Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: JohnRicker Hole #8
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Hot! Hot! Hot!

5+    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice course. Fun to play. Plenty of holes. Good signs. Well maintained. baskets in good shape. Large park with good amenities. Nice mid to longer length holes to open it up a bit. A few tricky tree opportunities.. I think 16, 17 and 24 were nice tree issues and 13 has a BIG tree to consider. The basket on 1 used to be behind that tree... now it is in the open.
Cons: Hot! Wow Vegas is hot in July! Many holes are just basic... the basket is over there, go for it. A few holes offer some tree challenges. There a few marked mandos to come into play. We do not have this much course length on this many holes in my home area... We have shorter more forested courses that might have a few bigger arm holes. I do prefer a few woody, tricky holes to make shot choices to keep regular play more interesting... but i do not live here so 2 visits per year is NOT regular play. Not a comment on the course itself, but, nowhere nearby to buy good discs that any locals could refer me to.
Other Thoughts: This course has been recently tweaked a bit. A few new basket placements. Looked like a few new baskets or just chains, too. Homeless looking dude "lives" at the bench area near basket 2, tee 3, tee 15, basket 15, tee 16. He has been there every time I have been here... seems pretty harmless. Has a hand full of discs and occasionally will get up and toss them. Might be a bit spooky some small kids. Bring water. Update 6/11This course gets smaller every time I play. My arm is getting bigger. Hole 6 is one of the best holes in disc golf... ever... first 2/3 of the hole open up wide and clear. Great tree cluster at the 2/3 point offering lots of choices as to how you play. 15% after tree cluster is open for clear putting. Very fun to play over and over again, This hole forces good choices and plays different every time.. 16 and 17 is a great annie combo. Play the mandos as indicated. Few courses have 'nuf good annie holes. These 2 are gems.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good location for vacations

2-4    5/15/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets. The holes varied in length and difficulty. Decent signage, but many of the signs were vandalized and worn out. Good location close to the strip and very close to the airport. Good use of the few trees in the park. A couple of very challenging holes. Some friendly locals to help with navigation if you need. Drinking fountains and restrooms on site, although I wouldn't recommend using the restrooms.
Cons: The park is completely flat, no elevation change whatsoever. Some holes played too close to other park activities like baseball, tennis, and basketball. There is a lot of non disc golfers out on the fairways, near the baskets, and by the tee pads. Both times I've played this course there were a lot of bums hanging out, and in some cases, heckling the disc golfers as they tee off.
Other Thoughts: I had fun both times I played this course, and will visit next time I'm in Vegas. It's not incredible, but it works, and has some nice holes. The course would be much better if it wasn't full of people just hanging out, and getting in the way.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Better than you'd expect in Las Vegas

5+    5/31/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: MountainMan
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 34.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More trees than I expected to find in this part of the country. The final six or seven holes get pretty challenging. Very well marked tee boxes with maps to the next hole.
Cons: Many of the early holes are very similar. Several holes have baseball diamonds, basketball courts, or even a very busy street as out-of-bounds.
Other Thoughts: A great way to start out the day; in the spring and summer you will definitely want to start early and beat the heat. The course is well maintained and the holes get more challenging later in the round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Airport View

1    3/1/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very good to locate in Las Vegas and has 24 great holes to play. Most tees have a good sign to show the pin location and distance. Some holes have challenging obstacles. Parking is right next to hole 1 as 18 ends at the parking lot.
Cons: Not as challenging as some courses I have played in the past. Bathrooms are really nasty, and parking could be a problem on a rainy day.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would recommend this course. It was an enjoybable course to go to while on vacation and I will play again when I come back to Vegas. There is a sports shop across Sunset that sells discs also. Finally, the folks that played there are very friendly and helpful.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 vegas baby vegas

1    2/8/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: close to strip, lots of parking, easy to follow course
Cons: bums and length of holes
Other Thoughts: i like shorter holes with more obstacles more than longer open holes.

but holes 6,13,16,22 and 24 were the best with distances mandatorys and basket placement.

went on a monday at 8am no crowds and about 6 other disc golfers

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 DG in LV!

1    11/14/2007   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's disc golf in Vegas, and a stones throw from the strip, can't get better than that. Easy to get to, easy to navigate and really friendly locals to help you out.
Cons: Kind of redundant and not overly difficult. Seemed like there were lot of pretty much wide open holes. This courses' main defense is the wind and it wasn't very windy the day I played it. There were a bunch of other park users and "woodsman" in the park, but it wasn't really an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: It's worth playing if you in LV or you need a break from the tables. I don't make it a priority when I'm there, but it has to compete against the strip which isn't really fair. It's a good beginner/ intermediate course, but a skilled player will find it average.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads
Good variety of shot selection
Good amount of long and short holes
Friendly people
The signage is beat up but legible
Trees add difficulty
Park offers plenty of amenities
Easily to follow when you have a map but you could find your way around without one
Cons: People do tend to get in the way but they moved out of the way for me without any problems
If you do have a throw get away from you, chances are you can hit someone as many of the holes play right next to ball fields, tennis court, basketball courts, and picnic areas
Be careful on 18 for it runs right next to the main road
No bums were present but I'm sure their out there
Other Thoughts: I played it in the morning with one of the locals and it was very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend playing it in the morning so as to not run into people. The last 6 holes are definitely the more difficult holes. Don't forget to play them.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice break from the slots

2-4    12/29/2008   6/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays around and through a large flat multi-use park with scattered trees throughout. Though there is no elevation, the holes are all varied, and offer lots of different types of challenges. There are all different lengths of holes from ace runs to long holes where you can bomb a little. The trees are used very well to add challenge to many holes by taking away easy lines or protecting the pin. There are also many ob ball fields and other areas of the park that add risk reward decisions to many tee shots.

There are nice concrete tees that are plenty large, and for the most part were in good shape. The signs were a little dilapidated, but most were accurate and readable. Even where the signs were lacking, the course had a logical flow and was easy to follow. There was nice separation between holes, and it never felt like fairways were right on top of each other, or like your tee shot went right at another tee. The park is very nicely maintained. The grass is always nice and green, and well mowed.

The park is very easy to get to from the strip or from the airport. It's accessible to players of all levels, and will provide challenges to most any player. It's easy to follow, and there's no danger of losing a disc, so it's perfect for a casual round while you're in Vegas.
Cons: The park has a lot of different things going on, so there are a lot of conflicts. Too many of the holes play right along or through heavily used areas of the park, so there were non-disc golfers on many of the fairways. It's easy to have an errant throw end up on a baseball field, tennis court, or basketball court which can lead to some safety issues. It was also crowded with players one of the times I played, but this was minor as the locals were friendly and helpful. Watch for sleeping bums on many of the holes...
Other Thoughts: If you're in Vegas, this is a fun course that's definitely worth playing. I have enjoyed all the times I've played here, and have met some great locals. It's definitely beginner friendly, but has a few holes that experienced players will feel challenged on. Though it's a pretty open course, there are enough trees to keep you honest.

Make sure you walk across the street after 18 and play the rest of the course. These are some of the best holes on the course, and many players who don't know the course seem to skip them.

Bring lots and lots of water, it gets very hot here and there isn't always shade. There are places to refill, but you'll want to have some along.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 good but not great

1    3/5/2009   4/27/2009
Review By: notrpmp
Played: 105  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Gives you something else to do if you live there, besides the obvious. I visited on vacation and played this course on a saturday morning at 8:30 and there was a TON of foot traffic. The tee pads were good and the baskets were in good condition, signage lacked a little but it was pretty easy to find my way around. Followed a bum it seemed for about half the holes till he apperently got tired and layed down on a bench to sleep. There was a small car show going on in the park, blocked a few of the holes, but it gave me something to check out going on to other holes which was a nice perk.
Cons: Plays through all kinds of other park activities play smart and you wont have any problems. Watch out for sleeping bums you may hit one. Also this is a problem i have been running into with courses out of town, with unbelievable terrain around the town why put a course on the flattest, busiest park in the city. The amount of available space around that city someone could do something about getting a course with some ELEVATION and avoiding playing around other activities. I understand you want a lot of foot traffic in a park for more people to play that normally dont, but I have always believed IF YOU BUILD IT THEY WILL COME.
Other Thoughts: If you have time to go to red rock canyon while you are there DO IT, its 5 bucks that go to the park and it pretty amazing. Oh yeah a course would be awesome out there lack some of the cactus.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come

1    5/7/2008   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 377  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 22.1 Years
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C-
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.