Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: JohnRicker Hole #16
3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Vegas Disc Golf

1    6/19/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well designed course with a good variety of long, short, left, right and open shots to keep it challenging, depending in which pin position the baskets are in. Most holes have three different pin positions and have plenty of OB making the course tough. The course has nice sized concrete tee pads to get a good run up and some decent signs with all the hole information and also direct you to the next tee. The course is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trashcans and restrooms for your convenience and parking should not be an issue here.
Cons: The layout can be a little tricky if you are a first timer playing this course because of some of the new changes made. The local Disc Golf Club have done some re-designing on some holes on this course. I met a local at the course who let me get in on a round and guided me through the course and showed me some of the changes on the layout. There is some construction going on causing a few holes to be unplayable on the course. Once the construction is complete the word is the club is going to do a total re-design and make this course a nice 18 hole layout. There is not many trees on the course so it can get really hot so water and sunscreen is a must if your playing during the day.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you are visiting Vegas. The locals are really friendly here and will guide you around if you need any help. The airport is basically right across the street of the course so you will be playing disc golf in no time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Busy space

2-4    8/31/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads mostly with signage. Park well maintianed. Challanging and open at the same time.
Cons: Evenings where extremly busy with little league sports. Made it very difficult to manuver through the course. Windage was brutal.
Other Thoughts: I returned during the after afternoon hours the following day. The park was fairly empty and the bums where nice. The park was underconstruction a therefor the whole course was not fully available.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of what's there

1    4/7/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a big multi-use park and the course plays around the fields and courts in creative ways.

Not a lot of trees, but they seem to be in all the right places judging by how many of them I hit

Teeboxes are all nice concrete teeboxes. Baskets are in great shape. Only one missing sign. The signs are well done, but starting to get a bit beat up. If I would have read them more carefully I probably wouldn't have played to the wrong basket quite so many times.

The course gets better as it goes on. I wasn't very impressed at all for the first few holes but the holes just keep getting more and more interesting.

Very easy to navigate like most park courses.
Cons: Not a place for beginners when the park is busy. Especially if windy it would be very easy to put a disc into occupied courts and fields.

I had to skip hole 2 since it played right through the middle of a kickball league.

Very easy to play to the wrong basket in several places

Never did find the teepad for # 23, but it was pretty dark by then

I played in 30 mph of wind, but there was a storm front coming in. It probably isn't that windy most of the time, but it was a great chance for me to use my gator and XXX for approaches.

I was the only DG player on the course at 6 pm on a Thursday night. Maybe it was the wind, but WTH is everyone?
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing. I got my 2nd ace on 16, but I'm still trying to figure out if it counts since I missed about 4 of the 16 mandos on the hole.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Vegas by Default

1    11/16/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 264  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great use of Mandy's. Open courses such as this, need mandatories to force you to play the Hole a certain way in an attempt to make you throw different shots… and to keep things interesting. They do that well here on several Holes, however, there could have done more in this regard.
- Lots of Trees. Although I would consider this course to be wide open, there are a decent amount of mature trees in the park. The trees do come into play, but it's very easy to play around, under, over and between them.
- Concrete Tees, Signage, Navigation. Really great concrete tees, decent enough tee-signs, and easy navigation are always a Pro when playing a course for the first time.
Cons:
- Redundant. Not only is every Hole flat, the rest of the course feels redundant as well. Hole distances were fairly redundant (somewhere in the mid 300's)… A lot of the Holes looked the same… and there was very little variance in strategy - grip it and rip it. I was only forced to throw a sidearm once… and used the same driver on 14 Holes.
- Flat, Flat, Flat. I know that it's hard to knock a course for something the course designer had no control over, but this place is flat. There couldn't be more than 10' total feet of elevation gain or loss in the entire park.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Sunset is a typical city park style course with a little added "D". The flatness, lack of variation in distance and lack of tee-shot variance lessened the overall experience for me… however, it's still a really decent course and, by default, probably deserves Vegas' top ranking (based on size of the park and shot distance). I thought Mountain Crest was a more complete course… however, it's a much smaller park, making it hard to have a major event, which is probably why Sunset gets all the "Hype".
- Las Vegas Golf Scene. I was surprised to see so many golfers on the course on a Tuesday morning with groups on almost every Hole. The other courses I played in Vegas were packed too.
- My Las Vegas Rankings. I played 6 of the 7 courses in Vegas during a recent business trip. My rankings are: Sunset, Mountain Crest, Red Ridge, Peccole Ranch, Freedom, Carson Davis.
- My Score: -7

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    11/22/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a big, multi-use park and makes good use of the available land. A large amount of man-made OB is present in the forms of parking lots, tons of fences, and the like.
- Biggest factors here are the longer holes lengths combined with plenty of obstacles. With an average of 346' each, even the biggest arms will find some bombers. Overall a good mix throughout, from 280' to 489'.
- These long holes are made much more interesting with the constant use of obstacles, which force a ton of line shaping. A few mandos force some flight paths, while plenty other holes give an option of going around large trees or small groves of trees. Lots of fairways use fences to take some easy routes away. A great mix of long lines to hit, accuracy can be just as important as distance in many places.
- Some baskets are protected pretty well by trees of all sizes, and one is right behind a water hazard/ob area (I'd play it OB).
- Lots of available pin positions that drastically change some of the holes. Not sure how often they get moved around, but the variety is great if/when they are.
- Good teepads, baskets are older but in decent shape, and good signage. A few are a bit faded, and a few are possibly missing, which might make navigation a bit tricky. Map can be helpful first time through.
Cons: - Disc golf is just one of the many activities going on here, definitely need to watch out for other park users. Even if the park is empty, there is an excessive amount of pavement that always takes away from the whole experience.
- Land is as flat as can be, zero elevation change except for a few ditches. No choice with the available terrain, unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: - I could see how this course could be challenging to a player with a big arm vs. one with a noodle. A big arm is going to be tempted to go for many of these holes in two, while a shorter player will probably try to lay up for threes. The threes are easy to get, if you can avoid the trees, but the twos can be tough. Really depends on the individual player here.
- Bring out the drivers to this course, and let 'em rip. Very few open holes, though, so they gotta be well placed too.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads
Good variety of shot selection
Good amount of long and short holes
Friendly people
The signage is beat up but legible
Trees add difficulty
Park offers plenty of amenities
Easily to follow when you have a map but you could find your way around without one
Cons: People do tend to get in the way but they moved out of the way for me without any problems
If you do have a throw get away from you, chances are you can hit someone as many of the holes play right next to ball fields, tennis court, basketball courts, and picnic areas
Be careful on 18 for it runs right next to the main road
No bums were present but I'm sure their out there
Other Thoughts: I played it in the morning with one of the locals and it was very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend playing it in the morning so as to not run into people. The last 6 holes are definitely the more difficult holes. Don't forget to play them.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice break from the slots

2-4    12/29/2008   6/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays around and through a large flat multi-use park with scattered trees throughout. Though there is no elevation, the holes are all varied, and offer lots of different types of challenges. There are all different lengths of holes from ace runs to long holes where you can bomb a little. The trees are used very well to add challenge to many holes by taking away easy lines or protecting the pin. There are also many ob ball fields and other areas of the park that add risk reward decisions to many tee shots.

There are nice concrete tees that are plenty large, and for the most part were in good shape. The signs were a little dilapidated, but most were accurate and readable. Even where the signs were lacking, the course had a logical flow and was easy to follow. There was nice separation between holes, and it never felt like fairways were right on top of each other, or like your tee shot went right at another tee. The park is very nicely maintained. The grass is always nice and green, and well mowed.

The park is very easy to get to from the strip or from the airport. It's accessible to players of all levels, and will provide challenges to most any player. It's easy to follow, and there's no danger of losing a disc, so it's perfect for a casual round while you're in Vegas.
Cons: The park has a lot of different things going on, so there are a lot of conflicts. Too many of the holes play right along or through heavily used areas of the park, so there were non-disc golfers on many of the fairways. It's easy to have an errant throw end up on a baseball field, tennis court, or basketball court which can lead to some safety issues. It was also crowded with players one of the times I played, but this was minor as the locals were friendly and helpful. Watch for sleeping bums on many of the holes...
Other Thoughts: If you're in Vegas, this is a fun course that's definitely worth playing. I have enjoyed all the times I've played here, and have met some great locals. It's definitely beginner friendly, but has a few holes that experienced players will feel challenged on. Though it's a pretty open course, there are enough trees to keep you honest.

Make sure you walk across the street after 18 and play the rest of the course. These are some of the best holes on the course, and many players who don't know the course seem to skip them.

Bring lots and lots of water, it gets very hot here and there isn't always shade. There are places to refill, but you'll want to have some along.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Better use of time than slot machines

2-4    11/4/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
24 holes of disc golf give the opportunity for a large variety of shots. Good balance of rightie vs. leftie holes, possibly favoring lefties just a bit. Lots of OB using park features (fences, parking lots, streets, etc.) make the holes more challenging. Nice, big, concrete tee pads.

Dated, but sufficient tee signs make navigating the course easy enough without a map. The only point of confusion I had (my first time) was standing on the tee of #19 it wasn't obvious which basket was in play because you can see both #19 and #23, but they're too far away to read the number. (The basket on the right is the correct one.)

Very nice online map with all the various pin positions indicated.
Cons:
Almost no elevation changes. Several holes play dangerously close to a busy street. The AM par values posted are very generous; probably assigned many years ago before discs flew as far as they do today.

There were several sleeping bums in various places on the course that had to be played around. Also a couple couples that would have been better off in a hotel room.

Hole #3 has a substandard basket compared to the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts:
In looking at the pictures of holes #1-3 the outfield fence that was OB has been removed; that makes hole #2 significantly easier (almost a throwaway hole) and #3 somewhat easier.

The basket placement on #24, using a funky shaped tree, was pretty cool (see DGCR picture). The basket placement on #16 looks like it could potentially be in a swamp if it rained, but since this is the desert it probably doesn't rain much.

#15 is the only hole that has a separate short and long tee.

Wind can be a big factor in play on this course.

This would be a great home course and I could see playing this for a long time before getting tired of it. Definitely worth playing.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.