Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: JohnRicker Hole #12
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Underrated Course With Solid Play and Great Amenities!

1    3/25/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 895  Reviewed: 844  Exp: 38.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sunset Park has to be on of the best maintained courses anywhere. Each hole features a colored tee sign which shows the basket location. Then below the tee sign, the basket location, A-B and sometimes C-D are clearly shown along with it's distance. It's probably one of the clearest, most concise system I've seen. The tee signs are set up high on these metal highway type posts (maybe 8 feet), probably preventing some vandalism problems. There are two bag holders on each tee sign pole as well as a hook holding that hole's broom. Yes, each hole has it's own broom and each broom is clearly marked as Sunset Park DGC Hole 2, etc. The brooms are needed as the soil in the park is a sandy loam and when wet from the sprinkler tends to get muddy. The tee pads are large roomy concrete ones. Baskets are Innova Discatchers with the yellow band complete with small numbers on the band. There are plenty of garbage cans present and near hole 5 are two of these interesting round, concrete benches with individual seats.

The park also feature a nice variety of tame birds including geese, ducks, pigeons, and ????

Sunset DGC starts with three practice baskets. You always have the constant noise and sight of planes landing at nearby McCarron Airport. I thought it was kinda cool seeing one Southwest jet after another making their final descent into the nearby airport. The course is 24 holes and sprawls over much of the park. You cross over park roads a couple of times. But I felt the course was pretty simple to navigate. The park is totally flat but there is just enough mature trees to provide challenge as baskets are often found hidden behind a single tree or maybe a small clump of trees. Added challenge can be found in the various Mandos including # 15's, which is about 260' out on a 285' hole and forces you to throw between two large trees, just before reaching the basket.
Cons: Tee sign on # 11 is missing. Big surprise because that tee is right next to the street and a bus stop.

Park is flat with no elevation and no water on course.

No signature hole stood out for me.

I saw no homeless guys on my round this morning.
Other Thoughts: I was just so impressed with the care that is taken with Sunset. Good course, Excellent amenities and so much TLC shown. It made my experience here so much more pleasant. Of course, it didn't hurt things that I got to experience it on a wonderful Nevada spring morning.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best course in Vegas

5+    12/19/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: Drakeab
Played: 89  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Distance. Some may say this is a con, but there aren't many courses where you can rip it on most holes, but still have to hit a line for birdie.

Navigation. After 4, go to your right for 5. After 7 keep walking straight for 8 by the restrooms. After 14, cross the road for the back side. The rest of the navigation is pretty easy. Use a map and you will have no worries.

Uses trees where possible. In case you didn't know, there aren't very many trees in the desert. Sunset puts the trees that they have to good use. The majority of the holes here are strongly influenced by trees.

Lots of people around provides a good vibe.
Cons: Sunset Park is not the most desirable park in town, though it isn't the worst. There will be homeless people around, but I have played this over 20 times and never had a problem. Actually, I threw into a tree on #3 and of the regular homeless guys came over with a baseball and knocked my disc down for me.

Lack of elevation- Ok, this is Vegas. It is in the bottom of the valley, there isn't much to say here. Basket on 14 is now elevated.
Other Thoughts: It may not be the most scenic park or course, but damn I love this place. I love the fact that it is a challenge every day, no matter where the pins are. 16, 19 and 22 are tough 3's when in their long positions no matter what. This makes up for the few holes on the course where you have a good look at a birdie. (6,8,9,12). Depending on pin positions, there will be other good looks at birdies as well. If you are in the area, give this a shot. I hope you enjoy it the same way that I have.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

DG History - the Vegas must play course

2-4    7/18/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 72  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really good concrete tee pads, aerial photo hole signs (showing the multiple basket locations), bag holders AND brooms on every hole. They even have a great way to show which basket location is being used - the tee signs are on highway-type poles with holes all the way up. Stickers are placed on these poles listing the basket location letter and distance, then a bolt is placed through the hole below the location being used (usually the longest one when I was there).

Although this is a large, multi-use park, the course is in an area of its own. You play around an open playing field, ball fields, basketball courts and tennis courts, all easily identified. But no walking paths, picnic shelters, playgrounds, etc, these are all in other parts of the park. You really feel like this area is for DG.

There are mandos on several holes, mainly to keep you away from the open play field, but one (#15) to force a line. They aren't overdone and serve a purpose.

The grass is in great shape. Yes, here in the middle of the desert where most homes have rock and sand in their yards, the grass here is in great shape. Really helps with not tearing up your discs, like other courses in the area do. They were even watering a couple of holes while I was there.

Great use of the land available. Good mix of right, left and straight holes. The trees on the course are sparse, but are used to force certain lines (#3, #12, #13 and just about every hole past #15). #5 and #14 have a cool cluster of 4 Palm trees as guardians. #3, #12 and #13 form tunnels that force you to throw certain lines. #9, #11 and #23 have individual trees in front of the baskets, left or right, take your pick. The tree on #23 is a cool Y-shaped trunk, really forces you to make this decision.

This mostly open landscape enables a lot of flexibility in the course. This can be no more obvious then viewing the Pro layout for the NT event played here, the Gentlemen's Club Challenge. Several holes are combined so they can make this course as long as they want to.
Cons: Not a lot of Cons with this course, there are some homeless hanging around, but didn't bother me at all. Some of the holes are basic throw it far and straight at it.

Kind of unusual to play a 24 hole course. Too many good holes here to cut it down to 18 and not enough land available for 27, or 36. Although, the desert area to the south of the course could probably host a few more holes!
Other Thoughts: I'm glad I finally got to play my first NT event course! Obviously didn't play the Pro layout, but I can watch the videos and have some idea of the throws that are necessary. This really is a great DG experience, restrooms available in the park, stores nearby and a large park to entertain others in your family. I didn't lower my rating because of the lack of elevation, this is the land they had to work with and can't count that against the course. #5 is even a cool, anny around the ball field fence, then hyzer around the b-ball courts to that protected green. The nearby streets were not much of a problem at all, plenty of trees around the park to block them out. I kind of liked watching the planes land at the nearby airport!! Pretty easy to get to from the Strip. You could even play this if you have a long layover at the airport!
This is probably the best DG experience within 100-150 miles of Vegas, a must play on any trip to Vegas. Plus, this course has been here for 38 years! Probably one of the first 25 courses ever laid out. I can't understand why this course is rated below 3.0 as I write this.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

1    1/13/2015   2/14/2015
Review By: thespeedokid
Played: 61  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 holes. Good hole lengths. Good hole signs. Nicely wooded with good openings. Nice tees. Well kept grass. Good baskets. Not many people play it.
Cons: Lack of elevation changes. Some holes play close to a road.
Other Thoughts: Really just a good course. It's a challenging course that is also good for begginers.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park course

5+    1/7/2015   1/7/2015
Review By: v92biker
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice lay out. Mixture of shots required. Mixture of field shots and wooded shots. OB's and constant pin changes make it interesting. Pin locations marked at all tee pads with good distance along with brooms to keep the pads clean.
Cons: No elevation change but where it is you can't expect it.
Other Thoughts: Really surprised how nice the course played when moving out to Las Vegas. It's a park course but for the most part you are away from other activities so only ones you run into are other disc golfers. The front 14 is pretty open but enough trees to make you pick your spots and the back 10 are mostly in the woods which i was very happy to see. Very happy to have this course close to my house.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of room but busy

1    3/5/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signs are good and the hangers are great.

There's a lot of space for being in the middle of the city.

The homeless guys can actually be helpful as spotters.
Cons: Busy. A couple holes we skipped because people were having picnics right in the fairway.

Having to shoot the gap between the basketball courts and baseball diamond was weird and felt unnecessary. There are a enough holes without that section.

For having no elevation changes the distance here will wipe you out.

You're right next to the airport so the plane noise is almost constant.
Other Thoughts: You're in the desert, dummy. BRING WATER! Hit the 7-11 on the corner on your way in and load up.

I would say the lack of elevation is monotonous, but that's the terrain you've got so I can't really call that a negative. They could maybe get creative with raised baskets or something but what do you want, it's a city park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh with a dose of meh

1    5/23/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -FANTASTIC signage. Really good design.
-Well maintained
-Hole 5 or 6 (dogleft to some palm trees) is super cool.
Cons: -almost no shot variety
-stupidly long holes
-no elevation change
-signage does not match any map I could find online.
Other Thoughts: If you really enjoy bombing your drives as far as you can in a straight line OVER AND OVER AGAIN WITHOUT A BREAK then this is the course for you. Good luck hitting bird unless you're driving pro distances (especially on the back side).

Seriously, by the time I got to the #20+ holes, I was over it. Great place to throw out your arm trying to par a hole.

I'm in Vegas a few times a year, not on my list to play again. Not unless I get a bionic arm.

Would have given it 1 star, but the signage was SO good I gave it one more fir giving me a place to hang my bag.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park - Vegas fun

1    1/18/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 40  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great 24 hole layout. Technical shots, both short and long. You can jump on the course at many locations, just depends where you park. Large park setting with numerous bathrooms for a long day of playing.
Cons: Lots of people. While we were there, starting at hole #1, there was a cricket match being played. A few times we had to watch for stray cricket balls coming our way. Homeless people, but not the annoying kind. They were there to root you on and were quiet for the most part.
Other Thoughts: We only completed 16 holes as the Ice Bowl tournament was being held that day. Wish we could have played more, but the backup was getting kinda ridiculous. The addition of "tournament only" holes made it a little odd for finding where the normal course played. When we go back again, I will make sure that we play this course full and complete.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Long day of torture in the wind

1    10/28/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long (holes and course), incredible signage and bag hangers. No crowd whatsoever on a Monday morning (during a wind storm).
Cons: Very wide open with bombs and turnovers the call for the day, not much shaping here! Homeless folks abound- not to be prejudice, just not a positive when compared to the gorgeous courses nearby. No elevation and not much variety.
Other Thoughts: I played here on a "High Wind Advisory " day- 30mph+!! This makes giving an accurate "typical condition" review impossible but I will say that I hear the area is prone to blustery conditions . I played with a fellow stray out-of-towner and we had an absolute blast with only one other player on the course during our 3-1/2 hour, 24 hole torture test! If I were a local this place would get heavy rotation for it's distance improving length.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Signage

2-4    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New signs - These new signs give aerial views of the fairways and basket options. The sign pole also have added bag hangers to keep your bag off the ground.

Nice cement pads
Cons: Not a lot of obstacles
Not a lot of places to get drinking water on course
Not a lot of trash cans on course
Other Thoughts: Decent course, close to strip for an out of town traveler. The course if pretty wide open with many of the holes awaiting turn-over shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.