Brandon, MS 
Ross Barnett Reservoir - The Rez DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 B Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Eye Opener!

2-4    10/3/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2008
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent tee boxes and diagrams leading to perfect baskets. Beautiful holes along the Ross Barnett Reservoir! Every type of shot, every type of disc is required to master this shot making it very challenging.
Cons: Not the best course for beginners if you don't know what you're getting yourself into. If you have only played wide open holes with minimal trees, this will be the eye opener to what a real course is like.
Other Thoughts: This was only the second course I played and found it amazing. Definitely brought me back to earth as to my real skill level instead of my lofty thoughts after playing my home course. The water holes were AWESOME...I played the open field holes by the water multiple times just for fun. Didn't lose any discs!!!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    5/11/2008   5/11/2008
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenges every type of your game. Long open shots, heavily wooded shots, and depending on the basket placement, elevation changes. Very well maintained. Basket locations change often. There are three pin locations on every hole except 17 which has 2. Great scenery, good community. Good tee pads.
Cons: During the summer months there are often people fishing or laying out along the fairway of number 18 who don't seem to understand that a disc in the side of their head would not feel very good. Also in the summer there is a decent amount of poison ivy just off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best course I have ever played on. Definitely worth playing if you are around the area.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Rez Rocks

1    11/16/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: manglin
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2008
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained course in a great setting by the Barnett Reservoir.

Challenging course with a tournament-quality layout that will test a variety of your shots. It has three pin location on each hole.
Cons: Some water comes into play on holes 11, 17, & 18. Could lose a disc if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: Have played only a few other courses and this one is by far the best. It's challenging and rewarding. It's well maintained and well marked.

The water is a con if you let it be. It's generally not an issue though. The holes are mostly wooded which makes it fun. The wide-open holes are pretty long and fun too.

I just played the Mississippi DG State Championship there, and I can say this is truly a tournament course. The three pins make it a great course. Round 3 had the pin locations at their longest making the course over 7400ft. It was a humbling round.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, beautiful course

6/30/2007   6/30/2007
Review By: jtfurr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course that has been steadily improved over the past couple of years. All of the tees are well-marked and there is a diagram of the hole at each one.

There is a good mix of terrain. There are many tight shots through the woods and several open holes. There are some significant elevation changes for this area. This course also makes good use of the water on several challenging holes.
Cons: Not very many...just the heat, be sure to bring water.
Other Thoughts: A great course with beautiful view of the Ross Barnett Reservoir.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Rez!!!

6/2/2007   6/26/2007
Review By: Amorybulldog
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of shots required to do well on this course. Some of the long holes are just ridiculously difficult! Beautiful view of the Rez!
Cons: Some of the long holes are just ridiculously difficult! :) Hole 18 is a disc eater!
Other Thoughts: I love this course and make sure to play it just about every time I am in Jackson.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.