Layout Extinct

Henrietta, NY 
Monroe Community College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 145ft.   4 / 187ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Pro Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 great mix of open and wooded holes

5+    9/2/2011   9/3/2011
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great mix of open and wooded holes.
- best use of water in Rochester area.
- can be played quickly if you are in a hurry. My brother and I played the course in less than an hour and ahalf
- good variety of holes: some holes go to the left, some go to the right, some go straight and some you have to keep low so you dont hit overhanging trees. The course is never boring.
- the flow of the course is good. There is only one real break in the course between 9 and 10 when it transitions from open to wooded and the gao is not nearly as big as I have seen at some courses.
Cons: - The major con is no signs or tee pads. If it is your first time make sure you bring a map.
- The tees are designated by colored stones (black for professional/amateur tees and gold for recreational tees) which can be hard to find
- Some might think that there are not enough fairways that you can really open up on.
- The designated pars for the course are ridiculously high. (Although I have to admit I kind of like it sometimes)
- The course is very wet in the spring and flooded on many holes.
Other Thoughts: Despite not having the signs and tee pads, the course is still quite fun to play. All the water holes have a relatively easy way out if you do not want to risk a disk. However if you are willing to take the risc you can get some nice pars or even birdies. Howver if you do lose a disc you risk getting in trouble by MCC if you get caught swimming for it so beware. Personally I think this course has the best mix of open and wooded holes in the Rochester area. Many might disagree with me but most people agree MCC is second only to Parma in this area. Concerning the high pars, you can always use the pars for the shorter tees which seem more appropriate, its just harder to enter your scores on dgreview.com. Overall MCC is a quick and fun course to play and hopefully the college will put in tee pads and signs soon.


I played this course again today and decided to change my rating from 3 to 2.5. For a newcomer this course would be very hard to follow because there are hardly any signs directing you where to go. The tees are very hard to find. There are no signs or tee pads indicating where they are. Furthermore the black rocks that signify where the tees should be are to find and thats if they exist. Often times I find a dirt patch and tee from there. I think this is pretty unforgivable and necessary to get a good rating. However for someone who knows the course it is a quickie and is pretty fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun with water

5+    8/5/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: description: a nice 18 hole course with water, woods, and a few open holes. not a beginner course due to the water. picturesque in certain spots, like when walking along the pond on hole 4

variety: good. shots over/near the water are fun, which i would recommend using a floater for even though there not terribly long...it's the rolling disc that usually ends up in the water here in our groups. also, you'll find you need some good anhyzer or sidearm shots on several of the shorter wooded holes. maybe one hole where a friend has decided to throw a thumber. several holes are definitely mid range or putter drives. hole 7 is the longest and most open hole on the course at 411 feet.

basket locations: best are by the water. hole 4 is set on the side of a small sloping hill, reached by throwing 250 feet or so over a corner of the pond. hole 5 is also fun, a hyzer shot down along the pond with the basket up the hill by a willow. hole 12 gives you the option of throwing a hyzer out over the water to avoid a column of trees and boulders to reach the basket, or you could go sidearm. hole 13 is only reached by a hyzer, a shot thrown alongside the water's edge with the basket tucked in the edge of the woods 300 feet away.

difficulty: moderate. most holes are on the short side and the water holes aren't long or a big deal if you've got a floater. but again, i would not bring a beginner here because the water would probably be frustrating/intimidating.

Cons: tees and signs: pretty bad. small black or yellow squares make tees that are sometimes hard to see. signs are simply numbers placed by trees/tees. no pictures or distances given and the scorecard box at the kiosk is usually empty.

pars: very high. never seen pars so high for such short holes.

wooded holes: some are okay and others are pretty bland. i'm sure this will change once the course is eventually re-designed, which i believe will be quite soon

wetness: this course is extremely wet in certain spots in the spring. i usually look to play it in june or later and there's no problem with wetness at all by then.

bugs: this year we've experienced a drought, but i seem to remember that hole 3 with the swampy area on the left being very buggy in the past

Other Thoughts: i really enjoy this course and considerate it very fun. i've read that with the redesign, improvements will also include actual tees and signs and avoid wet areas.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Variation Rocks!

5+    7/8/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: illuminatefreak
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Ridiculous variation!!! You never feel like you're playing the same hole. Even the wooded ones each have their own flavor and flare.
- Fair yet challenging fairways on the wooded holes.
- Very high risk/reward factor on water holes
- Score cards & map available on hole #1
- Works on a variety of your shots & is a great place to try out different discs to see what works best for each hole.
- Fun factor for this course makes it very memorable.
Cons: - Very little signage. Tees are worn out dirt patches with black (long) & yellow (short) squares imbedded in the ground. They're covered in grass/dirt in many places and non-existent on most wooded holes. Markings on trees or little orange flags (which you'd never see unless you were looking for them) are used to designate tees in woods. There are arrows usually pointing to next tee from each basket, but that's about it. Definitely print the course map (or grab one on hole #1) for navigation.
- No tee signs with hole info. It's a commodity to some, but it helps in determining power behind a drive, etc.
- Dirt tee boxes. Concrete or flypads would REALLY help this course. Especially in the woods during the wet season.
- During the wet season (late fall, early spring) this course can basically be flooded. I actually loved it, but it could be pretty annoying if you're not prepared for it.
Other Thoughts: This is my second most played home course. It's VERY fun and has a fantastic risk/reward factor. The water holes are intimidating but very reasonable even for a novice (which I am). There are tight fairway wooded holes, a couple nice open "grip-it-and-rip-it" holes, and some pretty sweet pin placements.

There's only one hole you actually drive over water, but it's VERY doable yet still intimidating. The other water holes you're driving parallel to them (water is always on the right so hyzer shots will be your best friend on those) and have a really neat feel to them.

The wooded holes are fair and take a good amount of forethought before launching, but can be highly rewarding as well as frustrating if you just can't hit a good line.

The course layout, hole variation, and just flat out fun factor is a 5 here. With the lack of signage, concrete pads, and better on course navigation, I had to go with a 4.5.

CAUTION: Careful on holes 6 & 7 as a highway off to the right is reachable on a runaway anhyzer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let friends borrow your discs!

5+    1/2/2011   1/6/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I put off playing this course after repeatedly hearing about it's ability to eat plastic. I was kind of sad that I did, as the very real threat of losing discs really ups the ante. It's kind of nerve racking on a few holes, but rewarding. Not particularly hard to clear the water, but it's really only a matter of time...

The course is well maintained, but some of the natural tee-pads are getting tricky.

There are a couple of holes that could be labeled the signature hole, and there's a good variety of wooded and open shots.

Some people mentioned the highway, but you're only next to it for two holes, one of which throws around the MCC sign, which is kinda cool... Especially with the traffic, methinks.

Plenty of parking, as well as easy to find. It's pretty easy to play a quick round here on any given day, and you're guaranteed to find a few holes you'll really enjoy.
Cons: The water.

As much as I like the risk, I hate losing discs more. One throw over the pond is just a griplock away from kissing your disc goodbye, and even if you hit the dry stuff, it's steeply banked, A roller into the water will likely be lost, as you're not allowed to wade in. Even then, the water drops off steeply. I had one roll harmlessly towards the frozen bank, hit the ice, slide through the gap to the shore, and disappear.

Bring a retriever.

In addition to the pond, there's a reedy creek that swallows plastic on 1.

I know I'm contradicting. "I like the water, I don't like the water", but you know how that goes!

Tee pads are fairly worn, and there's no facilities at all, so bring some napkins, ladies.

I would also recommend a guide or a good map, as finding the tees can be tricky.
Other Thoughts: There's some fairly strong pros and cons to this course, but all things considered I'm glad I finally started playing it. I don't like to review unless I've played a course a few times, and in 5 rounds I've lost 1 very nicely broken in Valk (sigh). Not bad, I guess.

Worth playing. It's far from the best in the area, but far from the worst.... Just don't let your newbie buddy throw your nice discs!

Like/don't like this review? Please PM me and tell me why, and don't be afraid to use me as your guide if you're in the area!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Has great potential

1    5/28/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: jlandry117
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes themselves aren't too bad at all. A good mix of open areas and wooded along with some nice natural obstacles; i.e...lots of water and thick brush. Some of the holes are pretty challenging which is a nice change of pace from Ellison Park where i have played lately.
Cons: Poorly markered holes. I probably spent about 30 minutes of my time trying to figure out where the next hole was. I would say about half where not marked well. Although once you play thru the whole course i don't imagine it would be difficult to navigate on future visits.
Other Thoughts: Use cheaper discs on this hole as there is a chance you will lose one. Definately bring some bug spray! The first couple holes that are along a marshy area are bug infested. This course has some great potential if whoever is responsible for it works on marking the holes better. I would recommend for a more veteran player or someone prepared to chase down their frisbee.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/18/2008   4/18/2010
Review By: srichar6
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's very close to where I live. That's about it.
Cons: The holes are poorly marked, and the course is constantly wet and flooded. Also, the fact that the course is right next to 390 is irritating as well. I like to hear nature on a course, not highway traffic.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 College Course

5+    10/13/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of shots and a good number of them play along/cross water. The course was designed for new college players so it isn't to difficult.
Cons: Pretty wet in the spring.
Other Thoughts: A large number of holes will be redesigned in 2010 to avoid some of the very wet areas.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fun walk though the woods

1    8/28/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: MercfromBuffalo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great use of the terrain and the woods. This course offers a great variety of shots and obstacles to navigate. About half the holes are through the woods and the remaining holes offer some great holes.
Cons: Better tee signs with distances and better signage to next tee.
Other Thoughts: This course was fun to play and had just enough difficulty to make it fun but not impossible.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and technical..not first timer friendly, but a good round for average players.

5+    8/26/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MCC has a lot of things going for it. Nice mix of open and wooded shots, some side hill action. Some water to keep you on your toes. A few really weird lines that feel as though they punish everybody equally...

There's the signature hole on 4 which is a 240' throw over water...with about 180' of that being a large pond.

The water is why I wouldn't recommend the course for first time players...but once they're at least familiar with throwing golf discs this has most of the elements that they'll want to be exposed to..putting uphill on holes 4 and 5 for the first time in your career can be really interesting.

But what about those of us that have been playing a while? What does it offer?

Well it has 18 discatcher, which in my book always starts things off right. Then there's a variety of shots, and a bunch of trouble to get into...some more forgiving than others. There are times when you'll ponder which line to take and times when you'll be rewarded for the wrong thing and times when you'll be punished for making the right choice.

The wind can become a factor and that makes a few of the less interesting holes much more interesting....

While this isn't my favorite course in the area...I really do enjoy it. It's not my favorite place to play alone because of the potential to shank a disc into cattails or woods.

Course is well mowed and rather clean.
Cons: Tees can be hard to find...yellow tees are missing in some places.

Some spots have ridiculous shule...the cattails on holes 1 and 18 are an example.

Other Thoughts: Most of the water is on your right on this course for RHBH players and LHFH players keep those Firebirds/Predators/Drones etc on hand... RHFH and LHBH players...good luck with that...but i'm sure you're used to it by now playing in this righty sport.

There are a few holes where putts can roll like crazy so if you keep a floppy putter around for those situations I might bring it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great variety

5+    5/1/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great layout here. the variety is the best aspect of this course. there are woods, open holes, water hazards. course flows really well but you will need a map the first time.
front 9 is mostly open. and returns fairly close to the entrance if you only have time for half a round. back 9 is mostly wooded.
1. over a creek to the basket just in front of a line of trees.
2. into the woods. straight, narrow fairway to a opening for the green.
3. very narrow corridor that gently turns right. basket to right of path.
4. throwing over the pond. not to far though. basket on a steep grade.
5. throwing across the same steep grade. water on the right. grade slopes down to the water. careful, discs tend to roll down the hill.
6. open fairway then trees surrounding the area 100 ft in front of and around the basket
7. big open fairway. basket in corner of park to the right.
8. make it through a tight corridor. obstacles along the way.
9. big open fairway till you hit some trees halfway down: thick trees on the left - opening - couple trees - another opening - tree line on right. need distance and accuracy to get past the trees. basket nestled in a half circle of trees.
10. into the woods. tight corridor then a 90 degree dogleg right.
11. a little more open. basket guarded by trees.
12. trees everywhere, find a line. they are there.
13. back out into the open. water far to the right. trees and rocks line the fairway. basket up against tree line.
14. water immediately on the right. fairway slopes down toward the water. basket is in the trees up to the left.
15. back in the woods. tight window off the tee.
16. long, narrow corridor. brutal trying to stay on the fairway with any kind of distance.
17. back into the open. water on right but blocked by trees in some places. basket behind trees up ahead next to the pond.
18. back out to the entrance. throwing over same creek as 1. basket nestled into the treeline on the right.
Cons: gets really muddy after the big thaw. extensive standing water on all the wooded holes, especially on 3.

no concrete tees. some of the tees get pretty muddy too. no signs either. bring a map or a local.
Other Thoughts: while it doesn't have the amenities of a top caliber course, it's a lot of fun to play.

first timers might have a hard time navigating. not obvious where to go after 1, 3, 5, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, 17. tees may be difficult to find on the wooded holes.

easy to find the course. it's right off the highway (390). tons of parking since it's a school. put a sign on your dashboard that says disc golf so they know that's why your car doesn't have a parking permit for the school.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.