Greensboro, NC 
Barber Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Could be a lot better

1    10/27/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: der Turkey Vulture
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In a lovely park area.
Tee cards (with must-have map!) available at the #1 hole.
Cons: Horrid tee boxes, if you could find them. I doubt you would find them without the scorecard map, and that took some minor orienteering skills to negotiate. It is something that could be so easily and inexpensively addressed that it's a shame it is left so poorly attended.

#2 hole was unplayable due to sewer construction. Hopefully, that won't be an issue for long.

Really awkward layout. Definitely comes across as a dgc placed amidst a park and fit in somewhat ramshod.

Also, it plays through components of the park (i.e. #4 through some dining tables), which doesn't bode well during busier times.

The walk-through from #8 to #9 is poorly marked and somewhat dangerous. Possible safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: Given the ratio of cons to pros, I doubt I'd return for disc golf.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it

1    9/9/2012   9/9/2012
Review By: keltik
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful scenery
- lots of amenities/multi-use park
- score cards available at first tee box (also a coupon for Omega Sports!)
- most of the holes are kinda nice
Cons: here we go:
- no signage
- poorly maintained natural tees (I like natural tees but you have to put extra effort into them.)
- course felt poorly laid out
- hole 2 unplayable due to construction
- course is a nightmare to navigate
- crossing from hole 8 to hole 9 is treacherous. I'm honestly surprised someone hasn't gotten hurt and sued the city.
- the front 8 and 18 is just meh
- hole twelve plays entirely too close to a parking lot.
- Hole 16 plays across a walking path (kinda dangerous for other park users).
- some parts of the course made me wish I had a CWP
- course is in the worst part of Greensboro
Other Thoughts: well this course has potential. If the city were to spend some extra money to make tee signs and either have pads poured or continuously put woodchips or something on the tees this course would possibly jump up a couple of points in my rating. they would also have to reconsider the layout for quite a few of the holes to abate the safety issues. I am thoroughly surprised that this course has been in the ground since 1998 and they haven't found a safer way to cross from number eight to number nine. You have to walk across a drainage dam/culvert I don't know what. I'm very surprised someone hasn't slipped off of it, gotten hurt and sued the city. but since this park is in a rough area I don't think it gets a lot of DG traffic. I only saw maybe 5 other people playing the course while I was there (and today was GORGEOUS!!)

Bottom Line: it's not worth a visit. Keep driving on I-85 and play Creekside Park in Archdale NC or just going until you get to Charlotte.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No Arbor Barber

2-4    7/15/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a whole lot of open with a wee bit of trees in your way.. sometimes.

If you like open the first 8 are completely open with the exception of 4, it has a few trees saying excuse me. If you need a place to practice distance accuracy this is a good one.

A few holes do use the minimal elevation changes to make interesting basket/tee locations.

The back nine gives you a somewhat of a mixture between open and tree lined but wide fairways.

Atmosphere - It's a really nice park considering the other things in it. 15 & 17 are in a nice part of the park with a covered but open canopy.

Equipment - The baskets are in good shape. There's a map at #1, use it or wander the desert for 40 years.
Cons: Layout - There's no positive flow here; it gives you a ton of open at the beginning in the 330-400 range and it will bore you to death.

The wooded holes on the back aren't very well designed, most are left to right shots that aren't very difficult or just a straight shot down a huge fairway. Well there is one hole with a bunch of trees, to many trees. It just never gives you a feeling of fun, the design is uninspired.

There's basically no real elevation changes here, there is a bit of small hills and baskets near hills but mostly flatness.

You play near ball fields, a building, roads and a parking lot. I take that back, you play over a parking lot. I threw over a car and parked it, the disc not the car.

If you don't look at the map at #1 you're probably screwed. Even with the map it was a bit confusing. 15-16 walk is long.

Did I mention how boring 1-8 was? If you can't throw past 350' you're going to loathe the designer

Atmosphere - The open holes would look better if they weren't all in a big stretch and around an ugly building. You play around some fields that aren't very aesthetic...and the parking lot thing again.

On top of all that it's really wet here, this place holds water super bad. Some of the wooded holes feel really swampy and are not very pleasant on the eye.

Equipment - No legit signs, just little stones on the ground that are almost unreadable. No signs helping with navigation along the way, well there is a sticker for 9 that seems to let you know you need to go through a fence, over a sewer system contraption and in to the woods.

The natural tee pads are very natural. I naturally stepped to the side and used a better area not full of roots two or five times.

No benches or trashcans or any of that stuff that might make me think better of this place.
Other Thoughts: I really like #14. You throw out of the woods off a 15' cliff out in to the open where a basket sits semi guarded by two tall trees.. really fun shot.

The course is right off of I-40 and is a good one to catch while making a trip down the interstate. Other than I would never go here unless I lived down the road and wanted some driving practice; Or if you have kids it's a good place to drop them off with mom while you throw discs... but just play with your kids it'll be funner.

I wouldn't even recommend newer players to go here because the open holes have so much length.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 OK Barber

2-4    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: jlherrmann
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The front nine are wide open and most of the back nine are wooded. It makes for a real good beginner course. It's a course you could take a date to, and not have her be too frustrated. There are score cards with maps at hole #1.
Cons: No tee pads is my biggest complaint. It's also a big hard to find your way through the first time you play, just because of the poor markings. Be sure to take a score card with the map the first time you play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 in a nutshell

2-4    4/30/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: destroy ya
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course deserves a 3.5 overall rating because it demands distance, accuracy, thought and planning. Several open holes, and several precision shots as well.
Cons: Alot of people complain about the lack of tee pads at Barber,, I welcome the challenge,,, another reason this course is unique,,,,add's character!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/4/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: mr.n
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several wide open fairways. Nice elevation changes from tee box and approach shots. Wooded holes are fairly challenging.
Cons: Par 3 course. Poor markings and no tee pads. A couple of holes had trash and junk laying around. The first wooded hole requires You to cross a creek useing concrete blocks ( not a big problem but might be tough for some). The place holds water if it just rained plan on swamp like conditions.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners or a practice for a pro. Anyone with good distance wont have a real problem here. Still a nice park and this place has tons of potential.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Review by B

2-4    8/2/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Enjoyable to play. This course was nice and had a good combo of open and wooded shots and has some good up hill and down hill shots.
Cons: There is a steep hill on fairway 3. Basket 3 could be a little further into the field instead of within 20 feet of the drop-off. Be careful not to loose a disc over the hill.
The course is well used, but could have some better signage.
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course to play and does have some fun interesting shots.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well, it is different

1    11/3/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 baskets place around some fields and woods in North Carolina. That alone makes it worth a stop.

Front 9 plays almost all wide open with no obstacles or issues. Just let 'em rip. It is vastly different than most Carolina courses so I consider it a positive. It is a good course to practice, learn or work on your game.
Cons: I counted 14 holes that basically required straight shots. That's kind of dull in my book. NO real creative holes here.

Natural tee pads. I would immediately put these in the Top 10 Worst tee pad list. In some areas people have started creating their own natural pad to avoid tripping over roots.

Navigation isn't good. No signs, and on the open holes you can usually see multiple baskets from the pad. A few times I wasn't sure where to throw. No signs on the wooded holes either. The walk between 14 and 15 is long. Luckily I had brotherdave guiding me, otherwise I would have wandered a little.
Other Thoughts: Almost no fun factor here. If you're trying to build up your courses played list it is worth a stop, otherwise head on down the road. Creekside was considerably better, and if you're looking for wide up holes, Cedarock isn't that far away.

For practice rounds, or desparation golf I'd use Barber Park, but for any serious DG outing it really isn't worth the time. Hopefully someday the opportunity will arise when they can do some work on the course and give it a little facelift. It has lots of room, and with new pads, and some basket re-positioning it could probably be vastly improved.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Good and Could Be Great

1    8/9/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: granger913
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very good mix of open field shots with some wooded more technical shots. Covers the entire park, which lets you see the wonder Barber Park. Very good for beginning ams. Not a kiddie bring a putter course but not so hard that you spend your time searching for disc in woods and/or water instead of hearing the chains. Seriously a great course.
Cons: A tad easy even for me (I've only been playing for two months). No one hole is amazing, all similar. Holes in general just straight shots with only one or two exceptions. No tee pads. Very difficult to navigate. GET A MAP AT THE START. I still dont know how you are suppose to get to 9 I walked all the way to 12 or 13 and back down I think you have to walk over a huge pipe I don't even know.
Other Thoughts: Truthfully this is my favorite course I've played. Yes nothing stands out, but thats the thing I remember the course not a hole and in a way thats a very big positive. Put it like this I played this course on a trip back from Virginia to South Carolina (my home) and it was my third course and the only one I wanted to play all the way through in the 100 degree heat. I really had that much fun. Bottom line if you are close play it it would easily be a 4 or 4.5 if it had proper tee pads and signs to the next tees. A tad easy maybe for advanced players but just a good fun course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice place to take a walk and work on different parts of your game in a pretty little park. It has a mix of wide open and wooded holes.

The course maps provided on hole #1 are helpful (actually NEEDED) to find your way around and provide hole lengths.

Unique holes:
#4- the only hole out in the open that has some trees in the fairway that makes you shape your throw and has a hill sloping off to the right side.
#11- the most challenging of the wooded holes - heavily treed dogleg right. Tough to par if you smack a tree early.
Cons: The basic design is rather uninspired. The first half of the course plays out in the open and 7 of the 8 holes are WIDE open - not a tree to be found in the fairways. Some use elevation (actually #5 is fun as it places a pin below a small hill which can make your putt interesting), but they are mostly flat and at about the same distance of 336'-398'. If you don't throw over 300'- you will have a drive, a long birdie putt, then a tap in. This got really repetitive and dull. Five of the non-open wooded holes were dogleg rights, the others were straight. The only left turning hole on the course was badly flawed- hole #12 goes over the edge of a parking lot (a car was parked right in my flight path).

Tee pads are scuffed dirt with a little cement marker with a number. The map will help you find these because they are invisible from a distance.
Other Thoughts: If you are learning the game this would be a great place to get your feet wet, but it's not a place that would improve ones game. I'd you really want challenges I would recommend playing holes 9-17, as these are more fun and are in the shade!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.