Hickory, NC
Glenn C. Hilton Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: thirstydisc Hole #19 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 19 Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Great work in progress.

1    1/19/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 28  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A couple really great hole designs. Mostly perfect concrete pads. All great baskets. Challenging, in a good way for the most part. A couple really fun holes, like the #20 downhill ace run and of course the grand finale #24 across-the-valley shot.
Cons: #15 could use a few trees removed, unless they're going for that throw-and-pray type shot. Some of the tee signs are not accurate (#4 was especially confusing, could just be me). I always prefer when the course loops back to the parking lot after 9 (or 18), but you have to commit to the whole thing on this one.
Other Thoughts: Why a 24 hole course? Not that it really matters, but that's a bit confusing. Overall though, a wide variety of shots are needed, which is fun. The course is mostly wooded and some fairways are tight, so get ready to bounce around a bit. Definitely not a beginner course, but a great round for advanced players.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rugged

1    11/1/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Rugged. If I were allowed to stop there, I'd be tempted to do so, having satisfactorily described the course at Glen Hilton. But onwards we go. While not as mountainous as some of the courses in the western part of the state, this one boasts terrain that will challenge you to walk across it. Hole 3 traverses a slope so steep that I wouldn't be surprised if at some point, on slick day, a person rolled all the way to the waters edge. Now try and get your disc to stick on that.

The terrain here, especially in the front nine, is so varied and unique that memorable and challenging holes are the rule and not the exception. 1 is simple enough. It's a warm-up shot across an open field. But the next seven hole-stretch is one of the best grouping of holes that I've come across. 2 is an open hole, at least from the tee. The fair turns into some woods where the basket is perched in the middle of a long, steep slope. The approach is thus very tricky. 3 is the aforementioned side slope. 4 is an open field but with the basket protected by a shield of foliage. Teeshots will have to be placed just so to create a reasonable approach angle. 5 is parallel to the river again, this time, with the basket to the right of the fairway, again on a slope which leads to the water. (Fantastic chance to swoop in from left to right) 6 is a flat hole with a steeply uphill approach shot and 7 is a long arc to the left, with the river to the right. My favorite of the bunch is 8. The tee, fairway and basket occupy a thin, flat space, clinging to the side of hill. It's another chance to go right to left, this time attempting to stick it on a ledge.

I don't usually like hole-by-hole descriptions, but with this particular group, I had to do it. That group is just too fun and too interesting to leave any one of them out of the review. If the course becomes less interesting after that point, it's only because the early holes set the bar so high. The rest of the course, while still featuring some solid climbs, is more typical of North Carolina courses. They're good solid holes, but they aren't more than that.

That is until the last one. 24 is a breathtaking hole, over a wide, deep ravine to a slope on the other side. (Look at the pictures) Getting one to stick is especially gratifying as there is a long bridge which crosses over the valley. Now, I love bridges that lead to eighteenth greens. They always make me feel like it's Sunday at a major. This one might be my favorite of those as it potentially comes directly after that long, successful shot. It's such a long bridge, it's almost impossible not to wave to the gallery.
Cons: It's not that the last sixteen holes are bad, or boring, but they blend together, and don't do much that isn't happening all across the state. If they were a course in themselves they'd be a 3.5. Whereas if there were another ten holes to match the first eight, that course would be 4.5 in my book. So it's not a con really, but an explanation of my rating after raving about the first third of this course.

The biggest flaw is a bit of the navigation. It can be easy for a course to get away without arrows if the path is mostly logical. This is the case here but the holes where is not logical are hurt by this. Mostly, this applies to hole 4, where it is clear across a playing field from 3. I finished that hole behind a large group but didn't even have to play through because they wandered off in the wrong direction. I used my downloaded map to get directly there. I was finishing the hole before they found the tee.
Other Thoughts: Upon beginning this review, I noticed that many of the pictures on this website are not accurate. (Follow an older 18-hole layout, I'd guess) For example, the pictures marked as hole 22, show signs for hole 18 and are actually of hole 24. And I couldn't find anything that looked like the hole 8 that I played. I don't know the course well enough to sort out exactly what should be where but if a local does, that would be fantastic. If I had known beforehand, I would have just taken an entire new set. A bunch of holes are extremely photogenic and would be nice to have here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: skeeterpig
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: As always the course was in good shape. Having multiple baskets on several holes makes it nice to have options. Posting a recreational par also makes it less intimidating for newbies etc.
Cons: Signs missing on holes 19 through 24. Vandalism happens sure, but it dismayed me that one of the regulars who I talked to after thw round didn't seem it was a big deal. Having played the course before it wasn't a big deal, but a first timer would be lost because 2 of the baskets are not visible from the tee. Also more arrows/ signs showing where the next tee is located would be nice. The new pin placement on hole 5 is just plain silly- less then 10 feet from the bank of the stream basically on the beach. Seriously do you guys want people to get discouraged or for some kid who scraped his money together to buy a new disc to lose it? Maybe save that one for tournaments!!!!
Other Thoughts: I don't get to play this course as often as I use to, but it is fun to see how it has grown and matured. One note though if like me you have leg or ankle issues- i have a fused ankle- the length and terrain will test you!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

2-4    7/29/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: Warthog
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2014
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Difficult to think of anything I like
Cons: Tough, Trees,hilly,mud,water and roots plus bitting things. Bring bug spray. Use old disc you don't mind losing. Use old disc you don't mind hitting trees with. I understand a few trees but this is more like a wall. You need square disc to prevent seeing them roll back past you on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I don't plan to play this course again but it is still more fun than a day at work.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

HoMe CoursE

5+    12/9/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: badsmurph
Played: 132  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.9 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1) Tee signs
2) Variety of Shots
3) benches and Trash cans
4) Bridges
5) Easy navigation with next hole direction on tee sign and after basket.
6) Multiple Pins which are changed often
7) elevation
8) new par 4 on 4 but wish position B was used more.
9) the whole park in general.
Cons: 1)erosion
2) Some awkward and crapshoot shots
3) Alot of Luck factor on some holes especially with roll aways.
4) 24 holes so when club plays 18 hole events they play different configurations which cuts in front of casuals and can be confusing at times.
5) Not many driver shots, mostly midrange
6) alot of missing s hooks on basket's chains which effects putts
Other Thoughts: Overall a good home course and strong group of dedicated locals that take ALOT of pride in the course. But it is nice to have a new course in area to throw some different shots.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 greatest course out there

5+    12/11/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: Discgolfandy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: 24 holes well marked benches great locals. Trash cans benches. Lefty righty shots. Alternate baskets. Club members who work hard to keep this course in top shape
Cons: None. I have never not had fun at this course. The regualrs. Are very helpful
Other Thoughts: Play this course!!!!

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.


1    12/10/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: Suspena kenna
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Good technical holes. 24 bad ass hole. Good view. Easy To find holes. Sign on trees that point to next tee box. Not to many holes u can loose discs long as u keep an eye out. Good amount of seats. One with a shack around it to get away from rain.
Cons: Heavily wooded. A lot of hills. To far away

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

pure fun

5+    6/24/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: sharkking15
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Great setup
-beautiful scenerie
-fun course
-multiple holes
-well marked
-every hole has its own personality
-best hole ever invented (#24)
Cons: -ROOTS
-slight water hazard on 3 holes if not careful
-corrosion of hills
Other Thoughts: this course is by far, without a doubt, my favorite course to play at, i drive hours on weekends just to come play whenever i can, HIGHLY recommend you play here if you never have, you will never regret it, and will always want more. watch out for roots when walking or else you could possibly roll your ankle.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/10/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: themanlevan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great Signs. Mapped out well on the tee boxes and signs at the baskets are good. Nice atmosphere and cool picture spots with the UFO made of logs and carved into trees. Really just a nice well kept course
Cons: Really none unless you have to look for your disc on #24. It can get tricky if you have too. The group i play with has some iffy arms sometimes, including mine.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. it's challenging in places and some more of a relief. Worth the time i've spent playing it

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Easy to Navigate / Challenging to Play

1    6/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: illuminatefreak
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - GREAT signage. Almost don't even need course map. Signs at baskets point to next tee. Really nice to navigate for a first timer (which I was).
- Very fun layout.
- Practice basket
- Being almost all wooded, tight yet fair lines force you to be accurate.
- Various holes, distance, and angles makes you have to really shape your shots.
- Clean, with trash bins at every hole.
- Hole 24 is very fun (over a ravine). Could be a con for a newbie who might be struggling with distance on their drive.
Cons: - Being mostly wooded, it was difficult to feel consistent as a fairly new(er) player. Trees definitely create challenges.
- Signs at tees aren't updated (some show two baskets where only one exists). Use the course map on here for that since they updated the course.
- Lots of roots just waiting for a twisted ankle (almost rolled mine twice). Just watch where you're stepping and you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: Visiting the in-laws in Mocksville. Decided to make the 50 minute drive to check this one out. Definitely glad we did. Would love to have this as a home course to really hone in on carving specific lines with different discs.

Disc choice is pretty big here as well. I went for drivers when I clearly should have gone for mid range.

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Hope to return next time we're visiting.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.