Kingsport, TN
Warriors Path State Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11
3 / 325ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 24 holes of greatness

5+    5/12/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: agouge
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I must start out by saying the course flows well. it goes in and out of technical wooded holes to more open holes. The elevation change is all over the course most noticeably on holes #5 and 6, 20 and 24.. The course can be enjoyed by a beginner and pro alike with great balance and variety in the holes. The course has a great signature hole in #15 across a creek. Overall the course is very wooded and technical with some open holes in between. The course has 24 holes and this number was not reached by throwing in random extra holes. The new holes across the street are both very challenging and fun. On one hole you must throw through a narrow valley with a bolder in the middle. Another is one of the steepest uphill holes you will ever play.
Cons: A new playground has replaced a few memorable holes on the course. However, new and challenging holes have been added across the street to make up for this. In the short locations the course can become more of a birdie race which is not always a bad thing i guess. However, the course is at its best in the mixed and long locations.
Other Thoughts: An expereinced player can perforn well on this course with some practice. A great course for any disc golfer to play. The course has a special feeling to it an always makes you want to come back for more. Tuesday night doubles and Sunday singles give one an opportunity to compete and have fun. This course is a must play and probably a top 3 course in Tennessee.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mix

2-4    5/15/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: maynes35
Played: 25  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great disc golf course. I had a great time playing it both times. It has a nice mix of long and short holes. Some dogleg left and some dogleg right. Elevation is a big key out here. There are quite a few down hill shots along the way. #6 is a nice launching pad out over the trees, down the hill, into the thick fairway grass. Then #24 is the most uphill hole I've ever played. I had to stop on the way up! All the baskets are in nice shape. All concrete tee pads and they were nice and long (except one but it had huge rocks behind it.. and the hole was short anyway). I always love a course with a straight long open hole as #1. Good to loosen up and stay out of trouble to start your round. A couple of very scenic holes as well. This is a great course and the next time I'm in the area I'll be played another 36+.
Cons: Getting to #2 is a pain in the butt (see "Other Thoughts"). They really need a sign on how to get there behind #1's basket. I could have used some directional arrows to the next tee pad in some cases as well. There is a lot of vandalism out there, which is weird because the area is very nice (just some stupid kids with too much time on their hands). Pretty much every bench and hole layout sign are covered.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 4 based solely on how nice the course was, the quality of the holes, and the course layout. It would have been easy to take away points based on the "Cons" section, but to me it's more about the actually course, and I really enjoyed this course ** #2 HOLE DIRECTIONS - from #1 basket look right and see two tiny paths into the woods (take the left path) - walk until you come out of the woods in a kids play area - cross the bridge and go lef up the path - ahead on the right is #2 tee.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 1st course I played in TN!

1    9/18/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Benches on almost all of the holes, Signage on every hole (although slightly worn and faded), Interesting hole ideas, Designed by Mr. Steady Ed himself!, Several shots that had great elevation change, for the most part the course was very fair and allowed for an array of different shots, There are an additional nine holes that offered one of the most beautiful hole layouts i've ever seen (I forget which hole number on the additional nine, but you play inbetween two small hills with huge boulders on each side, BEAUTIFUL SHOT!), With the exception of hole #2 the next teepad was usually easy to find,
Cons: I don't want to call the course "run down" but it will be there soon if a club can't get some of the trash/grafitti/beer away from every teepad and bench area.

Some holes (hole 9 in particular) I didn't feel were kept up and are very poke and hope in nature... A couple tree's down and you have very manageable and challenging fairways that remain "Fair".

Other Thoughts: Good introduction to Tenessee disc golf! I can't wait to return!

A great blend of open and tightly wooded holes!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: b_rad44
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great hole layout, wonderful mix of hole type, very well kept and clean
Cons: Hole 2 was difficult to find, signs to holes would be nice
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I will definitely return. Great course for beginners and pros alike. Creative hole placement made it a blast to play!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Birdie War Path

1    10/24/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great Shots. Warrior's has great shots, with many requiring some technical shaping to be successful. Lots of putter anny shots. Uphill, downhill, open, tight, hyzer, anhyzer, straight, short, medium, long… bring your bag.
- Terrain. Excellent use of terrain. Not only in the courses use of vertical elevation, but in the way it starts open, then goes into the woods, then open again, then back to the woods… the rock fairway, the creek, etc… This coupled with great shot design make this course rate high.
Cons:
- Crossing / Parallel Fairways. A few of the holes run next to and/or over other fairways and tee-pads. Normally this would be a huge con for me… but, considering the shots themselves, it's forgivable.
- Signage. All this course really needs is proper signage. Some of the holes had signs, but they were old and mostly busted-up. You don't necessarily need them to play the course, but the greatness of the course is deserving of great tee-signs too.
Other Thoughts:
- Scoring. If you are technical and accurate off the tee, you could easily shoot low-low numbers at Warrior's. That's not to say that this course is easy… you'll definitely be punished for bad drives.
- Destination Golf. This area is a hotbed for great disc golf courses. Plan your road trip here! Winged Deer and Fossil Hill are just a short drive away… Good Stuff!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Warrior's Paradise

2-4    9/3/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was designed by one of the disc golf pioneers, Steady Ed, so you know it's had a lot of thought put into it. It's an amazing course that will challenge you in a vast number of ways. There's up hills, down hills, open shots you can bomb, tight little technical shots, mandos, water hazards, and a ton of risk versus reward shots. Want another aspect of the course you'll have to battle? How about the length? 24 holes means your stamina will come into play as well! I can't say enough how great this course is. On top of all these things, the views are simply stunning at times.
Cons: It seems as though the course has gone through some changes, as there are a few extinct tee pads that can confuse you if you're a first timer here. For the most part, the flow if the course is pretty natural, although a couple of times I caught myself hunting the next hole early on. Just check the map before you begin your round, and you should be fine.

The detail on the signs for each hole sort of drop off bit by bit as you go along, forcing you to walk up the fairway a bit to locate the pin, and continuously question what the par is. Rec pars seem very generous, however pro-par is simply to play the course as a Par 3 throughout. Other than that, not really any Cons in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This course is part of a large lake front park (though the course stays away from the lake mostly). Down near the waterfront, there is some sort of a concession house where they've got drinks and snacks, so I'm told. There's also a train nearby that you can see pass from Hole 22. These things again give the course a cool vibe. If you're in the area, this is a must play!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Layout

1    8/9/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Firstly, the course is beautiful. At almost every tee box I found myself pausing to appreciate the view in front of me. Every hole feels different. The course utilizes the changes in elevation and clearings well. There are enough trees to keep things challenging, but always a fair line. Several holes will give you a deuce shot if you have a good drive, while others will have you scrambling for par.

Holes 14 and 23 are among the most beautiful holes I've ever played.
Cons: Sometimes hard to find the next tee, but never too much so. The par as listed on the signs seems outrageously high. For instance, hole 16 at 200 ft. is a par 4. After talking to a local he told us that advanced players play everything as a par 3, which made more sense (although some holes are very, VERY difficult to par as a 3, such as #20 in the long position).
Other Thoughts: You know a course is great when you're shooting one of your worst games in years and still loving it. I can't wait to get back and have a good run at it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Eighteen, Bonus Six

1    7/5/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 325  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Most holes have signs, benches, concrete teepads, two basket positions. Top quality, easy-to-see baskets. Extra holes 19-24 offer longer and/or tighter challenges than the first 18. Subtle water hazard on #14.

In large, multi-purpose park, but mostly plays away from other park users. Not too far from many food and petrol options.
Cons:
Lots of graffiti on benches and worn/faded signs. My nine-year old daughter asked what some of the words meant, and I quickly had to tell her to quit reading them! :-O

Holes #23 and #24 parallel each other and play in the same direction, so there is a bit of a walk from basket 23 to tee 24. Number 2 takes you near the end of a childrens walking trail.
Other Thoughts:
Good blend of wooded and open holes (2/3rds, 1/3rd). Differing basket placements can make this course left- or right-turn dominant - when I played it, it was fairly mixed. All holes are challenging, but nothing outrageous. Likewise, most holes will have some change in elevation, but nothing too dramatic. Holes 20-24 are more "extreme" than the first eighteen - the open holes 20, 21, and 24 are much longer and have greater changes in elevation than their earlier counterparts. Similarly, wooded holes 22 and 23 are longer and narrower than earlier wooded holes.

Favourite hole: #23. A long, straight, narrowing shot with a steep, tree-filled slope on your right and the side of a small rocky cliff on your left, closing in as they meet near the basket, which is backed by even more trees.

To find the course, after passing the marina building, take the road to the right up the hill to a parking lot of the right. Holes 1-18 are across the road, and 19-24 are on the side you parked on.

An all-around solid course. Updating the signs would greatly improve things. Would love to see if they could somehow add 3 or 12 more holes to make this a 27 or 36 hole course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun and relaxing 24

1    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice mixture of open and wooded shots. Really technical shots required on many holes as well as some you can let loose on. Water hazard is pretty cool just because its so small and clear. All of the pins have been updated to Innova DiscCatchers and looks alot nicer than the pictures show. Relaxing to play 24 holes and its not as much walking (atleast it didnt seem like it) as some courses.
Cons: Not enough elevation changes for me however you really didnt notice it. Signs need to be updated with nicer maps and better pars. The pars seem to be way more forgiving than necessary so i played all holes as a par 3. A little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Hole 23 is pretty cool it looks like a set off of a movie.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A- = A Great Course!

1    10/17/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.