Disc Golf Store
Brandon, MS 
Ross Barnett Reservoir - The Rez DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 338ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 B Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/27/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park, with sloping fields in between a reservoir of water and a dense pine forest. Fishing and dog walking could possibly interfere, but otherwise it's DG only.
- Holes in the forested area provide a ton of different shots, with tight lanes in spots and large trees in others. Follows the usual pattern of tight/short and mature/longer to keep a constant level of difficulty, but some of the lines are very challenging. Tunnels are tight but fair, and longer holes need good accuracy and line shaping thanks to the trees. Good mix of left, straight, and right shots, some are extreme.
- The fields with scattered mature trees do a good job of keeping things tough. Distance is a major factor on a lot of holes, and there are usually well placed trees to take away lanes and force shot selection off the tee and on approach. Holes that border the forest also force some lines, including a long hyzer-only hole and a shorter anny route (RHBH). Two holes play into and out of the forest, and both have tight windows.
- Water is definitely in play on a few holes, in a big way. Three holes in particular; where you get water on the left, water behind the basket, and water on the right. The hole with water on the left has a clear RHBH anny route, or a tough hyzer route. The hole with water in the back is short and tantalzing, with little safe room behind the pin. The hole with water on the right is a good gut check for distance and accuracy. Awesome.
- Decent elevation changes here and there; there are a few holes with pretty respectable elevation changes, but mostly it's just sloping terrain. About 2/3 of the course falls into the sloping category, hole #8 is the most extreme.
- A few well protected baskets, some with trees of all sizes, and others with close proximity to the water. Accuracy is definitely needed close to the pins, or scores can balloon.
- Great signage where present, good tees, good baskets. Navigation is a little tricky in spots, the map in front is a big help the first time through.
Cons: - A few holes are by the park's road, including traffic. It does well to serve as OB on a few holes, but it can be distracting and an eyesore.
- While there is a fantastic variety of hole lengths (with plenty of bombers), this is a perfect example of short/tight and long/open. If any hole were to be a par 4 here, it would be due to length and pretty much length alone. A few exceptions might be #5 or #8, or maybe #18 thanks to the water.
- Terrain is pretty flat overall, there aren't any exciting shots due to elevation. It is great for making holes much harder (#8) or easier (#6), but it won't take your breath away by any means.
Other Thoughts: - This course has fantastic balance, in lots of ways. The three different sections of the park give a lot of different looks, and is set up well to keep switching between them. The different lines and shots that are present throughout each part are very good as well. Plenty of spots where the obvious hyzer, anhyzer, or dead straight shot is a necessity.
- Lots and lots of different pin positions must make this course a constant challenge as well. Big differences on many, many holes in terms of lines and difficulty. I would say that the difference is big enough where a casual player might find the long pins a little too difficult, and a seasoned player might find the short pins a bit too easy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: jbsiv
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All around this course has everything. There are many holes that are wide open and you can let a drive rip with no real consequences. Then there are many holes that take a little bit more finesse. Lots of trees that provide plenty of shade in the summer and help to make this course a real challenge.
Cons: In the summer there are many people swimming and having family outings that can make for a frustrating experience on the last few holes.
Other Thoughts: there are tee markers on every hole that provide a overview of the hole, this makes for a great tool for first time players. All in all this is a great course and I reccommend it for any skill level.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  fantastic course!

5+    8/18/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: ShawnSoter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course that is well taken care of. There are a good variety of hole types throughout the 18 holes, from wide-open fields to wooded fairways to water obstacles, which vary in distance so that it takes a well-rounded player to do well here (throwing for distance at times and pinpoint accuracy at others). And several of the holes have one or more alternate pin locations, so the course changes frequently, so it never gets boring. The baskets are in great condition and are marked for easy reference. Course layout is well designed and pretty easy to follow (at least after your initial outing). Concrete teeboxes at each hole and they are in excellent condition. Just a really fun course to play! Probably could've rated this course higher than a 4, but other than the courses at Paul B. Johnson and PRCC about 8 years ago, I haven't played enough courses to make that judgment call.
Cons: Couple of the holes have outdated or missing placards. There is a big course map near the parking lot though for easy reference.
Other Thoughts: This is a very busy course. I have played here at least 5 times in the past month (weekday evenings), and there are always at least 10 others playing the course and usually many more than that. Everyone I have come in contact with has been very respectful, allowing quicker moving players to play through and waiting for those ahead of them to finish prior to teeing off. And located along the reservoir at Pelahatchie Shore Park, this is a popular spot for boating, swimming, fishing, dog walking, etc. And I was nervous about playing earlier this week (August 20) because of all the rain, but the course really drains nicely.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rez

5+    8/2/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: VivaLaSlovak
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The pictures do not even do this course justice. The course is a great mixture between monster distance and short technical holes. The tee boxes are solid and positioned well. I play the course about 5 times a week and they move the baskets around a good bit. Hands down my favorite course in the state.
Cons: hmmm... none.
Other Thoughts: Best course I've played on.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best Courses I've Played

1    7/8/2010   7/9/2010
Review By: otown pyle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wide Variety of holes from open to heavily wooded to throwing over fences, water, etc...
Cons: It's a pretty long course
Other Thoughts: You should come play this course. It's definitely worth it... Read my blog post here on the course...http://www.otownpyle.com/post...ent-and-hit-a

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best I've played!

5+    7/4/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful and very well maintained having multiple holes that make you say wow. Multiple pin positions. Trash cans and benches at almost every hole. Even holes that seem wide open have adequate shade. Great mix of long, short, wooded, open, hyzer, and anhyzer. You will have to use every shot in your bag. Distance and accuracy will be key and it will test your mental game.
Cons: Needs a few tee signs replaced to reflect new positions and a few that were stolen. Very crowded on the weekends during the summer.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course but I am in no way partial to it. I did not realize how spoiled I was until I really got into disc golf and started playing courses whenever I traveled. This course ranks right up there with any of them based on cleanliness and quality of play!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Jackson

5+    6/4/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: jrearle85
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This has quickly become on of my favorite courses not only in Jackson, but anywhere!

The signs are very informative and show each pin placement. There are only 2 or 3 missing signs making it a fairly easy to navigate course. All tee pads are concrete and perfect length.

There are benches and trashcans at several holes. Also the bathroom is conveniently located at hole 9 for that mid game pit stop.

There is a good mixture of wooded and open shots, though there isn 't a ton of elevation change. A few signature holes make this course challenging and fun.

There are 3 pin positions for each hole. I have played the course at nearly every pin position, which means that baskets are moved rather frequently making it almost a different course from week to week.

The locals are mostly great to play with. Met a few locals and ended up playing a few rounds of doubles with them. One also fished my disc out of the water on hole 18.
Cons: There were a few signs missing (holes 3, 4, and 10 i think). Also, I love that the pin placement changes frequently, but often there is no way of knowing what pin the basket is on without walking up the hole to see.

There is poison ivy everywhere. Luckily I'm not allergic, but others are so BE CAREFUL!
Other Thoughts: Great course on a beautiful lake! After hole 18, it seems to be tradition to jump right into the reservoir for a swim. Also, the wildlife is fun. Found a snapping turtle on hole 8 and an alligator lives in the lagoon on hole 11. Also, found a large copperhead on hole 17. Not the type of wildlife to pet, but still cool to see!

Favorite Hole: #18. They saved the best for last. When the pin is in the close position, you can risk an ace run by shooting over the water. Great hole!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Out of towner

1    12/22/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: Shodai
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful course... GREAT JOB JUDGES!!! Nicely laid out with multiple pin positions for a change in pace. Great for letting it rip on some holes, I actually got a chance to improve my throw because there were a couple of wide open opportunities that warrented dislocating your shoulder. Thought the water would be an issue but you have the ability to play it safe on those holes and keep your discs. Great signage except what I marked in the cons. Was in town for the holiday and I took my two brothers for their first time out and we throughly enjoyed the experience. May have got them started on the craze now. Im from SC and have played only a handful of courses in Charleston and the surrounding areas and even one in Rock Hill but The Rez has them beat in terms of all around playability and challenge for all levels of player. Loved the tree lines and fair wooded play. Not too easy but not impossible either.
Cons: Only con was not knowing which pin position I was playing. They were not marked on the signs the day I played. Had to walk up on them to find them and then walk back. Not sure if I missed something on the signs or not.
Other Thoughts: Will definately play this course again when I come back to visit.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I expected

1    8/4/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Course challenges disc placement and accuracy on most of the holes.

Pins have 3 placements. Would be very challenging playing them in the long positions.

Few of the open holes are bomb shots and helps if you have a cannon for an arm but are manageable if you can throw good consistent 300~' drives.

Benches on few holes and the bathroom is right off the course.
Cons: If you hear a bunch of tree knocks or clunks hitting the ground it's just the locals throwing while you are still playing the hole. It seems they have no etiquette. I got passed by a 6 some and I was playing by myself.

On a few holes it can get confusing if it is your first time playing on which way to go to the next hole. Next tee signs would be very helpful.

One of the holes, I think maybe #3 doesn't have a sign or marked pad and you throw over a fence. Took me a few to figure out where to throw from, they're multiple concreted areas in the ground that was already there. I just picked the one that looked like it would be the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: With this being Jackson, the biggest city in the state I would figure they would have a great course and I have heard nothing but good things about The Rez but overall I was dissappointed with it, but still a fun course.

Which leads me to my next statement. Is it worth playing? Yes, of course. I would recommend playing it if you are anywhere close.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    10/1/2005   7/15/2009
Review By: dwellman
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2010
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good length variety
Good overall length
Good shot variety
I had the course (and sometimes the entire park) to myself more than a few times.
Other Thoughts: Navigating the course for the first time (hole 1 to hole 2 and hole 11 to hole 12) can be tricky even after looking at the course map-- well, for me anyway. Luckly I was rescued by locals (before I became one myself) gearing up to play a quick round of doubles in the mid-day my very first visit.

I still think it's really in Flowood, not Brandon.

Some of you MS people are a bit uppity. Got no reason to be. Settle down.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.