Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #22
3 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #22



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 DG in LV!

1    11/14/2007   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's disc golf in Vegas, and a stones throw from the strip, can't get better than that. Easy to get to, easy to navigate and really friendly locals to help you out.
Cons: Kind of redundant and not overly difficult. Seemed like there were lot of pretty much wide open holes. This courses' main defense is the wind and it wasn't very windy the day I played it. There were a bunch of other park users and "woodsman" in the park, but it wasn't really an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: It's worth playing if you in LV or you need a break from the tables. I don't make it a priority when I'm there, but it has to compete against the strip which isn't really fair. It's a good beginner/ intermediate course, but a skilled player will find it average.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads
Good variety of shot selection
Good amount of long and short holes
Friendly people
The signage is beat up but legible
Trees add difficulty
Park offers plenty of amenities
Easily to follow when you have a map but you could find your way around without one
Cons: People do tend to get in the way but they moved out of the way for me without any problems
If you do have a throw get away from you, chances are you can hit someone as many of the holes play right next to ball fields, tennis court, basketball courts, and picnic areas
Be careful on 18 for it runs right next to the main road
No bums were present but I'm sure their out there
Other Thoughts: I played it in the morning with one of the locals and it was very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend playing it in the morning so as to not run into people. The last 6 holes are definitely the more difficult holes. Don't forget to play them.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice break from the slots

2-4    12/29/2008   6/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays around and through a large flat multi-use park with scattered trees throughout. Though there is no elevation, the holes are all varied, and offer lots of different types of challenges. There are all different lengths of holes from ace runs to long holes where you can bomb a little. The trees are used very well to add challenge to many holes by taking away easy lines or protecting the pin. There are also many ob ball fields and other areas of the park that add risk reward decisions to many tee shots.

There are nice concrete tees that are plenty large, and for the most part were in good shape. The signs were a little dilapidated, but most were accurate and readable. Even where the signs were lacking, the course had a logical flow and was easy to follow. There was nice separation between holes, and it never felt like fairways were right on top of each other, or like your tee shot went right at another tee. The park is very nicely maintained. The grass is always nice and green, and well mowed.

The park is very easy to get to from the strip or from the airport. It's accessible to players of all levels, and will provide challenges to most any player. It's easy to follow, and there's no danger of losing a disc, so it's perfect for a casual round while you're in Vegas.
Cons: The park has a lot of different things going on, so there are a lot of conflicts. Too many of the holes play right along or through heavily used areas of the park, so there were non-disc golfers on many of the fairways. It's easy to have an errant throw end up on a baseball field, tennis court, or basketball court which can lead to some safety issues. It was also crowded with players one of the times I played, but this was minor as the locals were friendly and helpful. Watch for sleeping bums on many of the holes...
Other Thoughts: If you're in Vegas, this is a fun course that's definitely worth playing. I have enjoyed all the times I've played here, and have met some great locals. It's definitely beginner friendly, but has a few holes that experienced players will feel challenged on. Though it's a pretty open course, there are enough trees to keep you honest.

Make sure you walk across the street after 18 and play the rest of the course. These are some of the best holes on the course, and many players who don't know the course seem to skip them.

Bring lots and lots of water, it gets very hot here and there isn't always shade. There are places to refill, but you'll want to have some along.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 good but not great

1    3/5/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: notrpmp
Played: 91  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gives you something else to do if you live there, besides the obvious. I visited on vacation and played this course on a saturday morning at 8:30 and there was a TON of foot traffic. The tee pads were good and the baskets were in good condition, signage lacked a little but it was pretty easy to find my way around. Followed a bum it seemed for about half the holes till he apperently got tired and layed down on a bench to sleep. There was a small car show going on in the park, blocked a few of the holes, but it gave me something to check out going on to other holes which was a nice perk.
Cons: Plays through all kinds of other park activities play smart and you wont have any problems. Watch out for sleeping bums you may hit one. Also this is a problem i have been running into with courses out of town, with unbelievable terrain around the town why put a course on the flattest, busiest park in the city. The amount of available space around that city someone could do something about getting a course with some ELEVATION and avoiding playing around other activities. I understand you want a lot of foot traffic in a park for more people to play that normally dont, but I have always believed IF YOU BUILD IT THEY WILL COME.
Other Thoughts: If you have time to go to red rock canyon while you are there DO IT, its 5 bucks that go to the park and it pretty amazing. Oh yeah a course would be awesome out there lack some of the cactus.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come

1    5/7/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C-
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park DGC

5+    3/3/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hydration stations
great teepads
close to the strip
plenty of parking
awesome park setting
bathrooms
Cons: Distractions galore
the holes close to the basketball court can provide for some distraction.
some of the signs are destroyed or mangled.
lots of other park users
Other Thoughts: I think sunset park is a great disc golf course given the location. Occasionally planed will be landing while your playing the course, but they don't seem to be very loud at all given the close proximity.
I have played the 27 hole layout more than 5 times in the last 2 trips to Vegas and it is definitely the best course in the area bar none.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/18/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Given the area they had to work with an the location this course had a lot to offer. Located in the middle of Las Vegas on a basically flat area of a multi use city park the course winds around the other activities, often using them as an OB area. Holes such as 2 which has a baseball diamond on the right side just past the basket and hole 9 where you have a basketball court on the left and a parking lot just past the cup are good examples of that. All in all this is an intermediate level course.

The teepads are generally in good shape and the baskets were intact. Signage was pretty good with the normal inner city wear apparent.

I found the variety of shots and the use of the terrain very good. The course itself was in pretty good shape and the locals I met were helpful. Flow between holes was pretty good. Usually you could see the next tee from the basket and from the teeboxes you could either see the basket or find it using the map. The only time I had trouble was in the later holes (18-22) and for some reason those holes were less busy so I had more time to figure it out.

The course uses the usual mix of Hyzers and Anhyzers coupled with trees and some gullies to make for a good mix of shots being needed to shoot well.

Coming from an area where I normally face hills and trees to a place where the main obstacles were just trees was a bit of an eye opener. It was the first time I understood all the talk about the need to learn rollers. On this course you could have some fun with them.
Cons: Like I mentioned before it is a multi use park and you have to play around the equipment and also the people using those facilities. On an errant throw you could well land in a heavily used basketball court, baseball diamond, or tennis court as well as the normal road obstacles. On several holes there were also bums sleeping under trees in the middle of fairways, so a roller would be more difficult.

Las Vegas is in a desert so even if you don't think you will need water, you will.
Other Thoughts: Really try to avoid landing in the tennis court because they are pay to play and you may get some flack when having to retrieve a disc.
This park was very busy at times both on the course and the other areas. This caused issues at times. Getting to the park is easy and the parking is more than adequate.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good Western Disc Golf

1    1/6/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice course. Seems to be popular. Nice signs and well marked. Well designed considering surroundings.
Cons: Not wooded hardly at all. Hardly any technicality.
Other Thoughts: Big and open. Fun course. Wish i had time to play it again.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Viva Las Vegas

1    8/11/2003   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety.
Good use of space.
Likeable and could be a really nice course if maintained a little more.
Cons: A little flat.
Course plays through and around many other park areas and fields.
Was probably nicer at one time. There was alot of plant debris on the course.
Other Thoughts: A good break from typical Vegas faire.
I would be glad to take another crack at it the next time I am in Vegas.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/28/2006   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 38.4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Classic old course,Plenty of room,Challenges the arm.
Cons: Not kept up to date.The neighborhood has gone to the bums(Watch em)I rolled right over one with a shot.
Other Thoughts: This park needs updates,And attention from the city folks.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.