Hickory, NC 
Glenn C. Hilton Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: thirstydisc Hole #24 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
The Glenn Hilton stadium hole.



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Glenn Hilton, Memorble course

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 49  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There is so much variety out on this course up here. It's straight up north 321 so it's not a scary drive up here. This is a basic park with a creek around it. It is in play on four holes making those holes the better ones on the course. There is an 18 hole layout and a 24 hole layout on this course. On the 18 hole layout, after 7, go straight to 10 and after hole 13, go to 18 and play the remaining holes.
-Some very good greens out on this course. The roll away greens on 2 and 3 are both very cool. Holes 4 and 5 both have great wooded greens. Hole 7's long basket is right by the creek making it the best green on the course. Hole 8 has an elevated basket on a stump on a hill. With this being said. I think the front 12 is much better than the back 12.
-The course starts off with a great open bomb and after that hole, the course slowly makes it's way through the woods. It ends very strong with a great valley shot!
-I had three favorite holes here. Those three were hole 5, hole 7 (My #1 favorite) and hole 24. Hole 5 is just a cool par 3 with the creek in play. Potential roller hole. Hole 7 is an open dog leg left that allows you to go big. 24 is a great finish to the course. A scenic shot across a huge valley. Definitely threw a few discs on this one. Hole 24 was the only super fun hole on the back 12 holes. I liked some of the others like 13, 14, 16 and I liked hole 20, the straight down 165' footer.
-Benches and trash cans on every hole.
-Friendly local people hang around here. Very considerate of the course and even take an interest in how you play. Very family friendly!
-This course is perfect for what is was designed for. It's mostly in the 235' range. However, hole 16 is definitely an interesting change. A 436' monster that is really tight and goes downhill once you get to the right side of the fairway. Definitely the hardest on the course. Holes 11 and 13 have long pin positions too and the long layout has a lot of par 4's but today most pins were in the shorts. Holes 11 and 13 currently have two pins.
-Hilly course. Great use of elevation. Several steep ups and downs!! Some great valley shots too. There are stairs when it gets steep.
-A great variety of fairways 12 Straight/6 left/6 right.
-Concrete tee pads. 16's tee pad is over 15'. They are different lengths but the appropriate lengths for each hole.
-Practice basket beside hole 1.
-Construction is great. Bridges are everywhere they need to be.
Cons: -Several filler holes. They are all on the back 12. After hole 16, most of the holes are just there just showing whats next. 17 through 19 are just boring holes. Then 20 is a pretty fun straight downhill ace run but it still has that "filler hole" feeling to it. 17-23 are just okay at the best. It's worth the wait to hole 24 though!
-#15?!?! This hole is so ridiculous. It's straight pinball from tee to basket. If any of y'all know that horrific finishing hole at Wills Park that requires luck or #14 at Brackett's Bluff, wait until you see this. It's just poke and pray gimmicky.
-I don't like the idea that #1's road and beyond rule is OB. You can clearly tell this should be casual here. My friend Kevin didn't have this problem but I did. I threw maybe twelve feet past the basket and got penalized for it. I got a "par" when it was really a birdie. You can't be serious. It's still a fun start to the course.
-Again. The filler holes. They aren't just short and boring. They are so close to each other. Watch out for people.
-Well, it's in the mountains so there will be copperheads.
Other Thoughts: -This is a great 24 hole course here. Don't let the fact that there are some filler holes keep you from playing here. The front 12 is a great disc golf experience. The back 12 is kind of boring but it starts well with hole 13 and 14 is fun too. The finishing hole is the signature hole so that makes up for it. It starts well and ends well. There is a doubles tournament Kevin and I are both doing on June 7th so we are both looking forward to that.
-It's a bit of a drive down in the neighborhood to get here. You have to cross a bridge and pay attention to the entrance. It's in the better part of town so that's definitely a pro.
-Many signature holes here. The front 12 has several of them. The back 12 has the famous hole 24. Hole 16 is fun too.

Favorite hole: 7-Long dogleg left par 3 that plays slightly downhill. Very scenic shot with the water in play. 24-Short par 3 over a huge valley.

Least Favorite: 15-Plinko shot right at 200' long. Just an easy 3 but almost impossible 2. 23-Boring, generic 239' footer. The main filler hole.

Send me a message if you want to know more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hickory Disc-ory Golf

1    5/12/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenn C. Hilton Memorial Park disc golf offers a dynamic variety of holes, and doesn't call for powerful drives too often. It has 24 holes, and 6 more than usual is always good, I think. Elevation is also always good, to me, and it is pronounced here repeatedly. Water is in play occasionally, but not in a highly threatening way. The first hole is sort of bland, almost wide open and longish. Two begins in the open but changes drastically into a shady slope and the basket is hiding in the back right corner. A good pocket in the trees made for a basket. A third solid, more woodsy hole is tucked into the margins of this nice park. Fourth hole is long open drive until a screen of large trees guards the slope up to the corner target. Five is a cool little waterside RHBH hyzer with sandy bank bottom, and pin planted in an awesome root system of adjacent trees. Six is very similar to five, but uphill. Short and simple, and fun. Seven is another unapologetic, wide open, long bomb, more so than hole one. Just watch out for the water to the right, and the large mound hazards on the left and in front of the green. I got a good look with my Destroyer, and missed a 30 foot putt. 8 has an stage lifting the tee, and the basket is on an equally strange but very cool tall podium with 6 foot basket. Both are situated on similar parts of the same ridge, that naturally shapes the fairway and tree line. Very cool hole. The remainder of the course is primarily wooded, and short. Eleven, thirteen, and sixteen measure over 400 feet. Every other hole is in the 180-250 . Thirteen has a great shelter rest area to take a rest before you "make the turn". Elevation changes kick in around hole twelve. Sixteen is the longest hole, and theres a lot of trees between the pad and the target. Trust me - do your best to stay on the fairway here. All of them are good holes, nothing that stands out - until the final hole. Twentyfour is a beauty of a finishing hole. A tee box sits high on one side of a inlet of the lake. Plenty of airspace to clear the gap, and basket neatly framed buy the trees on the opposite side. It is not a long throw, especially with the elevation change. I seemed like a super long bridge walking across, after an effortless throw. I threw the putter, and was parked. I think the strongest asset for this course is not having to throw hard on 19 of the 24 holes, and still being consistently fun and not too repetitive. Fairways are mixed well right and left turns, some very tight, some really open, some short and some long. If your drives are on point, and your putter is working, this course could be a birdie-palooza.

All of the holes had good maps with distance, and decent concrete tees. The park also had additional signage between holes to guide the way. The baskets were all fine. There was 2 baskets in place on hole thirteen. Keep walking past the long basket to get to the next tee. A really nice park overall.
Cons: There can be other park patrons in the peripheral areas near the first 8 holes, and possibly on the hike/bike trails in the woods as well. Transitions between holes are sometimes distant, but fairly well marked. Not the most challenging course. High skilled players may get bored destroying it well before 24 holes is done.
Other Thoughts: Glenn C. Hilton Memorial has has character to every hole, and most of the 24 are good to great quality. Sure, the 165 foot, straight downhill, hole 20 is a little cheesy, and there are only 3 par fours. There are more than enough great holes to make up for a couple of average ones. The last hole is worth playing the entire course alone for me. Very glad I made the trip to play disc golf here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great work in progress.

1    1/19/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 56  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A couple really great hole designs. Mostly perfect concrete pads. All great baskets. Challenging, in a good way for the most part. A couple really fun holes, like the #20 downhill ace run and of course the grand finale #24 across-the-valley shot.
Cons: #15 could use a few trees removed, unless they're going for that throw-and-pray type shot. Some of the tee signs are not accurate (#4 was especially confusing, could just be me). I always prefer when the course loops back to the parking lot after 9 (or 18), but you have to commit to the whole thing on this one.
Other Thoughts: Why a 24 hole course? Not that it really matters, but that's a bit confusing. Overall though, a wide variety of shots are needed, which is fun. The course is mostly wooded and some fairways are tight, so get ready to bounce around a bit. Definitely not a beginner course, but a great round for advanced players.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rugged

1    11/1/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Rugged. If I were allowed to stop there, I'd be tempted to do so, having satisfactorily described the course at Glen Hilton. But onwards we go. While not as mountainous as some of the courses in the western part of the state, this one boasts terrain that will challenge you to walk across it. Hole 3 traverses a slope so steep that I wouldn't be surprised if at some point, on slick day, a person rolled all the way to the waters edge. Now try and get your disc to stick on that.

The terrain here, especially in the front nine, is so varied and unique that memorable and challenging holes are the rule and not the exception. 1 is simple enough. It's a warm-up shot across an open field. But the next seven hole-stretch is one of the best grouping of holes that I've come across. 2 is an open hole, at least from the tee. The fair turns into some woods where the basket is perched in the middle of a long, steep slope. The approach is thus very tricky. 3 is the aforementioned side slope. 4 is an open field but with the basket protected by a shield of foliage. Teeshots will have to be placed just so to create a reasonable approach angle. 5 is parallel to the river again, this time, with the basket to the right of the fairway, again on a slope which leads to the water. (Fantastic chance to swoop in from left to right) 6 is a flat hole with a steeply uphill approach shot and 7 is a long arc to the left, with the river to the right. My favorite of the bunch is 8. The tee, fairway and basket occupy a thin, flat space, clinging to the side of hill. It's another chance to go right to left, this time attempting to stick it on a ledge.

I don't usually like hole-by-hole descriptions, but with this particular group, I had to do it. That group is just too fun and too interesting to leave any one of them out of the review. If the course becomes less interesting after that point, it's only because the early holes set the bar so high. The rest of the course, while still featuring some solid climbs, is more typical of North Carolina courses. They're good solid holes, but they aren't more than that.

That is until the last one. 24 is a breathtaking hole, over a wide, deep ravine to a slope on the other side. (Look at the pictures) Getting one to stick is especially gratifying as there is a long bridge which crosses over the valley. Now, I love bridges that lead to eighteenth greens. They always make me feel like it's Sunday at a major. This one might be my favorite of those as it potentially comes directly after that long, successful shot. It's such a long bridge, it's almost impossible not to wave to the gallery.
Cons: It's not that the last sixteen holes are bad, or boring, but they blend together, and don't do much that isn't happening all across the state. If they were a course in themselves they'd be a 3.5. Whereas if there were another ten holes to match the first eight, that course would be 4.5 in my book. So it's not a con really, but an explanation of my rating after raving about the first third of this course.

The biggest flaw is a bit of the navigation. It can be easy for a course to get away without arrows if the path is mostly logical. This is the case here but the holes where is not logical are hurt by this. Mostly, this applies to hole 4, where it is clear across a playing field from 3. I finished that hole behind a large group but didn't even have to play through because they wandered off in the wrong direction. I used my downloaded map to get directly there. I was finishing the hole before they found the tee.
Other Thoughts: Upon beginning this review, I noticed that many of the pictures on this website are not accurate. (Follow an older 18-hole layout, I'd guess) For example, the pictures marked as hole 22, show signs for hole 18 and are actually of hole 24. And I couldn't find anything that looked like the hole 8 that I played. I don't know the course well enough to sort out exactly what should be where but if a local does, that would be fantastic. If I had known beforehand, I would have just taken an entire new set. A bunch of holes are extremely photogenic and would be nice to have here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/20/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: skeeterpig
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: As always the course was in good shape. Having multiple baskets on several holes makes it nice to have options. Posting a recreational par also makes it less intimidating for newbies etc.
Cons: Signs missing on holes 19 through 24. Vandalism happens sure, but it dismayed me that one of the regulars who I talked to after thw round didn't seem it was a big deal. Having played the course before it wasn't a big deal, but a first timer would be lost because 2 of the baskets are not visible from the tee. Also more arrows/ signs showing where the next tee is located would be nice. The new pin placement on hole 5 is just plain silly- less then 10 feet from the bank of the stream basically on the beach. Seriously do you guys want people to get discouraged or for some kid who scraped his money together to buy a new disc to lose it? Maybe save that one for tournaments!!!!
Other Thoughts: I don't get to play this course as often as I use to, but it is fun to see how it has grown and matured. One note though if like me you have leg or ankle issues- i have a fused ankle- the length and terrain will test you!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite

2-4    7/29/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: Warthog
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2014
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Difficult to think of anything I like
Cons: Tough, Trees,hilly,mud,water and roots plus bitting things. Bring bug spray. Use old disc you don't mind losing. Use old disc you don't mind hitting trees with. I understand a few trees but this is more like a wall. You need square disc to prevent seeing them roll back past you on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I don't plan to play this course again but it is still more fun than a day at work.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 HoMe CoursE

5+    12/9/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: badsmurph
Played: 146  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1) Tee signs
2) Variety of Shots
3) benches and Trash cans
4) Bridges
5) Easy navigation with next hole direction on tee sign and after basket.
6) Multiple Pins which are changed often
7) elevation
8) new par 4 on 4 but wish position B was used more.
9) the whole park in general.
Cons: 1)erosion
2) Some awkward and crapshoot shots
3) Alot of Luck factor on some holes especially with roll aways.
4) 24 holes so when club plays 18 hole events they play different configurations which cuts in front of casuals and can be confusing at times.
5) Not many driver shots, mostly midrange
6) alot of missing s hooks on basket's chains which effects putts
Other Thoughts: Overall a good home course and strong group of dedicated locals that take ALOT of pride in the course. But it is nice to have a new course in area to throw some different shots.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  greatest course out there

5+    12/11/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: Discgolfandy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: 24 holes well marked benches great locals. Trash cans benches. Lefty righty shots. Alternate baskets. Club members who work hard to keep this course in top shape
Cons: None. I have never not had fun at this course. The regualrs. Are very helpful
Other Thoughts: Play this course!!!!

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/10/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: Suspena kenna
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Good technical holes. 24 bad ass hole. Good view. Easy To find holes. Sign on trees that point to next tee box. Not to many holes u can loose discs long as u keep an eye out. Good amount of seats. One with a shack around it to get away from rain.
Cons: Heavily wooded. A lot of hills. To far away

2 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 pure fun

5+    6/24/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: sharkking15
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Great setup
-beautiful scenerie
-fun course
-multiple holes
-well marked
-every hole has its own personality
-best hole ever invented (#24)
Cons: -ROOTS
-slight water hazard on 3 holes if not careful
-corrosion of hills
Other Thoughts: this course is by far, without a doubt, my favorite course to play at, i drive hours on weekends just to come play whenever i can, HIGHLY recommend you play here if you never have, you will never regret it, and will always want more. watch out for roots when walking or else you could possibly roll your ankle.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.