Greensboro, NC 
Barber Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  

1    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: mr.n
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several wide open fairways. Nice elevation changes from tee box and approach shots. Wooded holes are fairly challenging.
Cons: Par 3 course. Poor markings and no tee pads. A couple of holes had trash and junk laying around. The first wooded hole requires You to cross a creek useing concrete blocks ( not a big problem but might be tough for some). The place holds water if it just rained plan on swamp like conditions.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners or a practice for a pro. Anyone with good distance wont have a real problem here. Still a nice park and this place has tons of potential.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Review by B

2-4    8/2/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Enjoyable to play. This course was nice and had a good combo of open and wooded shots and has some good up hill and down hill shots.
Cons: There is a steep hill on fairway 3. Basket 3 could be a little further into the field instead of within 20 feet of the drop-off. Be careful not to loose a disc over the hill.
The course is well used, but could have some better signage.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course to play and does have some fun interesting shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well, it is different

1    11/3/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 baskets place around some fields and woods in North Carolina. That alone makes it worth a stop.

Front 9 plays almost all wide open with no obstacles or issues. Just let 'em rip. It is vastly different than most Carolina courses so I consider it a positive. It is a good course to practice, learn or work on your game.
Cons: I counted 14 holes that basically required straight shots. That's kind of dull in my book. NO real creative holes here.

Natural tee pads. I would immediately put these in the Top 10 Worst tee pad list. In some areas people have started creating their own natural pad to avoid tripping over roots.

Navigation isn't good. No signs, and on the open holes you can usually see multiple baskets from the pad. A few times I wasn't sure where to throw. No signs on the wooded holes either. The walk between 14 and 15 is long. Luckily I had brotherdave guiding me, otherwise I would have wandered a little.
Other Thoughts: Almost no fun factor here. If you're trying to build up your courses played list it is worth a stop, otherwise head on down the road. Creekside was considerably better, and if you're looking for wide up holes, Cedarock isn't that far away.

For practice rounds, or desparation golf I'd use Barber Park, but for any serious DG outing it really isn't worth the time. Hopefully someday the opportunity will arise when they can do some work on the course and give it a little facelift. It has lots of room, and with new pads, and some basket re-positioning it could probably be vastly improved.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Good and Could Be Great

1    8/9/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: granger913
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good mix of open field shots with some wooded more technical shots. Covers the entire park, which lets you see the wonder Barber Park. Very good for beginning ams. Not a kiddie bring a putter course but not so hard that you spend your time searching for disc in woods and/or water instead of hearing the chains. Seriously a great course.
Cons: A tad easy even for me (I've only been playing for two months). No one hole is amazing, all similar. Holes in general just straight shots with only one or two exceptions. No tee pads. Very difficult to navigate. GET A MAP AT THE START. I still dont know how you are suppose to get to 9 I walked all the way to 12 or 13 and back down I think you have to walk over a huge pipe I don't even know.
Other Thoughts: Truthfully this is my favorite course I've played. Yes nothing stands out, but thats the thing I remember the course not a hole and in a way thats a very big positive. Put it like this I played this course on a trip back from Virginia to South Carolina (my home) and it was my third course and the only one I wanted to play all the way through in the 100 degree heat. I really had that much fun. Bottom line if you are close play it it would easily be a 4 or 4.5 if it had proper tee pads and signs to the next tees. A tad easy maybe for advanced players but just a good fun course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice place to take a walk and work on different parts of your game in a pretty little park. It has a mix of wide open and wooded holes.

The course maps provided on hole #1 are helpful (actually NEEDED) to find your way around and provide hole lengths.

Unique holes:
#4- the only hole out in the open that has some trees in the fairway that makes you shape your throw and has a hill sloping off to the right side.
#11- the most challenging of the wooded holes - heavily treed dogleg right. Tough to par if you smack a tree early.
Cons: The basic design is rather uninspired. The first half of the course plays out in the open and 7 of the 8 holes are WIDE open - not a tree to be found in the fairways. Some use elevation (actually #5 is fun as it places a pin below a small hill which can make your putt interesting), but they are mostly flat and at about the same distance of 336'-398'. If you don't throw over 300'- you will have a drive, a long birdie putt, then a tap in. This got really repetitive and dull. Five of the non-open wooded holes were dogleg rights, the others were straight. The only left turning hole on the course was badly flawed- hole #12 goes over the edge of a parking lot (a car was parked right in my flight path).

Tee pads are scuffed dirt with a little cement marker with a number. The map will help you find these because they are invisible from a distance.
Other Thoughts: If you are learning the game this would be a great place to get your feet wet, but it's not a place that would improve ones game. I'd you really want challenges I would recommend playing holes 9-17, as these are more fun and are in the shade!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average course with untapped potential

1    5/5/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Barber Park is an interesting course, if nothing else. There's nothing very great or memorable, but also nothing very bad. That said, it's very average, but I see some untapped potential to makes this a good course.
- A tale of two courses. First eight holes are all open, with the occasional tree in play. The last 10 holes are in the woods, with the exception of #14 (you tee off from the trees into an open field) & 18 (wide-open.)
- Very consistent course. Average hole length is just under 315 feet. No hole is longer than 400 feet, and only 1 hole under 200 feet - #16 at 195.
- The 10 open holes (1 - 8, 14 & 18) all allow you chance to unleash drives. Of those open holes, all except #18 (295 feet) are more than 300 feet.
- Wooded holes give a good variety from really tight (9, 11) to slightly wider fairways; from doglegs (both left and right) to really straight shots.
- Good course flow. Very good course map, which is detailed enough it includes walking trails. This is very helpful in the absence of tee signs.
- Nice looking park with lots of amenities - large rec building, walking trails, ball fields, courts, playground.
Cons: This may some contradictory, but having 18 relatively average holes is a con. On a hole-by-hole basis, there was not a single bad hole, but neither any truly great holes. If we rated individual holes, the majority would be 2, 2.5 & 3s. None stood out as a signature, must-play hole.
- Along those same lines, I kept having cases of deją vu throughout the course. If you throw 300-325, or less, the open holes are going to be frustrating. On the first 8 holes, it seemed I had about 30 - 50 feet to the basket - just outside birdie range, but also an easy up and down. Even the wooded holes seemed similar - #9 - 13 were doglegs, #15 - 17 were straight.
- The course had a feel of "the path of least resistance" by putting holes where little to no work was required. It didn't seem like many, if any, trees had been cut down. It's a shame because there was a ton of wooded area, and some great holes could be built with some work.
- Basic course amenities were severely lacking. No tee signs. Most holes had tiny rocks with the hole number, but unless you're within 5 feet, you won't see them. There were also several arrows pointing to the next hole. It's a great idea in theory, but not so much when you have a long walk, or have to walk around a corner where the next tee isn't even visible. Also, the transition from #8 to #9 is bad. You essentially have to walk through an opening in a fence, around a large pipe, over a small creek/waterbed to #9 tee. It looked very slick, and seemed like a lawsuit waiting to happen. Or you can be like me, not see it, and take a 5 minute walk around the fence and creek to get to the hole.
- No tee pads. This was my biggest issue. The dirt tee pad area often wasn't even level. On a lot of wooded holes, the tee area was in/over tree roots, which means you're not going to be able to do your full run up.
Other Thoughts: As said, this course had nothing majorly wrong with it, but that was the problem. Like any parent mad with a child, this course isn't reaching its full potential. Only one hole, #5, took advantage of the big hill on the front #9, when there was more room. Also, there was a huge hill to the left of #3, which could lead to an awesome hole or two, and more wooded areas throughout the back 9. Even if they eliminated several of the wide-open holes on the front 9 (say #2 , 3 & 6), and get to the wooded holes sooner. The course has so much untapped potential.
- Because of its layout, the average player isn't going to throw a low score, or see a lot of birdies, but also won't face many high scores. It was very fitting for this course that I had 18 straight pars, with a couple birdie chances, and only 1 scramble to save par. IMO, you need a lot more risk/reward holes to create more excitement. I'd rather have 9 birdies and 9 bogeys than 18 straight pars any day.
- All things said, Barber Park is an average to slightly above average course. After reading the other reviews, I had low expectations, but the course actually exceeded them. Don't expect to be wowed, but don't expect to be disappointed either. This is your Applebee's of courses. This is never going to be anybody's first choice to play, it isn't going to overwhelm anybody, but even with a lack of sexiness, you'll be satisfied.
- This is a solid 2.5. If the tee pad/tee sign issue were fixed, this would be closer to a 3. With such a good piece of land, if they ever got serious about this a good course, there's no reason it couldn't become a true must play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 okay course

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mhorlbogen
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice length, elavation changes, and both open and wooded holes
Cons: tee pads are hard to find and just dirt patches in grass, hard to find way around even with the map
Other Thoughts: with some work on tees could be very nice course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 LONG ARM COURSE

5+    3/26/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *course record david wiggles jr 12 down* i like this course but i can throw 450. couple of holes are rite at 400, most around 300 in the field part, 250 in the woods. no pads but that makes u focus more on your foot work.first 8 holes are in the field. then take a left after hole 8 over the creek. thats the only place to get lost. ir your in the area play this course but your not missing much if you dont.DOUBLES START BACK 3/31/2010 @5 PM/ 5 BUCKS/ CASH 4 PROS PLASTIC 4 AMS
Cons: slippery when wet
Other Thoughts: THEY JUST OPENED THE NEW PLAY GROUND AND WATER MINI PARK FOR THE KIDS ACROSS FROM HOLE ONE.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Barber tips

5+    10/20/2009   3/24/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*Design: There are a few nice holes. Hole 4 comes to mind-- with scattered foliage and especially tricky with the drop off down the hill on the right side. Hole 11 is a nice woods shot with a tight, challenging fairway and a challenging green.
*Elevation changes: On the front 9 there are some hills that provide good ups and downs, even though 7 holes are flat. (7 Flat/ 4 Up/ 7 Down)
*Amenities: There's a basic map on the scorecard, and there are usually scorecards at the first tee. There's also a good message board.
Cons:
-There are no tee signs and no real tee pads! The only thing marking the tees are just the tops of round white concrete cylinders almost flush to the ground, so the tees are very poorly marked and can be really hard to find. Since the tees are natural, you find them by hunting for the worn spots. Some tees are uneven. First timers had better take a map or they may never find the tees. As it is, even though I've played the course several times, I never found tees 15 & 17 because the area had been dug up.
-There are too many straight holes for my taste. The open straight holes are especially lackluster. 13 St/ 1 Left/ 4 Right
-I don't really like holes with buildings nearby because it takes away from the natural beauty, and Barber has several of these since the large park Rec center is in the middle of the course.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950). It's Blue level mainly because of it's length, albeit an easier Blue.

-There is decent terrain variety, but a few too many wide open grass holes for my taste. (6 Woods/ 5 Open/ 7 Mixed.)
-Length variety is below average with 16 holes are in the 200-399 ft range. (1 of 195/ 7 of 200-299/ 9 of 300-399/ 1 of 400). The front nine is much longer than the back (3105 ft. vs. 2555 ft). To expand on this a little more, the longer front has 7 holes of 330-375 ft. plus 1 of 400 ft., while the shorter back has 7 holes of 195-295 ft. plus 1 of 300.
-On hole 14 I don't feel totally safe. You drive over a field in the vicinity of some sketch housing, and sometimes there are shifty looking urban males wandering around. Also, kids have been known to run out and steal your disc here.

Over the years Barber has gone downhill. When the park added some facilities this took out a few holes, and they were replaced with holes that are too open and bland. The course is only a few minutes off of I-40, if you happen to be driving by, but I wouldn't recommend making a special trip to play here.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.
-More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 B-

2-4    3/9/2008   3/9/2010
Review By: zacharypower7
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes considering the location.Its on an old water treatment facility campus so it is rather open on most holes.elevation used effectively to offset a lack of trees on some holes and add a little difficulty
Cons: Most open holes can be played as just straight on shots though some holes use elevation to counter this disadvatage. a little hard to follow the course but not terrible.
Other Thoughts: Could be a nicer course with a little more work on design. set in a very nice park though.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.