Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #8
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #8

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Navigation like learning takes awhile but eventually makes sense

5+    8/27/2012   8/29/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 146  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily the most convenient course in Vegas, just blocks from the airport and in the shadow of landing planes. The tees are concrete, the grass is fairly healthy, and there are even a bunch of trees here.

The course makes good use of the obstacles it has to work with: light poles, fences, baseball fields, tennis courts. There are a number of holes that force a turnover shot if you want to have a shot at birdie, and the course doesn't seem to favor righties or lefties.

I like holes 18-24 (across the driveway entrace). They are a bit more wooded and require more accuracy. And the tiny, tiny bit of elevation the course has is found here. Look carefully and you might see it!

I have been surprised at how un-busy this place is.
Cons: Tee signs are subpar. Navigation isn't bad, but without the map you'll have a tough time. Holes 5-7 loop back on themselves, and the basket straight ahead of hole 5 is actually for hole 7. Then you have a bit of a walk over to the 8th tee.

The design is just okay. I like that the course forces certain shots on different holes, but nearly every hole felt like a pretty easy 3 but an unrealistic 2. I can throw about 275 feet, and it always felt like I ended up 75-150 feet away from the hole off the tee. So for someone of my skill set, a great drive and a mediocre drive will both usually result in a par. There isn't a lot of risk/reward on the course.

People seem to sit in several of the fairways to watch the baseball games.
Other Thoughts: Update: As of late March 2013, there are new signs for all 24 holes, so navigation is much better. There is still a stray basket between holes 3 and 4 (#4 is the old #8), but you can ignore it.

If you come to Vegas and need a break from the gambling, this is probably your best bet (hah! Get it?). It's close to the Strip, and you could probably even take a cab here.

There is some shade here, but if you're playing in the summer, bring some water, a hat, and a lot of sunscreen. The heat isn't as bad as you think, but the direct sunlight can take a lot out of you.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner's Review

1    7/18/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 50  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good size tee boxes. Nice layout. Well-maintained park. Mature trees for some shade. Friendly locals.
Cons: Holes 4-7 do not exist. Hole 1 tee, as marked on map is now No. 2 (July 18, 2012). You'll need someone to direct you to first tee if you've never played before. After playing hole 3, move directly to No. 8. The course map is useless for holes 1 and 4-7.
Other Thoughts: OB on some holes put traffic, parked cars and basketball players in peril from beginners like me. OB can make play more challenging, but can also make for some nervous play from a beginner.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/29/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout and well signed. 24 holes. Not overly busy.
Cons: Spent a while looking for holes 4-7 until I realized they are not there. The course is mostly wide open with not too many trees.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Nice that it has 24 holes. I haven't played any other courses in the Las Vegas area so I don't know how it compares to the other ones.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Vegas Disc Golf

1    6/19/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well designed course with a good variety of long, short, left, right and open shots to keep it challenging, depending in which pin position the baskets are in. Most holes have three different pin positions and have plenty of OB making the course tough. The course has nice sized concrete tee pads to get a good run up and some decent signs with all the hole information and also direct you to the next tee. The course is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trashcans and restrooms for your convenience and parking should not be an issue here.
Cons: The layout can be a little tricky if you are a first timer playing this course because of some of the new changes made. The local Disc Golf Club have done some re-designing on some holes on this course. I met a local at the course who let me get in on a round and guided me through the course and showed me some of the changes on the layout. There is some construction going on causing a few holes to be unplayable on the course. Once the construction is complete the word is the club is going to do a total re-design and make this course a nice 18 hole layout. There is not many trees on the course so it can get really hot so water and sunscreen is a must if your playing during the day.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course if you are visiting Vegas. The locals are really friendly here and will guide you around if you need any help. The airport is basically right across the street of the course so you will be playing disc golf in no time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Has potential

1    2/14/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: stu.vars
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Close to airport. Many trash cans. Well maintained fairways. Reflectors on baskets for night play.
Cons: Construction/outdated map left me spending 45min looking for hole one. SPRINKLERS, fellas, they come on at 11:00pm and they soak that course!!
Other Thoughts: Joe_Maumy left a review 09/06/11 "Construction Zone".. well the course is STILL under construction and the course map has STILL not been updated... the locals fail on this one - BIG TIME!
***I would suggest not playing here until it is all finished, or an updated map is provided... it will be a nice course.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 hope u don't like shade

1    1/2/2012   1/5/2012
Review By: turtle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: there's quite a bit of OB which makes for more technical gameplay. Good use of available space, since there's lots of other recreational stuff going on. Lots of variation of hole lengths and types.
Cons: Not much for shade at all. Several holes are right along side the 'busy' road. A person in my group actually came within inches of blowing out someone's window in an area that could've caused a huge pile up. (no bueno) Figuring out where to start was tricky, the map shows huge sections of OB in the center of the course...but when u get there it looks like one really big field with 'slight' tree coverage. So had it not been for the locals I probably would've looked like a lost dog out there. Several fairways border another tee, making for tedious game play if it's crouded on the field.
Other Thoughts: The bums were friendly, and made for good conversation. lol

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Construction Continues

1    11/10/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Decent park not far from LV Strip
-Baskets were in decent shape
-Concrete Teepads (except for hole changes)
-Signage available for each hole
Cons: -Construction in the park has forced hole relocation
- Flat terrain with few obstacles
-Mandatory flight paths on holes due to crossing fairways
-Slight sketchy park
Other Thoughts: Out of towner visiting LV and chose this park due to it being very close to downtown strip. In fact, if you plan your trips the way I do, You could come out of the airport and land at Sunset park in Less than 3 minutes.
I use the GPS Longitude and Latitude markings for directions which dumps you at Hole #12 instead of the other parking lot at Hole#1.
The Contruction interrupted the flow abit and Hole#1 has been reconstructed. Luckily a local pointed us to the hole.
The Mandatory Flight paths on a number of holes are understood due to the course layout but I see this as a con being flying discs arry can happen often.
We got turned arounda few times so it would help if there were better directions available.
If I return to the area, I would probably try another park. The course itself was a bit uninteresting.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Okay - but in the lower 50%

1    10/27/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: cmartin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 14 holes available on the front are all pretty straight forward and open with some OB - mostly other park amenities (Tennis courts, baseball fields) or parking lots. While there are trees on the front, very few really come into play.
The final 6 holes made the course worth playing. They are a bit longer than the front and have a lot more trees that force you to decide how to play the hole.
Cons: Currently (10/27/11) holes 4-7 are not available due to construction at the park. Holes 1-3 have been moved/modified making it a little tough to play without guidance (which the local players seemed happy to provide).
Not a lot of elevation change - but what little natural elevation changes are available were incorporated into the course (again all on the last 6 holes).
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this was a nice course and it is reasonably easy. Of the courses I've played, I would have to rate it in the lower half. Not being a local, it's unlikely I will play the course again; however, if I decide to come back, I will probably just play the final 6 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Construction Zone

1    9/3/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Grass in the desert/more than 18 holes/close to the strip if your visiting/concrete tee pads

Cons: cross traffic/construction in park looks like some holes have been and will be shifted and or moved on a permant basis/bums/signs missing
Other Thoughts: nice course but some holes play close to parked cars and other sports fields/. We had to get a guy playing a fiddle, a lady reading in the fairway and a couple softball teams to move so we could play/ many signs missing/bums/a bit confusing where you have to go out to the sidewalk and back to get around the construction/no water. Will be back in Vegas again and will play this course after the construction is done and update this review at that time. still worth playing if your in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Busy space

2-4    8/31/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads mostly with signage. Park well maintianed. Challanging and open at the same time.
Cons: Evenings where extremly busy with little league sports. Made it very difficult to manuver through the course. Windage was brutal.
Other Thoughts: I returned during the after afternoon hours the following day. The park was fairly empty and the bums where nice. The park was underconstruction a therefor the whole course was not fully available.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.