Greensboro, NC 
Barber Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Barber tips

5+    10/20/2009   3/24/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 305  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*Design: There are a few nice holes. Hole 4 comes to mind-- with scattered foliage and especially tricky with the drop off down the hill on the right side. Hole 11 is a nice woods shot with a tight, challenging fairway and a challenging green.
*Elevation changes: On the front 9 there are some hills that provide good ups and downs, even though 7 holes are flat. (7 Flat/ 4 Up/ 7 Down)
*Amenities: There's a basic map on the scorecard, and there are usually scorecards at the first tee. There's also a good message board.
Cons:
-There are no tee signs and no real tee pads! The only thing marking the tees are just the tops of round white concrete cylinders almost flush to the ground, so the tees are very poorly marked and can be really hard to find. Since the tees are natural, you find them by hunting for the worn spots. Some tees are uneven. First timers had better take a map or they may never find the tees. As it is, even though I've played the course several times, I never found tees 15 & 17 because the area had been dug up.
-There are too many straight holes for my taste. The open straight holes are especially lackluster. 13 St/ 1 Left/ 4 Right
-I don't really like holes with buildings nearby because it takes away from the natural beauty, and Barber has several of these since the large park Rec center is in the middle of the course.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950). It's Blue level mainly because of it's length, albeit an easier Blue.

-There is decent terrain variety, but a few too many wide open grass holes for my taste. (6 Woods/ 5 Open/ 7 Mixed.)
-Length variety is below average with 16 holes are in the 200-399 ft range. (1 of 195/ 7 of 200-299/ 9 of 300-399/ 1 of 400). The front nine is much longer than the back (3105 ft. vs. 2555 ft). To expand on this a little more, the longer front has 7 holes of 330-375 ft. plus 1 of 400 ft., while the shorter back has 7 holes of 195-295 ft. plus 1 of 300.
-On hole 14 I don't feel totally safe. You drive over a field in the vicinity of some sketch housing, and sometimes there are shifty looking urban males wandering around. Also, kids have been known to run out and steal your disc here.

Over the years Barber has gone downhill. When the park added some facilities this took out a few holes, and they were replaced with holes that are too open and bland. The course is only a few minutes off of I-40, if you happen to be driving by, but I wouldn't recommend making a special trip to play here.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.
-More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 B-

2-4    3/9/2008   3/9/2010
Review By: zacharypower7
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice variety of holes considering the location.Its on an old water treatment facility campus so it is rather open on most holes.elevation used effectively to offset a lack of trees on some holes and add a little difficulty
Cons: Most open holes can be played as just straight on shots though some holes use elevation to counter this disadvatage. a little hard to follow the course but not terrible.
Other Thoughts: Could be a nicer course with a little more work on design. set in a very nice park though.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trey133

5+    1/8/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of Open and Wooded Holes
Nice elevation changes on the open portion including an amazing shot from hole 5.
Wooded holes provide a challenge, especially hole 11.
A couple very picturesque holes in #5,#15 (good tunnel shot)
There is a league out there on Thursday nights.
Cons: No teepads.
Construction is changing the holes.
The map is laughable.
Although nothing has personally happened to myself, the course is not in a good section of town.
Other Thoughts: This course is a gem to those that are local. People who are not local to the greensboro area, probably do not like it and overlook it. Its a great course to learn good controlled distance shots and stretch your rocs out on... but its cons are HEAVY cons and do not help out a new person to the course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Now a fan.

5+    4/26/2010   12/14/2009
Review By: AdamCaudle
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - There is good use of elevation here, especially on the front 9. 1 is a big uphill shot while 5 & 6 are two nice "wow" downhill shots (especially 5).
- There is a decent mix of pretty open shots, moderately open with a few trees, and woods type holes.
- The course has a challenging length to it with most holes in the 300-400 ft range.
- The 6 or 7 holes that play in the woods are fun and tight. They reward an accurate throw and punish throws that are off line.
- All baskets are in good working order. For some reason they all have neon pink/green tape on them right now.
Cons: - I don't mind good dirt teepads, but these are in poor condition. They are just worn out ruts in the grass with little white cylinders to mark where they are. It would be nice if they would make a square with 2x4's and fill 'em in with dirt and rake them once in a while.
- None of the holes are marked with numbers or distance or anything. Some good tee signs would help new players find the holes. It's nearly impossible to navigate without knowing the course or without a map because it doesn't have a very natural flow or layout to it.
Other Thoughts: After playing this course as a better player I now appreciate the challenges it offers, while I still realize the obvious flaws in the course.

I still don't exactly know where the hole 7 and hole 17 tees are. We just throw from a big dirt spot in the ground. If you get stuck at 8, make an immediate left from the basket and go in the opening the woods. Go across the little dam thing, and the tee for 9 shoots slightly uphill into the woods.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  not that great

1    7/11/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: jason6253
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice and challenging. First 8 holes are open and pretty easy to find the hole.
Cons: Poor Signage, Dirt and gravel tees make it easier to slip and hurt yourself, lots of poison ivy around the wooded holes, construction stuff makes obstacles. It was hard finding the tee on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging course. Not a course for beginners. Most hole lengths are in the 200's and 300's.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, Not bad

5+    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: zbyrd
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some long holes to flex your distance shot. Good mix of open and wooded. This course makes good use of elevation. Hole 6 (I think) has a big drop towards the basket. Someone with a strong drive could throw it 500 from here, but the basket is only 350-400ish. 14 is similar because in terms of elevation drop. These downhill throws challenge your ability to throw straight because most fades and annies will make their way into the woods. The wooded holes are nice change of pace, but still relatively straight forward.

The course isn't a busy one, so you can take your time. It is very convenient to I-40.
Cons: The only true con is the poor signage. Other than that the only con is that the course is sort of bland overall. Other than the elevation stuff, there isn't much creativity in terms of shot selection. It isn't broken in any way, but nothing impresses me about it.
Other Thoughts: Johnson Street or North Asheboro are better choices if you are in the area. None the less, it is fun and reasonably challenging. If you haven't played it, it is worth a round, but it probably won't wow you.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 B = Better Than Average

2-4    9/22/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 371  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21 Years
7 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Ghetto Cedarock

5+    4/15/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 109  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2011
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the longer courses in the area and its openness makes it somewhat novel. This is almost decidedly going to be favored more by bigger arms who can reach the basket on the wide open front 9. The back 9 is more of your typical, NC wooded DG. Some holes play in and out of the woods which is a big plus in my book. Most of these wooded holes are moderately wooded, with some marginally tight. Rough is pretty merciful on most holes but be wary of fences, the creek, and some thick schule along them.

The park is actually very nice, not that ghetto at all really, with the grass usually kept well mowed. Decent amenities as well with a nice new playground for the kiddies and a large gym, which, when open, has bathrooms and a GATORADE VENDING MACHINE!!!! Sorry, I love being able to get gatorade on site.

Most holes play more or less straight as the crow flies, with some wooded holes playing slightly left to right. Elevation change helps to make up for this lack of hole variety by favoring some lines over others. Good course for practicing gentle turn over shots. Scorecards are available with course map, at hole one, make navigating MUCH easier. A good course to play when you want to warmed by the sun or on a windy day if you want some challenge.
Cons: Some of the holes on the back 9 seem to be
"out of sight, out of mind" for the park maintenance people, as some litter and the gross creek reminds you. There are no tee pads nor signage for the holes, just rutted out bare spots near the concrete pavers that designate the tees. No benches either save a spot or two that syncs up with other park benches. The course can get a bit swampy after a heavy rain and for some reason, the fairway for hole #7 seems to always be torn up by someone doing doughnuts or figure 8's or something.

Not in the finest neighborhood but certainly not the worst, though I wouldn't like to play alone near dusk on the regular.

Lost disc hazards: The left side of the fairway on hole #3 drops away, is thick with schule, and has lots of trash dumped there. Not fun to scramble around. A fence and a nasty creek is immediately on the left on hole #8. #13 has a forked tree in the middle of the fairway with a fairly deep hole in it. I never thought I'd throw a disc in there but I found a way to the other day. Sucks.
Other Thoughts: I had a local to show me around, guy was cool as a moose. I asked him about the neighborhood issue and he said that in his 12 years of playing there he had never had a problem as he knocked on wood. It is definitely a course where some "urban" males might stroll through but I'd play there, especially with a buddy. Hole 14 is as nice a hole I've seen, you tee off inside the woods, down hill straight into a field with the basket nestled behind two nice oak trees. Hole 16 is very uninspired, short, straight, easy, and the walk to that hole is insultingly long and uphill.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 For regulars

5+    8/21/2008   3/6/2009
Review By: JLKeip
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 8/5/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course and holes are well maintained and usually playable. Once you know the course, it's fairly easy to follow. Nice mix of woods and open holes.
Cons: I would prefer holes with multiple tees.
The course is not well marked and can be tough to follow the first time; toughest transition is from 8 to 9 - you need to cut through a fence and go across a small creek/sewage runoff. walk from 15 to 16 you will likely feel as tough you are going the wrong way before you reach it.
Other Thoughts: Hole 14 can be an issue if baseball or softball is being played. Holes 5, 11, and 14 are the most interesting/challenging plays in my opinion. I missed hole #11 the first time I played, don't follow the baseball fence - go into the woods.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 All 18 Holes Playable Now

1    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: hycard
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and open front nine great for warming up and airing out.

Back nine mostly wooded much more technical shots to test your accuracy.

Decent scenery despite the surrounding area.
Cons: First: Signage.
With a few more signs to help first-timers this course could be easily navigated; however, current signage conditions (and map/scorecard) just make the course confusing.

Second: Tee pads.
Or lack there of. There are no tee pads. This would not be such a con if there were adequate signs pointing you to next tee and marking the tee areas.

Other Thoughts: I liked the variety of shots - no chance of getting bored here.

Course has a lot of potential. A little time and effort along with some interest in improvement from the community would go a long way.
Add decent signs for navigation and any improvement to the tee areas and you could bump this course up to at least 3.5 out of 5.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.