Knoxville, TN 
Victor Ashe Park Share
Uploaded By: FrolfHead Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 380ft.   4 / 467ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket (Short position)



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Really nice course

2-4    8/24/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Really nice tees. Benches and trash cans at most tees.
Cons: There a few long walks from previous hole to next tee.
Litter is a slight problem
Other Thoughts: You can make it a nine whole very easily by going from 5 to 15. It is really a lot of fun and in a nice area. A lot of the trash was sitting on the ld of the trash cans, so I guess there are a lot of lazy people that play the course. The trash cans are about every other hole which make the litter a little ridiculous.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stop in Knoxville

1    7/11/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: FrolfHead
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The innova baskets were nice. Throwing over the water on hole 1 is cool.There was a good mix of shorter and longer holes. Alot of the holes are wide open(especially the front 9) which means you can really "grip it and rip it." Not many places to lose a disc. All the tee pads were nice and luxurious.There were alot of other park goers but the DG course stayed pretty clear of them.
Cons: Although fun the couse could be made harder(I don't remember if the pins were in the long or short position when I played.) Because there isn't that many shrubs or trees on alot of the holes mistakes are often not punished. I felt there were alot of good holes but none that really impressed me (outside maybe of 1.) Could use signs pointing to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Definatley a fun course and I would recommend it to any DG'er going through the area.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big arms get ready

1    7/10/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements, well maintained, trash cans throughout, Long placements really give you a chance to grip and rip, plenty of parking, practice basket, biggest tee pads I had ever played on (they were terrific)
Cons: Can be hard to navigate, most holes are pretty open, could use more variety
Other Thoughts: Course is located in a city park and is very well maintained. Once you enter the park, veer to the right and make you way to the back of the lot. If you circle the round-about at the end you will be able to see the practice basket and first tee off to the side of the road. There is plenty of parking near the round-about as well, so you should have no problems getting a space here.

The first hole is probably my favorite hole on the course, and is also your most likely spot to lose a disc. You find yourself throwing over a pond to the basket, and the tee is well above the water so you have to be careful and not let it sail on you. After hole one, the rest are pretty open with some decent elevation changes to keep it challenging.

Navigating the first few holes wasn't an issue. After finishing up with #1, you can see the tee for #2 if you look away from the pond and up the hill. After #2, continue past the basket and around the trees, its a bit of a walk to #3, but if you just follow the path you will see it.

Navigating started to get a bit more difficult at this point. Once you finish up with #3, the tee pad for #4 can be hard to spot at first. There is two that you can see from the basket of hole #4. One is back up towards the tee pad for hole #3, this is actually the tee for #5. The tee pad for #4 is going to be in the opposite direction and in a small grove of trees, and the hole plays back up the hill towards the walkway and bridge.

The tee for #5 is easy to spot once you finish up with #4. On hole #5 you will find yourself throwing parallel to the walking path and down the hill towards the trees. The elevation change here can be real interesting, so be careful.

After #5 we spent about 10-15 minutes trying to locate #6. If you are standing at the basket for #5 and looking at the trees and the walking/jogging path behind the baskets, there will be baskets to your right, ignore them. To get to #6 you will want to follow the walking path to your left for about 300-325 feet, and to your right you will see the tee for #6, there will be a bench and trash can as well.

From holes #6 - #11 you shouldn't have to many issues, don't recall any blind shots or spots where you can't easily see the next hole. Once you get to #12, you have a blind shot. The basket for #12 is going to down the hill, and across the small creek/ditch, and off to the right. After you throw your drive and are making your way down the hill, look off to the left, you will be able to spot the basket for #13, it is also blind from the tee.

Hole #14 should give you no problems, easy to spot from the last hole and the basket was also easy to spot from the tee.

After #14 you will want to make your way back up the walking path, back towards hole #5 to get back to the last few holes. The tee for #15 is pretty close to the basket for #5 and throws along the tree line back towards the parking lot. The rest of the holes are pretty easy to navigate and fairly easy to spot from the tee, the signs also do a good job of showing the basket placements, you just have to figure out which placement they are in.

This course was really made for those golfers with big arms and had huge tee pads for the run-up you are going to need on a few holes. If pins are in the long position the shortest hole on the course is 305' and the longest is 1006', so be ready to grip and rip out here. For this reason it may not be the best course for beginners. It also covers a fairly large amount of land, and can get hot and humid in the summer, so dress appropriately, be ready to do a lot of walking, and bring plenty of water.

Update: Upon further review, I thought this course deserved a bit higher rating. The tee pads are amazing, love the size, plenty of room for a run up. There are two basket placements, and a lot of variety, just figured these things, plus all the other good things about the course make it a bit better than I originally thought.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not quite up to its potential

1    8/24/2007   6/24/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The length---8000-9000'---and the fact that much of the course is pretty open with rolling elevation, means those with big arms get a few chances to really air them out.

It's a beautiful place to play, with views from the high hills, and no development surrounding it.

Through some parts of the course it struck me as a 4.5 rating, but then.....
Cons: .....there are a number of holes which, while not bad, aren't particularly inspired, with mundane angles or trees to dodge.

Not a lot of shade, and a lot of effort involved, on an August day such as, for instance, my visit.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 is great or terrible, depending on your viewpoint. Tee of high above water, throwing a RHBH hyzer to a basket on a slope on the other side, not terribly far away. A tough hole to judge and throw on your first visit; tougher still as your first hole; and I image quite tough for lefties or RH forehanders.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

2-4    3/20/2008   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Immediate Intimidation

1    4/10/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The nicest tee areas I've had to date: long, flat concrete teepads, places to sit, trashcans, signs showing 2~3 basket locations with distances, and a hook to hang your bag!

Big, open, well-maintained park with gently flowing landscape. Practice putting basket.

Favourite hole #9: about 300' straight down narrowing fairway, then slight right turn 150' to basket guarded by a few large stones in front, trees behind.
Cons:
Since many of the baskets are not visible from the tee, and some are in slightly differing directions, it would be nice to have some indicator at the tee of the basket's current position.

Distances on map (available online, must-have for a first-time visitor) differ somewhat from those listed on the tee signs.

Bit of a walk from #5 to #6, #14 to #15.

Least favourite hole #1: No decision to be made for a beginner (don't throw) or very experienced (easy throw) player, but for us middle-of-the-road types, throwing across that pond, with a slight wind in your face, has you imagining your disc turning over and going for a swim ... :-O
Other Thoughts:
Most holes fairly long. After a few open ones near the start, the remainder mostly play through tree-lined narrowing fairways, with an occasional mid-fairway tree or two to deal with, or needing a gentle turn.

Warning: Locals tell me that they drag Beasts out of the pond more frequently than any other disc! :^P

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Big Park, Soild Course

2-4    4/4/2006   4/11/2009
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 63  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played a tournament at this course several years ago, and it stuck in my mind as very nice course with a lot of length. The park is huge, and the design takes you across rolling fields and along the edge of the woods. There is decent elevation change, and plenty of opportunities to really rip a drive. Multiple basket positions for almost every hole makes for a good variety.

Visually, the course is in great shape. The local club takes very good care of this course. The first hole plays over a large man-made pond. Can be intimidating for newer players, but makes for a very nice opening shot.
Cons: This course is not super challenging, other than the distance - which may make newer players want to find a shorter course.

A few of the holes on the back 9 feel like they were just thrown in, and don't fit with the rest of the course. For the most part the course has a good flow, although there are several long walks throughout the design.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course, and seems like it is not usually over-crowded. In a large group, the course will take 2+ hours, but a casual round would take around 1.5 hours.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Big

5+    8/22/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well marked, beautifully maintained, wide open and pretty. Good test of a big arm.
Cons: a lot of the same shots, not very wooded. not very much technacality
Other Thoughts: this is an awesome course, but not very tight, and very wide open.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Victor Ashe Park

1    11/28/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great big concrete tees. Good signs at tees showing par, distance, and pin placement. Most holes wide open lets you test your arm power. Has hyzer and anhyzer shots. Beautiful view of mountains. Very well maintained when I played but I don't play there often so maybe I just caught a good day. Discatcher chains which are always awesome. Lot of people playing but not over crowded and never had to wait on people. Possible tourney play and over all a well rounded course. Had a practice pin which always helps. Oh ya hole 1 is awesome!
Cons: This was my second 18 for the day so I was a little tired so it seemed like a long walk, but wasn't too bad. No signs pointing to the next tees but the flow of the course was pretty good so we didn't get lost too bad. Not much to say about the cons at this course.
Other Thoughts: Great course, great landscaping, would definitely recommend this course over morningside and only a couple miles away.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great open spaces

5+    7/12/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Large, open course played on grass fields in beautiful park setting. Great scenery. Lots of long open holes & some shorter technical shots. Short & long basket placements. You'll see a good mix of Hyzer, straight, Anny & even some slight uphill & downhill shots here. Hole 18 finishes at the parking lot. Practice basket & picnic benches at first tee. Large pond to throw over on hole #1. Nice long, wide concrete teepads. Descriptive tee signs on each hole. Large parking lot close to course.
Cons: It is a multi-use facility so sometimes joggers, picknickers etc will be in you line of fire. Could use a few more benches. You'll need a map for navigation on some holes. Some cross-over of fairways. Not much tree cover means your exposed to the hot sun in summer.
Other Thoughts: Good club support. This course allows the big arms to air it out! Good balance of courses in the Knox area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.