Knoxville, TN 
Victor Ashe Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11 (Taken 4/2008)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Basket is straight up hill (short) or just beyond & in between the two trees (long).



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Great open spaces

5+    7/12/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 91  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large, open course played on grass fields in beautiful park setting. Great scenery. Lots of long open holes & some shorter technical shots. Short & long basket placements. You'll see a good mix of Hyzer, straight, Anny & even some slight uphill & downhill shots here. Hole 18 finishes at the parking lot. Practice basket & picnic benches at first tee. Large pond to throw over on hole #1. Nice long, wide concrete teepads. Descriptive tee signs on each hole. Large parking lot close to course.
Cons: It is a multi-use facility so sometimes joggers, picknickers etc will be in you line of fire. Could use a few more benches. You'll need a map for navigation on some holes. Some cross-over of fairways. Not much tree cover means your exposed to the hot sun in summer.
Other Thoughts: Good club support. This course allows the big arms to air it out! Good balance of courses in the Knox area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

5/15/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.9 Years
8 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is beautiful. It's a decent course. Not really that long, and when it is long, it's in the wide open. Nice park.
Cons: Not too much, it was a decent course as I said.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park. Out of the 95+ courses that I have played, I would put it somewhere in the lower 1/3. Actually all of the courses that I played in this area were not all that great. I enjoyed Morningside the most, but at the same time, it was in a real ghetto area. But there were some real cool holes there. But Victor Ashe is the nicer park of the two. Group of locals showed me around. Enjoyed it.

8 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Rip It!

3/1/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: byoung39
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course gives you every opportunity to rare back and throw hard. There are very few "weak" holes where people who have poor drives still squeek out a par (without an exceptional upshot!). It is one of the best courses I have ever played to really help you understand how you stack up against other players.
Cons: The course is so huge that it is not always maintained at a high level, which affects rollers, footing, etc.
Other Thoughts: I LOVE hole #1 over water. Warm up and take your practice throws before your round begins. Then, start it off with a challenge! This would be an INCREDIBLE course for an interesting safari tournament!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Victor Ashe........

1/30/2008   1/31/2008
Review By: c_cobb.tn.
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: clean course, long concrete Tee boxes, great views of the surrounding mountains, double chain DISCatcher baskets, Good Tee signs, not overly crowded.
Cons: no signs pointing you to the next hole.
If we hadn't played the first round with one of the locals we would have spent so much time looking for the next tee box that we probably wouldn't have had time to get in a second round.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 1 can be a bit intimidating if it is your first visit to the park. You have to play the first hole over a pond, it seems like it would be better if it were hole #18 or at least midway through the course. I don't want my first toss of the day to be over a pond with trees to the left and right of me.
Also I think this course is more suitable for forehand throwers, or left handed backhand throwers, most of the baskets (at least on the shorts) fade off to the right.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.