Las Vegas, NV
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: JohnRicker Hole #23
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 hope u don't like shade

1    1/2/2012   1/5/2012
Review By: turtle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: there's quite a bit of OB which makes for more technical gameplay. Good use of available space, since there's lots of other recreational stuff going on. Lots of variation of hole lengths and types.
Cons: Not much for shade at all. Several holes are right along side the 'busy' road. A person in my group actually came within inches of blowing out someone's window in an area that could've caused a huge pile up. (no bueno) Figuring out where to start was tricky, the map shows huge sections of OB in the center of the course...but when u get there it looks like one really big field with 'slight' tree coverage. So had it not been for the locals I probably would've looked like a lost dog out there. Several fairways border another tee, making for tedious game play if it's crouded on the field.
Other Thoughts: The bums were friendly, and made for good conversation. lol

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Construction Continues

1    11/10/2011   11/12/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Decent park not far from LV Strip
-Baskets were in decent shape
-Concrete Teepads (except for hole changes)
-Signage available for each hole
Cons: -Construction in the park has forced hole relocation
- Flat terrain with few obstacles
-Mandatory flight paths on holes due to crossing fairways
-Slight sketchy park
Other Thoughts: Out of towner visiting LV and chose this park due to it being very close to downtown strip. In fact, if you plan your trips the way I do, You could come out of the airport and land at Sunset park in Less than 3 minutes.
I use the GPS Longitude and Latitude markings for directions which dumps you at Hole #12 instead of the other parking lot at Hole#1.
The Contruction interrupted the flow abit and Hole#1 has been reconstructed. Luckily a local pointed us to the hole.
The Mandatory Flight paths on a number of holes are understood due to the course layout but I see this as a con being flying discs arry can happen often.
We got turned arounda few times so it would help if there were better directions available.
If I return to the area, I would probably try another park. The course itself was a bit uninteresting.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Okay - but in the lower 50%

1    10/27/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: cmartin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The 14 holes available on the front are all pretty straight forward and open with some OB - mostly other park amenities (Tennis courts, baseball fields) or parking lots. While there are trees on the front, very few really come into play.
The final 6 holes made the course worth playing. They are a bit longer than the front and have a lot more trees that force you to decide how to play the hole.
Cons: Currently (10/27/11) holes 4-7 are not available due to construction at the park. Holes 1-3 have been moved/modified making it a little tough to play without guidance (which the local players seemed happy to provide).
Not a lot of elevation change - but what little natural elevation changes are available were incorporated into the course (again all on the last 6 holes).
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this was a nice course and it is reasonably easy. Of the courses I've played, I would have to rate it in the lower half. Not being a local, it's unlikely I will play the course again; however, if I decide to come back, I will probably just play the final 6 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Construction Zone

1    9/3/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Grass in the desert/more than 18 holes/close to the strip if your visiting/concrete tee pads

Cons: cross traffic/construction in park looks like some holes have been and will be shifted and or moved on a permant basis/bums/signs missing
Other Thoughts: nice course but some holes play close to parked cars and other sports fields/. We had to get a guy playing a fiddle, a lady reading in the fairway and a couple softball teams to move so we could play/ many signs missing/bums/a bit confusing where you have to go out to the sidewalk and back to get around the construction/no water. Will be back in Vegas again and will play this course after the construction is done and update this review at that time. still worth playing if your in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Busy space

2-4    8/31/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads mostly with signage. Park well maintianed. Challanging and open at the same time.
Cons: Evenings where extremly busy with little league sports. Made it very difficult to manuver through the course. Windage was brutal.
Other Thoughts: I returned during the after afternoon hours the following day. The park was fairly empty and the bums where nice. The park was underconstruction a therefor the whole course was not fully available.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 visitor Friendly

1    2/24/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Visiting from salt lake I really enjoyed this course! It had trees for difficulty, and was fairly long par 3's so you could legitimately use your driver on most holes!
-This course was not busy, but it was good to see that people were playing!
-This park is huge. Absolutely perfect park for a course. Plenty of room for 18 actually 27 hole course and "pedestrians" didn't get in the way at all. If anything, they knew where to sit and enjoy some shade and watched the disc golfers.
-This course although it has some difficult terrain like trees, it is still a fairly open and easy course. But that doesn't mean it wasn't fun!
-Plenty of parking!
-Close to airport, you can watch the huge jets come in.
-You will never lose a disc on this course.
-Shaded at many of the tees. But not fairways.
Cons: -Very flat and open.
-Not much bad to say, I really enjoyed this course.
-All the airplanes can sometimes be distracting, but over all they are fun to watch.
-The last 9 holes of the 27 hole course seem to be thrown in. Wasn't as fun and interesting as the rest of the course. But, still fun nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: -As a visitor, i enjoyed the complexity of the course and will for sure go back next year and hopefully play a couple times.
Take this review for what it's worth. I played the course once. I hope this was helpful in some way for any others looking to try this course. I will be going back next year, and I look forward to it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jackpot in Vegas?

1    11/1/2010   5/12/2011
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Clean, plenty of trash cans
-Large parking lot
-24 holes!!!!
-Centrally located to many attractions.
-Umm, it is in Vegas? lol
-Restrooms
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Water fountains
Cons: -A few baseball fields and tennis courts in play
-Busy street runs parallel to a few holes
-Can be rather confusing on the layout. Bring a map.
-Airport right next to it.
Other Thoughts: Well, came to Las Vegas for SEMA and decided to squeeze in a round before the show started. It was fairly empty when I came so I was able to breeze through the round. Love the fact that they added on 8 holes to make it 24. They are fun ones too. The baseball fields make the course interesting, however, they are in a position that discs can easily go on to the fields.

When I was there, there was a maintenance crew working. Not sure what they were doing, but every 10 minutes or so, sounded like a shotgun blast.

There are a few fast food restaurants right near by in case you get hungry.

As for the airport being a con, it is just loud at the most inopportune times it seems. Kinda cool to see the planes come nearly in right over head, though.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, boring, but legit

1    4/17/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Each hole was a legit DG par 3. Variety of different tee shots & options. Holes 19-24 are the best on the course. Plenty of parking. You'll have a chance to get paired up if you want.
Cons: Not enough trees and definition throughout front 18. If the front 18 played like the back 6, this would be a 4-star course for me. This place is clearly old school, and I think Mountain Crest is way better.
Other Thoughts: I really can't see myself playing this course again. I'm thinking I'll be playing Red Ridge and Mountain Crest most often until the new courses get finished. For an ideal representation of what Sunset COULD be, check out Oak Grove DGC in Stockton, CA. Just keeping it REAL...
=================
Uniqueness: B+ (strong DG culture; large)
Difficulty: B (flat; could use more trees; OB)
Fun factor: B (plays quick; easy with kids)
Aesthetics: C+ (boring; old looking)
----------------------
Overall: B

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

It's a Course

2-4    4/7/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 76  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2012
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The course is very easy to follow and play the first time without a guide, onsite bathrooms, nice long grass, good baskets, nice textured concrete tee pads, good signage, plenty of parking.
Cons: The course has no elevation change to speak of and many activities such as football, softball, and soccer are taking place in several fairways. No real tough holes here, all cater to a big driver getting close and putting down a 30' gem to card a birdie. Overall lack of difficulty it fells like a longer pitch and putt course and plays the same way. It really felt like I was playing the same hole over and over again 24 times.
Other Thoughts: It is always a good thing to have a course and this fills the need. Any seasoned player will dispatch this course with ease but it offers a great place for the community to gather and play while also developing new talent. It would be nice to see something more championship like out in vegas. I know the local club is working hard to spread the gospel of disc golf and I look forward to checking out new courses as they are installed.


3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of what's there

1    4/7/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a big multi-use park and the course plays around the fields and courts in creative ways.

Not a lot of trees, but they seem to be in all the right places judging by how many of them I hit

Teeboxes are all nice concrete teeboxes. Baskets are in great shape. Only one missing sign. The signs are well done, but starting to get a bit beat up. If I would have read them more carefully I probably wouldn't have played to the wrong basket quite so many times.

The course gets better as it goes on. I wasn't very impressed at all for the first few holes but the holes just keep getting more and more interesting.

Very easy to navigate like most park courses.
Cons: Not a place for beginners when the park is busy. Especially if windy it would be very easy to put a disc into occupied courts and fields.

I had to skip hole 2 since it played right through the middle of a kickball league.

Very easy to play to the wrong basket in several places

Never did find the teepad for # 23, but it was pretty dark by then

I played in 30 mph of wind, but there was a storm front coming in. It probably isn't that windy most of the time, but it was a great chance for me to use my gator and XXX for approaches.

I was the only DG player on the course at 6 pm on a Thursday night. Maybe it was the wind, but WTH is everyone?
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing. I got my 2nd ace on 16, but I'm still trying to figure out if it counts since I missed about 4 of the 16 mandos on the hole.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.