Disc Golf Center
Las Vegas, NV 
Peccole Ranch Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #7 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Nice little course.

1    9/1/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained grounds, Concrete tee pads, New Mach III baskets, Tee signs with pin locations and distance, Very clean, Benches and trash cans throughout, Water fountain, Dog friendly, No underbrush, Not crowded, Friendly locals and best of all Free!
Cons: No parking available nearby, Narrow fairways, Walking path runs down the middle, Navigation, Private?
Other Thoughts: I found the Peccole Ranch Home Owners Office to be the closest and safest place to park without being towed. It is located next to the elementary school on Red Hill Dr. just after the round-about.
From the parking lot of that building there is a path between the tennis courts and the office, follow the path past the volleyball court through the tunnel and towards the sidewalk you will see tee #1 and the strict code of conduct expected.
Holes 1-3 play between the street and some backyards. After hole #3 stay left, don't go through the tunnel!
Holes 4-8 wind through a narrow (30yd.) wide landscaped area carpeted with grass, shaded by both large and small trees, bushes and boulders. On either side there are town homes and backyards and of course the walking path down the middle.
Holes 9-11 backtrack up to the tunnel.
Holes 12-14 play on the other side of the tunnel through the same type of landscape and ends near Charleston Blvd. After #14 walk about 150 yd. to your right and enter the next block of houses.
Hole 15 Plays in a xeriscape landscape type of setting with dirt, pebbles, gravel and little shade.
Holes 16-18 play across the street through the arches in the same type of setting bordered with pools and backyards. You will end up near the office building that you parked at just walk about 100 yds. towards the round-about.

I found the course to be challenging and fun that forces you to literally thread the needle with your throws. The average hole lengths were 270-340 with the trees taking away the top part of your throwing window and risking your drives to land in a backyard, the only sane option is through the trees.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A tight fairway course

1    1/27/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: one of my favorite cources i have ever played its a fun midrange/putter course but u have to be super accurate to play here there is some awsome shots and this couse u can work on rollers 2 with cement teepads and maps on every hole
Cons: we hasd to park at home depot then walk all the way down from 14 to hole 1 because every where else u risk getting towed there are alot of people walking and it is private but people dont mind who live there
Other Thoughts: here or sunset are proably the 2 best cources i have heard of in the area so if u are in the area deffintley play here

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    4/15/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: Blake1844
Played: 70  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very fun! Beautiful, well maintained, challenging, lots of trees, narrow fairways and lots of OB.
Cons: The course double back on it's self in the narrow space they have. Be careful if others are playing the course. Long walks to some holes and if you don't know where you are going you can't find holes 15-18. (When you finish the 14th take the side walk to the right and take a long walk. You'll see another park area on your right.)
Other Thoughts: You can go to the housing association office and get a map. I really liked this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun dg

5+    4/5/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: jlogflagstaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice lush grass.
Large tee pads and tee signs with distances and direction to next hole.
Roller friendly
Nice baskets in great shape.
Alot of foliage for shade on those hot summer days.
Benches throughout the course.
Tight fairways along with some open fairways.
Righty and Lefty friendly.

All in all a fun tight course with danger all around. MUST PLAY if in the Las Vegas area.



Cons: very tight fairways bordered by peoples back yards. so if you throw a disc over the wall either you loose it or you go around and hope somebody is home so you can get your disc back.
Alot of holes over lap or play very close to each other. so be carefull of other golfers and walkers
Alot of trees pourly placed for a dg course.
A walking path goes through the hole course so you will be waiting for people to get out of your way.
No Parking
Private course for the neighborhood, however i have never been told to leave. so be respectfull and you should have no problem playing
Fairways over lap and sometimes you are playing the same fairway as another hole.
Other Thoughts: Very confusing course without map or for a 1st timer.
Must play course if in vegas.
Hands down fun course with alot of danger
Better for advanced to pro players.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/18/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: fannypack
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really like the variety of play this course offers. It forces you to be percise and selective with your disc selection and shot choice. (i.e. backhands, forehands, rollers, turnover etc) It is also beautifully kept and maintained. It is probably the most wooded course in Las Vegas as well.
Cons: Not an good course for beginners or inexperienced players due to the trees and narrow width of the playing field. Some holes can get a little redundant due to the over abundance of foliage.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 D+ Grade = Dud

1    5/7/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2009
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- D+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- D+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Not really meant for the avid Disc Golfer

7/1/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Couple of rather fun pins, very well groomed course.
Cons: Private course... you are not supposed to play unless you are a resident of Peccole Ranch. However, they really won't bug you much unless you are causing trouble.

The course is on a narrow greenway that runs through a neighborhood. For about half of the holes on the course, you are coming back down the same fairway that your went up previously.

DO NOT try to get aggressive on this course unless you are willing to lose your discs. Many of the holes are actually pretty fun plays, however to really reach the pins you have to play over houses or risk going over the fence OB into back yards. Your most likely will not get your disc back even if you attempt to locate the house.

Other Thoughts: The course is setup for a challenging play... but doesn't really allow you to play an aggressive game to really get ahold of any of the holes.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 peccole ranch

5/23/2006   5/23/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 155  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: well maintained, manicured course. not crowded, ever.
Cons: NOTICE: you need permission to play this course.
tight fairways between homes on both sides. multi-use fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course is on private property. Homeowner association land use restricts the use of this course to the general public, however if you respect the homes you play between, ie. dont go after your discs if they go into someones backyard, and if you dont litter, you may not get hassled by security.
the course winds through and between various subdivisions called Peccole Ranch, along a walking/jogging/biking path. there are various trees and bushes to play around and through, which makes the course a great challenge. sometimes the fairways get way too narrow for typically safe play, which is the only reason it gets an OK rating. the course itself is well designed and takes advantage if the terrain very well. it plays like a links course with some walking between a couple of the holes, so prior knowledge of the course layout is advised. if you can control your drives 100% of the time you wont have a problem playing here, layup drives are the rule not the exception, but better than bouncing off a tree and going into someones backyard.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.