almost every hole had some elevation factor, which helped add extra challenge to some of the lesser holes.
- There are some very creative hole layouts at this course. The coolest is #26, a straight hole that plays between rock walls that run almost the entire length. The two longest holes #5 & 21 have great risk/reward factors, which encourage aggressiveness. #15 is a short, downhill hole that had the feel of Glenn Hilton in Hickory, NC.
- Along those lines, I didn't feel there was any real throw away hole. Sure, several could have been improved, but if you're only as strong as your weakest link, Warriors will hold its own against almost any course. Also, there was a good job of mixing in the easier/birdie-able holes with the challenging ones. It wasn't until the last stretch of holes (from #21 - 27) that you had an extended stretch of what I'd consider true challenging holes.
- Nice tee signs and tee pads. There were only two major confusing parts to the entire course: the long transition from #1 to #2, which could be solved by several next tee signs, and the layout for #21 - missing a tee sign.
- Great state park with a little bit of everything: large campground (although not being able to make reservations is a con), nice lake plus all the standards. You could easily spend an entire weekend here and not leave the park.
Cons: Course could have had a bit more difficulty thrown in. Only 2 of the 27 holes were longer than 400 feet, so adding length could help. Accuracy is more crucial than length, so if you're throwing straight you can really score low here.
- Several of the added holes didn't feel like they fit in with the rest of the course. The stretch of #23 - 25 felt like they were still works in progress, and just had a different vibe to them than anything up to that point.
- Signage could be improved between holes. I listed the two major issues above, but several other spots could also use next tee signs. This is especially important with extra paths in the woods (there's a path leading directly from #9 to 11), and extra/abandoned tee pads (there's an old tee pad between #4 & 5).
- I wasn't a fan of #6. It felt too gimmicky by trying to be different. The hole has no true fairway. There's a nearly solid line of trees, so you have to throw over top, leading to a nearly blind tee shot with thick rough on the right, and woods on the left.
- The rough could be cleaned up/thinned out in some places. I appreciate the reason for rough (I spend way too much time in it), but I spent more time than normal having to search for discs that got caught up in it.
Other Thoughts: For most of the first 18 holes, this course felt way too much like Kilborne in Charlotte; albeit, with some more elevation. Thankfully, the extra holes were nothing like you'd see at Kilborne.
- If they could ever squeeze in another 9 holes, Warriors could have two truly distinct courses here. Go crazy and make one difficult, a sort of Ultimate Warriors, so to speak.
- Maybe in contrast to what I just said, I really wish the last hole of the course was #26. That really is a fun hole, and would be a great way to end a round. Add in the rock wall factor, and you could end up with a crazy, lucky bounced birdie, or an unlucky, stuck behind a rock bogey.
- Random observation. Why does this site list 4 different layouts, when only one hole (#16) has an alternate tee? Red and white are the same, and yellow and blue are the same, and they're only five feet apart.
- This is easily the best course in the region. I played it during a 3-day, 10 course road trip, and it ranked a solid second on my list, behind only Sugaree, and ahead of some other solid courses.
- This is a must play for anyone in the region: western NC or VA, southern KY, anywhere in TN, or anyone driving on I-81 or I-26. Warriors truly lives up to its name.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/21/2012   2/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Warrior's Path is set in a very nice scenic state park. Before you get to the course you are met with breathtaking views of a lake that will begin to get your adrenaline pumping (lake does not come into play however). The course has 27 holes, well-spread out, and mostly where no other park activities interfere. There is an excellent variety of wooded and open holes, and I especially enjoyed how the more open holes were perfectly interspersed among the wooded holes. There are holes that go left, straight, and right, and there are almost no back to back holes of the same shape, which forces you to use all types of shots and it really keeps you on your toes when you step up on the tee knowing this tee shot is completely different from the last one. The course also offers a good use of elevation- up, down, sidehills right and left, as you should expect in the mountainous area of East TN.

Lengths vary from hole to hole (~150'-400'), however the overall average hole length is not that long, which makes this course accessible to those who are distance challenged. Those of you looking for lots of length will not find it here. There are a couple of holes, however, where there are chances to air out a long drive.

There are several really fun and memorable tee shots here- I especially remember holes 6,14,20,& 23! The course is technically challenging and can be punishing at times, but there are also many opportunities for birdies and even some ace runs.

#19 ends at parking lot so you could easily end here if you only wanted to play 18 or 19 holes. The additional holes are just across the road. (Beware of trains on #25, they are not on the hole, but really close, and they are loud!)
Cons: The signs are also the typical older signs that you see a lot of on TN courses, and would my first priority here as an improvement. Tees are obviously showing their age as the ground around some of them is wearing away.

The open area (holes 1, 18-19) by the parking lot contains several holes that are more cramped than the rest of the course, and there are several baskets in sight which can be a little confusing, especially when you first jump out of the car and start looking for #1.

The finishing hole, #27, is not the best hole on the course so it is a little bit of a mediocre finish. It is not bad (straight uphill) but you have to first walk down the hill to tee off and then walk it back up just to play it. Hole #26's path takes you to the middle of the fairway as the two holes practically run parallel, which could also be dangerous if another group was already teeing off.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. It is one of my favorite in East TN (and one of the best in all of TN). I have been wanting to play this course and finally got to three years later. This course is highly recommended for most all types of players looking for a challenging and fun round. While in the area, be sure to check out Winged Deer as it is pretty good, too. Also, Harmon Hills is pretty close and is awesome.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great all around course

5+    1/27/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: stitt32009
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great mix of holes with good amount of distance. course is great for beginners and pros. many great disc golfers call this course home and they offer a lot to learn.
Cons: some vandalism and lack of signs
Other Thoughts: i get to play this course every couple of months, but if it was closer i would be there all the time

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great mix of holes. close to home for me. 24 holes soon to be 27. wooded and open. some big shots mostly birdie golf.
Cons: trees. lots and lots of trees on some holes.
Other Thoughts: it's a great course but can be crowded at times.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Never gets old

5+    11/25/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: dweaton
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A good variety of holes
-Challenging, but fair
-A few very cool holes (#6, 14, 23)
-A decent amount of benches
-Beautiful course
-I have played here a ton, as it is just a minute away, and I do not get tired of it.
Cons: -Poor tee signs
-Navigation for newcomers is tricky without a guide or prior knowledge
Other Thoughts: I learned to play here and will forever consider it my home course. Awesome course and awesome regulars that play here!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Backyard Favorite

5+    9/7/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: dnbailey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I play here a lot, because it's basically in my back yard. There's a wide variety of holes at warriors. The layout of the course forces you to stay on your toes. Hole 14 is absolutely awesome. It's a hole you just want to play over and over.
Cons: Lots of vandalism. People have destroyed most of the signs and benches. It's really a shame.

Several of the holes are bordered by heavy undergrowth. It is easy to loose a disk in parts - at least for me.
Other Thoughts: I always shoot my worst at Warriors, but I love every second of it.

Make sure you play the extra holes on the other side of the road. They're awesome.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.