Vadito, NM 
Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #8 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft.   3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of the best

5+    9/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set on the ski runs and winds through the mountains; absolute beautiful views. The holes are challenging and require a handful of shots to get you to the basket. This course requires a lot of hiking (might be a con to some...)
Cons: Not too many cons for this course; the woods off the fairways are thick in some spots. Watch your disc or else you could lose it. If you want the course to yourself stay away on Fridays they have doubles. Also on the weekends when there are people camping or having family reunions, holes 2 and 3 are sometimes closed.
Other Thoughts: Absolute beautiful place to play disc. If there are too many people playing here there are a few more courses within a dozen miles which are worth looking into. Enjoy, and if you find a lost disc turn it in, someone will be looking for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great fun factor

1    9/29/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 120  Reviewed: 19
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is quite a different experience from other courses I have played, being set in a ski area and built into the ski slopes. I had high expectations, and I liked it. The long tees weren't a "championship golf" experience like some other top courses I have played, but the fun-factor was excellent.

The tees are rubber, not my preferred type, but they were fine. The course starts off on hole 20, by throwing uphill with a standard hyzer, and then proceeds to hole 1. There are several up and down holes in the front nine of varying lengths, but all were reachable from the long tees. There was a decent balance of right-to-left and left-to-right along with open fairways. Most of the holes were a little more open than I expected, but a few of the shorter holes required some tough lines. The back 9 was more challenging, including one hole I would call a par 4, it was a nice uphill dogleg right. The highlight for me was hole 18, not too often I get a chance to drive it pin high on a 580ft hole. I wanted to empty my bag there but then I thought it might be a lot of work to recover all the discs! I settled for two drives and moved on. Good times! Then hole 19 was another sharp downhill, not long but a fun shot with the creek behind.

I liked the benches made out of old skis!
Cons: Signage was OK but I did have to walk ahead and look for baskets several times, even though the holes were not that long. I think blind baskets should be infrequent in the design on par3 holes, a couple blind holes per 18 is enough.

Another "con" I had (a very minor one) was having to do a few big climbs to get to tees where you throw back down the hill, I think that is a design flaw, should build the climbing into the prior hole whenever possible.

It needs more par 4 holes. There is so much more that could be done on that land.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ragged Glory

5+    6/8/2014   8/16/2011
Review By: nightwing
Played: 81  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 6/18/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Too many to list. See other reviews.
Cons: See updates below.
Other Thoughts: 'SEE-puh' has been reviewed MANY times. I only add what I hope are useful additions.

Recent update: Early June 2014.
OH the Pain and sorrow...to have to again lower Sipapu, now down to 4 stars. I PROMISE TO re-review again when things improve because Sipa always has 5 star potential.

Right now, holes 6 and 7 are a travesty. A new 'Magic Carpet' ski lift has made a muddy mess. You have to climb over and back on a rather sketchy pair of ladders. Hole 10 has an even tougher, new pro tee-pad, but don't fall off LOL.

While it is a fact that skiing brings in WAY more money than disc golf, the resort continues to take a 'Just one of our many summer activiities' attitude that has impacted play for years. ANd BTW the food is still over-priced and mediocre.

Don't get me wrong. Our beloved Sipa will always have at least 15 great holes and a lovely setting. It just could be so much more.

Recent update: Early May 2013.
-Mostly dry. Some snow patchs but playing well. -Random Doubles on Thursdays at 5pm is the best way to see the course for the first time.
Or try weekends or NMDG on web or facebook.
-Busier w/ Rio Pueblo Open coming up 5/18-19. -Typical early season debris better than 2012.
-Casual water on 4 is not O.B. Ski lift 'Pomas' making 6 play tougher. Longer pro tee on 10.

UPDATES: LATE AUGUST '12.
-REALLY COOL PARADISE BAR BY THE RIVER: RIGHT THERE AS YOU START AND FINISH.
-RESTAURANT FOOD STILL BAD. PORTIONS SMALL FOR THE PRICE. JUST HAVE A BEER.


"PERMANENT" NOTES START HERE"
The course is NOT pay to play. You can pay for the scorecard/map if you want. Fly freely if not.

The course is NOT 'just open late spring/summer'.
It's late april until early november or so.
(The Taos Ski Valley course does have a shorter season for some reason).

HINTS-TIPS-GETTING AROUND THE COURSE etc
-Yes it is steep. Bring good shoes/ extra water.
-The course starts on Hole 20 and ends after #19.
-To avoid the steeps, you could play short loops from holes 20 thru 2, or 20 thru 4.
-For SOME steeps, 20 thru 10 or 12.
But don't wimp out if at all possible. It's worth it.

-The pro tees often go much farther up the grade than do the advanced. THIS IS A GOOD THING:
YOU CLIMB UP TO BIG AIR SHOTS. .
So to find pro tees on 8, 9, 12, look up to the right.
For 17, look up and left in the woods.

-YES PLEASE SIPA HAS A LOST AND FOUND!!!!
Players mark their discs. If you find a marked disc, please turn it in to the Sipapu store.

-The rec tees are VERY easy and really make this a beginner friendly course for anyone who can climb a little. Discs available in the store.

-Advance tees play like a 2nd course from the pros.

-The weather is usually great but check for lightning

-Course SEEMS easy, but it's really deceptive.
Short and technical for versatile players.
If you only bomb....well BOOM: you bomb.




9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fall Experience!

2-4    10/15/2010   1/25/2011
Review By: j0atz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome mountain course, pro shop, amazing views and weather (in the fall).

The 2 days we played here, we were pretty much alone on the course. There is lodging right behind the first hole as well as the 3rd hole teepad.

Layout is pretty good, a bit confusing at first but easy once you play it once. There are scorecards and maps available in the lobby.

This course goes up and down the side of a mountain...so you will be in for some awesome views as well as some exercise!

Teepads are all rubber but in good shape.

Some really fun holes with a lot of varying routes/lines. Well balanced. From flat, to crazy uphill, to across the mountain, to DOWN the mountain.

Baskets seemed to be in good condition.
Cons: None that I can think of really.

The course takes a WHILE to complete...but that really isn't a con. Makes for a long, fun round.
Other Thoughts: Prepare to spend about 3-4 hours on this course (first round at least). It went a bit quicker the 2nd time around.

The course isn't open year round because of the ski season, so make sure you go in season.

Pro shop has a pretty good selection actually. Also, they have womens instructional classes (weekly I think).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.