Las Vegas, NV
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #15
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #15



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
New Signage

2-4    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New signs - These new signs give aerial views of the fairways and basket options. The sign pole also have added bag hangers to keep your bag off the ground.

Nice cement pads
Cons: Not a lot of obstacles
Not a lot of places to get drinking water on course
Not a lot of trash cans on course
Other Thoughts: Decent course, close to strip for an out of town traveler. The course if pretty wide open with many of the holes awaiting turn-over shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/29/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout and well signed. 24 holes. Not overly busy.
Cons: Spent a while looking for holes 4-7 until I realized they are not there. The course is mostly wide open with not too many trees.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Nice that it has 24 holes. I haven't played any other courses in the Las Vegas area so I don't know how it compares to the other ones.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 visitor Friendly

1    2/24/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Visiting from salt lake I really enjoyed this course! It had trees for difficulty, and was fairly long par 3's so you could legitimately use your driver on most holes!
-This course was not busy, but it was good to see that people were playing!
-This park is huge. Absolutely perfect park for a course. Plenty of room for 18 actually 27 hole course and "pedestrians" didn't get in the way at all. If anything, they knew where to sit and enjoy some shade and watched the disc golfers.
-This course although it has some difficult terrain like trees, it is still a fairly open and easy course. But that doesn't mean it wasn't fun!
-Plenty of parking!
-Close to airport, you can watch the huge jets come in.
-You will never lose a disc on this course.
-Shaded at many of the tees. But not fairways.
Cons: -Very flat and open.
-Not much bad to say, I really enjoyed this course.
-All the airplanes can sometimes be distracting, but over all they are fun to watch.
-The last 9 holes of the 27 hole course seem to be thrown in. Wasn't as fun and interesting as the rest of the course. But, still fun nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: -As a visitor, i enjoyed the complexity of the course and will for sure go back next year and hopefully play a couple times.
Take this review for what it's worth. I played the course once. I hope this was helpful in some way for any others looking to try this course. I will be going back next year, and I look forward to it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, boring, but legit

1    4/17/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Each hole was a legit DG par 3. Variety of different tee shots & options. Holes 19-24 are the best on the course. Plenty of parking. You'll have a chance to get paired up if you want.
Cons: Not enough trees and definition throughout front 18. If the front 18 played like the back 6, this would be a 4-star course for me. This place is clearly old school, and I think Mountain Crest is way better.
Other Thoughts: I really can't see myself playing this course again. I'm thinking I'll be playing Red Ridge and Mountain Crest most often until the new courses get finished. For an ideal representation of what Sunset COULD be, check out Oak Grove DGC in Stockton, CA. Just keeping it REAL...
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (strong DG culture; large)
Difficulty: B (flat; could use more trees; OB)
Fun factor: B (plays quick; easy with kids)
Aesthetics: C+ (boring; old looking)
----------------------
Overall: B

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Windy City, Las Vegas

2-4    9/7/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 hole course. Concrete Tee Pads in good condition. Unique use of OB that adds to fun and difficulty. No bugs! Coming from Virginia this was pleasantly shocking considering the heat. Great park with restrooms, water fountains and plenty to do for the family while you obsess over a new dg course! Good flow from hole to hole once you find hole one. The printable map makes that real easy, just don't leave it at the hotel.....enough said.
Cons: Not a lot of variety to the shots. As mentioned before, sort of a there is the basket, go for it, type of course. Trees do come into play to raise the degree of challenge, but not really too tough. Many of the holes get familar after a while. Mostly an open rip it course. A tight knit course that I'm sure on a busy day can cause issue with usual park users and families as the baskets seem to placed in potential high traffic areas. Also be aware that many homeless use the park as a home base. So much so, that I was told by a local that many of them carry discs to diguise themselves from police.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course directly across from the Las Vegas Airport. This leads me to the title of my review, Windy City! This course was windy, be prepared. This isn't a Pro or Con just be warned. The day I played the wind was a huge part of the game and a local with me told me it was a calm day for the wind! Sheesh! Not sure if this is common in Vegas or due to the airplanes landing and taking off constantly nearby as you play. Despite being a bit simplistic, this is a fun course, due alot to the many OB's found around the course. Holes 8 and 9 are standouts that use baseball fields as OB. Many courses mark areas as OB, but Sunset is the only one I've played where the height of the Baseball Field's fence comes into play, very tricky and very cool.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hot! Hot! Hot!

5+    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice course. Fun to play. Plenty of holes. Good signs. Well maintained. baskets in good shape. Large park with good amenities. Nice mid to longer length holes to open it up a bit. A few tricky tree opportunities.. I think 16, 17 and 24 were nice tree issues and 13 has a BIG tree to consider. The basket on 1 used to be behind that tree... now it is in the open.
Cons: Hot! Wow Vegas is hot in July! Many holes are just basic... the basket is over there, go for it. A few holes offer some tree challenges. There a few marked mandos to come into play. We do not have this much course length on this many holes in my home area... We have shorter more forested courses that might have a few bigger arm holes. I do prefer a few woody, tricky holes to make shot choices to keep regular play more interesting... but i do not live here so 2 visits per year is NOT regular play. Not a comment on the course itself, but, nowhere nearby to buy good discs that any locals could refer me to.
Other Thoughts: This course has been recently tweaked a bit. A few new basket placements. Looked like a few new baskets or just chains, too. Homeless looking dude "lives" at the bench area near basket 2, tee 3, tee 15, basket 15, tee 16. He has been there every time I have been here... seems pretty harmless. Has a hand full of discs and occasionally will get up and toss them. Might be a bit spooky some small kids. Bring water. Update 6/11This course gets smaller every time I play. My arm is getting bigger. Hole 6 is one of the best holes in disc golf... ever... first 2/3 of the hole open up wide and clear. Great tree cluster at the 2/3 point offering lots of choices as to how you play. 15% after tree cluster is open for clear putting. Very fun to play over and over again, This hole forces good choices and plays different every time.. 16 and 17 is a great annie combo. Play the mandos as indicated. Few courses have 'nuf good annie holes. These 2 are gems.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than you'd expect in Las Vegas

5+    5/31/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: MountainMan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 32 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More trees than I expected to find in this part of the country. The final six or seven holes get pretty challenging. Very well marked tee boxes with maps to the next hole.
Cons: Many of the early holes are very similar. Several holes have baseball diamonds, basketball courts, or even a very busy street as out-of-bounds.
Other Thoughts: A great way to start out the day; in the spring and summer you will definitely want to start early and beat the heat. The course is well maintained and the holes get more challenging later in the round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Airport View

1    3/1/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very good to locate in Las Vegas and has 24 great holes to play. Most tees have a good sign to show the pin location and distance. Some holes have challenging obstacles. Parking is right next to hole 1 as 18 ends at the parking lot.
Cons: Not as challenging as some courses I have played in the past. Bathrooms are really nasty, and parking could be a problem on a rainy day.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would recommend this course. It was an enjoybable course to go to while on vacation and I will play again when I come back to Vegas. There is a sports shop across Sunset that sells discs also. Finally, the folks that played there are very friendly and helpful.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park DGC

5+    3/3/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hydration stations
great teepads
close to the strip
plenty of parking
awesome park setting
bathrooms
Cons: Distractions galore
the holes close to the basketball court can provide for some distraction.
some of the signs are destroyed or mangled.
lots of other park users
Other Thoughts: I think sunset park is a great disc golf course given the location. Occasionally planed will be landing while your playing the course, but they don't seem to be very loud at all given the close proximity.
I have played the 27 hole layout more than 5 times in the last 2 trips to Vegas and it is definitely the best course in the area bar none.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/18/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Given the area they had to work with an the location this course had a lot to offer. Located in the middle of Las Vegas on a basically flat area of a multi use city park the course winds around the other activities, often using them as an OB area. Holes such as 2 which has a baseball diamond on the right side just past the basket and hole 9 where you have a basketball court on the left and a parking lot just past the cup are good examples of that. All in all this is an intermediate level course.

The teepads are generally in good shape and the baskets were intact. Signage was pretty good with the normal inner city wear apparent.

I found the variety of shots and the use of the terrain very good. The course itself was in pretty good shape and the locals I met were helpful. Flow between holes was pretty good. Usually you could see the next tee from the basket and from the teeboxes you could either see the basket or find it using the map. The only time I had trouble was in the later holes (18-22) and for some reason those holes were less busy so I had more time to figure it out.

The course uses the usual mix of Hyzers and Anhyzers coupled with trees and some gullies to make for a good mix of shots being needed to shoot well.

Coming from an area where I normally face hills and trees to a place where the main obstacles were just trees was a bit of an eye opener. It was the first time I understood all the talk about the need to learn rollers. On this course you could have some fun with them.
Cons: Like I mentioned before it is a multi use park and you have to play around the equipment and also the people using those facilities. On an errant throw you could well land in a heavily used basketball court, baseball diamond, or tennis court as well as the normal road obstacles. On several holes there were also bums sleeping under trees in the middle of fairways, so a roller would be more difficult.

Las Vegas is in a desert so even if you don't think you will need water, you will.
Other Thoughts: Really try to avoid landing in the tennis court because they are pay to play and you may get some flack when having to retrieve a disc.
This park was very busy at times both on the course and the other areas. This caused issues at times. Getting to the park is easy and the parking is more than adequate.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.