Las Vegas, NV 
Peccole Ranch Share
Uploaded By: jlogflagstaff Hole #13 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 You’re Probably NOT Supposed to be There.

1    11/19/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 331  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.1 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
- Great Use of Open Space. You certainly can't be mad at a housing development setting aside a portion of the land to create a greenway, walkway, park area for the residents to use... and then adding an 18 Hole disc golf course to it - even if you're not supposed to be there!
- Know How to Throw Low? If you don't know how to throw low, Peccole will teach you. With the risk of throwing into backyards, you can't help but learn. I didn't have any trouble, but my friend who doesn't play very much golf could have. Neither of us ever went OB, but I could easily see lesser experienced players, or ballsy experienced players trying to go big, visiting the neighbors.
- The Most Beautiful Concrete Tees Imaginable... Decent signage too.
- You're Not Supposed to be There. This course is labeled as extremely private. There is a sign at Hole 1 that says so. I stopped reading the sign after the first 3 words because I knew what direction the sign was going and I didn't want to knowingly "break" the rules (at least I could have pretended to not know for sure if I was questioned). Because of this...
- I Felt Uncomfortable. Knowing that I wasn't supposed to be there, and that I was playing extremely close to a lot of backyards, made me feel uncomfortable. It was really hard to concentrate on shots knowing that I was not supposed to be there.
- Fairways??? There was a considerable lack of FAIRways to work with. Linking a bunch of 300+' shots with a 10' ceiling isn't the best course design... especially when considering that the alternate AIRway option of throwing over the trees brings backyard/houses/windows/etc... into play. Throwing spike hyzers over a few houses is an option, but there's no need to piss off the neighbors... especially if you're not supposed to be there.
- Long Walks. There were some long walks out there, including a ¼ mile plus walk down a sidewalk between Holes 14 and 15. Several other Holes required you to retrace your footsteps, walking back, past the tee you just played from, to get to the next tee which plays the opposite direction.
- Redundant. How many low ceilinged 325'holes can be designed? A lot... I can't remember the last time I threw so many sidearm rollers.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall... I was disappointed in my experience at Peccole Ranch. Aside from feeling more than uncomfortable, the lack of fairways and Hole variety made the course lackluster. I can understand the high rating it has received because of the trees, grass, length, etc... but the course itself has major flaws.
- Finding 15. After Hole 14, walk up to the sidewalk and turn right... walk down the sidewalk for ¼ mile or more until the next inlet between the houses puts you back on the greenway. I was walking down the sidewalk thinking "there's no way it's this far" and was just about to turn around when I found the inlet.
- Chicago Brewery. I've been to more than 70 microbreweries during my travels and the Chicago Brewery, which is approximately 3 minutes away from the course, is Fantastic! Of the 10 beers I sampled, 9 were better than 90% of the other beers I've had of that same style. And, their food was great too. Highly recommend their Hot Pastrami sandwich with Cole Slaw.
- My Las Vegas Rankings. I played 6 of the 7 courses in Vegas during a recent business trip. My rankings are: Sunset, Mountain Crest, Red Ridge, Pecole Ranch, Freedom, (Anthem - based on ratings), Carson Davis.
- My Score: +1

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course!

1    10/31/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 143  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing use of the available space
Technical...use every shot you have
Lush grass and beautiful setting.
Cons: sometimes there are no clear lines for shots.

Finding the final 4 holes was tricky
Other Thoughts: Very rarely has a course surprised me like this one. Yes it is tight, but never came close to going into a back yard. Every shot you have to think about, not really a short course since there is never a chance to just bomb away like you would on a wide open course.

There is plenty of space for them to make a longer course or even extra holes. Clearing up some lines would make this a top 10 my humble opinion.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course.

1    9/1/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.4 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained grounds, Concrete tee pads, New Mach III baskets, Tee signs with pin locations and distance, Very clean, Benches and trash cans throughout, Water fountain, Dog friendly, No underbrush, Not crowded, Friendly locals and best of all Free!
Cons: No parking available nearby, Narrow fairways, Walking path runs down the middle, Navigation, Private?
Other Thoughts: I found the Peccole Ranch Home Owners Office to be the closest and safest place to park without being towed. It is located next to the elementary school on Red Hill Dr. just after the round-about.
From the parking lot of that building there is a path between the tennis courts and the office, follow the path past the volleyball court through the tunnel and towards the sidewalk you will see tee #1 and the strict code of conduct expected.
Holes 1-3 play between the street and some backyards. After hole #3 stay left, don't go through the tunnel!
Holes 4-8 wind through a narrow (30yd.) wide landscaped area carpeted with grass, shaded by both large and small trees, bushes and boulders. On either side there are town homes and backyards and of course the walking path down the middle.
Holes 9-11 backtrack up to the tunnel.
Holes 12-14 play on the other side of the tunnel through the same type of landscape and ends near Charleston Blvd. After #14 walk about 150 yd. to your right and enter the next block of houses.
Hole 15 Plays in a xeriscape landscape type of setting with dirt, pebbles, gravel and little shade.
Holes 16-18 play across the street through the arches in the same type of setting bordered with pools and backyards. You will end up near the office building that you parked at just walk about 100 yds. towards the round-about.

I found the course to be challenging and fun that forces you to literally thread the needle with your throws. The average hole lengths were 270-340 with the trees taking away the top part of your throwing window and risking your drives to land in a backyard, the only sane option is through the trees.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A tight fairway course

1    1/27/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: one of my favorite cources i have ever played its a fun midrange/putter course but u have to be super accurate to play here there is some awsome shots and this couse u can work on rollers 2 with cement teepads and maps on every hole
Cons: we hasd to park at home depot then walk all the way down from 14 to hole 1 because every where else u risk getting towed there are alot of people walking and it is private but people dont mind who live there
Other Thoughts: here or sunset are proably the 2 best cources i have heard of in the area so if u are in the area deffintley play here

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    4/15/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: Blake1844
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun! Beautiful, well maintained, challenging, lots of trees, narrow fairways and lots of OB.
Cons: The course double back on it's self in the narrow space they have. Be careful if others are playing the course. Long walks to some holes and if you don't know where you are going you can't find holes 15-18. (When you finish the 14th take the side walk to the right and take a long walk. You'll see another park area on your right.)
Other Thoughts: You can go to the housing association office and get a map. I really liked this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun dg

5+    4/5/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice lush grass.
Large tee pads and tee signs with distances and direction to next hole.
Roller friendly
Nice baskets in great shape.
Alot of foliage for shade on those hot summer days.
Benches throughout the course.
Tight fairways along with some open fairways.
Righty and Lefty friendly.

All in all a fun tight course with danger all around. MUST PLAY if in the Las Vegas area.

Cons: very tight fairways bordered by peoples back yards. so if you throw a disc over the wall either you loose it or you go around and hope somebody is home so you can get your disc back.
Alot of holes over lap or play very close to each other. so be carefull of other golfers and walkers
Alot of trees pourly placed for a dg course.
A walking path goes through the hole course so you will be waiting for people to get out of your way.
No Parking
Private course for the neighborhood, however i have never been told to leave. so be respectfull and you should have no problem playing
Fairways over lap and sometimes you are playing the same fairway as another hole.
Other Thoughts: Very confusing course without map or for a 1st timer.
Must play course if in vegas.
Hands down fun course with alot of danger
Better for advanced to pro players.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/18/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: fannypack
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really like the variety of play this course offers. It forces you to be percise and selective with your disc selection and shot choice. (i.e. backhands, forehands, rollers, turnover etc) It is also beautifully kept and maintained. It is probably the most wooded course in Las Vegas as well.
Cons: Not an good course for beginners or inexperienced players due to the trees and narrow width of the playing field. Some holes can get a little redundant due to the over abundance of foliage.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 D+ Grade = Dud

1    5/7/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2009
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- D+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- D+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Not really meant for the avid Disc Golfer

7/1/2008   7/2/2008
Review By:
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Couple of rather fun pins, very well groomed course.
Cons: Private course... you are not supposed to play unless you are a resident of Peccole Ranch. However, they really won't bug you much unless you are causing trouble.

The course is on a narrow greenway that runs through a neighborhood. For about half of the holes on the course, you are coming back down the same fairway that your went up previously.

DO NOT try to get aggressive on this course unless you are willing to lose your discs. Many of the holes are actually pretty fun plays, however to really reach the pins you have to play over houses or risk going over the fence OB into back yards. Your most likely will not get your disc back even if you attempt to locate the house.

Other Thoughts: The course is setup for a challenging play... but doesn't really allow you to play an aggressive game to really get ahold of any of the holes.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 peccole ranch

5/23/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 164  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 36.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained, manicured course. not crowded, ever.
Cons: NOTICE: you need permission to play this course.
tight fairways between homes on both sides. multi-use fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course is on private property. Homeowner association land use restricts the use of this course to the general public, however if you respect the homes you play between, ie. dont go after your discs if they go into someones backyard, and if you dont litter, you may not get hassled by security.
the course winds through and between various subdivisions called Peccole Ranch, along a walking/jogging/biking path. there are various trees and bushes to play around and through, which makes the course a great challenge. sometimes the fairways get way too narrow for typically safe play, which is the only reason it gets an OK rating. the course itself is well designed and takes advantage if the terrain very well. it plays like a links course with some walking between a couple of the holes, so prior knowledge of the course layout is advised. if you can control your drives 100% of the time you wont have a problem playing here, layup drives are the rule not the exception, but better than bouncing off a tree and going into someones backyard.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.