Las Vegas, NV 
Peccole Ranch Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
5 / 375ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Peccole Ranch...Unlike Anything Else!

1    7/6/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 188  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Peccole Ranch is located in a more upscale housing development northwest of downtown Vegas. This 18 hole course was designed to play through 150 ft wide drainage ditches that run between neighborhoods. The entire course is scattered with a variety of trees and native foliage and is very well manicured from beginning to end, with holes 1-14 playing over grass in a park setting and holes 15-18 playing over a dryer more "desert like" terrain.

Due to the course's location, slopes on either side are in constant play and create the potential for rollaways when trying to putt or layup. At the same time, the slopes can be used to ones advantage when throwing rollers! Holes on the course range anywhere from 210-432 ft, but on average are closer to 330ft which makes par quite difficult due to its tricky layout. Most holes on the course force players to throw low tunnel shots, taking away large hyzer/anhyzer shots on nearly every hole due to the risk of throwing over the fence line. Throwing over the canopy IS possible if you have control of your tomahawks and thumbers but again, OB is quite easy if you are off. Peccole Ranch requires precision and power and is difficult to maintain the entire round which is why so many struggle to play well here. It is the ideal place to get away from the hot sun and work on tight lines and difficult approaches.

Favorite Hole(s): Holes #15-18 - Unique natural desert landscape with small greens making for a series of picturesque holes
Cons:
Speed of Play

All eighteen holes have a pathway running right down the middle which creates the issue of pedestrians meandering through and stopping play more than most would like, especially during the warmer months. When the temperatures rise the locals are often out more frequently to exercise/walk the dog in the mornings and evenings making the course even more congested so be aware and expect to wait. Fortunately, residents, employees, and security seem to be quite friendly, and assuming you are polite and respectful and are not there to drink or smoke…you shouldn't have any issues getting a round in.

Also, the walk from hole #14 to #15 is a bit much. Walking a ¼ mile in the heat to finish the last four holes is brutal but worth the walk considering they are the best holes on the course.

Safety

Holes 4-12 run parallel to one another and with the area only being 150ft wide, it is easy to be throwing toward another group most of the time. If the course was busy, which it isn't most of the time, it would be quite easy to hit someone. Too many holes were installed in this area and due to the length, players are most likely throwing higher speed discs to make up distance making play very dangerous!

Another safety issue at Peccole Ranch are the tee pads. Although they are in excellent shape they are VERY dangerous when wet. They don't grip but are rather slick when wet, making it easy to slip and/or fall.

Least Favorite Hole(s): Holes #4-12 due to congestion and safety
Other Thoughts:
After reading all the reviews on here I was glad I played this course regardless of its low rating. It is so unique and unlike any of the 200+ courses I have played that it was well worth my time. Parking was fairly easy assuming you park at the office near the tennis courts and head down under the tunnel taking you toward the first tee across the street. Once hole one is located, the rest of the course is pretty easy to locate as long as you know that there is a long walkout after hole 14 (about ¼ mile to the right). To be honest, it is worth the walk as the last few holes on the course are easily the most unique and memorable! If you come to Peccole Ranch with realistic expectations and the idea that this course is more of a novelty, then you will have a great time! You are not coming here to throw high speed drivers or to shoot "lights out", but rather to work on accuracy and control both off the tee and fairway. If your time is limited and you only have time to play one or two courses while in Vegas this may not be the place as Sunset and Mountain Crest seem to be preferred by most but it is worth a round if you have the time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Peccole Ranch Nightmare

1    2/17/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are several good thins about this course that redeem some of the cons. The pads are all in great shape as are the targets. The signage is well done so it makes finding the target from the tee.

The area is really nice and everyone we met was cordial. When one of our party launched his disc into someone's back yard a neighbor kid volunteered to retrieve it for us.
Cons: There are a lot of cons to this course.

The area is not conducive to disc golf in any way. It is way too narrow and the people have high fences to discourage people from climbing them to retrieve discs.

Not that you get that much opportunity to throw them so high, there is a great deal of trees all over, so most of the holes are tunnel shots. For someone who throws a flick which relies on elevation to get distance it was a nightmare for me. Most of my shots were smacked down by trees or dove into the ground.

Many of the holes are gravel, so in addition to nailing a plethora of trees, you also chew up your discs on the ground. I highly recommend only playing this course with discs you care nothing for, because even if you don't lose them, they are going to get the shit kicked out of them.

You have to park by hole 13 and start from there as there isn't any parking by hole 1. The layout does attempt to compensate for the narrowness of the course, but let's face it, a course just simply doesn't belong there.

The walking path is always in use, so you find yourself waiting 5 or so minutes while people meander down the path while being completely oblivious to the notion that people may be throwing the course. In addition it is obviously a popular dog-walking area, which means that i spite of them placing convenient dog-poop-bag/disposal pods all over, there is still crap all over.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice thought, but unless you are either super novice and can only throw it 50 ft anyway, or super pro and can snake your shot through an amazon rain forest, then you're going to get discouraged on this course.

In my opinion, it's worth playing, once, with crappy discs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awful layout

1    1/24/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a narrow greenbelt among neighborhoods. It's a flood control basin, so you get minor elevation on the sides and a handful of baskets are placed on these slopes with rollaway potential. There are enough trees that this is the most technical course in Vegas, you have to contend with low ceilings and moderately tight gaps throughout. You do need some level of shot variety to score well here.

The course is impeccably groomed, with short grass and nice landscaping, I thought the last few holes through the xeriscaped area were a neat change. There are concrete tees and decent signs that have distance and hole layout and a pointer in the direction of the next tee.
Cons: Holes 4-12 are atrocious from a layout perspective. The holes cross one another and often throw directly at or over other tees and baskets. On top of that you have a couple blind shots where another hole is right in the landing zone with no visibility off the tee. Walking paths run throughout the course, and they were pretty busy even on a cloudy cool day. The course is squeezed into a narrow space, and the low ceilings make it even more likely that people will take risky routes and bring neighbors' backyards into play. The concrete tees are ridiculously slippery when wet, I know it's the desert but it's not that hard to put some texture on the pads.

There are a couple really long walks, including a couple that made no sense. You sometimes have to backtrack the entire length of the hole and then some to get to the next tee. After hole 14 you have to leave the park, walk along a road for what seemed like 1/4 mile then reenter a different part of the greenbelt. The design leaves a lot of the holes feeling really repetitive with way too many 300-350' shots with low ceilings and no real line to the hole.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the course approachable, though the chance of losing discs over the neighborhood fences might deter less accurate throwers. More experienced players will find some challenges, but no real variety and a lot of unnecessary safety issues. If you can play early in the day before the course and walking path are in use this is an ok place to play, otherwise it would be really frustrating to have to wait on a lot of holes for pedestrians to clear.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Unique Neighborhood Course

1    9/22/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: jasonc
Played: 130  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Peccole Ranch is located in a very nice residential community. The course mostly plays through a drainage ditch that is about 150' wide with houses on both sides, which takes away big hyzers or anhyzers on several holes.

The concrete teepads are not huge, but they are level and big enough to allow a 3 or 4 step run-up on your drives.

The baskets are in good shape.

The tee signs are nice, but on a course like this, more details should be provided if possible to aid with navigation.

There are a good number of trees that offer a good break from the sun. The trees also force you to consider roller or overhand/thumber shots that most players don't have the ability to throw.

There are a few contenders, but I believe #12 is the signature hole here. 350' from a "well protected" teepad.
Cons: Although I am sure the designers did the best the could with the space available, the lack of flow and the long, often unmarked walks in between 12-13, 14-15 and 15-16 are the biggest con here.

Holes 4--8 and 9--12 share the same space. Please pay close attention to other golfers and park users, especially on these holes.

The lack of clear fair/airways mixed with numerous guardian trees will become quickly frustrating to beginners and rec level players.

Wet conditions caused by sprinklers made the teepads very dangerous. Although the sprinklers are vital to keeping the fairways alive, you will need to dry off your shoes to avoid slipping.
Other Thoughts: The only space to "legally" park (In the Peccole Ranch Homeowners Office/rec area lot at the corner of Apple Dr. and Red Hills Rd.) is not close to the first teepad.

A community service/security office stopped me to hand out a course map and list of rules for the course. She was very nice.

This course would have been extremely frustrating to navigate without the maps and details from other reviews posted here on DGCR. Thanks timg and everyone else who made it possible for me to find all 18 holes here at Peccole Ranch!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Keeping it cool in the shade...

2-4    9/3/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are more trees here than any other course in Vegas. This means a few things. For one, shade! It's not nearly as brutal on a hot summer day, and you'll spend half your time under the cover of the trees here. More importantly, it means a lot of tunnel shots. You will be forced to throw as far as possible while still keeping your disc low and flat; this is not a skill that the other courses in the area (or enough courses in general) teach.

The preponderance of tunnel shots will also mean you'll need to consider some of your lesser used tools: overhand shots and rollers. Rollers aren't easy on many of the holes because the shape of ground is in a "V" (the course is in a drainage area). I used a couple thumbers throughout, although this is never your only option.

Every tee pad is concrete and adequately long. The tee signs are nothing special but give the distance and the shape of the fairway.

The grass is pretty lush due to the drainage nature of the whole area (other than the last several holes, which are in a nice desert landscape area), and the hole place is pretty pleasant.
Cons: Given how many trees were in the fairway, and given how narrow the fairways are, I'm very surprised that the holes are as long as they are. I felt like a lot of the holes were very difficult par 3's or pretty easy par 4's. This isn't a horrible thing for a few holes, but I would like to see some more holes in the 225-250 foot range. It wouldn't be tough to construct some holes with multiple lines: a risky ace run/birdie line along with a safer par line that won't allow for an easy birdie. Instead I felt like very good drives on most holes weren't rewarded with a birdie (and they weren't legitimate par 4's, either).

The course loops back on itself, so if you encounter other players, you'll be throwing toward them. This would never be a safe place to have 10 groups playing, but I only ran into one other group and a handful of pedestrians. If it's not busy on a beautiful Labor Day afternoon, it probably never is.

Navigation isn't too bad for the first 12 holes (turn the corner to the left on the 3rd hole and then go through the tunnel near hole 3 after you've completed hole 12). I would never have been able to navigate after hole 14 without another reviewer's directions. To clarify, walk up to the sidewalk along Mt. Charleston Blvd, turn right (east) and walk a quarter mile until you see another inlet between houses on the right. There were no signs pointing the way, so if you don't read this, you'll never find the last several holes.

Pay attention the tee signs. A couple times the hole in front of you is the wrong one (after nearly "acing" the basket in front of me on #3, I discovered that was actually the basket for #12). On that note, walk ahead to make sure no one is near the basket on #3 before teeing off. It's a cool shot around the corner but potentially unsafe.

Lastly, it's easy to lose discs here. The fairways are narrow, the OB is someone's back yard, and many of the houses are in gated communities (so if you throw into someone's yard, you can't even go to their front door to ask for it back)
Other Thoughts: The course is technically reserved for residents, but if aren't causing any trouble, I can't imagine you'll have much trouble. I parked in the lot of the community headquarters at I the corner of Apple Dr. and Red Hills Rd. A couple community security officers were nearby and didn't seem too worried by my presence.

Be respectful to this area. It's nothing like the other courses in the area. My score was bad, but my inaccurate drives got what they deserved. I like this place, and I'll be back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Pecularities of Peccole Ranch

1    6/19/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully landscaped terrain with great tee pads & signage. Tons of mature & adolescent trees with very aesthetically pleasing boulders scattered in the fairways. Difficult, yes, but also very rewarding & satisfying. My favorite holes are 4, 10-12, & 15-18. #4 is a blind dogleg left, while the tee shots on #10-12 are cool & memorable. #18 is a long & difficult finishing hole. Being a predominately RHBH thrower, this course really trained me to get the most distance out of my low hovering tee shots. Same with my flicks. Visualization is key here. A few tee shots had enough reward to risk that I just let it rip & trusted my hyser...truly fun stuff! Never came too close to losing a disc, although I did bang a fence or two.
Cons: Sprinklers run from 6am till 7:30am, so tee pads are quite slippery in the mornings. Some tee shots evoked "you've got to be kidding me!".
Other Thoughts: As far as the "privateness" of the course goes, I never felt unwanted on the premises. At least 15-20 residential walkers (most with very cute dogs) were generally friendly. A few even stopped to see if I'd nail a tree or send one over the wall! A security guy actually rode past me on his bike along the path and smiled & waved at me. I think as long as you're courteous & not doing anything illegal, this course is publicly playable. This course is a must play for any DGer who enjoys a unique challenge.
====================
Uniqueness: A (so many of these types of land exist, but so few are DG courses, especially this well taken care of)
Difficulty: A+ (some super-tricky tee shots; par is good on any given hole; the course should get even tougher through the years)
Fun Factor: B (fun, yet frustrating at times)
Aesthetics: A (manicured; couldn't be much prettier for what it is; love those boulders!)
-----------------------
Overall: A-

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/1/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Nice baskets and tees
-Challenging
-Plenty of trash cans
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Layout can be confusing to first time players
-Some LONG walks between holes
-Some serious crossplay and safety issues
-Redundant hole design
Other Thoughts: I'm very conflicted about this course. I had a great time playing it, but if I were local, I don't think I would go often. I think I threw 14 forehand rollers from the tee out of 18. I need some roller practice, so this worked out for me, but would get old quickly. I don't think being private is too much of an issue. I'm pretty sure everyone I ran into out on the course was not technically supposed to be there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/11/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: bear138
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: even on an average round you will use all the shots in your bag. forehand rollers, backhand rollers, flicks,turnovers,hyzers,stradle puts and one knee throws are common place. green grass. In a nice part of town. Cooler in the summer, cause of the shade.and its not very crowded.
Cons: sprinklers are on sometimes when your trying to play.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in vegas.Its very fun,but bring your 'A' game cause its tight.Its like a living thing growing and changing with time.Its a humbling course at times,letting a player know how good thier accuracy really is.Ive played tighter courses,but this one has a few holes that will make you really use your brain,and at times, lose your mind!!!!! oh and it is a private course, so if that makes you feel uncomfortable then i recomend red ridge or mt. crest.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 You’re Probably NOT Supposed to be There.

1    11/19/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 260  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
- Great Use of Open Space. You certainly can't be mad at a housing development setting aside a portion of the land to create a greenway, walkway, park area for the residents to use… and then adding an 18 Hole disc golf course to it - even if you're not supposed to be there!
- Know How to Throw Low? If you don't know how to throw low, Peccole will teach you. With the risk of throwing into backyards, you can't help but learn. I didn't have any trouble, but my friend who doesn't play very much golf could have. Neither of us ever went OB, but I could easily see lesser experienced players, or ballsy experienced players trying to go big, visiting the neighbors.
- The Most Beautiful Concrete Tees Imaginable... Decent signage too.
Cons:
- You're Not Supposed to be There. This course is labeled as extremely private. There is a sign at Hole 1 that says so. I stopped reading the sign after the first 3 words because I knew what direction the sign was going and I didn't want to knowingly "break" the rules (at least I could have pretended to not know for sure if I was questioned). Because of this…
- I Felt Uncomfortable. Knowing that I wasn't supposed to be there, and that I was playing extremely close to a lot of backyards, made me feel uncomfortable. It was really hard to concentrate on shots knowing that I was not supposed to be there.
- Fairways??? There was a considerable lack of FAIRways to work with. Linking a bunch of 300+' shots with a 10' ceiling isn't the best course design… especially when considering that the alternate AIRway option of throwing over the trees brings backyard/houses/windows/etc… into play. Throwing spike hyzers over a few houses is an option, but there's no need to piss off the neighbors… especially if you're not supposed to be there.
- Long Walks. There were some long walks out there, including a ¼ mile plus walk down a sidewalk between Holes 14 and 15. Several other Holes required you to retrace your footsteps, walking back, past the tee you just played from, to get to the next tee which plays the opposite direction.
- Redundant. How many low ceilinged 325'holes can be designed? A lot… I can't remember the last time I threw so many sidearm rollers.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall… I was disappointed in my experience at Peccole Ranch. Aside from feeling more than uncomfortable, the lack of fairways and Hole variety made the course lackluster. I can understand the high rating it has received because of the trees, grass, length, etc… but the course itself has major flaws.
- Finding 15. After Hole 14, walk up to the sidewalk and turn right… walk down the sidewalk for ¼ mile or more until the next inlet between the houses puts you back on the greenway. I was walking down the sidewalk thinking "there's no way it's this far" and was just about to turn around when I found the inlet.
- Chicago Brewery. I've been to more than 70 microbreweries during my travels and the Chicago Brewery, which is approximately 3 minutes away from the course, is Fantastic! Of the 10 beers I sampled, 9 were better than 90% of the other beers I've had of that same style. And, their food was great too. Highly recommend their Hot Pastrami sandwich with Cole Slaw.
- My Las Vegas Rankings. I played 6 of the 7 courses in Vegas during a recent business trip. My rankings are: Sunset, Mountain Crest, Red Ridge, Pecole Ranch, Freedom, (Anthem - based on ratings), Carson Davis.
- My Score: +1

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course!

1    10/31/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 134  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing use of the available space
Technical...use every shot you have
Lush grass and beautiful setting.
Cons: sometimes there are no clear lines for shots.

Finding the final 4 holes was tricky
Other Thoughts: Very rarely has a course surprised me like this one. Yes it is tight, but never came close to going into a back yard. Every shot you have to think about, not really a short course since there is never a chance to just bomb away like you would on a wide open course.

There is plenty of space for them to make a longer course or even extra holes. Clearing up some lines would make this a top 10 course...in my humble opinion.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.