Las Vegas, NV 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #13
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #13



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Better use of time than slot machines

2-4    11/4/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7 Years
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
24 holes of disc golf give the opportunity for a large variety of shots. Good balance of rightie vs. leftie holes, possibly favoring lefties just a bit. Lots of OB using park features (fences, parking lots, streets, etc.) make the holes more challenging. Nice, big, concrete tee pads.

Dated, but sufficient tee signs make navigating the course easy enough without a map. The only point of confusion I had (my first time) was standing on the tee of #19 it wasn't obvious which basket was in play because you can see both #19 and #23, but they're too far away to read the number. (The basket on the right is the correct one.)

Very nice online map with all the various pin positions indicated.
Cons:
Almost no elevation changes. Several holes play dangerously close to a busy street. The AM par values posted are very generous; probably assigned many years ago before discs flew as far as they do today.

There were several sleeping bums in various places on the course that had to be played around. Also a couple couples that would have been better off in a hotel room.

Hole #3 has a substandard basket compared to the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts:
In looking at the pictures of holes #1-3 the outfield fence that was OB has been removed; that makes hole #2 significantly easier (almost a throwaway hole) and #3 somewhat easier.

The basket placement on #24, using a funky shaped tree, was pretty cool (see DGCR picture). The basket placement on #16 looks like it could potentially be in a swamp if it rained, but since this is the desert it probably doesn't rain much.

#15 is the only hole that has a separate short and long tee.

Wind can be a big factor in play on this course.

This would be a great home course and I could see playing this for a long time before getting tired of it. Definitely worth playing.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/20/2006   10/20/2008
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2009
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Wide open easy course for beginners.
-Clearly marked tees with maps.
-Few Obstacles makes for Big Drives!
-Made my longest putt ever (About 110 feet)
-Grass is well maintained. Sprinklers are on in the morning to cool you off.
-Great course to bring a cooler and relax, not much traffic.
Cons: -It's Veags so Heat is an issue.
-No Obstacles, not much of a challenge.
-Kind of far from the strip if you are visiting Vegas without a car.
Other Thoughts: I went to Vegas for my Bachelor party. We stayed up al night and had my brother in law drive us out here. Still drunk, Shirts off, cooler in tow we only finished 12 holes and we were exhausted (That Vegas heat in June). I would recommend this trip to anyone.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good place to get in 24

1    10/8/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 10/17/2008
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 24 holes so you can get in a good round. In a city park that is entirely mown…you won't lose a disc here. Every tee had a sign with a hole map and next basket arrow. I had no map and had never played here before. After I found the first tee I had no problem navigating the course. There is a city busline that drops off right at the park. If you are visiting Vegas withour a car and don't want to bust your wallet on a taxi, the bus is a great option.
Cons: This is a multi-use park so there will be people wandering around. I played early in the morning and saw several dog walkers. I had to wait for one or two to walk away from where I was throwing. There was another dude sleeping 15 feet from a basket. I picked up my disc and skipped the basket. As I walked by I saw his mouth agape…deep in the land of snooze. 17-20 play right next to a very busy, very noisy street. There is occasional LOUD noise coming from the nearby airport.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was a nice course to play. You have to be careful with some OB areas next to playing fields but it is very fair. There are just enough trees around that they come into play. However, this is still a very open course. The hole length really makes this course. The holes are long enough that it keeps the course from being a open hole birdie fest. You have to be pretty good to make birdies on this course which is how it should be. The course is very flat for the most part.

Although the noise on some holes and the mixed-use nature of the park are not ideal I would still be happy to play this course if I lived in Las Vegas.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/23/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Decent variety, fairly challenging pins. Maintained pads, etc. Different pin locations create a variety of different shots required.
Cons: No real elevation change. A bit of pedestrian traffic, only really causes issues on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: The back 10 are the more challenging of the 24, and are definitely my favorite.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 sunset park, vegas

1    5/21/2008   5/21/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 157  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Twenty Four holes. Mowed fairways. Easy to navigate course. you can play in the evenings if the baseball diamonds have their lights on.
Cons: Baseball diamonds come into play too much (o.b.). non disc golf foot traffic is fairly heavy at times. Mother nature will put you down if your not prepared.
Other Thoughts: This course is flat, wide open, and very easy to get around with good tee signage and concrete teepads. . i would like this course better if i didnt feel i was encroaching on other areas to play the course (baseball diamonds), you can avoid these areas but then you may end up in another fairway overcompensating (personal problem). roller shots dominate on this course if you choose, there is usually a predominant wind to deal with though, heavy at times. the summer is HOT, bring lots of water, one round will wear you out. you will have the course to yourself in summertime play. standard weekly league is organized year round, in the summer they start at 7 am to beat the heat. this course is the go-to course for locals, followed by the mountain crest course much furthur away from the strip.
05-24-09: holes 2 and 3 dont have the baseball fencing for OB anymore, this makes these two holes wide open and easy compared to what it used to be. holes 21, 22, and 23 have more trees planted making them harder to play. and will continue to get harder as those trees grow.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Park - a Winner in Vegas!

4/28/2008   4/28/2008
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Vegas, baby!
- nice placements, did the best they could with what they had to work with. It's a desert, after all -- it's flat -- but some baskets are well hidden behind trees, encircled by trees, or around the corner to provide a good challenge
- park is on the back side of McCarran airport, so it's fun to see the planes landing and taking off including large commercial jets, private planes, and military jets (saw an F-18 taking off, cool!)
- the rest of the park is nice, too, with tennis and basketball courts, a large stocked fishing pond, and a really nice jogging and fitness course. Wander around a bit while you're there, if you have the time
Cons: - it was very windy on our second day, adding to the challenge especially for our newbie
- it can be very hot. We played two nine-hole rounds instead of 18 at one shot. If it's not midwinter, plan to play early in the morning if you want a full round
Other Thoughts: - nice to be off of the Strip for a while

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Sunset Trip!

5+    7/20/2007   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2011
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice grassy park with a full 18 including concrete tee pads..
Cons: Definitely close to baseball diamonds and some major roads, but not really a bad thing. Old ratty tee signs that badly need a face lift. Park is routinely rearranged, which changes this course a lot. Have had 2 discs picked up after long drives and stolen! One guy ran to a car and bailed, another dude (rough lookin fella) picked up my new Memorial Crystal Nuke and hopped on the city bus! Almost yanked him off it....
Other Thoughts: Site of most big LV tournies including the exquisite Gentlemen's Club Challenge. Great local club! Blazin' hot in July, but lots of food and drink nearby. Bring sunscreen and water in the warmer months!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Flat, but hey, it's Vegas!

9/25/2007   3/27/2008
Review By: kette_master
Played: 89  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2008
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well placed trees and OB to keep you on your toes. The locals are very helpful and welcoming.
Cons: The course is flat, but I wouldn't consider it a con. A few of the holes play way too close to the baseball diamonds. Watchout for the gopher holes in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I'm impressed by the way Parks & Rec deal w/the gophers - they blow them-up! ...but only in the baseball diamonds. The explosion sound can REALLY mess with one's putting. Oh, yes, and the commercial aircraft coming in for a landing above your head is pretty cool.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  fun course

3/11/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: casonleavitt
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes. There are a lot of different throws you can throw on this course.
Cons: bums sleeping in the fairway.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.