Layout Extinct

Henrietta, NY 
Monroe Community College DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 240ft.   4 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Pro Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Up and down

5+    3/19/2008   7/19/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get to right off I-390. Little bit of everything. Water, woods, and open holes. Mainly all pretty short holes in the woods, and the longer open holes surround the big pond.

Nice layout, basically two nine hole loops.
Cons: First hole a bit far from the parking area. Very wet and muddy course. Swamp to the left on hole 3 is no fun. Steep hillside makes up most of the bank around the pond so if you land on edge even on a decent shot there is a chance you may roll into the pond. Pond is deep and murky so bye bye disc.
Other Thoughts: This can be a very fun course or it can make you want to quit because you just keep losing discs. I would have rated higher if better signs/tees were in place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 this ones fun

5+    6/23/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DanDwyer
Played: 40  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: another one open all year, real nice course design, about half open and half woods with a real nice water hole
Cons: real muddy, and theres alot of bugs bc of the mud and the parking lot position is rough
Other Thoughts: i wonder how many discs are on the bottom of that pond?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite courses

5+    6/1/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: ScottMunFrigginro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course isn't to far from home, which is a plus for me. Course has very high pars for the distance which is great for those days when you NEED a little encouraging. Very good use of ponds, and the hiking trails
Cons: I suppose the fact that the course has high pars is also a bit of a con. The pars are unrealistic. You may be nuding up to go for a swim in the smelly pondwater even after what looks like a great shot due to the heavy angle at the edge of the ponds.
Other Thoughts: Good course, one of the courses i would gladly hit on a weekly basis if possible.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

5+    6/17/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: Tmart
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: The course can be played in under 90 minutes. The course has gorgeous vegetation and is very very well groomed. This course is the only one I know of in the area with an actual pond as a water hazard.

I rarely see more than 3groups playing at a time on the entire course.
Cons: The course is short( can be a pro or con ). Some people don't like the water hazard because many discs get lost in it.

The par on this course is completely out of whack. The first time I played it I got 17 under par!! I normally play a +1 to +3 on Chili and Ellison.

 i was suprised

5+    6/3/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This coure has a lot of holes that bank the opposite way of right handed players. This is nice becuse it gives a person a chance to work on forearm and overhand shots.. There are holes both in and out of the woods wich makes for a nice layout and the course is not extreemly long if your on a time limit the average player can play it in about an hour and a half
Cons: On hole 4 you are shooting over the pond and it is quite easy to loose your disc in the pond thirteen and seventeen are also by the water too but aslong as you are mindful of your sourounding then it sould not pose as too difficult threat

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very decent course

2-4    4/8/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: Roc Hester
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open/wooded holes. Some really tricky shots required on a lot of holes, including many near water. The front nine ends sort of near the parking lot if a pit stop is needed.
Cons: Tee's are not marked very well. It's a good idea to have a map with you if you aren't super familiar with the course. Many of the pars I feel to be too generous. Can be very, very, VERY muddy. Especially on the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is worth playing, however I would choose several in the area over it. The large pond is a hungry eater of discs. A round of 6 guys, we lost 5 discs, in one day! Also, the pars do seem very generous, until you start hitting trees on every shot. You must play most of this course with a great deal of concentration and finesse.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Add this to your mix

2-4    4/1/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: Nerdboy
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: Located right off a major highway (I-390), I like how accessible this course is. This carries through to how it plays as well. Wooded/open, Danger_of_losing_disc/no_danger, accuracy_needed/rip_it. So I'm glad for me, nice experience.
Cons: What holds this course back from being a 4 or 5 to me? I guess it lacks a really, really long hole. Sloppy drainage, no concrete tees, most tee signs missing, a flow thing at #1, benches and trash cans-none, . But for the most part, considering the amount of traffic this place gets, it is pretty well maintained.
Other Thoughts: I hope this doesn't come out too negative, because I like this course a lot year round.

 One of my favorites

5+    10/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: turkey33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Has a great variety of types of shots leaning on the technical side. Very few just rip it tees which is good for less advanced players. Nice mix of open but mostly wooded holes.
Cons: More lost discs on this course than any I know of due to the ponds that come into play. They are steep hills leading into the water so sometimes even great shots have that little roll at the end when you might sadly watch your favorite disc slowly roll down the bank and be gone forever.
This can also be a very wet course from winter thaw to early summer depending on the rains. Lots of mud and standing water.
Other Thoughts: A fairly new course that will only get better. They've already installed a great bridge over the water around #1 and have a done a good job clearing out a lot of poison ivy that was evident when it first opened. Worth the stop when you're in Rochester.

 Fun course

1    10/14/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: MarkN
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with decent amount of variety including woods (predominantly), stream, pond, slight elevation, and one or two grip and rip holes. This is one of the more "playable" woods courses in Roch area with relatively open fairways and open understory (to be fair, I played in mid-Oct so veg nearly done for season anyhow). Very generous pars (black tees) can make you feel good (most holes should probably be par-1). Nice scorecard & plenty avail - a rarity!
Cons: The woods holes are forgiving but several are along existing paths and although no one was around when I played, it seems likely that you could be throwing right into a jogger/walker coming around the bend. Tees difficult to locate on some holes, especially during autumn's leaf fall. Small yellow signs with arrows are of moderate help as is the scorecard map.
Other Thoughts: First timers be patient locating tees.

Enjoy it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Course

1    6/20/2007   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome course layout. Great mix of what is required to do well on each hole. Good mix of wooded and open holes. Very unique course. Very fun course.
Cons: The water hazards can eat up discs quickly. The listing for par is completely out of whack. They should all be par 3's.
Other Thoughts: Not beginner or little kid friendly unless you are willing to skip the water hazard holes. The course has alot of unique challenges i haven't seen elsewhere. I like the danger in throwing your disc across a large pond towards a basket on the side of a hill leading back down towards the pond. WHAT A CRAZY HOLE!
One of my favorite courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center