Las Vegas, NV
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #13
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #13



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best in Vegas by Default

1    11/16/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great use of Mandy's. Open courses such as this, need mandatories to force you to play the Hole a certain way in an attempt to make you throw different shots… and to keep things interesting. They do that well here on several Holes, however, there could have done more in this regard.
- Lots of Trees. Although I would consider this course to be wide open, there are a decent amount of mature trees in the park. The trees do come into play, but it's very easy to play around, under, over and between them.
- Concrete Tees, Signage, Navigation. Really great concrete tees, decent enough tee-signs, and easy navigation are always a Pro when playing a course for the first time.
Cons:
- Redundant. Not only is every Hole flat, the rest of the course feels redundant as well. Hole distances were fairly redundant (somewhere in the mid 300's)… A lot of the Holes looked the same… and there was very little variance in strategy - grip it and rip it. I was only forced to throw a sidearm once… and used the same driver on 14 Holes.
- Flat, Flat, Flat. I know that it's hard to knock a course for something the course designer had no control over, but this place is flat. There couldn't be more than 10' total feet of elevation gain or loss in the entire park.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Sunset is a typical city park style course with a little added "D". The flatness, lack of variation in distance and lack of tee-shot variance lessened the overall experience for me… however, it's still a really decent course and, by default, probably deserves Vegas' top ranking (based on size of the park and shot distance). I thought Mountain Crest was a more complete course… however, it's a much smaller park, making it hard to have a major event, which is probably why Sunset gets all the "Hype".
- Las Vegas Golf Scene. I was surprised to see so many golfers on the course on a Tuesday morning with groups on almost every Hole. The other courses I played in Vegas were packed too.
- My Las Vegas Rankings. I played 6 of the 7 courses in Vegas during a recent business trip. My rankings are: Sunset, Mountain Crest, Red Ridge, Peccole Ranch, Freedom, Carson Davis.
- My Score: -7

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    11/22/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a big, multi-use park and makes good use of the available land. A large amount of man-made OB is present in the forms of parking lots, tons of fences, and the like.
- Biggest factors here are the longer holes lengths combined with plenty of obstacles. With an average of 346' each, even the biggest arms will find some bombers. Overall a good mix throughout, from 280' to 489'.
- These long holes are made much more interesting with the constant use of obstacles, which force a ton of line shaping. A few mandos force some flight paths, while plenty other holes give an option of going around large trees or small groves of trees. Lots of fairways use fences to take some easy routes away. A great mix of long lines to hit, accuracy can be just as important as distance in many places.
- Some baskets are protected pretty well by trees of all sizes, and one is right behind a water hazard/ob area (I'd play it OB).
- Lots of available pin positions that drastically change some of the holes. Not sure how often they get moved around, but the variety is great if/when they are.
- Good teepads, baskets are older but in decent shape, and good signage. A few are a bit faded, and a few are possibly missing, which might make navigation a bit tricky. Map can be helpful first time through.
Cons: - Disc golf is just one of the many activities going on here, definitely need to watch out for other park users. Even if the park is empty, there is an excessive amount of pavement that always takes away from the whole experience.
- Land is as flat as can be, zero elevation change except for a few ditches. No choice with the available terrain, unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: - I could see how this course could be challenging to a player with a big arm vs. one with a noodle. A big arm is going to be tempted to go for many of these holes in two, while a shorter player will probably try to lay up for threes. The threes are easy to get, if you can avoid the trees, but the twos can be tough. Really depends on the individual player here.
- Bring out the drivers to this course, and let 'em rip. Very few open holes, though, so they gotta be well placed too.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Windy City, Las Vegas

2-4    9/7/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 hole course. Concrete Tee Pads in good condition. Unique use of OB that adds to fun and difficulty. No bugs! Coming from Virginia this was pleasantly shocking considering the heat. Great park with restrooms, water fountains and plenty to do for the family while you obsess over a new dg course! Good flow from hole to hole once you find hole one. The printable map makes that real easy, just don't leave it at the hotel.....enough said.
Cons: Not a lot of variety to the shots. As mentioned before, sort of a there is the basket, go for it, type of course. Trees do come into play to raise the degree of challenge, but not really too tough. Many of the holes get familar after a while. Mostly an open rip it course. A tight knit course that I'm sure on a busy day can cause issue with usual park users and families as the baskets seem to placed in potential high traffic areas. Also be aware that many homeless use the park as a home base. So much so, that I was told by a local that many of them carry discs to diguise themselves from police.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course directly across from the Las Vegas Airport. This leads me to the title of my review, Windy City! This course was windy, be prepared. This isn't a Pro or Con just be warned. The day I played the wind was a huge part of the game and a local with me told me it was a calm day for the wind! Sheesh! Not sure if this is common in Vegas or due to the airplanes landing and taking off constantly nearby as you play. Despite being a bit simplistic, this is a fun course, due alot to the many OB's found around the course. Holes 8 and 9 are standouts that use baseball fields as OB. Many courses mark areas as OB, but Sunset is the only one I've played where the height of the Baseball Field's fence comes into play, very tricky and very cool.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hot! Hot! Hot!

5+    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice course. Fun to play. Plenty of holes. Good signs. Well maintained. baskets in good shape. Large park with good amenities. Nice mid to longer length holes to open it up a bit. A few tricky tree opportunities.. I think 16, 17 and 24 were nice tree issues and 13 has a BIG tree to consider. The basket on 1 used to be behind that tree... now it is in the open.
Cons: Hot! Wow Vegas is hot in July! Many holes are just basic... the basket is over there, go for it. A few holes offer some tree challenges. There a few marked mandos to come into play. We do not have this much course length on this many holes in my home area... We have shorter more forested courses that might have a few bigger arm holes. I do prefer a few woody, tricky holes to make shot choices to keep regular play more interesting... but i do not live here so 2 visits per year is NOT regular play. Not a comment on the course itself, but, nowhere nearby to buy good discs that any locals could refer me to.
Other Thoughts: This course has been recently tweaked a bit. A few new basket placements. Looked like a few new baskets or just chains, too. Homeless looking dude "lives" at the bench area near basket 2, tee 3, tee 15, basket 15, tee 16. He has been there every time I have been here... seems pretty harmless. Has a hand full of discs and occasionally will get up and toss them. Might be a bit spooky some small kids. Bring water. Update 6/11This course gets smaller every time I play. My arm is getting bigger. Hole 6 is one of the best holes in disc golf... ever... first 2/3 of the hole open up wide and clear. Great tree cluster at the 2/3 point offering lots of choices as to how you play. 15% after tree cluster is open for clear putting. Very fun to play over and over again, This hole forces good choices and plays different every time.. 16 and 17 is a great annie combo. Play the mandos as indicated. Few courses have 'nuf good annie holes. These 2 are gems.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good location for vacations

2-4    5/15/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets. The holes varied in length and difficulty. Decent signage, but many of the signs were vandalized and worn out. Good location close to the strip and very close to the airport. Good use of the few trees in the park. A couple of very challenging holes. Some friendly locals to help with navigation if you need. Drinking fountains and restrooms on site, although I wouldn't recommend using the restrooms.
Cons: The park is completely flat, no elevation change whatsoever. Some holes played too close to other park activities like baseball, tennis, and basketball. There is a lot of non disc golfers out on the fairways, near the baskets, and by the tee pads. Both times I've played this course there were a lot of bums hanging out, and in some cases, heckling the disc golfers as they tee off.
Other Thoughts: I had fun both times I played this course, and will visit next time I'm in Vegas. It's not incredible, but it works, and has some nice holes. The course would be much better if it wasn't full of people just hanging out, and getting in the way.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Better than you'd expect in Las Vegas

5+    5/31/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: MountainMan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 32 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More trees than I expected to find in this part of the country. The final six or seven holes get pretty challenging. Very well marked tee boxes with maps to the next hole.
Cons: Many of the early holes are very similar. Several holes have baseball diamonds, basketball courts, or even a very busy street as out-of-bounds.
Other Thoughts: A great way to start out the day; in the spring and summer you will definitely want to start early and beat the heat. The course is well maintained and the holes get more challenging later in the round.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Airport View

1    3/1/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very good to locate in Las Vegas and has 24 great holes to play. Most tees have a good sign to show the pin location and distance. Some holes have challenging obstacles. Parking is right next to hole 1 as 18 ends at the parking lot.
Cons: Not as challenging as some courses I have played in the past. Bathrooms are really nasty, and parking could be a problem on a rainy day.
Other Thoughts: Overall I would recommend this course. It was an enjoybable course to go to while on vacation and I will play again when I come back to Vegas. There is a sports shop across Sunset that sells discs also. Finally, the folks that played there are very friendly and helpful.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 vegas baby vegas

1    2/8/2010   2/9/2010
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: close to strip, lots of parking, easy to follow course
Cons: bums and length of holes
Other Thoughts: i like shorter holes with more obstacles more than longer open holes.

but holes 6,13,16,22 and 24 were the best with distances mandatorys and basket placement.

went on a monday at 8am no crowds and about 6 other disc golfers

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 DG in LV!

1    11/14/2007   11/15/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 57  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's disc golf in Vegas, and a stones throw from the strip, can't get better than that. Easy to get to, easy to navigate and really friendly locals to help you out.
Cons: Kind of redundant and not overly difficult. Seemed like there were lot of pretty much wide open holes. This courses' main defense is the wind and it wasn't very windy the day I played it. There were a bunch of other park users and "woodsman" in the park, but it wasn't really an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: It's worth playing if you in LV or you need a break from the tables. I don't make it a priority when I'm there, but it has to compete against the strip which isn't really fair. It's a good beginner/ intermediate course, but a skilled player will find it average.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete pads
Good variety of shot selection
Good amount of long and short holes
Friendly people
The signage is beat up but legible
Trees add difficulty
Park offers plenty of amenities
Easily to follow when you have a map but you could find your way around without one
Cons: People do tend to get in the way but they moved out of the way for me without any problems
If you do have a throw get away from you, chances are you can hit someone as many of the holes play right next to ball fields, tennis court, basketball courts, and picnic areas
Be careful on 18 for it runs right next to the main road
No bums were present but I'm sure their out there
Other Thoughts: I played it in the morning with one of the locals and it was very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend playing it in the morning so as to not run into people. The last 6 holes are definitely the more difficult holes. Don't forget to play them.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.