Kingsport, TN 
Warriors Path State Park Share
Uploaded By: TNT-Pops Hole #18
3 / 392ft.   3 / 392ft.   3 / 392ft.   3 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 A fun and relaxing 24

1    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 75  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice mixture of open and wooded shots. Really technical shots required on many holes as well as some you can let loose on. Water hazard is pretty cool just because its so small and clear. All of the pins have been updated to Innova DiscCatchers and looks alot nicer than the pictures show. Relaxing to play 24 holes and its not as much walking (atleast it didnt seem like it) as some courses.
Cons: Not enough elevation changes for me however you really didnt notice it. Signs need to be updated with nicer maps and better pars. The pars seem to be way more forgiving than necessary so i played all holes as a par 3. A little hard to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Hole 23 is pretty cool it looks like a set off of a movie.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A- = A Great Course!

1    10/17/2007   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.5 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wariors Path

5+    4/23/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: cloudyoday
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/5/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, great layout, good mixture of uphill, downhill, right and left handed shots. Great for all skill levels though experienced players are more likely to appriciate the course's diversity and design.
Cons: Several holes have some nasty undergrowth making a stray through difficult to find. There is also a playground near holes 2 and 14. This is a problem because children are attracted to the baskets placing them directly in the way of a decent drive.
Other Thoughts: This is my course of choice as it is close to my home in Johnson City, TN. I learned on this course and really consider myself lucky to have such a nice course so close to home.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Warriors

5+    4/10/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: asksmity
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout. Tough turns. Long and short throws. Steep inclines, and even a water hazard. Requires alot of tough shots to get through narrow fairways, and around crazy corners.
Cons: Signs are up, but most are faded and have no information on them. Some of the old tees are a bit misleading.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area. Very challenging for a semi-pro. Bring all your shots, because you will definitely need every one of them. This is not for the new player or for the weak of heart.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 East Tennessee's Best

5+    2/2/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Greatest Course in the area. perfectly laid out, great mix of holes. many ace runs, plenty of birdie oppurtunities, and plenty of birdies that can turn into bogies.
Cons: Some of the best holes were eliminated when the boundless playground went in.
Other Thoughts: If you live anywhere near Warriors its worth the trip. The Lake front Open is also a Great Tourney!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Warriors Path to Disc Golf Enjoyment!

5+    7/2/2011   12/14/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 86  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful grounds with views of the lake. Concrete teepads. Large benches on many holes. Excellent mix of technical wooded & long open shots. Holes include right & lefthand shots. Good use of elevation means up & downhill shots. There are 'Mandos', OB's & water hazards (creek), it has it all in a full round of 27 holes! Camping & kids playground on site. Great accomodations in the area. If you only had a little time to play, holes 20-27 would be an excellent lunch-time round. Food & drinks available at the lake.
Cons: There are new tee signs but some of the baskets still have the old hole number on them.
Other Thoughts: The course has been updated with all new tee signs & 3 new holes (27 holes total). Get the new map to be sure you take the right 'path'.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Warriors Path

2-4    11/11/2008   9/25/2008
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This Ed Headrick design has a 2/3 wooded and 1/3 open mix where you weave in and out of woods throughout the round. Makes excellent use of the natural topography while magically throwing uphill on only 4 holes. Great scenery and interesting layout. Fun for all skill levels. 24 holes gives you a tremendous bang for your buck and there's lots of other stuff to do at this great state park. Easy to find.
The state park is gradually replacing the original DGA baskets with Innova DiscCatchers.
Cons: Can be very tough to find errant discs in the rough... very nasty schule... but it's been beaten down over the years.
The original baskets are lower than the new ones.
Other Thoughts: Locals start on 2 (adjacent to playground) and end on 1. It's easy to miss 22 and 23 by going to the 24 t-pad from the 21 basket. Don't make this mistake, #23 is a unique hole when the basket is in the long position.
To reach #24 T-pad, walk downhill.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center