Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: JohnRicker Hole #19
3 / 525ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Tee

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 visitor Friendly

1    2/24/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Visiting from salt lake I really enjoyed this course! It had trees for difficulty, and was fairly long par 3's so you could legitimately use your driver on most holes!
-This course was not busy, but it was good to see that people were playing!
-This park is huge. Absolutely perfect park for a course. Plenty of room for 18 actually 27 hole course and "pedestrians" didn't get in the way at all. If anything, they knew where to sit and enjoy some shade and watched the disc golfers.
-This course although it has some difficult terrain like trees, it is still a fairly open and easy course. But that doesn't mean it wasn't fun!
-Plenty of parking!
-Close to airport, you can watch the huge jets come in.
-You will never lose a disc on this course.
-Shaded at many of the tees. But not fairways.
Cons: -Very flat and open.
-Not much bad to say, I really enjoyed this course.
-All the airplanes can sometimes be distracting, but over all they are fun to watch.
-The last 9 holes of the 27 hole course seem to be thrown in. Wasn't as fun and interesting as the rest of the course. But, still fun nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: -As a visitor, i enjoyed the complexity of the course and will for sure go back next year and hopefully play a couple times.
Take this review for what it's worth. I played the course once. I hope this was helpful in some way for any others looking to try this course. I will be going back next year, and I look forward to it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jackpot in Vegas?

1    11/1/2010   5/12/2011
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Clean, plenty of trash cans
-Large parking lot
-24 holes!!!!
-Centrally located to many attractions.
-Umm, it is in Vegas? lol
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Water fountains
Cons: -A few baseball fields and tennis courts in play
-Busy street runs parallel to a few holes
-Can be rather confusing on the layout. Bring a map.
-Airport right next to it.
Other Thoughts: Well, came to Las Vegas for SEMA and decided to squeeze in a round before the show started. It was fairly empty when I came so I was able to breeze through the round. Love the fact that they added on 8 holes to make it 24. They are fun ones too. The baseball fields make the course interesting, however, they are in a position that discs can easily go on to the fields.

When I was there, there was a maintenance crew working. Not sure what they were doing, but every 10 minutes or so, sounded like a shotgun blast.

There are a few fast food restaurants right near by in case you get hungry.

As for the airport being a con, it is just loud at the most inopportune times it seems. Kinda cool to see the planes come nearly in right over head, though.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded, boring, but legit

1    4/17/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Each hole was a legit DG par 3. Variety of different tee shots & options. Holes 19-24 are the best on the course. Plenty of parking. You'll have a chance to get paired up if you want.
Cons: Not enough trees and definition throughout front 18. If the front 18 played like the back 6, this would be a 4-star course for me. This place is clearly old school, and I think Mountain Crest is way better.
Other Thoughts: I really can't see myself playing this course again. I'm thinking I'll be playing Red Ridge and Mountain Crest most often until the new courses get finished. For an ideal representation of what Sunset COULD be, check out Oak Grove DGC in Stockton, CA. Just keeping it REAL...
Uniqueness: B+ (strong DG culture; large)
Difficulty: B (flat; could use more trees; OB)
Fun factor: B (plays quick; easy with kids)
Aesthetics: C+ (boring; old looking)
Overall: B

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's a Course

2-4    4/7/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2012
3 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The course is very easy to follow and play the first time without a guide, onsite bathrooms, nice long grass, good baskets, nice textured concrete tee pads, good signage, plenty of parking.
Cons: The course has no elevation change to speak of and many activities such as football, softball, and soccer are taking place in several fairways. No real tough holes here, all cater to a big driver getting close and putting down a 30' gem to card a birdie. Overall lack of difficulty it fells like a longer pitch and putt course and plays the same way. It really felt like I was playing the same hole over and over again 24 times.
Other Thoughts: It is always a good thing to have a course and this fills the need. Any seasoned player will dispatch this course with ease but it offers a great place for the community to gather and play while also developing new talent. It would be nice to see something more championship like out in vegas. I know the local club is working hard to spread the gospel of disc golf and I look forward to checking out new courses as they are installed.

3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of what's there

1    4/7/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a big multi-use park and the course plays around the fields and courts in creative ways.

Not a lot of trees, but they seem to be in all the right places judging by how many of them I hit

Teeboxes are all nice concrete teeboxes. Baskets are in great shape. Only one missing sign. The signs are well done, but starting to get a bit beat up. If I would have read them more carefully I probably wouldn't have played to the wrong basket quite so many times.

The course gets better as it goes on. I wasn't very impressed at all for the first few holes but the holes just keep getting more and more interesting.

Very easy to navigate like most park courses.
Cons: Not a place for beginners when the park is busy. Especially if windy it would be very easy to put a disc into occupied courts and fields.

I had to skip hole 2 since it played right through the middle of a kickball league.

Very easy to play to the wrong basket in several places

Never did find the teepad for # 23, but it was pretty dark by then

I played in 30 mph of wind, but there was a storm front coming in. It probably isn't that windy most of the time, but it was a great chance for me to use my gator and XXX for approaches.

I was the only DG player on the course at 6 pm on a Thursday night. Maybe it was the wind, but WTH is everyone?
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing. I got my 2nd ace on 16, but I'm still trying to figure out if it counts since I missed about 4 of the 16 mandos on the hole.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Vegas by Default

1    11/16/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 331  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
- Great use of Mandy's. Open courses such as this, need mandatories to force you to play the Hole a certain way in an attempt to make you throw different shots... and to keep things interesting. They do that well here on several Holes, however, there could have done more in this regard.
- Lots of Trees. Although I would consider this course to be wide open, there are a decent amount of mature trees in the park. The trees do come into play, but it's very easy to play around, under, over and between them.
- Concrete Tees, Signage, Navigation. Really great concrete tees, decent enough tee-signs, and easy navigation are always a Pro when playing a course for the first time.
- Redundant. Not only is every Hole flat, the rest of the course feels redundant as well. Hole distances were fairly redundant (somewhere in the mid 300's)... A lot of the Holes looked the same... and there was very little variance in strategy - grip it and rip it. I was only forced to throw a sidearm once... and used the same driver on 14 Holes.
- Flat, Flat, Flat. I know that it's hard to knock a course for something the course designer had no control over, but this place is flat. There couldn't be more than 10' total feet of elevation gain or loss in the entire park.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Sunset is a typical city park style course with a little added "D". The flatness, lack of variation in distance and lack of tee-shot variance lessened the overall experience for me... however, it's still a really decent course and, by default, probably deserves Vegas' top ranking (based on size of the park and shot distance). I thought Mountain Crest was a more complete course... however, it's a much smaller park, making it hard to have a major event, which is probably why Sunset gets all the "Hype".
- Las Vegas Golf Scene. I was surprised to see so many golfers on the course on a Tuesday morning with groups on almost every Hole. The other courses I played in Vegas were packed too.
- My Las Vegas Rankings. I played 6 of the 7 courses in Vegas during a recent business trip. My rankings are: Sunset, Mountain Crest, Red Ridge, Peccole Ranch, Freedom, Carson Davis.
- My Score: -7

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    11/22/2010   11/25/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a big, multi-use park and makes good use of the available land. A large amount of man-made OB is present in the forms of parking lots, tons of fences, and the like.
- Biggest factors here are the longer holes lengths combined with plenty of obstacles. With an average of 346' each, even the biggest arms will find some bombers. Overall a good mix throughout, from 280' to 489'.
- These long holes are made much more interesting with the constant use of obstacles, which force a ton of line shaping. A few mandos force some flight paths, while plenty other holes give an option of going around large trees or small groves of trees. Lots of fairways use fences to take some easy routes away. A great mix of long lines to hit, accuracy can be just as important as distance in many places.
- Some baskets are protected pretty well by trees of all sizes, and one is right behind a water hazard/ob area (I'd play it OB).
- Lots of available pin positions that drastically change some of the holes. Not sure how often they get moved around, but the variety is great if/when they are.
- Good teepads, baskets are older but in decent shape, and good signage. A few are a bit faded, and a few are possibly missing, which might make navigation a bit tricky. Map can be helpful first time through.
Cons: - Disc golf is just one of the many activities going on here, definitely need to watch out for other park users. Even if the park is empty, there is an excessive amount of pavement that always takes away from the whole experience.
- Land is as flat as can be, zero elevation change except for a few ditches. No choice with the available terrain, unfortunately.
Other Thoughts: - I could see how this course could be challenging to a player with a big arm vs. one with a noodle. A big arm is going to be tempted to go for many of these holes in two, while a shorter player will probably try to lay up for threes. The threes are easy to get, if you can avoid the trees, but the twos can be tough. Really depends on the individual player here.
- Bring out the drivers to this course, and let 'em rip. Very few open holes, though, so they gotta be well placed too.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Windy City, Las Vegas

2-4    9/7/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2014
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 hole course. Concrete Tee Pads in good condition. Unique use of OB that adds to fun and difficulty. No bugs! Coming from Virginia this was pleasantly shocking considering the heat. Great park with restrooms, water fountains and plenty to do for the family while you obsess over a new dg course! Good flow from hole to hole once you find hole one. The printable map makes that real easy, just don't leave it at the hotel.....enough said. Despite the front nine being mostly open, the back holes (after 18, the extra holes) provide a bit of trees and throwing over objects and help the course feel more like traditional disc golf or at least Disc Golf courses found in other parts of the country.
Cons: Not a lot of variety to the shots. As mentioned before, sort of a there is the basket, go for it, type of course. Trees do come into play to raise the degree of challenge, but not really too tough. Many of the holes get familar after a while. Mostly an open rip it course. A tight knit course that I'm sure on a busy day can cause issue with usual park users and families as the baskets seem to placed in potential high traffic areas. Also be aware that many homeless use the park as a home base. So much so, that I was told by a local that many of them carry discs to diguise themselves from police.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very nice course directly across from the Las Vegas Airport. This leads me to the title of my review, Windy City! This course was windy, be prepared. This isn't a Pro or Con just be warned. The day I played the wind was a huge part of the game and a local with me told me it was a calm day for the wind! Sheesh! Not sure if this is common in Vegas or due to the airplanes landing and taking off constantly nearby as you play. Despite being a bit simplistic, this is a fun course, due alot to the many OB's found around the course. Holes 8 and 9 are standouts that use baseball fields as OB. The OB and Mandos help add spice to an otherwise repetative course.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hot! Hot! Hot!

5+    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice course. Fun to play. Plenty of holes. Good signs. Well maintained. baskets in good shape. Large park with good amenities. Nice mid to longer length holes to open it up a bit. A few tricky tree opportunities.. I think 16, 17 and 24 were nice tree issues and 13 has a BIG tree to consider. The basket on 1 used to be behind that tree... now it is in the open.
Cons: Hot! Wow Vegas is hot in July! Many holes are just basic... the basket is over there, go for it. A few holes offer some tree challenges. There a few marked mandos to come into play. We do not have this much course length on this many holes in my home area... We have shorter more forested courses that might have a few bigger arm holes. I do prefer a few woody, tricky holes to make shot choices to keep regular play more interesting... but i do not live here so 2 visits per year is NOT regular play. Not a comment on the course itself, but, nowhere nearby to buy good discs that any locals could refer me to.
Other Thoughts: This course has been recently tweaked a bit. A few new basket placements. Looked like a few new baskets or just chains, too. Homeless looking dude "lives" at the bench area near basket 2, tee 3, tee 15, basket 15, tee 16. He has been there every time I have been here... seems pretty harmless. Has a hand full of discs and occasionally will get up and toss them. Might be a bit spooky some small kids. Bring water. Update 6/11This course gets smaller every time I play. My arm is getting bigger. Hole 6 is one of the best holes in disc golf... ever... first 2/3 of the hole open up wide and clear. Great tree cluster at the 2/3 point offering lots of choices as to how you play. 15% after tree cluster is open for clear putting. Very fun to play over and over again, This hole forces good choices and plays different every time.. 16 and 17 is a great annie combo. Play the mandos as indicated. Few courses have 'nuf good annie holes. These 2 are gems.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good location for vacations

2-4    5/15/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets. The holes varied in length and difficulty. Decent signage, but many of the signs were vandalized and worn out. Good location close to the strip and very close to the airport. Good use of the few trees in the park. A couple of very challenging holes. Some friendly locals to help with navigation if you need. Drinking fountains and restrooms on site, although I wouldn't recommend using the restrooms.
Cons: The park is completely flat, no elevation change whatsoever. Some holes played too close to other park activities like baseball, tennis, and basketball. There is a lot of non disc golfers out on the fairways, near the baskets, and by the tee pads. Both times I've played this course there were a lot of bums hanging out, and in some cases, heckling the disc golfers as they tee off.
Other Thoughts: I had fun both times I played this course, and will visit next time I'm in Vegas. It's not incredible, but it works, and has some nice holes. The course would be much better if it wasn't full of people just hanging out, and getting in the way.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.