Brandon, MS 
Ross Barnett Reservoir - The Rez DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 C Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

5+    4/21/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A number of holes have benched and/or trash cans
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Multiple Pins (3 on most holes)
-Open bombs, tight technical wooded shots, water and some possible aces
-The course is well marked and easily navigated (there is a map of the course on a bulletin board near Hole #1)
-Free to play
-Regular tournaments
Cons: -Tee signs need updating
-HEAVY traffic, players and park-goers (and dogs) *NOTE* Dogs, in general, are not cons. Dogs are cool.
-Parking can get tricky on the weekends
-The course is right next to the Ross Barnett Reservoir; which means, the wind is ALWAYS a factor.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing on this course since shortly after it opened and it's always fun and challenging. The layout, disc golf friendly atmosphere and variety of holes are what earn this course the highest rating in Central Mississippi. Personally I think there are a few courses that are more fun to play and/or more challenging, but if you want a fun well-rounded 18 holes of disc golf, you will NOT be disappointed!

***SIDE NOTE: They close the course often on the weekends for tournaments. Usually it's just half of one day, but it has been closed all weekend. I like to travel to new courses on the weekends, as I'm sure others do as well. I know would be quite irate if I had traveled 50-100 miles (or more) just to see a sign that reads "Disc golf course closed for PRIVATE tournament." So, be sure to check this site and the J.U.D.G.E.S. site before making a long trip.

**As of May 2013 if there is someone in the guard house there is a $2 entrance fee to the park unless your are intending to use the boat ramp.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course had everything you could ask for. Great variety of shots and scenery.
Cons: Almost impossible to navigate the first time you play. I spent a good bit of time lost but eventually found my way around.
Other Thoughts: Great course I would definitely play it more often if I didn't live so far away. Even though it is almost impossible to navigate, it is a good enough course that it makes up for it

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great tunnel shots

1    4/27/2012   4/27/2012
Review By: jordyheath
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well maintained, epic tunnel shots, concrete tees, good mix of shots...
Cons: Signage at the box could be better, could be easier to navigate to the next box on a couple of holes, but great course overall.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful and fun!

2-4    12/19/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: SirShanksAlot
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely beautiful and very well maintained. Very nice course design with alot of shot variants. I believe there are three pin placements for each hole. Good mix between open holes and tunnel shots. Very awesome shot on 18 where the tee pad is looking directly over part of the lake there. Will be back to play again!
Cons: I think the only problem with this course is that it's kind of confusing to navigate if you don't know where your going. After one round it's easy so this isn't really a big con.
Other Thoughts: A buddy of mine and myself drove 2 1/2 hours to play this course for one day. I will say that it was completely worth the trip. The amount of different shots there are with each hole is remarkable! Can't wait to go back!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Playing

1    8/16/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful park that winds through the woods. The course is set apart from most other activities, so other park users don't come into play except on only a few holes. There are many signature holes that you will remember, and it seems that the course was designed with great care. The course provides a great mix of open and narrow wooded shots, and even uses water nicely. Probably wouldn't be too difficult for new players, but experience definitely wouldn't hurt. There is also a good ratio of short to long holes. There were plenty of trash cans in the park, and there was good signage, benches and concrete tee pads at every hole. There were also multiple pin placements for every hole (3 for each, if I am remembering correctly). One of my favorite courses, and I wish I could play it all the time!
Cons: I could see this course being somewhat difficult to navigate, so follow a group or play with the locals (that's what we did). There is a chain link fence that comes into play on hole 5, 8, and 9 that was annoying. Played in the summer, so there were people in play on 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, if you follow a group or play with a local, navigation isn't a problem. They're very friendly. It is very apparent that the designers and everyone involved with creating this course really cared about it. Even the last two holes were no problem to shoot with the other park users in play. I also realize that nothing can be done about the chain link fence, but we didn't really like it. Overall, one of the best courses that I have played, and I recommend it to anyone in the area, whether you live in Jackson or are passing through.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem

2-4    12/10/2010   7/22/2011
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a great mix of open and wooded holes. It winds throught the woods around a beautiful resevoir. I was only in MS for a few days and this was the only course near my hotel. I went there 3 times and even participated in the random doubles. this is not an easy course but has its birdie opportunities.
Cons: It is a little tough to navigate so either get a map(i did not) or find a local(I did) to play with your first time. this course gets plenty of play because im pretty sure its the best in the area.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great experience. fairly well groomed. fair pin placement and challenging lines. only thing is I wish the water was used more. only a few holes bring it into play.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 What a Gem

1    4/23/2011   5/22/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've held off on writing this review because I do not know where to start or feel if I've have ability to truly express how much of a joy it was to play this course. Since playing almost a month ago I've tried to convince many of my friends to drive to Jackson and play The Rez with me. This course is just short of perfect and is well worth any distance you may consider reasonable to drive. I personally drove 3 hours to get there just to play for a day and am itching to make the trip again. Located in a nice little park in the suburbs of Jackson this course plays to many different skill sets and abilities.
The park offered lots of little amenities and had plenty of other traffic including a boat ramp for access to the reservoir. The course was well appointed with trash cans, benches, and tee signs at every hole. You get to hole 1 and it's off to the races.
The first hole plays along the main road of the park but then you quickly enter the woods for some nice alley shots and technical holes. Around hole 5 you come back out into some more "open" fields. Then back into the woods, then out again. It really is a wonderful mix of distance and technical ability, open and tight holes. It also took me awhile to notice but each tee sign had a bolt through it to tell you which pin position was in play. A few holes of note:

3 - Your first view of the alley that you'll see often through out the course. With the basket sitting tantilizingly close you find yourself trying to really push your shot but have to be ware because the woods are quick to eat a shot.

6 - The first big long hole in an open field it's got a nice down hill slope to it and is just fun to really bomb.

8 - A nice valley sits between this tee box and basket lets you put a drive out there and watch it fly. The only problem is after a nice beautiful drive you still have to play back to the right to get to the basket.

17 - This has to be the most beautiful hole on the course! Relatively short this hole provides a true risk/ reward with the basket sitting just feet from the edge of the water. Over shooting will be punished as the back just drops down about 2-3 feet into the water. Great view great shot, I could play this hole 20 times.

18 - The final hole is just awesome. A forced drive over the reservoir just watched the first step off the tee box it's a doozie. Although wide open the best lines require long carries over the water. Even a short line over the water still has some distance and can be treacherous. Although the water seems easy enough to get into and find a disc if needed.

I would also like to point out that I ended up talking to a couple of people who were locals to the course and I have to say that they were very friendly and were a pleasure to talk to.
Cons: The holes that played along the road seemed to me to be a bit dangerous and I ended up spending a bit of time waiting for traffic. I'm guessing they have not been a huge problem yet since they haven't been moved but from my side of things it seemed less than preferable as most lines would go right out over the road.

There was also a bit of a navigation issue that honestly could have been very easily fixed. I played hole 8 twice because we realized we skipped hole 7. This is because the 8th tee was the closest one to 6's basket. Also we played the wrong tee pad for 9 because we found a cement tee pad with a bench next to it and assumed it was 9, it must have been an old tee pad as it was in the middle of the woods, and the new position made much more sense. I've seen plenty of courses put some tape on the basket spoke that points to the next tee, a nice simple solution that would solve these issues. It is also important to note that the second time I play this course none of this will be an issue. As it is really simple problems only really attributed to me not knowing the course.

One other thing that kind of bothered me is with a trash can on every hole a couple of times I ended up picking trash up out of the woods. It very easily could have been from non golfers but it was upsetting with the amount of trash cans to see that.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and I think a few upgrades could make this an easy 5. Most of the problems were directly related to me playing this course for the first time and a local would not have these issues. I really enjoyed this course and if you are anywhere in the area this is a must play! Can't wait until my next trip up there.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Incomprehensible Dancing Gerbils in the Morning

1    3/9/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice DG experience in a large park that is mostly wooded with open areas, flat, with in a lake in play.

Amenities. Large park with a variety of activities. The DG area has ample parking and bathrooms accessible.

Variety. Decent variety of lengths from 150-400 with many different looks at technical lines and several open longer holes thrown in there. Direct ace runs are few, though most baskets are reachable in 1 if you can hit the line, birdies feel relatively rewarding.

Well maintained. The course looked very nice and well manicured, there wasn't much trash about as a trash can was provided at every hole.

Beginner friendly. This would be a great place to learn and work on technical lines, though if you're not sure about your drives you may want to skip a couple of the water holes.

Local Scene. The course was busy with locals though not overly crowded, everyone I ran into was friendly and helpful. Local leagues and tournaments seem prevalent.

Access. Within 10 miles of the freeway/city make it relatively accessible to travelers and locals.

Links. After 12 holes you pass near the vehicles if you only have time for a short round or need to pick up something from the car.

Scenery. Very nice wooded park through the pine trees.

Tees. Mostly level concrete tee pads were in relatively good condition, though some were cracked and slightly uneven. Most of them were pretty dirty and could use a good sweeping.

Scorecards/Map. A mailbox was provided with scorecards, and a map was posted on the sign - I'd suggest taking a picture of it.
Cons: Navigation. I just mentioned taking a picture of the map, it will be helpful, even with the map I struggled on 5-7 finding my way. No tee or sign for hole 5.

Other users, pedestrians and fishermen come into play on several holes, beware of where you're throwing.
Other Thoughts: Very nice and well worth the stop if traveling through.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety!

1    12/21/2010   2/17/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with different types and densities of foliage. There are some longer holes out in mostly open spaces with just a few trees to avoid that let you air out some longer shots. A couple of the more open holes bring the lake into play, especially on a windy day for some nice risk/reward decisions. There are some holes that play through mature trees with limited underbrush and multiple lines to the hole. These are complemented with some dense wooded holes with thick rough that will really punish an errant drive.

The open holes have some length, and many of the wooded holes are technical but short so there's a nice variety of hole lengths. The more wooded holes offer a good mix of hole shapes in general, so you'll need some different shots to be successful. The alternate pin placements changed up several of the holes enough that it would add some real variety to the course. The tees and baskets are in nice shape, and most of the signage is in good shape including the course map at the parking lot.
Cons: There are some navigation issues, make sure you take a look at the course map and maybe even take a picture of it. Hole 5 doesn't have a tee sign, so it's easy to skip a hole, and there are some other spots where you have to backtrack to find the correct tee. A method of indicating current pin position would be really helpful here, especially on a few blind holes. The road and parking lot are in play on some holes, which could be a safety issue. There were people walking dogs through the fairways in the woods, another potential safety issue especially on blind shots.

The park is very flat, I always enjoy a course a little more with at least a little bit of elevation change. The water is a great obstacle, it's too bad it couldn't be used a little more. The tighter holes are all pretty short, some length in the woods would add to the challenge and the variety, the wooded holes start to feel a little similar after a while because of the similar length. The pin set I played felt a little hyzer heavy, hopefully the course gets set up in more balanced ways sometimes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with some nice holes and a good mix of foliage densities. I had a good time playing here, and would definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area. It's difficult enough that beginners might be a little intimidated, especially with some dense rough in spots. Intermediate level players will find this a great test with birdies available but not too easy. Better players won't find it terribly challenging, but it's got enough interesting holes that they'll have a fun round.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of Mississippi's Best

1    1/29/2011   1/30/2011
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything you read about this course is true. It's very technical will try every shot in your bag. The course layout is great.
Great signs and with the multiple pin locations-it plays like a different course each time.
High Risk-High Reward type of course!

Cons: Not a con if you have one but you had better have a strong flick shot or you're toast. A few holes have only 1 line and if you get off of it, taking a 3 will be a miracle.
Other Thoughts: Great course and worth the drive.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.