Brandon, MS 
Ross Barnett Reservoir - The Rez DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 A Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Really fun play, try not to get wet!

1    2/11/2015   2/11/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 39  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a delightful course in a pretty darn nice park that plays around the reservoir. It's got tight 20ft wide tunnel shots, big open field bombs, shots over water, and one...that I have nicknamed the "fecalator" because it's sure to make you mess your pants.

A short anhuzer shot that ends with the basket at the end of a 8ft wide peninsula with water on both sides for 75ft and behind. Miss and it's probably gone.

The tee pads were pretty nice and well textured with pebbles in them. They were very long which I liked, I'm a big guy with a long Runup so I like the space. They were a touch narrow but not badly.

Baskets were good older DGA baskets, no unexpected spit outs.

The course has decent maintenance and the bathroom is centrally located and nice enough.

Plent of parking as well.

16 aka fecalator has to be the signature hole, but 18, 11 and 6 are all great too. Shot variety is just plain fun here.

A lot of kids playing here, tons of teens who were well mannered and friendly, I love playing around young players who are excited and enjoying the sport.

There are also benches on most holes and signage with the pin placement.
Cons: Not a ton of cons but there are a few thing ms holding it back.

Trash, just bring a Baggie when you play guys and it'll go away quickly.

The signage was okay, but partially inaccurate due tone being a little dated.

The newly reconfigured holes 15- 18 are natural right now, small con but no deal breaker.

Has some fences in play and goes very close to the road. Not a big deal but I don't like having the risk of hitting a car with an on target shot.
Other Thoughts: Overall I reallyed like it and would definitely play again, the shot variety alone is worth checking out and the reservoir is very pretty for the most part.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    6/25/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 5/11/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads
multiple pin locations
huge variety of shots
Cons: tough course for beginners
new layout causes navigation problems
Other Thoughts: This is the only course i have ever played in Jackson and I keep going back to it. It is an awesome course because every time I play, it is a little bit different. The new layout adds some difficulty and you could definitely get wet.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great tunnel shots

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: jordyheath
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained, epic tunnel shots, concrete tees, good mix of shots...
Cons: Signage at the box could be better, could be easier to navigate to the next box on a couple of holes, but great course overall.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Playing

1    8/16/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful park that winds through the woods. The course is set apart from most other activities, so other park users don't come into play except on only a few holes. There are many signature holes that you will remember, and it seems that the course was designed with great care. The course provides a great mix of open and narrow wooded shots, and even uses water nicely. Probably wouldn't be too difficult for new players, but experience definitely wouldn't hurt. There is also a good ratio of short to long holes. There were plenty of trash cans in the park, and there was good signage, benches and concrete tee pads at every hole. There were also multiple pin placements for every hole (3 for each, if I am remembering correctly). One of my favorite courses, and I wish I could play it all the time!
Cons: I could see this course being somewhat difficult to navigate, so follow a group or play with the locals (that's what we did). There is a chain link fence that comes into play on hole 5, 8, and 9 that was annoying. Played in the summer, so there were people in play on 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, if you follow a group or play with a local, navigation isn't a problem. They're very friendly. It is very apparent that the designers and everyone involved with creating this course really cared about it. Even the last two holes were no problem to shoot with the other park users in play. I also realize that nothing can be done about the chain link fence, but we didn't really like it. Overall, one of the best courses that I have played, and I recommend it to anyone in the area, whether you live in Jackson or are passing through.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem

2-4    12/10/2010   7/22/2011
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. It winds throught the woods around a beautiful resevoir. I was only in MS for a few days and this was the only course near my hotel. I went there 3 times and even participated in the random doubles. this is not an easy course but has its birdie opportunities.
Cons: It is a little tough to navigate so either get a map(i did not) or find a local(I did) to play with your first time. this course gets plenty of play because im pretty sure its the best in the area.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great experience. fairly well groomed. fair pin placement and challenging lines. only thing is I wish the water was used more. only a few holes bring it into play.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Incomprehensible Dancing Gerbils in the Morning

1    3/9/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1188  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.8 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very nice DG experience in a large park that is mostly wooded with open areas, flat, with in a lake in play.

Amenities. Large park with a variety of activities. The DG area has ample parking and bathrooms accessible.

Variety. Decent variety of lengths from 150-400 with many different looks at technical lines and several open longer holes thrown in there. Direct ace runs are few, though most baskets are reachable in 1 if you can hit the line, birdies feel relatively rewarding.

Well maintained. The course looked very nice and well manicured, there wasn't much trash about as a trash can was provided at every hole.

Beginner friendly. This would be a great place to learn and work on technical lines, though if you're not sure about your drives you may want to skip a couple of the water holes.

Local Scene. The course was busy with locals though not overly crowded, everyone I ran into was friendly and helpful. Local leagues and tournaments seem prevalent.

Access. Within 10 miles of the freeway/city make it relatively accessible to travelers and locals.

Links. After 12 holes you pass near the vehicles if you only have time for a short round or need to pick up something from the car.

Scenery. Very nice wooded park through the pine trees.

Tees. Mostly level concrete tee pads were in relatively good condition, though some were cracked and slightly uneven. Most of them were pretty dirty and could use a good sweeping.

Scorecards/Map. A mailbox was provided with scorecards, and a map was posted on the sign - I'd suggest taking a picture of it.
Cons: Navigation. I just mentioned taking a picture of the map, it will be helpful, even with the map I struggled on 5-7 finding my way. No tee or sign for hole 5.

Other users, pedestrians and fishermen come into play on several holes, beware of where you're throwing.
Other Thoughts: Very nice and well worth the stop if traveling through.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of Mississippi's Best

1    1/29/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything you read about this course is true. It's very technical will try every shot in your bag. The course layout is great.
Great signs and with the multiple pin locations-it plays like a different course each time.
High Risk-High Reward type of course!

Cons: Not a con if you have one but you had better have a strong flick shot or you're toast. A few holes have only 1 line and if you get off of it, taking a 3 will be a miracle.
Other Thoughts: Great course and worth the drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/27/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 444  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, with sloping fields in between a reservoir of water and a dense pine forest. Fishing and dog walking could possibly interfere, but otherwise it's DG only.
- Holes in the forested area provide a ton of different shots, with tight lanes in spots and large trees in others. Follows the usual pattern of tight/short and mature/longer to keep a constant level of difficulty, but some of the lines are very challenging. Tunnels are tight but fair, and longer holes need good accuracy and line shaping thanks to the trees. Good mix of left, straight, and right shots, some are extreme.
- The fields with scattered mature trees do a good job of keeping things tough. Distance is a major factor on a lot of holes, and there are usually well placed trees to take away lanes and force shot selection off the tee and on approach. Holes that border the forest also force some lines, including a long hyzer-only hole and a shorter anny route (RHBH). Two holes play into and out of the forest, and both have tight windows.
- Water is definitely in play on a few holes, in a big way. Three holes in particular; where you get water on the left, water behind the basket, and water on the right. The hole with water on the left has a clear RHBH anny route, or a tough hyzer route. The hole with water in the back is short and tantalzing, with little safe room behind the pin. The hole with water on the right is a good gut check for distance and accuracy. Awesome.
- Decent elevation changes here and there; there are a few holes with pretty respectable elevation changes, but mostly it's just sloping terrain. About 2/3 of the course falls into the sloping category, hole #8 is the most extreme.
- A few well protected baskets, some with trees of all sizes, and others with close proximity to the water. Accuracy is definitely needed close to the pins, or scores can balloon.
- Great signage where present, good tees, good baskets. Navigation is a little tricky in spots, the map in front is a big help the first time through.
Cons: - A few holes are by the park's road, including traffic. It does well to serve as OB on a few holes, but it can be distracting and an eyesore.
- While there is a fantastic variety of hole lengths (with plenty of bombers), this is a perfect example of short/tight and long/open. If any hole were to be a par 4 here, it would be due to length and pretty much length alone. A few exceptions might be #5 or #8, or maybe #18 thanks to the water.
- Terrain is pretty flat overall, there aren't any exciting shots due to elevation. It is great for making holes much harder (#8) or easier (#6), but it won't take your breath away by any means.
Other Thoughts: - This course has fantastic balance, in lots of ways. The three different sections of the park give a lot of different looks, and is set up well to keep switching between them. The different lines and shots that are present throughout each part are very good as well. Plenty of spots where the obvious hyzer, anhyzer, or dead straight shot is a necessity.
- Lots and lots of different pin positions must make this course a constant challenge as well. Big differences on many, many holes in terms of lines and difficulty. I would say that the difference is big enough where a casual player might find the long pins a little too difficult, and a seasoned player might find the short pins a bit too easy.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: jbsiv
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: All around this course has everything. There are many holes that are wide open and you can let a drive rip with no real consequences. Then there are many holes that take a little bit more finesse. Lots of trees that provide plenty of shade in the summer and help to make this course a real challenge.
Cons: In the summer there are many people swimming and having family outings that can make for a frustrating experience on the last few holes.
Other Thoughts: there are tee markers on every hole that provide a overview of the hole, this makes for a great tool for first time players. All in all this is a great course and I reccommend it for any skill level.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  fantastic course!

5+    8/18/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: ShawnSoter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course that is well taken care of. There are a good variety of hole types throughout the 18 holes, from wide-open fields to wooded fairways to water obstacles, which vary in distance so that it takes a well-rounded player to do well here (throwing for distance at times and pinpoint accuracy at others). And several of the holes have one or more alternate pin locations, so the course changes frequently, so it never gets boring. The baskets are in great condition and are marked for easy reference. Course layout is well designed and pretty easy to follow (at least after your initial outing). Concrete teeboxes at each hole and they are in excellent condition. Just a really fun course to play! Probably could've rated this course higher than a 4, but other than the courses at Paul B. Johnson and PRCC about 8 years ago, I haven't played enough courses to make that judgment call.
Cons: Couple of the holes have outdated or missing placards. There is a big course map near the parking lot though for easy reference.
Other Thoughts: This is a very busy course. I have played here at least 5 times in the past month (weekday evenings), and there are always at least 10 others playing the course and usually many more than that. Everyone I have come in contact with has been very respectful, allowing quicker moving players to play through and waiting for those ahead of them to finish prior to teeing off. And located along the reservoir at Pelahatchie Shore Park, this is a popular spot for boating, swimming, fishing, dog walking, etc. And I was nervous about playing earlier this week (August 20) because of all the rain, but the course really drains nicely.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.