Greensboro, NC 
Barber Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 No Arbor Barber

2-4    7/15/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a whole lot of open with a wee bit of trees in your way.. sometimes.

If you like open the first 8 are completely open with the exception of 4, it has a few trees saying excuse me. If you need a place to practice distance accuracy this is a good one.

A few holes do use the minimal elevation changes to make interesting basket/tee locations.

The back nine gives you a somewhat of a mixture between open and tree lined but wide fairways.

Atmosphere - It's a really nice park considering the other things in it. 15 & 17 are in a nice part of the park with a covered but open canopy.

Equipment - The baskets are in good shape. There's a map at #1, use it or wander the desert for 40 years.
Cons: Layout - There's no positive flow here; it gives you a ton of open at the beginning in the 330-400 range and it will bore you to death.

The wooded holes on the back aren't very well designed, most are left to right shots that aren't very difficult or just a straight shot down a huge fairway. Well there is one hole with a bunch of trees, to many trees. It just never gives you a feeling of fun, the design is uninspired.

There's basically no real elevation changes here, there is a bit of small hills and baskets near hills but mostly flatness.

You play near ball fields, a building, roads and a parking lot. I take that back, you play over a parking lot. I threw over a car and parked it, the disc not the car.

If you don't look at the map at #1 you're probably screwed. Even with the map it was a bit confusing. 15-16 walk is long.

Did I mention how boring 1-8 was? If you can't throw past 350' you're going to loathe the designer

Atmosphere - The open holes would look better if they weren't all in a big stretch and around an ugly building. You play around some fields that aren't very aesthetic...and the parking lot thing again.

On top of all that it's really wet here, this place holds water super bad. Some of the wooded holes feel really swampy and are not very pleasant on the eye.

Equipment - No legit signs, just little stones on the ground that are almost unreadable. No signs helping with navigation along the way, well there is a sticker for 9 that seems to let you know you need to go through a fence, over a sewer system contraption and in to the woods.

The natural tee pads are very natural. I naturally stepped to the side and used a better area not full of roots two or five times.

No benches or trashcans or any of that stuff that might make me think better of this place.
Other Thoughts: I really like #14. You throw out of the woods off a 15' cliff out in to the open where a basket sits semi guarded by two tall trees.. really fun shot.

The course is right off of I-40 and is a good one to catch while making a trip down the interstate. Other than I would never go here unless I lived down the road and wanted some driving practice; Or if you have kids it's a good place to drop them off with mom while you throw discs... but just play with your kids it'll be funner.

I wouldn't even recommend newer players to go here because the open holes have so much length.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 OK Barber

2-4    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: jlherrmann
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The front nine are wide open and most of the back nine are wooded. It makes for a real good beginner course. It's a course you could take a date to, and not have her be too frustrated. There are score cards with maps at hole #1.
Cons: No tee pads is my biggest complaint. It's also a big hard to find your way through the first time you play, just because of the poor markings. Be sure to take a score card with the map the first time you play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 in a nutshell

2-4    4/30/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: destroy ya
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course deserves a 3.5 overall rating because it demands distance, accuracy, thought and planning. Several open holes, and several precision shots as well.
Cons: Alot of people complain about the lack of tee pads at Barber,, I welcome the challenge,,, another reason this course is unique,,,,add's character!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: mr.n
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several wide open fairways. Nice elevation changes from tee box and approach shots. Wooded holes are fairly challenging.
Cons: Par 3 course. Poor markings and no tee pads. A couple of holes had trash and junk laying around. The first wooded hole requires You to cross a creek useing concrete blocks ( not a big problem but might be tough for some). The place holds water if it just rained plan on swamp like conditions.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners or a practice for a pro. Anyone with good distance wont have a real problem here. Still a nice park and this place has tons of potential.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Review by B

2-4    8/2/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Enjoyable to play. This course was nice and had a good combo of open and wooded shots and has some good up hill and down hill shots.
Cons: There is a steep hill on fairway 3. Basket 3 could be a little further into the field instead of within 20 feet of the drop-off. Be careful not to loose a disc over the hill.
The course is well used, but could have some better signage.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course to play and does have some fun interesting shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well, it is different

1    11/3/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 baskets place around some fields and woods in North Carolina. That alone makes it worth a stop.

Front 9 plays almost all wide open with no obstacles or issues. Just let 'em rip. It is vastly different than most Carolina courses so I consider it a positive. It is a good course to practice, learn or work on your game.
Cons: I counted 14 holes that basically required straight shots. That's kind of dull in my book. NO real creative holes here.

Natural tee pads. I would immediately put these in the Top 10 Worst tee pad list. In some areas people have started creating their own natural pad to avoid tripping over roots.

Navigation isn't good. No signs, and on the open holes you can usually see multiple baskets from the pad. A few times I wasn't sure where to throw. No signs on the wooded holes either. The walk between 14 and 15 is long. Luckily I had brotherdave guiding me, otherwise I would have wandered a little.
Other Thoughts: Almost no fun factor here. If you're trying to build up your courses played list it is worth a stop, otherwise head on down the road. Creekside was considerably better, and if you're looking for wide up holes, Cedarock isn't that far away.

For practice rounds, or desparation golf I'd use Barber Park, but for any serious DG outing it really isn't worth the time. Hopefully someday the opportunity will arise when they can do some work on the course and give it a little facelift. It has lots of room, and with new pads, and some basket re-positioning it could probably be vastly improved.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Good and Could Be Great

1    8/9/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: granger913
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good mix of open field shots with some wooded more technical shots. Covers the entire park, which lets you see the wonder Barber Park. Very good for beginning ams. Not a kiddie bring a putter course but not so hard that you spend your time searching for disc in woods and/or water instead of hearing the chains. Seriously a great course.
Cons: A tad easy even for me (I've only been playing for two months). No one hole is amazing, all similar. Holes in general just straight shots with only one or two exceptions. No tee pads. Very difficult to navigate. GET A MAP AT THE START. I still dont know how you are suppose to get to 9 I walked all the way to 12 or 13 and back down I think you have to walk over a huge pipe I don't even know.
Other Thoughts: Truthfully this is my favorite course I've played. Yes nothing stands out, but thats the thing I remember the course not a hole and in a way thats a very big positive. Put it like this I played this course on a trip back from Virginia to South Carolina (my home) and it was my third course and the only one I wanted to play all the way through in the 100 degree heat. I really had that much fun. Bottom line if you are close play it it would easily be a 4 or 4.5 if it had proper tee pads and signs to the next tees. A tad easy maybe for advanced players but just a good fun course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/1/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice place to take a walk and work on different parts of your game in a pretty little park. It has a mix of wide open and wooded holes.

The course maps provided on hole #1 are helpful (actually NEEDED) to find your way around and provide hole lengths.

Unique holes:
#4- the only hole out in the open that has some trees in the fairway that makes you shape your throw and has a hill sloping off to the right side.
#11- the most challenging of the wooded holes - heavily treed dogleg right. Tough to par if you smack a tree early.
Cons: The basic design is rather uninspired. The first half of the course plays out in the open and 7 of the 8 holes are WIDE open - not a tree to be found in the fairways. Some use elevation (actually #5 is fun as it places a pin below a small hill which can make your putt interesting), but they are mostly flat and at about the same distance of 336'-398'. If you don't throw over 300'- you will have a drive, a long birdie putt, then a tap in. This got really repetitive and dull. Five of the non-open wooded holes were dogleg rights, the others were straight. The only left turning hole on the course was badly flawed- hole #12 goes over the edge of a parking lot (a car was parked right in my flight path).

Tee pads are scuffed dirt with a little cement marker with a number. The map will help you find these because they are invisible from a distance.
Other Thoughts: If you are learning the game this would be a great place to get your feet wet, but it's not a place that would improve ones game. I'd you really want challenges I would recommend playing holes 9-17, as these are more fun and are in the shade!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average course with untapped potential

1    5/5/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 205  Reviewed: 200  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Barber Park is an interesting course, if nothing else. There's nothing very great or memorable, but also nothing very bad. That said, it's very average, but I see some untapped potential to makes this a good course.
- A tale of two courses. First eight holes are all open, with the occasional tree in play. The last 10 holes are in the woods, with the exception of #14 (you tee off from the trees into an open field) & 18 (wide-open.)
- Very consistent course. Average hole length is just under 315 feet. No hole is longer than 400 feet, and only 1 hole under 200 feet - #16 at 195.
- The 10 open holes (1 - 8, 14 & 18) all allow you chance to unleash drives. Of those open holes, all except #18 (295 feet) are more than 300 feet.
- Wooded holes give a good variety from really tight (9, 11) to slightly wider fairways; from doglegs (both left and right) to really straight shots.
- Good course flow. Very good course map, which is detailed enough it includes walking trails. This is very helpful in the absence of tee signs.
- Nice looking park with lots of amenities - large rec building, walking trails, ball fields, courts, playground.
Cons: This may some contradictory, but having 18 relatively average holes is a con. On a hole-by-hole basis, there was not a single bad hole, but neither any truly great holes. If we rated individual holes, the majority would be 2, 2.5 & 3s. None stood out as a signature, must-play hole.
- Along those same lines, I kept having cases of deją vu throughout the course. If you throw 300-325, or less, the open holes are going to be frustrating. On the first 8 holes, it seemed I had about 30 - 50 feet to the basket - just outside birdie range, but also an easy up and down. Even the wooded holes seemed similar - #9 - 13 were doglegs, #15 - 17 were straight.
- The course had a feel of "the path of least resistance" by putting holes where little to no work was required. It didn't seem like many, if any, trees had been cut down. It's a shame because there was a ton of wooded area, and some great holes could be built with some work.
- Basic course amenities were severely lacking. No tee signs. Most holes had tiny rocks with the hole number, but unless you're within 5 feet, you won't see them. There were also several arrows pointing to the next hole. It's a great idea in theory, but not so much when you have a long walk, or have to walk around a corner where the next tee isn't even visible. Also, the transition from #8 to #9 is bad. You essentially have to walk through an opening in a fence, around a large pipe, over a small creek/waterbed to #9 tee. It looked very slick, and seemed like a lawsuit waiting to happen. Or you can be like me, not see it, and take a 5 minute walk around the fence and creek to get to the hole.
- No tee pads. This was my biggest issue. The dirt tee pad area often wasn't even level. On a lot of wooded holes, the tee area was in/over tree roots, which means you're not going to be able to do your full run up.
Other Thoughts: As said, this course had nothing majorly wrong with it, but that was the problem. Like any parent mad with a child, this course isn't reaching its full potential. Only one hole, #5, took advantage of the big hill on the front #9, when there was more room. Also, there was a huge hill to the left of #3, which could lead to an awesome hole or two, and more wooded areas throughout the back 9. Even if they eliminated several of the wide-open holes on the front 9 (say #2 , 3 & 6), and get to the wooded holes sooner. The course has so much untapped potential.
- Because of its layout, the average player isn't going to throw a low score, or see a lot of birdies, but also won't face many high scores. It was very fitting for this course that I had 18 straight pars, with a couple birdie chances, and only 1 scramble to save par. IMO, you need a lot more risk/reward holes to create more excitement. I'd rather have 9 birdies and 9 bogeys than 18 straight pars any day.
- All things said, Barber Park is an average to slightly above average course. After reading the other reviews, I had low expectations, but the course actually exceeded them. Don't expect to be wowed, but don't expect to be disappointed either. This is your Applebee's of courses. This is never going to be anybody's first choice to play, it isn't going to overwhelm anybody, but even with a lack of sexiness, you'll be satisfied.
- This is a solid 2.5. If the tee pad/tee sign issue were fixed, this would be closer to a 3. With such a good piece of land, if they ever got serious about this a good course, there's no reason it couldn't become a true must play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 okay course

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mhorlbogen
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice length, elavation changes, and both open and wooded holes
Cons: tee pads are hard to find and just dirt patches in grass, hard to find way around even with the map
Other Thoughts: with some work on tees could be very nice course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center