Vadito, NM 
Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 78ft.   3 / 143ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Absolutely Stunning Views!

5+    6/19/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: Oklahoma Outlaw
Played: 97  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 35.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is has some very scenic holes as it winds up, down and across the ski slopes. It has 3 sets of tees allowing people of any ability to be able to enjoy a round of golf. The tips provide some length and require technical ability to be able to score well. As you play through the course, you are required to throw R to L, L to R and Straight shots. You will have to throw uphill, downhill and across the slopes. There are even a few holes that are flat. The fairways are generous and the rough is a crap shoot whether you can proceed to the hole or have to just "Take your Medicine" and throw out to a clear shot.
Cons: There are only 2 things that I feel are cons about this course. 1) It is about 45 minutes from Taos and 1 hr 10 min from Las Vegas, so you don't just run over and play you have to plan to go. (but well worth the trip) 2) It is a seasonal course and they take it down for winter. It sucks we can't play year round but cherish the times we can.
Other Thoughts: This course should be on the "Must Play" list for any one that comes to New Mexico. It has stunning views, it is a wonderful walk and is as challenging as you want it to be based on which set of tees you choose to play from.

Come to New Mexico and enjoy Disc Golf.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Place Amazing Course

1    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 154  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything I've ever wanted in a course. The signage on the course is world class which can't be stressed enough on a course where there are strenuous hikes between some holes. You can't get lost on this course. The river that runs through the base area is so beautiful. You are throwing shots over the river from 200' above the river, there are people pulling rainbows and browns out while you are putting, there's a bar and grill at the start, the scenery is so enchantingly beautiful you don't mind the fact that you've just hiked up huge elevation and you can't breathe. You just stop and take it all in. The design is also really fun. There's nothing overly difficult about the layout. A good advanced level player should shot at or below par. A top pro will shot well under par. The course has multiple tees on every hole so players of all skill levels can play the course together and have fun. This place is magical and will be back for sure. Oh holes 18 and 19 are two of the most fun holes I've ever played. On 18 you are just forever away from the basket about halfway up the mountain. Even so, all it takes a laser buzz on the correct trajectory and you can park this shot.
Cons: This course is too far from where I live.
Other Thoughts: This is destination course. With the other courses in the area do yourself a favor. Get some buddies, get in the car, and drive to Northern New Mexico and play all of these mountain courses. They are all amazing and better than any courses you play where you live.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/26/2011   5/15/2012
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Insane elevation changes and great variety in holes, from wooded to open to a few over the stream. It's great that there are different tee boxes for each hole for all skill levels. I played this course every day I stayed at the lodge for four weeks and it always impressed me with the challenges it presented.
Cons: Not many complaints about this course. Be careful of high winds that can catch your disc and do your best to avoid throwing into the trees, they can be very unforgiving and I've seen many discs get caught up and are lost. The stream can be intimidating but not usually too deep to wade out and retrieve your disc.
Other Thoughts: Keep your eyes open, many lost discs fall out of the trees practically every day. Do as you will with those that you find, but they are often found. Also, wear proper footwear! There is a lot of hiking involved in this course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Who gave this less than 5?!?

2-4    7/3/2010   7/3/2011
Review By: Ghetto Leprechaun
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrain: The terrain is amazing! Up and down the slopes, over the streams, through the woods, to the pin we go! I've never seen a better, more beautiful course.

Course layout: You could get through this course w/o a map if you wanted to. There is a nice flow which is sometimes hard to come by in a disc golf course. Nice, challenging holes. Anything from around bends, to up hill, through the forest, over the stream and down, WAY DOWN, the slope!

Clubhouse nearby.

Decent accommodations. I stayed in a cabin last time and it's not the Ritz but I really don't care. It adds to the experience. And when hungry, go get a Red Chile Burrito from the eatery upstairs. That is the best Red Chile I've ever had! Worth every penny I paid, and more!
Cons: I can honestly say I cannot think of even one negative thing to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Well worth planning a one or two night stay in order to play disc golf on this amazing course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 See-Pah-Pooooo

2-4    4/20/2010   4/8/2011
Review By: QBeaver
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful!!! One of the best courses on the planet! Great vistas, great holes, lots of challenge. Multiple tee pads to accommodate all skill levels, however this is not a course for beginners in my opinion. Some very epic holes, to say there are some elevation changes is an understatement. Good pro shop, friendly locals, great camping nearby, and beautiful weather in the heart of the Sangre De Cristo Mountains of New Mexico.
Cons: Only open after the snow melts, late spring and summer only.
It's quite a treacherous hike and will take you many hours to complete. (worth it though)
Confusing layout for newbies to the course, maps are available and needed if it's your first time.
Other Thoughts: Not really many drawbacks to this course, it's worth the time and the hike. One of my favorite places to throw, period.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course, you will be glad you did

5+    8/25/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 78  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I feel fortunate that I used to live within an hours drive of this course. It was actually the first real course I ever played. Since then all other courses I have played have a lot to live up to. Beautiful, challenging, secluded (which can also be a con). Never crowded. FREE to play! Three sets of rubber tees so every level can enjoy. Very technical, don't need a big arm to score well here. 18 and 19 are the two best finishing holes i've ever played.
Cons: I can't play here everyday since I moved to Texas.
Other Thoughts: If you love disc golf, make it a point to play this course someday. You won't regret it.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 World Class Course

1    5/30/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Unbelievable scenery. Set in the mountains of New Mexico. Very easy to find your way with good signage and clearly defined fairways. Most holes are down, up or across the ski runs.

Very challenging. Water in play on a few holes and lots of elevation change. Fun to throw down the hill for some huge shots. Play across creek on hole 2 from elevated tee, and #4 to an elevated basket down a tunnel of trees.

Set of three tee pads for every hole level the playing field for beginners. Scorecard/ Map available for $3 from resort store along with discs and souvenirs.
Cons: Thick and tall douglas firs border the ski runs and will grab your disc. Sometimes very high up. My group lost two discs when we played.

Course is kind of in the middle of nowhere, so it takes a little while to get to but is well worth the drive.

Other than that this course is sick !!!!!
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I have ever played, both because of its shear beauty and hole design/flow.
Enjoyed it immensely. If you are a hardcore discer like myself and anywhere near here you have to go.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.