Hickory, NC 
Glenn C. Hilton Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: thirstydisc Hole #17 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Uphill shot to top of ridge.



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Hickory Disc-ory Golf

1    5/12/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Glenn C. Hilton Memorial Park disc golf offers a dynamic variety of holes, and doesn't call for powerful drives too often. It has 24 holes, and 6 more than usual is always good, I think. Elevation is also always good, to me, and it is pronounced here repeatedly. Water is in play occasionally, but not in a highly threatening way. The first hole is sort of bland, almost wide open and longish. Two begins in the open but changes drastically into a shady slope and the basket is hiding in the back right corner. A good pocket in the trees made for a basket. A third solid, more woodsy hole is tucked into the margins of this nice park. Fourth hole is long open drive until a screen of large trees guards the slope up to the corner target. Five is a cool little waterside RHBH hyzer with sandy bank bottom, and pin planted in an awesome root system of adjacent trees. Six is very similar to five, but uphill. Short and simple, and fun. Seven is another unapologetic, wide open, long bomb, more so than hole one. Just watch out for the water to the right, and the large mound hazards on the left and in front of the green. I got a good look with my Destroyer, and missed a 30 foot putt. 8 has an stage lifting the tee, and the basket is on an equally strange but very cool tall podium with 6 foot basket. Both are situated on similar parts of the same ridge, that naturally shapes the fairway and tree line. Very cool hole. The remainder of the course is primarily wooded, and short. Eleven, thirteen, and sixteen measure over 400 feet. Every other hole is in the 180-250 . Thirteen has a great shelter rest area to take a rest before you "make the turn". Elevation changes kick in around hole twelve. Sixteen is the longest hole, and theres a lot of trees between the pad and the target. Trust me - do your best to stay on the fairway here. All of them are good holes, nothing that stands out - until the final hole. Twentyfour is a beauty of a finishing hole. A tee box sits high on one side of a inlet of the lake. Plenty of airspace to clear the gap, and basket neatly framed buy the trees on the opposite side. It is not a long throw, especially with the elevation change. I seemed like a super long bridge walking across, after an effortless throw. I threw the putter, and was parked. I think the strongest asset for this course is not having to throw hard on 19 of the 24 holes, and still being consistently fun and not too repetitive. Fairways are mixed well right and left turns, some very tight, some really open, some short and some long. If your drives are on point, and your putter is working, this course could be a birdie-palooza.

All of the holes had good maps with distance, and decent concrete tees. The park also had additional signage between holes to guide the way. The baskets were all fine. There was 2 baskets in place on hole thirteen. Keep walking past the long basket to get to the next tee. A really nice park overall.
Cons: There can be other park patrons in the peripheral areas near the first 8 holes, and possibly on the hike/bike trails in the woods as well. Transitions between holes are sometimes distant, but fairly well marked. Not the most challenging course. High skilled players may get bored destroying it well before 24 holes is done.
Other Thoughts: Glenn C. Hilton Memorial has has character to every hole, and most of the 24 are good to great quality. Sure, the 165 foot, straight downhill, hole 20 is a little cheesy, and there are only 3 par fours. There are more than enough great holes to make up for a couple of average ones. The last hole is worth playing the entire course alone for me. Very glad I made the trip to play disc golf here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rugged

1    11/1/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Rugged. If I were allowed to stop there, I'd be tempted to do so, having satisfactorily described the course at Glen Hilton. But onwards we go. While not as mountainous as some of the courses in the western part of the state, this one boasts terrain that will challenge you to walk across it. Hole 3 traverses a slope so steep that I wouldn't be surprised if at some point, on slick day, a person rolled all the way to the waters edge. Now try and get your disc to stick on that.

The terrain here, especially in the front nine, is so varied and unique that memorable and challenging holes are the rule and not the exception. 1 is simple enough. It's a warm-up shot across an open field. But the next seven hole-stretch is one of the best grouping of holes that I've come across. 2 is an open hole, at least from the tee. The fair turns into some woods where the basket is perched in the middle of a long, steep slope. The approach is thus very tricky. 3 is the aforementioned side slope. 4 is an open field but with the basket protected by a shield of foliage. Teeshots will have to be placed just so to create a reasonable approach angle. 5 is parallel to the river again, this time, with the basket to the right of the fairway, again on a slope which leads to the water. (Fantastic chance to swoop in from left to right) 6 is a flat hole with a steeply uphill approach shot and 7 is a long arc to the left, with the river to the right. My favorite of the bunch is 8. The tee, fairway and basket occupy a thin, flat space, clinging to the side of hill. It's another chance to go right to left, this time attempting to stick it on a ledge.

I don't usually like hole-by-hole descriptions, but with this particular group, I had to do it. That group is just too fun and too interesting to leave any one of them out of the review. If the course becomes less interesting after that point, it's only because the early holes set the bar so high. The rest of the course, while still featuring some solid climbs, is more typical of North Carolina courses. They're good solid holes, but they aren't more than that.

That is until the last one. 24 is a breathtaking hole, over a wide, deep ravine to a slope on the other side. (Look at the pictures) Getting one to stick is especially gratifying as there is a long bridge which crosses over the valley. Now, I love bridges that lead to eighteenth greens. They always make me feel like it's Sunday at a major. This one might be my favorite of those as it potentially comes directly after that long, successful shot. It's such a long bridge, it's almost impossible not to wave to the gallery.
Cons: It's not that the last sixteen holes are bad, or boring, but they blend together, and don't do much that isn't happening all across the state. If they were a course in themselves they'd be a 3.5. Whereas if there were another ten holes to match the first eight, that course would be 4.5 in my book. So it's not a con really, but an explanation of my rating after raving about the first third of this course.

The biggest flaw is a bit of the navigation. It can be easy for a course to get away without arrows if the path is mostly logical. This is the case here but the holes where is not logical are hurt by this. Mostly, this applies to hole 4, where it is clear across a playing field from 3. I finished that hole behind a large group but didn't even have to play through because they wandered off in the wrong direction. I used my downloaded map to get directly there. I was finishing the hole before they found the tee.
Other Thoughts: Upon beginning this review, I noticed that many of the pictures on this website are not accurate. (Follow an older 18-hole layout, I'd guess) For example, the pictures marked as hole 22, show signs for hole 18 and are actually of hole 24. And I couldn't find anything that looked like the hole 8 that I played. I don't know the course well enough to sort out exactly what should be where but if a local does, that would be fantastic. If I had known beforehand, I would have just taken an entire new set. A bunch of holes are extremely photogenic and would be nice to have here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to Navigate / Challenging to Play

1    6/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: illuminatefreak
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - GREAT signage. Almost don't even need course map. Signs at baskets point to next tee. Really nice to navigate for a first timer (which I was).
- Very fun layout.
- Practice basket
- Being almost all wooded, tight yet fair lines force you to be accurate.
- Various holes, distance, and angles makes you have to really shape your shots.
- Clean, with trash bins at every hole.
- Hole 24 is very fun (over a ravine). Could be a con for a newbie who might be struggling with distance on their drive.
Cons: - Being mostly wooded, it was difficult to feel consistent as a fairly new(er) player. Trees definitely create challenges.
- Signs at tees aren't updated (some show two baskets where only one exists). Use the course map on here for that since they updated the course.
- Lots of roots just waiting for a twisted ankle (almost rolled mine twice). Just watch where you're stepping and you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: Visiting the in-laws in Mocksville. Decided to make the 50 minute drive to check this one out. Definitely glad we did. Would love to have this as a home course to really hone in on carving specific lines with different discs.

Disc choice is pretty big here as well. I went for drivers when I clearly should have gone for mid range.

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Hope to return next time we're visiting.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 excellent course

1    6/17/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 24 holes!
Friendly local club members glad to offer advice or directions
informative signs
practice basket
good mix of hole styles (open, tight, up, down, level, side sloping, left dogleg, right dogleg, straight, long, short, blind, ace potential, 4-if-you're-lucky)
beautiful natural scenery
Cons: crowded (both on the course and in the park)
big rec groups just takin' their time...
hard to navigate (Read and decode the signs!)
near a road on at least one hole
parking lot pretty full
Other Thoughts: I was passing through on I 40 and decided to take the detour in Hickory to play this reputable course. No regrets at all.

It was a sunny Sunday afternoon in June, and as you might expect, this beautiful wooded park in the mountains was packed. Disc golfers and picnickers and hikers.

Hole 1 had a large group of teenagers who were not moving along very fast. I decided to skip ahead to an open hole, and didn't study the map carefully. I had a hard time finding a hole without someone playing it. I missed a couple of holes because I didn't know where they were. Anyway, I finally found an empty fairway, which turned out to be hole 21. I played 21-24 before going back to 1, which is by the parking lot. The signs depict the different pin positions. At first I didn't realize that they also tell which position it is in currently. On the signpost, the position letters are listed in a column, with a screw or something next to the appropriate letter. That info would have been very helpful to me on the last 4. At least a couple of blind holes there.

The signs also have a pointer to the next hole, and it's important to note the direction before teeing off and chasing down the disc.

Anyway, I made it back to 1, and a couple of locals were sitting there, and explained all that to me. One of them offered to tag along and play a round with me. Jay was full of good advice.

At hole 9, there was a family lounging in the middle of the fairway, and we decided to just skip the hole. It was a pretty open shot across a meadow.

At the next hole (I think) we were behind another big group of rec-level teenagers who seemed to take forever. It was a nice side-slanted fairway, with elevated tee and elevated basket. downhill to the left was a lot of foliage (in June) above the slow, clear creek.

One hole (maybe 17?) I came really close to getting an ace. A tight short fairway, and I threw a Roadrunner RHFH. Got a slight S curve, snaked between some branches I didn't intend to go between, and hit the yellow at the top of the basket!

Some other holes I felt really good about getting it in 4 strokes (and there were some I failed to get in 4).

You should have several hours set aside to play when you come here. There's a lot of walking up and down hills, and sometimes it's hard to find the next hole, and since the place can be crowded, and there are 24 holes, you're going to be there for a while.

Just walking the course would be good strenuous exercise, and I was worn out after playing this course.

I'm not likely to drive through Hickory without stopping here in the future!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 LOOK OUT FOR THAT...tree.

2-4    5/19/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, grass stays cut, very challenging, 24 holes, the last hole is amazing, they have the ability to move the baskets around so each time out is a little different, benches along the way.
Cons: Parking (on most nice weathered weekends the parking lot fills up quick), the wait (again, on most nice weathered weekends you will be waiting behind people to play, which isn't alot of fun when you are a group of 2 waiting behind a group of 6 that even if they let you pass are waiting on others themselves), can be overly challenging for new comers, very few holes that allow for long open drives so that you can just "sling" it, I remember one or two holes being somewhat difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very good challenging course that stays busy for obvious reasons.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded NC DG Cranked to 11

1    5/17/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 holes of good, quality golf. Not a bad hole to be found really. The first hole is the most boring, a routine field hole BUT it makes sense to have that for a warm-up. The last hole is the bomb, or rather a bomb over a valley, one of the best finishing holes I've played.

For the most part, you're in the woods, fighting and clawing your away among roots and up and down hills and navigating slopes. Lots of otherwise routine holes make you think twice b/c of roll away potential. Not the longest course but a good mix of length, trees, and lines. No two holes feel the same, from hole-to-hole it really mixes up the lines well. Some water OB in the form of a large creek/small river provides some pucker factor if you kick off the fairway too hard.

Lots of pin placements, which is rad, and the tee signs do a great job of letting you know which hole you're going for, distances, etc. Despite the age of this course, these signs are in remarkably good shape. The concrete tees are more than serviceable. Benches on every hole.

The course flows extremely well.
Cons: Not many. The worst part of this course is the erosion as there are exposed roots all over the place. There are some great places where an erosion barrier would greatly enhance the quality of the holes, like one between holes 20 & 21 for example. Put along the first high slope b/w the basket for 20 and the tee for 21, it would eventually create a neat little trench to shoot over for 21 or skip perilously into for 20, rather than just an eroded slope of meh like it is now.

The tees have some texture to them, occasionally my pivot foot (I wear Merrell Moabs) was prevented from pivoting for some reason. The tees are mostly good though, although some have a little gangsta lean to them.

Other Thoughts: This course reminds me a lot of Valley Springs and Johnson St, but it's better than both, easily really. Especially if you like wooded courses. I'd love to rate this course higher but the erosion kind of bothers me. If the club spent as much time carving in steps and barriers as they do carving their initials into dead trees and the lawn, it would be a non-issue.

Aside from that, it's hard to have a funner round of golf; this course would be great for doubles.

Favorite/Signature Hole: #24, duh. Who doesn't want to air out a drive over an ivy covered valley complete with a little creek?

Honorable Mentions goes to hole 20, just a simple but always fun downhill putter hole. Actually, the basket is tucked so close behind a tree that you're really better off going OH.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not Paris

1    4/1/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Fully-equipped tee locations:
* Long-n-wide-flat concrete teepads
* Teesigns showing all the possible pin positions, and indicating the currently-used position
* Benches and Trashcans

Friendly locals:
I was passing through the area, and had just one chance to play the course. I happened to arrive at the start of the bi-weekly tag match, but I was invited to join as a non-participant, and shown about the course by Dan, Aaron-Y, and Aaron-W. Aaron (Y, I think), about half my age, went over-and-beyond the call of duty when he retrieved my overthrown Mako on #7 from a steeply-banked creek!
Cons:
The park is quite popular with non-players, which can make finding parking a challenge, and create some delays on some of the early holes, as they play somewhat near walking paths and open spaces.
Other Thoughts:
Course initially plays in-to, out-from, and across the relatively flat open space at the front/near the creek of a multi-purpose park, then spends the bulk of its time playing up, down, and across multiple wooded slopes at the back of the park. Definitely more wooded than open, offering a wide variety of challenges, but avoiding the extremes. The types of challenges you'll face include:
* Looming out-of-bounds - a few of the holes will have ob, typically to the right, along the fairway/near the basket
* Precarious basket locations - a few of the baskets are located on/near steep slopes or mini-cliffs
* Woods combined with length - a few of the wooded holes are quite long, requiring a specific landing zone to be hit in order to have a reasonable approach shot to the basket
* Shot-shaping - while straight-n-true or subtle turns (both lefts and rights) will serve you well on most holes, there a definitely a few meat-hook shots
* Elevation - on the flat-side initially, there is a mixture up, down (some pretty steep), across slope, and valley tosses to overcome when avoiding trees at the same time

Even w/o playing with locals, navigation was simple, as the map is accurate, and there are plenty of next-tee signs.

Very good course. Unless you like them super-tight or super-long, you should enjoy your round here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/30/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: Cwisicle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Always in nice shape, the maps for each hole is accurate and the next tee signs are perfect to find where to walk to next hole if not familiar with the area.
Cons: Most of holes are in woods and need adequate shoes, can twist ankle very easily or stumble. What do you expect walking through woods though.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/20/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: Pooterpig
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I thought the course lay out was great! Nice practice basket. The course demands all the shots in your bag. Hyzer and anhyzer shot's. Good elevation changes and use of water hazards. All the different pin locations was really cool. As this way my first time playing this course, I really like the screws showing which basket location was in use. A pleasure to walk. Benches and trash can's on all the holes was a big plus!
Cons: Some of the holes in the middle felt a little cramped. But there are 24 holes!
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this course to anyone.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Technical Course

2-4    7/21/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 23 holes with a majority of them having multiple pin placements. If a hole has multiple pin locations, there is a screw in the sign post indicating which position the box is in.

22 of the 23 holes are very fair with the only unfair hole being 15.5. I am assuming that they will work on making a fairer fairway on this hole as there is little to no line currently from the tee-pad to the basket.

There are signs with arrows which lead you from one basket to the next tee; you may have to look above eye level to see these signs.

Elevation comes into play on almost every hole and a creek is in play on 2 or 3 holes(right side of fairway). There are a variety of shots and the most of the shorter holes play longer due to throwing uphill. Most of the holes have a righty and a lefty route to the basket.

While benches are not on every hole, they are generally located on ever 2 - 4 holes apart.

Teepads are nice as only 1 or two could be improved by making it another foot longer.
Cons: Hole 15 is an approximately 425 foot hole. The teepad is currently an old conveyor belt. This would be a nice teepad except for the fact the ground underneath it is not level.

Hole 15.5 has little to no line from basket to tee.

This is a multiuse park and it is not common to see people on the hiking trails that run near some of the holes. Not really a con but you have to keep an eye out on really busy days.
Other Thoughts: Do not play this course if you are not in shape! I am in somewhat decent shape and halfway during the second round I was wanting to quit. Of course it didn't help that it was in the mid 90s that day with high humidity. I finished the second round but I could definitely tell that my body had spent all of its energy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.