Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A lot of room but busy

1    3/5/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs are good and the hangers are great.

There's a lot of space for being in the middle of the city.

The homeless guys can actually be helpful as spotters.
Cons: Busy. A couple holes we skipped because people were having picnics right in the fairway.

Having to shoot the gap between the basketball courts and baseball diamond was weird and felt unnecessary. There are a enough holes without that section.

For having no elevation changes the distance here will wipe you out.

You're right next to the airport so the plane noise is almost constant.
Other Thoughts: You're in the desert, dummy. BRING WATER! Hit the 7-11 on the corner on your way in and load up.

I would say the lack of elevation is monotonous, but that's the terrain you've got so I can't really call that a negative. They could maybe get creative with raised baskets or something but what do you want, it's a city park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long day of torture in the wind

1    10/28/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long (holes and course), incredible signage and bag hangers. No crowd whatsoever on a Monday morning (during a wind storm).
Cons: Very wide open with bombs and turnovers the call for the day, not much shaping here! Homeless folks abound- not to be prejudice, just not a positive when compared to the gorgeous courses nearby. No elevation and not much variety.
Other Thoughts: I played here on a "High Wind Advisory " day- 30mph+!! This makes giving an accurate "typical condition" review impossible but I will say that I hear the area is prone to blustery conditions . I played with a fellow stray out-of-towner and we had an absolute blast with only one other player on the course during our 3-1/2 hour, 24 hole torture test! If I were a local this place would get heavy rotation for it's distance improving length.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Navigation like learning craps...it takes awhile but eventually makes sense

5+    8/27/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 112  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily the most convenient course in Vegas, just blocks from the airport and in the shadow of landing planes. The tees are concrete, the grass is fairly healthy, and there are even a bunch of trees here.

The course makes good use of the obstacles it has to work with: light poles, fences, baseball fields, tennis courts. There are a number of holes that force a turnover shot if you want to have a shot at birdie, and the course doesn't seem to favor righties or lefties.

I like holes 18-24 (across the driveway entrace). They are a bit more wooded and require more accuracy. And the tiny, tiny bit of elevation the course has is found here. Look carefully and you might see it!

I have been surprised at how un-busy this place is.
Cons: Tee signs are subpar. Navigation isn't bad, but without the map you'll have a tough time. Holes 5-7 loop back on themselves, and the basket straight ahead of hole 5 is actually for hole 7. Then you have a bit of a walk over to the 8th tee.

The design is just okay. I like that the course forces certain shots on different holes, but nearly every hole felt like a pretty easy 3 but an unrealistic 2. I can throw about 275 feet, and it always felt like I ended up 75-150 feet away from the hole off the tee. So for someone of my skill set, a great drive and a mediocre drive will both usually result in a par. There isn't a lot of risk/reward on the course.

People seem to sit in several of the fairways to watch the baseball games.
Other Thoughts: Update: As of late March 2013, there are new signs for all 24 holes, so navigation is much better. There is still a stray basket between holes 3 and 4 (#4 is the old #8), but you can ignore it.

If you come to Vegas and need a break from the gambling, this is probably your best bet (hah! Get it?). It's close to the Strip, and you could probably even take a cab here.

There is some shade here, but if you're playing in the summer, bring some water, a hat, and a lot of sunscreen. The heat isn't as bad as you think, but the direct sunlight can take a lot out of you.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Review

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good size tee boxes. Nice layout. Well-maintained park. Mature trees for some shade. Friendly locals.
Cons: Holes 4-7 do not exist. Hole 1 tee, as marked on map is now No. 2 (July 18, 2012). You'll need someone to direct you to first tee if you've never played before. After playing hole 3, move directly to No. 8. The course map is useless for holes 1 and 4-7.
Other Thoughts: OB on some holes put traffic, parked cars and basketball players in peril from beginners like me. OB can make play more challenging, but can also make for some nervous play from a beginner.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Construction Continues

1    11/10/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Decent park not far from LV Strip
-Baskets were in decent shape
-Concrete Teepads (except for hole changes)
-Signage available for each hole
Cons: -Construction in the park has forced hole relocation
- Flat terrain with few obstacles
-Mandatory flight paths on holes due to crossing fairways
-Slight sketchy park
Other Thoughts: Out of towner visiting LV and chose this park due to it being very close to downtown strip. In fact, if you plan your trips the way I do, You could come out of the airport and land at Sunset park in Less than 3 minutes.
I use the GPS Longitude and Latitude markings for directions which dumps you at Hole #12 instead of the other parking lot at Hole#1.
The Contruction interrupted the flow abit and Hole#1 has been reconstructed. Luckily a local pointed us to the hole.
The Mandatory Flight paths on a number of holes are understood due to the course layout but I see this as a con being flying discs arry can happen often.
We got turned arounda few times so it would help if there were better directions available.
If I return to the area, I would probably try another park. The course itself was a bit uninteresting.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Okay - but in the lower 50%

1    10/27/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: cmartin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 14 holes available on the front are all pretty straight forward and open with some OB - mostly other park amenities (Tennis courts, baseball fields) or parking lots. While there are trees on the front, very few really come into play.
The final 6 holes made the course worth playing. They are a bit longer than the front and have a lot more trees that force you to decide how to play the hole.
Cons: Currently (10/27/11) holes 4-7 are not available due to construction at the park. Holes 1-3 have been moved/modified making it a little tough to play without guidance (which the local players seemed happy to provide).
Not a lot of elevation change - but what little natural elevation changes are available were incorporated into the course (again all on the last 6 holes).
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this was a nice course and it is reasonably easy. Of the courses I've played, I would have to rate it in the lower half. Not being a local, it's unlikely I will play the course again; however, if I decide to come back, I will probably just play the final 6 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Construction Zone

1    9/3/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Grass in the desert/more than 18 holes/close to the strip if your visiting/concrete tee pads

Cons: cross traffic/construction in park looks like some holes have been and will be shifted and or moved on a permant basis/bums/signs missing
Other Thoughts: nice course but some holes play close to parked cars and other sports fields/. We had to get a guy playing a fiddle, a lady reading in the fairway and a couple softball teams to move so we could play/ many signs missing/bums/a bit confusing where you have to go out to the sidewalk and back to get around the construction/no water. Will be back in Vegas again and will play this course after the construction is done and update this review at that time. still worth playing if your in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good location for vacations

2-4    5/15/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets. The holes varied in length and difficulty. Decent signage, but many of the signs were vandalized and worn out. Good location close to the strip and very close to the airport. Good use of the few trees in the park. A couple of very challenging holes. Some friendly locals to help with navigation if you need. Drinking fountains and restrooms on site, although I wouldn't recommend using the restrooms.
Cons: The park is completely flat, no elevation change whatsoever. Some holes played too close to other park activities like baseball, tennis, and basketball. There is a lot of non disc golfers out on the fairways, near the baskets, and by the tee pads. Both times I've played this course there were a lot of bums hanging out, and in some cases, heckling the disc golfers as they tee off.
Other Thoughts: I had fun both times I played this course, and will visit next time I'm in Vegas. It's not incredible, but it works, and has some nice holes. The course would be much better if it wasn't full of people just hanging out, and getting in the way.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 vegas baby vegas

1    2/8/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: close to strip, lots of parking, easy to follow course
Cons: bums and length of holes
Other Thoughts: i like shorter holes with more obstacles more than longer open holes.

but holes 6,13,16,22 and 24 were the best with distances mandatorys and basket placement.

went on a monday at 8am no crowds and about 6 other disc golfers

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 DG in LV!

1    11/14/2007   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's disc golf in Vegas, and a stones throw from the strip, can't get better than that. Easy to get to, easy to navigate and really friendly locals to help you out.
Cons: Kind of redundant and not overly difficult. Seemed like there were lot of pretty much wide open holes. This courses' main defense is the wind and it wasn't very windy the day I played it. There were a bunch of other park users and "woodsman" in the park, but it wasn't really an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: It's worth playing if you in LV or you need a break from the tables. I don't make it a priority when I'm there, but it has to compete against the strip which isn't really fair. It's a good beginner/ intermediate course, but a skilled player will find it average.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.