Vadito, NM 
Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #9 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 299ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 World class course deserves world class review

2-4    7/28/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 144  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing New Mexico scenery of rivers, mountains, and tall pines
World class amenities- bathrooms, lodging, camping, restaurant, bar, free wi-fi, "pro shop"
Great use of elevation
Nice locations of signs to keep you on track, pretty easy to follow the first time.
Many different shots are required
Basket location - often on a ridge or surrounded by trouble
Multiple teepad locations for all skill levels
Good flow to the course, not a lot of excessive hiking
Great views
Great fairways with well placed guardian trees

Start on Hole 20, plays up and to the left
Hole 1 - Challenging dowhill hole across the ski runs, basket to the left of the tire swing - This hole can play tough from the long
Hole 2 - Very cool ace run shot over the creek in the meadow
Hole 4 - Uphill tight shot over water
Hole 5 - Super sick ROC shot slighly downhill to a highly guarded basket
Hole 8 - Cool downhill blind hole, nice row of trees that guard the basket
Hole 9 - Very cool shot into a bowl
Hole 12 - Great downhill hole with a narrow fairway
Hole 14 - Great Par 3 hole where you have a right dogleg into a narrow landing zone and around a 200 ft upshot. This shot requires placement over power!
Hole 18 - One of my favorites I have played. Downhill 568ft and is easy to blow by. Very narrow fairway, very nice duece
Hole 19 - Downhill into a cluster of trees with water in play behind the basket.

This course is worth the drive
Cons: Relative isolation
A better pro shop with sipapu stamped discs as souvenirs - kind of bummed they had nothing
More benches
A few trash cans
More length and challenge from pro tees

Other Thoughts: This course was so much fun that I played it three times in one day on my way to santa fe. I went to two gray hares after my second round at sipapu and left after two holes to go back to the resort. This course is so much fun and is not an extreme workout - however I live in high elevation.
Scores PAR 60
Round 1 59
Round 2 54 (2 on hole 18, very stoked about that)
Round 3 57
This course plays longer than is listed but with the exception of hole 14 every hole can and has been dueced. However, this is easier said than done. I only played the professional tees but the adv and rec teepads welcome all abilities and levels of competitiveness. I cant say enough about this course, it is by far the best mountain course I have played, the scenery is beautiful! You wont have to wait at this course very often due to its isolation but that is part of the charm. I found this course to be very lefty friendly ( I am a lefty ) and did not always demand a full power shot, I like this. Placement is important. I wish there were more holes like 14 that are borderline par 3/4 holes where it doesnt matter how big your arm is. The basket locations are great, sometimes on ridges, in valleys, next to water, so so cool. Blind holes, straight holes, uphill holes, lots of downhill holes. As always, bring what you take in and no butt flicking, keep it clean. Add to your favorites.

Just do it.

One more thing, there is a Carson National Forest campground called Comales where I camped the night before playing. It only costs 5 bucks and is on the Rio Pueblo. Campground is about 2 miles before Sipapu on the left side of the street. Nice place to camp.

IMO, the only thing keeping this from being a 5/5 rated course is a few "filler" holes, like hole 3


9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 World Class Course

1    5/30/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Unbelievable scenery. Set in the mountains of New Mexico. Very easy to find your way with good signage and clearly defined fairways. Most holes are down, up or across the ski runs.

Very challenging. Water in play on a few holes and lots of elevation change. Fun to throw down the hill for some huge shots. Play across creek on hole 2 from elevated tee, and #4 to an elevated basket down a tunnel of trees.

Set of three tee pads for every hole level the playing field for beginners. Scorecard/ Map available for $3 from resort store along with discs and souvenirs.
Cons: Thick and tall douglas firs border the ski runs and will grab your disc. Sometimes very high up. My group lost two discs when we played.

Course is kind of in the middle of nowhere, so it takes a little while to get to but is well worth the drive.

Other than that this course is sick !!!!!
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I have ever played, both because of its shear beauty and hole design/flow.
Enjoyed it immensely. If you are a hardcore discer like myself and anywhere near here you have to go.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ski Slope Course

5+    9/29/2008   6/30/2009
Review By: RevDrDisc
Played: 91  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 38.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice mountain setting on a ski slope. A river runs through it. Air is usually cool and fresh. Course is well laid out and trail is easy to follow
Cons: lots of elevation changes. The trees around the river seem to grab disc out of the air. Sometimes they can get stuck very high.
Other Thoughts: Resort manager is good about returning disk and fun to play with.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/3/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: Survivor
Played: 497  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2008
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery with huge trees and a stream.
Fairways are up, down, and across ski runs.
Nice mix of holes with monstrous elevation changes.
Inexpensive lodging/camping available on site
Picnic area restrooms and store with friendly staff near hole one.
Cons: Remoteness of course
Other Thoughts: Tremendously fun course. Come prepared for quick weather changes. The hike is strenuous --- bring water.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/6/2006   9/6/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Awesome course. Very scenic with huge elevation changes. The holes are in and around, up and down the ski runs. Very fun.
Cons: You need to be in decent shape because you are in for some serious walking up and down the runs.
Other Thoughts: This course is really a pleasure to play. Lots of hilly shots, some water, loads of trees.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


7/2/2008   7/2/2008
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing Elevation changes, Stream with 2 water shots, Multiple Tee boxes w/ rubber pads
Big Trees, Store, Restaurant,
Beautiful Views
Best course I've ever played
Usually never crowded
Cons: high elevation will leave you winded, course closed in the winter, You'll lose your disc in the stream during the spring runoff
Other Thoughts: They will be adding more baskets soon.
Host of the New Mexico State championships.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.