Vadito, NM 
Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #19 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Absolutely Stunning Views!

5+    6/19/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: Oklahoma Outlaw
Played: 97  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 35.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is has some very scenic holes as it winds up, down and across the ski slopes. It has 3 sets of tees allowing people of any ability to be able to enjoy a round of golf. The tips provide some length and require technical ability to be able to score well. As you play through the course, you are required to throw R to L, L to R and Straight shots. You will have to throw uphill, downhill and across the slopes. There are even a few holes that are flat. The fairways are generous and the rough is a crap shoot whether you can proceed to the hole or have to just "Take your Medicine" and throw out to a clear shot.
Cons: There are only 2 things that I feel are cons about this course. 1) It is about 45 minutes from Taos and 1 hr 10 min from Las Vegas, so you don't just run over and play you have to plan to go. (but well worth the trip) 2) It is a seasonal course and they take it down for winter. It sucks we can't play year round but cherish the times we can.
Other Thoughts: This course should be on the "Must Play" list for any one that comes to New Mexico. It has stunning views, it is a wonderful walk and is as challenging as you want it to be based on which set of tees you choose to play from.

Come to New Mexico and enjoy Disc Golf.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/19/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: pimpcapnc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation changes
- Many different looks at the basket from the teepad

-rubber tee pads

-clean fairways

-lodging available for excellent price

-great views
Cons: -can get gusty winds at times

-roll-aways can kill your score
Other Thoughts: I think for a course like this one being that it is in such a remote area that there should be less duece or die holes. I love the challenging holes but holes 2-4 are duece or die holes in my opinion. Holes 6, 7, 9, 19 and 20 have the same feel as well. Just a thought. Upon going to this course I thought it was alot tougher. maybe a modification to the layout would be cooler for future tournaments.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

5+    9/23/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set on the ski runs and winds through the mountains; absolute beautiful views. The holes are challenging and require a handful of shots to get you to the basket. This course requires a lot of hiking (might be a con to some...)
Cons: Not too many cons for this course; the woods off the fairways are thick in some spots. Watch your disc or else you could lose it. If you want the course to yourself stay away on Fridays they have doubles. Also on the weekends when there are people camping or having family reunions, holes 2 and 3 are sometimes closed.
Other Thoughts: Absolute beautiful place to play disc. If there are too many people playing here there are a few more courses within a dozen miles which are worth looking into. Enjoy, and if you find a lost disc turn it in, someone will be looking for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great fun factor

1    9/29/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 120  Reviewed: 19
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is quite a different experience from other courses I have played, being set in a ski area and built into the ski slopes. I had high expectations, and I liked it. The long tees weren't a "championship golf" experience like some other top courses I have played, but the fun-factor was excellent.

The tees are rubber, not my preferred type, but they were fine. The course starts off on hole 20, by throwing uphill with a standard hyzer, and then proceeds to hole 1. There are several up and down holes in the front nine of varying lengths, but all were reachable from the long tees. There was a decent balance of right-to-left and left-to-right along with open fairways. Most of the holes were a little more open than I expected, but a few of the shorter holes required some tough lines. The back 9 was more challenging, including one hole I would call a par 4, it was a nice uphill dogleg right. The highlight for me was hole 18, not too often I get a chance to drive it pin high on a 580ft hole. I wanted to empty my bag there but then I thought it might be a lot of work to recover all the discs! I settled for two drives and moved on. Good times! Then hole 19 was another sharp downhill, not long but a fun shot with the creek behind.

I liked the benches made out of old skis!
Cons: Signage was OK but I did have to walk ahead and look for baskets several times, even though the holes were not that long. I think blind baskets should be infrequent in the design on par3 holes, a couple blind holes per 18 is enough.

Another "con" I had (a very minor one) was having to do a few big climbs to get to tees where you throw back down the hill, I think that is a design flaw, should build the climbing into the prior hole whenever possible.

It needs more par 4 holes. There is so much more that could be done on that land.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 All time FAVS!

1    6/22/2011   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only reasons I didn't give this course a perfect score is this...Use of the entire ski slope to make it longer and the fact that you walk a hell of alot.Which kind of counter balance each other I know.You'd need a four wheeler if it was so.What can I say its one of the top three courses I've ever played..A few epic shots make you wanna throw your whole bag at it.The most elevation on any course i've been on.Beautiful,Beautiful,Beautiful.
Cons: It is sometimes hard to find the next tee. There are some pretty hard climbs and if you head off in a direction that isn't where the next tee is it is hard to figure out where you should have gone.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Place Amazing Course

1    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 154  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything I've ever wanted in a course. The signage on the course is world class which can't be stressed enough on a course where there are strenuous hikes between some holes. You can't get lost on this course. The river that runs through the base area is so beautiful. You are throwing shots over the river from 200' above the river, there are people pulling rainbows and browns out while you are putting, there's a bar and grill at the start, the scenery is so enchantingly beautiful you don't mind the fact that you've just hiked up huge elevation and you can't breathe. You just stop and take it all in. The design is also really fun. There's nothing overly difficult about the layout. A good advanced level player should shot at or below par. A top pro will shot well under par. The course has multiple tees on every hole so players of all skill levels can play the course together and have fun. This place is magical and will be back for sure. Oh holes 18 and 19 are two of the most fun holes I've ever played. On 18 you are just forever away from the basket about halfway up the mountain. Even so, all it takes a laser buzz on the correct trajectory and you can park this shot.
Cons: This course is too far from where I live.
Other Thoughts: This is destination course. With the other courses in the area do yourself a favor. Get some buddies, get in the car, and drive to Northern New Mexico and play all of these mountain courses. They are all amazing and better than any courses you play where you live.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/26/2011   5/15/2012
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Insane elevation changes and great variety in holes, from wooded to open to a few over the stream. It's great that there are different tee boxes for each hole for all skill levels. I played this course every day I stayed at the lodge for four weeks and it always impressed me with the challenges it presented.
Cons: Not many complaints about this course. Be careful of high winds that can catch your disc and do your best to avoid throwing into the trees, they can be very unforgiving and I've seen many discs get caught up and are lost. The stream can be intimidating but not usually too deep to wade out and retrieve your disc.
Other Thoughts: Keep your eyes open, many lost discs fall out of the trees practically every day. Do as you will with those that you find, but they are often found. Also, wear proper footwear! There is a lot of hiking involved in this course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Family Fun on the Mountian

2-4    9/5/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Crazy Fast Ford
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free to play! Very nice course setup. The stream that runs throught the first few holes is great. Playing from the pro tees 12, 18 and 19 is just awesome. There are three sets of tees.
Cons: It is sometimes hard to find the next tee. There are some pretty hard climbs and if you head off in a direction that isn't where the next tee is it is hard to figure out where you should have gone. This course was especially tuff for the kids (5 year old). We all got stug by Wasps on #3 but was probably just us, but be careful it is there home your playing.
Other Thoughts: Great course, the long drives are really awesome when you can find your disc. These are the ones you remimber for a long time. Lost discs tend to end up up the street at Two Gray Hares.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ragged Glory

5+    6/8/2014   8/16/2011
Review By: nightwing
Played: 99  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 6/18/2014
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Too many to list. See other reviews.
Cons: See updates below.
Other Thoughts: 'SEE-puh' has been reviewed MANY times. I only add what I hope are useful additions.

Recent update: Early June 2014.
OH the Pain and sorrow...to have to again lower Sipapu, now down to 4 stars. I PROMISE TO re-review again when things improve because Sipa always has 5 star potential.

Right now, holes 6 and 7 are a travesty. A new 'Magic Carpet' ski lift has made a muddy mess. You have to climb over and back on a rather sketchy pair of ladders. Hole 10 has an even tougher, new pro tee-pad, but don't fall off LOL.

While it is a fact that skiing brings in WAY more money than disc golf, the resort continues to take a 'Just one of our many summer activiities' attitude that has impacted play for years. ANd BTW the food is still over-priced and mediocre.

Don't get me wrong. Our beloved Sipa will always have at least 15 great holes and a lovely setting. It just could be so much more.

Recent update: Early May 2013.
-Mostly dry. Some snow patchs but playing well. -Random Doubles on Thursdays at 5pm is the best way to see the course for the first time.
Or try weekends or NMDG on web or facebook.
-Busier w/ Rio Pueblo Open coming up 5/18-19. -Typical early season debris better than 2012.
-Casual water on 4 is not O.B. Ski lift 'Pomas' making 6 play tougher. Longer pro tee on 10.

UPDATES: LATE AUGUST '12.
-REALLY COOL PARADISE BAR BY THE RIVER: RIGHT THERE AS YOU START AND FINISH.
-RESTAURANT FOOD STILL BAD. PORTIONS SMALL FOR THE PRICE. JUST HAVE A BEER.


"PERMANENT" NOTES START HERE"
The course is NOT pay to play. You can pay for the scorecard/map if you want. Fly freely if not.

The course is NOT 'just open late spring/summer'.
It's late april until early november or so.
(The Taos Ski Valley course does have a shorter season for some reason).

HINTS-TIPS-GETTING AROUND THE COURSE etc
-Yes it is steep. Bring good shoes/ extra water.
-The course starts on Hole 20 and ends after #19.
-To avoid the steeps, you could play short loops from holes 20 thru 2, or 20 thru 4.
-For SOME steeps, 20 thru 10 or 12.
But don't wimp out if at all possible. It's worth it.

-The pro tees often go much farther up the grade than do the advanced. THIS IS A GOOD THING:
YOU CLIMB UP TO BIG AIR SHOTS. .
So to find pro tees on 8, 9, 12, look up to the right.
For 17, look up and left in the woods.

-YES PLEASE SIPA HAS A LOST AND FOUND!!!!
Players mark their discs. If you find a marked disc, please turn it in to the Sipapu store.

-The rec tees are VERY easy and really make this a beginner friendly course for anyone who can climb a little. Discs available in the store.

-Advance tees play like a 2nd course from the pros.

-The weather is usually great but check for lightning

-Course SEEMS easy, but it's really deceptive.
Short and technical for versatile players.
If you only bomb....well BOOM: you bomb.




9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Who gave this less than 5?!?

2-4    7/3/2010   7/3/2011
Review By: Ghetto Leprechaun
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrain: The terrain is amazing! Up and down the slopes, over the streams, through the woods, to the pin we go! I've never seen a better, more beautiful course.

Course layout: You could get through this course w/o a map if you wanted to. There is a nice flow which is sometimes hard to come by in a disc golf course. Nice, challenging holes. Anything from around bends, to up hill, through the forest, over the stream and down, WAY DOWN, the slope!

Clubhouse nearby.

Decent accommodations. I stayed in a cabin last time and it's not the Ritz but I really don't care. It adds to the experience. And when hungry, go get a Red Chile Burrito from the eatery upstairs. That is the best Red Chile I've ever had! Worth every penny I paid, and more!
Cons: I can honestly say I cannot think of even one negative thing to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Well worth planning a one or two night stay in order to play disc golf on this amazing course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.