Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #17
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #17



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Sunset Park DGC

5+    3/3/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 19.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hydration stations
great teepads
close to the strip
plenty of parking
awesome park setting
bathrooms
Cons: Distractions galore
the holes close to the basketball court can provide for some distraction.
some of the signs are destroyed or mangled.
lots of other park users
Other Thoughts: I think sunset park is a great disc golf course given the location. Occasionally planed will be landing while your playing the course, but they don't seem to be very loud at all given the close proximity.
I have played the 27 hole layout more than 5 times in the last 2 trips to Vegas and it is definitely the best course in the area bar none.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/18/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 86  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 30.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Given the area they had to work with an the location this course had a lot to offer. Located in the middle of Las Vegas on a basically flat area of a multi use city park the course winds around the other activities, often using them as an OB area. Holes such as 2 which has a baseball diamond on the right side just past the basket and hole 9 where you have a basketball court on the left and a parking lot just past the cup are good examples of that. All in all this is an intermediate level course.

The teepads are generally in good shape and the baskets were intact. Signage was pretty good with the normal inner city wear apparent.

I found the variety of shots and the use of the terrain very good. The course itself was in pretty good shape and the locals I met were helpful. Flow between holes was pretty good. Usually you could see the next tee from the basket and from the teeboxes you could either see the basket or find it using the map. The only time I had trouble was in the later holes (18-22) and for some reason those holes were less busy so I had more time to figure it out.

The course uses the usual mix of Hyzers and Anhyzers coupled with trees and some gullies to make for a good mix of shots being needed to shoot well.

Coming from an area where I normally face hills and trees to a place where the main obstacles were just trees was a bit of an eye opener. It was the first time I understood all the talk about the need to learn rollers. On this course you could have some fun with them.
Cons: Like I mentioned before it is a multi use park and you have to play around the equipment and also the people using those facilities. On an errant throw you could well land in a heavily used basketball court, baseball diamond, or tennis court as well as the normal road obstacles. On several holes there were also bums sleeping under trees in the middle of fairways, so a roller would be more difficult.

Las Vegas is in a desert so even if you don't think you will need water, you will.
Other Thoughts: Really try to avoid landing in the tennis court because they are pay to play and you may get some flack when having to retrieve a disc.
This park was very busy at times both on the course and the other areas. This caused issues at times. Getting to the park is easy and the parking is more than adequate.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good Western Disc Golf

1    1/6/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice course. Seems to be popular. Nice signs and well marked. Well designed considering surroundings.
Cons: Not wooded hardly at all. Hardly any technicality.
Other Thoughts: Big and open. Fun course. Wish i had time to play it again.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Viva Las Vegas

1    8/11/2003   1/4/2009
Review By: ragajones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety.
Good use of space.
Likeable and could be a really nice course if maintained a little more.
Cons: A little flat.
Course plays through and around many other park areas and fields.
Was probably nicer at one time. There was alot of plant debris on the course.
Other Thoughts: A good break from typical Vegas faire.
I would be glad to take another crack at it the next time I am in Vegas.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/28/2006   11/28/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.5 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Classic old course,Plenty of room,Challenges the arm.
Cons: Not kept up to date.The neighborhood has gone to the bums(Watch em)I rolled right over one with a shot.
Other Thoughts: This park needs updates,And attention from the city folks.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Better use of time than slot machines

2-4    11/4/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 211  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 9 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
24 holes of disc golf give the opportunity for a large variety of shots. Good balance of rightie vs. leftie holes, possibly favoring lefties just a bit. Lots of OB using park features (fences, parking lots, streets, etc.) make the holes more challenging. Nice, big, concrete tee pads.

Dated, but sufficient tee signs make navigating the course easy enough without a map. The only point of confusion I had (my first time) was standing on the tee of #19 it wasn't obvious which basket was in play because you can see both #19 and #23, but they're too far away to read the number. (The basket on the right is the correct one.)

Very nice online map with all the various pin positions indicated.
Cons:
Almost no elevation changes. Several holes play dangerously close to a busy street. The AM par values posted are very generous; probably assigned many years ago before discs flew as far as they do today.

There were several sleeping bums in various places on the course that had to be played around. Also a couple couples that would have been better off in a hotel room.

Hole #3 has a substandard basket compared to the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts:
In looking at the pictures of holes #1-3 the outfield fence that was OB has been removed; that makes hole #2 significantly easier (almost a throwaway hole) and #3 somewhat easier.

The basket placement on #24, using a funky shaped tree, was pretty cool (see DGCR picture). The basket placement on #16 looks like it could potentially be in a swamp if it rained, but since this is the desert it probably doesn't rain much.

#15 is the only hole that has a separate short and long tee.

Wind can be a big factor in play on this course.

This would be a great home course and I could see playing this for a long time before getting tired of it. Definitely worth playing.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2006   10/20/2008
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2009
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Wide open easy course for beginners.
-Clearly marked tees with maps.
-Few Obstacles makes for Big Drives!
-Made my longest putt ever (About 110 feet)
-Grass is well maintained. Sprinklers are on in the morning to cool you off.
-Great course to bring a cooler and relax, not much traffic.
Cons: -It's Veags so Heat is an issue.
-No Obstacles, not much of a challenge.
-Kind of far from the strip if you are visiting Vegas without a car.
Other Thoughts: I went to Vegas for my Bachelor party. We stayed up al night and had my brother in law drive us out here. Still drunk, Shirts off, cooler in tow we only finished 12 holes and we were exhausted (That Vegas heat in June). I would recommend this trip to anyone.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good place to get in 24

1    10/8/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 10/17/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 holes so you can get in a good round. In a city park that is entirely mown...you won't lose a disc here. Every tee had a sign with a hole map and next basket arrow. I had no map and had never played here before. After I found the first tee I had no problem navigating the course. There is a city busline that drops off right at the park. If you are visiting Vegas withour a car and don't want to bust your wallet on a taxi, the bus is a great option.
Cons: This is a multi-use park so there will be people wandering around. I played early in the morning and saw several dog walkers. I had to wait for one or two to walk away from where I was throwing. There was another dude sleeping 15 feet from a basket. I picked up my disc and skipped the basket. As I walked by I saw his mouth agape...deep in the land of snooze. 17-20 play right next to a very busy, very noisy street. There is occasional LOUD noise coming from the nearby airport.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a nice course to play. You have to be careful with some OB areas next to playing fields but it is very fair. There are just enough trees around that they come into play. However, this is still a very open course. The hole length really makes this course. The holes are long enough that it keeps the course from being a open hole birdie fest. You have to be pretty good to make birdies on this course which is how it should be. The course is very flat for the most part.

Although the noise on some holes and the mixed-use nature of the park are not ideal I would still be happy to play this course if I lived in Las Vegas.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/23/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Decent variety, fairly challenging pins. Maintained pads, etc. Different pin locations create a variety of different shots required.
Cons: No real elevation change. A bit of pedestrian traffic, only really causes issues on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: The back 10 are the more challenging of the 24, and are definitely my favorite.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 sunset park, vegas

1    5/21/2008   5/21/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 169  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 37.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Twenty Four holes. Mowed fairways. Easy to navigate course. you can play in the evenings if the baseball diamonds have their lights on.
Cons: Baseball diamonds come into play too much (o.b.). non disc golf foot traffic is fairly heavy at times. Mother nature will put you down if your not prepared.
Other Thoughts: This course is flat, wide open, and very easy to get around with good tee signage and concrete teepads. . i would like this course better if i didnt feel i was encroaching on other areas to play the course (baseball diamonds), you can avoid these areas but then you may end up in another fairway overcompensating (personal problem). roller shots dominate on this course if you choose, there is usually a predominant wind to deal with though, heavy at times. the summer is HOT, bring lots of water, one round will wear you out. you will have the course to yourself in summertime play. standard weekly league is organized year round, in the summer they start at 7 am to beat the heat. this course is the go-to course for locals, followed by the mountain crest course much furthur away from the strip.
05-24-09: holes 2 and 3 dont have the baseball fencing for OB anymore, this makes these two holes wide open and easy compared to what it used to be. holes 21, 22, and 23 have more trees planted making them harder to play. and will continue to get harder as those trees grow.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.