Layout Extinct

Henrietta, NY 
Monroe Community College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 209ft.   4 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Pro Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 fun with water

5+    8/5/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: description: a nice 18 hole course with water, woods, and a few open holes. not a beginner course due to the water. picturesque in certain spots, like when walking along the pond on hole 4

variety: good. shots over/near the water are fun, which i would recommend using a floater for even though there not terribly long...it's the rolling disc that usually ends up in the water here in our groups. also, you'll find you need some good anhyzer or sidearm shots on several of the shorter wooded holes. maybe one hole where a friend has decided to throw a thumber. several holes are definitely mid range or putter drives. hole 7 is the longest and most open hole on the course at 411 feet.

basket locations: best are by the water. hole 4 is set on the side of a small sloping hill, reached by throwing 250 feet or so over a corner of the pond. hole 5 is also fun, a hyzer shot down along the pond with the basket up the hill by a willow. hole 12 gives you the option of throwing a hyzer out over the water to avoid a column of trees and boulders to reach the basket, or you could go sidearm. hole 13 is only reached by a hyzer, a shot thrown alongside the water's edge with the basket tucked in the edge of the woods 300 feet away.

difficulty: moderate. most holes are on the short side and the water holes aren't long or a big deal if you've got a floater. but again, i would not bring a beginner here because the water would probably be frustrating/intimidating.

Cons: tees and signs: pretty bad. small black or yellow squares make tees that are sometimes hard to see. signs are simply numbers placed by trees/tees. no pictures or distances given and the scorecard box at the kiosk is usually empty.

pars: very high. never seen pars so high for such short holes.

wooded holes: some are okay and others are pretty bland. i'm sure this will change once the course is eventually re-designed, which i believe will be quite soon

wetness: this course is extremely wet in certain spots in the spring. i usually look to play it in june or later and there's no problem with wetness at all by then.

bugs: this year we've experienced a drought, but i seem to remember that hole 3 with the swampy area on the left being very buggy in the past

Other Thoughts: i really enjoy this course and considerate it very fun. i've read that with the redesign, improvements will also include actual tees and signs and avoid wet areas.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let friends borrow your discs!

5+    1/2/2011   1/6/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I put off playing this course after repeatedly hearing about it's ability to eat plastic. I was kind of sad that I did, as the very real threat of losing discs really ups the ante. It's kind of nerve racking on a few holes, but rewarding. Not particularly hard to clear the water, but it's really only a matter of time...

The course is well maintained, but some of the natural tee-pads are getting tricky.

There are a couple of holes that could be labeled the signature hole, and there's a good variety of wooded and open shots.

Some people mentioned the highway, but you're only next to it for two holes, one of which throws around the MCC sign, which is kinda cool... Especially with the traffic, methinks.

Plenty of parking, as well as easy to find. It's pretty easy to play a quick round here on any given day, and you're guaranteed to find a few holes you'll really enjoy.
Cons: The water.

As much as I like the risk, I hate losing discs more. One throw over the pond is just a griplock away from kissing your disc goodbye, and even if you hit the dry stuff, it's steeply banked, A roller into the water will likely be lost, as you're not allowed to wade in. Even then, the water drops off steeply. I had one roll harmlessly towards the frozen bank, hit the ice, slide through the gap to the shore, and disappear.

Bring a retriever.

In addition to the pond, there's a reedy creek that swallows plastic on 1.

I know I'm contradicting. "I like the water, I don't like the water", but you know how that goes!

Tee pads are fairly worn, and there's no facilities at all, so bring some napkins, ladies.

I would also recommend a guide or a good map, as finding the tees can be tricky.
Other Thoughts: There's some fairly strong pros and cons to this course, but all things considered I'm glad I finally started playing it. I don't like to review unless I've played a course a few times, and in 5 rounds I've lost 1 very nicely broken in Valk (sigh). Not bad, I guess.

Worth playing. It's far from the best in the area, but far from the worst.... Just don't let your newbie buddy throw your nice discs!

Like/don't like this review? Please PM me and tell me why, and don't be afraid to use me as your guide if you're in the area!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Has great potential

1    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: jlandry117
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes themselves aren't too bad at all. A good mix of open areas and wooded along with some nice natural obstacles; i.e...lots of water and thick brush. Some of the holes are pretty challenging which is a nice change of pace from Ellison Park where i have played lately.
Cons: Poorly markered holes. I probably spent about 30 minutes of my time trying to figure out where the next hole was. I would say about half where not marked well. Although once you play thru the whole course i don't imagine it would be difficult to navigate on future visits.
Other Thoughts: Use cheaper discs on this hole as there is a chance you will lose one. Definately bring some bug spray! The first couple holes that are along a marshy area are bug infested. This course has some great potential if whoever is responsible for it works on marking the holes better. I would recommend for a more veteran player or someone prepared to chase down their frisbee.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and technical..not first timer friendly, but a good round for average players.

5+    8/26/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MCC has a lot of things going for it. Nice mix of open and wooded shots, some side hill action. Some water to keep you on your toes. A few really weird lines that feel as though they punish everybody equally...

There's the signature hole on 4 which is a 240' throw over water...with about 180' of that being a large pond.

The water is why I wouldn't recommend the course for first time players...but once they're at least familiar with throwing golf discs this has most of the elements that they'll want to be exposed to..putting uphill on holes 4 and 5 for the first time in your career can be really interesting.

But what about those of us that have been playing a while? What does it offer?

Well it has 18 discatcher, which in my book always starts things off right. Then there's a variety of shots, and a bunch of trouble to get into...some more forgiving than others. There are times when you'll ponder which line to take and times when you'll be rewarded for the wrong thing and times when you'll be punished for making the right choice.

The wind can become a factor and that makes a few of the less interesting holes much more interesting....

While this isn't my favorite course in the area...I really do enjoy it. It's not my favorite place to play alone because of the potential to shank a disc into cattails or woods.

Course is well mowed and rather clean.
Cons: Tees can be hard to find...yellow tees are missing in some places.

Some spots have ridiculous shule...the cattails on holes 1 and 18 are an example.

Other Thoughts: Most of the water is on your right on this course for RHBH players and LHFH players keep those Firebirds/Predators/Drones etc on hand... RHFH and LHBH players...good luck with that...but i'm sure you're used to it by now playing in this righty sport.

There are a few holes where putts can roll like crazy so if you keep a floppy putter around for those situations I might bring it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great variety

5+    5/1/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great layout here. the variety is the best aspect of this course. there are woods, open holes, water hazards. course flows really well but you will need a map the first time.
front 9 is mostly open. and returns fairly close to the entrance if you only have time for half a round. back 9 is mostly wooded.
1. over a creek to the basket just in front of a line of trees.
2. into the woods. straight, narrow fairway to a opening for the green.
3. very narrow corridor that gently turns right. basket to right of path.
4. throwing over the pond. not to far though. basket on a steep grade.
5. throwing across the same steep grade. water on the right. grade slopes down to the water. careful, discs tend to roll down the hill.
6. open fairway then trees surrounding the area 100 ft in front of and around the basket
7. big open fairway. basket in corner of park to the right.
8. make it through a tight corridor. obstacles along the way.
9. big open fairway till you hit some trees halfway down: thick trees on the left - opening - couple trees - another opening - tree line on right. need distance and accuracy to get past the trees. basket nestled in a half circle of trees.
10. into the woods. tight corridor then a 90 degree dogleg right.
11. a little more open. basket guarded by trees.
12. trees everywhere, find a line. they are there.
13. back out into the open. water far to the right. trees and rocks line the fairway. basket up against tree line.
14. water immediately on the right. fairway slopes down toward the water. basket is in the trees up to the left.
15. back in the woods. tight window off the tee.
16. long, narrow corridor. brutal trying to stay on the fairway with any kind of distance.
17. back into the open. water on right but blocked by trees in some places. basket behind trees up ahead next to the pond.
18. back out to the entrance. throwing over same creek as 1. basket nestled into the treeline on the right.
Cons: gets really muddy after the big thaw. extensive standing water on all the wooded holes, especially on 3.

no concrete tees. some of the tees get pretty muddy too. no signs either. bring a map or a local.
Other Thoughts: while it doesn't have the amenities of a top caliber course, it's a lot of fun to play.

first timers might have a hard time navigating. not obvious where to go after 1, 3, 5, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 17. tees may be difficult to find on the wooded holes.

easy to find the course. it's right off the highway (390). tons of parking since it's a school. put a sign on your dashboard that says disc golf so they know that's why your car doesn't have a parking permit for the school.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

5+    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Tmart
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: The course can be played in under 90 minutes. The course has gorgeous vegetation and is very very well groomed. This course is the only one I know of in the area with an actual pond as a water hazard.

I rarely see more than 3groups playing at a time on the entire course.
Cons: The course is short( can be a pro or con ). Some people don't like the water hazard because many discs get lost in it.

The par on this course is completely out of whack. The first time I played it I got 17 under par!! I normally play a +1 to +3 on Chili and Ellison.

  Very decent course

2-4    4/8/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: Roc Hester
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open/wooded holes. Some really tricky shots required on a lot of holes, including many near water. The front nine ends sort of near the parking lot if a pit stop is needed.
Cons: Tee's are not marked very well. It's a good idea to have a map with you if you aren't super familiar with the course. Many of the pars I feel to be too generous. Can be very, very, VERY muddy. Especially on the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is worth playing, however I would choose several in the area over it. The large pond is a hungry eater of discs. A round of 6 guys, we lost 5 discs, in one day! Also, the pars do seem very generous, until you start hitting trees on every shot. You must play most of this course with a great deal of concentration and finesse.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Add this to your mix

2-4    4/1/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Nerdboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: Located right off a major highway (I-390), I like how accessible this course is. This carries through to how it plays as well. Wooded/open, Danger_of_losing_disc/no_danger, accuracy_needed/rip_it. So I'm glad for me, nice experience.
Cons: What holds this course back from being a 4 or 5 to me? I guess it lacks a really, really long hole. Sloppy drainage, no concrete tees, most tee signs missing, a flow thing at #1, benches and trash cans-none, . But for the most part, considering the amount of traffic this place gets, it is pretty well maintained.
Other Thoughts: I hope this doesn't come out too negative, because I like this course a lot year round.

 One of my favorites

5+    10/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: turkey33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Has a great variety of types of shots leaning on the technical side. Very few just rip it tees which is good for less advanced players. Nice mix of open but mostly wooded holes.
Cons: More lost discs on this course than any I know of due to the ponds that come into play. They are steep hills leading into the water so sometimes even great shots have that little roll at the end when you might sadly watch your favorite disc slowly roll down the bank and be gone forever.
This can also be a very wet course from winter thaw to early summer depending on the rains. Lots of mud and standing water.
Other Thoughts: A fairly new course that will only get better. They've already installed a great bridge over the water around #1 and have a done a good job clearing out a lot of poison ivy that was evident when it first opened. Worth the stop when you're in Rochester.

 Another Rochester winner.

5+    9/26/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice 18 hole course with trees, nice use of water hazards, slight elevation changes, and long open areas. Open year round. Multiple tee pads if you know where they are.
Cons: Some times the trails are under 2 inches of mud and water. Some tee pads are difficult to find or missing. The tee areas were so muddy it was imposible to throw from them (on numerous occasions).
There are no tee pads, this would be the biggest improvement on the course if anyone at MCC rec is reading this!

If you hate water, there is possibility of disc loss on 3 holes. If the disc goes in the water you CAN NOT go in after it, Campus Security says it is a protected wetland. If you go to the course in the winter don't be suprised to see a few holes removed. Idiots keep trying to crawl out on the ice to get their favorite DX disc.
Other Thoughts: To get to the course you need to turn into the parking lot at the first entrance after getting off 390. Go as far left as possible and take a long road that seems like it is leading you away from the school. Eventually you will see a break in the trees on your left and Basket 1 past a small wooden bridge. Drive past the course and park in the lot on the right side and walk back to the course.
Score cards are usually available at the keosk. Course signage and clear tee pads (even rubber) are needed for this course before 2010 worlds.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.