Kingsport, TN 
Warriors Path State Park Share
Uploaded By: TNT-Pops Hole #10 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Birdie War Path

1    10/24/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 331  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
- Great Shots. Warrior's has great shots, with many requiring some technical shaping to be successful. Lots of putter anny shots. Uphill, downhill, open, tight, hyzer, anhyzer, straight, short, medium, long... bring your bag.
- Terrain. Excellent use of terrain. Not only in the courses use of vertical elevation, but in the way it starts open, then goes into the woods, then open again, then back to the woods... the rock fairway, the creek, etc... This coupled with great shot design make this course rate high.
- Crossing / Parallel Fairways. A few of the holes run next to and/or over other fairways and tee-pads. Normally this would be a huge con for me... but, considering the shots themselves, it's forgivable.
- Signage. All this course really needs is proper signage. Some of the holes had signs, but they were old and mostly busted-up. You don't necessarily need them to play the course, but the greatness of the course is deserving of great tee-signs too.
Other Thoughts:
- Scoring. If you are technical and accurate off the tee, you could easily shoot low-low numbers at Warrior's. That's not to say that this course is easy... you'll definitely be punished for bad drives.
- Destination Golf. This area is a hotbed for great disc golf courses. Plan your road trip here! Winged Deer and Fossil Hill are just a short drive away... Good Stuff!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Warrior's Paradise

2-4    9/3/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was designed by one of the disc golf pioneers, Steady Ed, so you know it's had a lot of thought put into it. It's an amazing course that will challenge you in a vast number of ways. There's up hills, down hills, open shots you can bomb, tight little technical shots, mandos, water hazards, and a ton of risk versus reward shots. Want another aspect of the course you'll have to battle? How about the length? 24 holes means your stamina will come into play as well! I can't say enough how great this course is. On top of all these things, the views are simply stunning at times.
Cons: It seems as though the course has gone through some changes, as there are a few extinct tee pads that can confuse you if you're a first timer here. For the most part, the flow if the course is pretty natural, although a couple of times I caught myself hunting the next hole early on. Just check the map before you begin your round, and you should be fine.

The detail on the signs for each hole sort of drop off bit by bit as you go along, forcing you to walk up the fairway a bit to locate the pin, and continuously question what the par is. Rec pars seem very generous, however pro-par is simply to play the course as a Par 3 throughout. Other than that, not really any Cons in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This course is part of a large lake front park (though the course stays away from the lake mostly). Down near the waterfront, there is some sort of a concession house where they've got drinks and snacks, so I'm told. There's also a train nearby that you can see pass from Hole 22. These things again give the course a cool vibe. If you're in the area, this is a must play!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Layout

1    8/9/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Firstly, the course is beautiful. At almost every tee box I found myself pausing to appreciate the view in front of me. Every hole feels different. The course utilizes the changes in elevation and clearings well. There are enough trees to keep things challenging, but always a fair line. Several holes will give you a deuce shot if you have a good drive, while others will have you scrambling for par.

Holes 14 and 23 are among the most beautiful holes I've ever played.
Cons: Sometimes hard to find the next tee, but never too much so. The par as listed on the signs seems outrageously high. For instance, hole 16 at 200 ft. is a par 4. After talking to a local he told us that advanced players play everything as a par 3, which made more sense (although some holes are very, VERY difficult to par as a 3, such as #20 in the long position).
Other Thoughts: You know a course is great when you're shooting one of your worst games in years and still loving it. I can't wait to get back and have a good run at it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Eighteen, Bonus Six

1    7/5/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 412  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Most holes have signs, benches, concrete teepads, two basket positions. Top quality, easy-to-see baskets. Extra holes 19-24 offer longer and/or tighter challenges than the first 18. Subtle water hazard on #14.

In large, multi-purpose park, but mostly plays away from other park users. Not too far from many food and petrol options.
Lots of graffiti on benches and worn/faded signs. My nine-year old daughter asked what some of the words meant, and I quickly had to tell her to quit reading them! :-O

Holes #23 and #24 parallel each other and play in the same direction, so there is a bit of a walk from basket 23 to tee 24. Number 2 takes you near the end of a childrens walking trail.
Other Thoughts:
Good blend of wooded and open holes (2/3rds, 1/3rd). Differing basket placements can make this course left- or right-turn dominant - when I played it, it was fairly mixed. All holes are challenging, but nothing outrageous. Likewise, most holes will have some change in elevation, but nothing too dramatic. Holes 20-24 are more "extreme" than the first eighteen - the open holes 20, 21, and 24 are much longer and have greater changes in elevation than their earlier counterparts. Similarly, wooded holes 22 and 23 are longer and narrower than earlier wooded holes.

Favourite hole: #23. A long, straight, narrowing shot with a steep, tree-filled slope on your right and the side of a small rocky cliff on your left, closing in as they meet near the basket, which is backed by even more trees.

To find the course, after passing the marina building, take the road to the right up the hill to a parking lot of the right. Holes 1-18 are across the road, and 19-24 are on the side you parked on.

An all-around solid course. Updating the signs would greatly improve things. Would love to see if they could somehow add 3 or 12 more holes to make this a 27 or 36 hole course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun and relaxing 24

1    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 122  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice mixture of open and wooded shots. Really technical shots required on many holes as well as some you can let loose on. Water hazard is pretty cool just because its so small and clear. All of the pins have been updated to Innova DiscCatchers and looks alot nicer than the pictures show. Relaxing to play 24 holes and its not as much walking (atleast it didnt seem like it) as some courses.
Cons: Not enough elevation changes for me however you really didnt notice it. Signs need to be updated with nicer maps and better pars. The pars seem to be way more forgiving than necessary so i played all holes as a par 3. A little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Hole 23 is pretty cool it looks like a set off of a movie.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A- = A Great Course!

1    10/17/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.4 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wariors Path

5+    4/23/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: cloudyoday
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/5/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, great layout, good mixture of uphill, downhill, right and left handed shots. Great for all skill levels though experienced players are more likely to appriciate the course's diversity and design.
Cons: Several holes have some nasty undergrowth making a stray through difficult to find. There is also a playground near holes 2 and 14. This is a problem because children are attracted to the baskets placing them directly in the way of a decent drive.
Other Thoughts: This is my course of choice as it is close to my home in Johnson City, TN. I learned on this course and really consider myself lucky to have such a nice course so close to home.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/10/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: asksmity
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout. Tough turns. Long and short throws. Steep inclines, and even a water hazard. Requires alot of tough shots to get through narrow fairways, and around crazy corners.
Cons: Signs are up, but most are faded and have no information on them. Some of the old tees are a bit misleading.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area. Very challenging for a semi-pro. Bring all your shots, because you will definitely need every one of them. This is not for the new player or for the weak of heart.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 East Tennessee's Best

5+    2/2/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Greatest Course in the area. perfectly laid out, great mix of holes. many ace runs, plenty of birdie oppurtunities, and plenty of birdies that can turn into bogies.
Cons: Some of the best holes were eliminated when the boundless playground went in.
Other Thoughts: If you live anywhere near Warriors its worth the trip. The Lake front Open is also a Great Tourney!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warriors Path to Disc Golf Enjoyment!

5+    7/2/2011   12/14/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 92  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful grounds with views of the lake. Concrete teepads. Large benches on many holes. Excellent mix of technical wooded & long open shots. Holes include right & lefthand shots. Good use of elevation means up & downhill shots. There are 'Mandos', OB's & water hazards (creek), it has it all in a full round of 27 holes! Camping & kids playground on site. Great accomodations in the area. If you only had a little time to play, holes 20-27 would be an excellent lunch-time round. Food & drinks available at the lake.
Cons: There are new tee signs but some of the baskets still have the old hole number on them.
Other Thoughts: The course has been updated with all new tee signs & 3 new holes (27 holes total). Get the new map to be sure you take the right 'path'.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.