Hickory, NC 
Glenn C. Hilton Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: thirstydisc Hole #13 (Taken 1/2014)
4 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Baskets: Two longest positions B (par 3) and C (par 4). The basket in B rotates between A and B positions.



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
pure fun

5+    6/24/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: sharkking15
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Great setup
-beautiful scenerie
-fun course
-multiple holes
-well marked
-every hole has its own personality
-best hole ever invented (#24)
Cons: -ROOTS
-slight water hazard on 3 holes if not careful
-corrosion of hills
Other Thoughts: this course is by far, without a doubt, my favorite course to play at, i drive hours on weekends just to come play whenever i can, HIGHLY recommend you play here if you never have, you will never regret it, and will always want more. watch out for roots when walking or else you could possibly roll your ankle.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/10/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: themanlevan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great Signs. Mapped out well on the tee boxes and signs at the baskets are good. Nice atmosphere and cool picture spots with the UFO made of logs and carved into trees. Really just a nice well kept course
Cons: Really none unless you have to look for your disc on #24. It can get tricky if you have too. The group i play with has some iffy arms sometimes, including mine.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. it's challenging in places and some more of a relief. Worth the time i've spent playing it

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 "Funomenal"

5+    10/22/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: Middy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For me, a fun course is one where I get to throw my mid range discs/shots off the tee a good bit and this course is ideal for that. Hyzers, anhyzers, forehand, backhand, thumbers- they all have their place on this course. I typically throw a driver on few holes- but I don't have to throw over 400ft. to have a chance at a birdie. I love wooded courses like this one- tight but fair. There are no silly mandos or man made out-of-bounds needed on this naturally well designed course. Easy parking, nice putting basket, great signage, comfortable seating for four people at each hole, excellent tee boxes- this one has all the amenities one could ask for in a disc golf course. I will spare you the hole-by-hole analysis.
Cons: There is and will continue to be some issues with erosion. In a tourney, I missed a 25ft. birdie putt that quickly became a roll-away and a 7 on the score card. That was my fault. Eventually, the erosion may negatively impact the trees and that should be addressed.
Other Thoughts: This was one of my favorite courses even before they added four great new holes. If you are local- you already love it. Road tripping to western NC? Play this one and Richmond Hill in Asheville. You will be glad that you did.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/26/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: catfishhunter
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is awesome. The park is beautiful and well laid out. The local club does an excellent job of maintaining the course. Good facilities, benches and signs at every hole, multiple pin locations at most holes and they are moved frequently which is very nice. There is a very good mix of left and right shots, uphill and downhill shots, lots of trees which make you think about how you'd like approach each hole.

There a only a few holes (#1, #8 and #12) that let you open up and crank a drive. Slower, more controlled throws are the keys to success on this course. If you stay on the fairway the course is very manageable but if you hit a tree or go off the fairway you'll have to make a very good shot to save par.

#5, #7 and #22 are my favorite holes. #5 and #7 both play alongside the creek that runs through the park. The creek is pretty easy to avoid but it can get inside your head a little. For RHBH players, turning your disc over can spell disaster. #22 is very cool with 4 different pin locations. You'll throw a short shot over a deep gulley filled with kudzu. All three of these holes are good places to pick up a birdie.

There are a number of holes that can really mess up a good round here. It's not uncommon to hit the basket on an approach shot or putt only to watch your disc roll 50 feet down a hill, which can be funny when it happens to your buddy but is a real bummer if it happens to you.
Cons: The only thing that keeps me from giving this course a rating of 5 is that there are a few holes (#11 with the pin in the long, #13 and #14) that are basically a crapshoot. There isn't a definable route to take or gap to hit. On these holes you basically throw and then pray that your shot doesn't hit a tree and makes its way through. I have birdied these holes and it's not impossible but it is about 80% luck that your shot will make it through the trees.
Other Thoughts: I love playing here but it's not really a good beginners course. The trees and tight holes can be discouraging to new players. However, the guys at the local club are very nice and helpful. I've learned a lot by playing with them over the last year.
I've played here over 30 times and it feels like a new course every time I go out. If you're in the area or want to take a little roadtrip this is very good/fun place to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WET AND WILD

1    10/31/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: jackrbailey72
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where do I start....
I am rating this as a 4.5 simply because it was truly PHENOMENAL and I want to reserve the 5....maybe I will change my mind...***This is the BEST course I have played to date***I played this course in the rain today with 52 degree temps and loved it. For the UFO's...your commitment to the sport and to your course is evident and very much appreciated.

1)Course Layout- This course is laid out PERFECTLY in tune and in line with its surroundings. Every hole is an adventure in itself, which is one of the reaons I LOVED this course. The mix of long, short, open, tight, up hill, down hill, cross the Kudzu valley on 18...plus a very plesant walk in the woods...
2) Signage...THIS COURSE IS THE STANDARD, in my HUMBLE opinion. Perfect signage and directional signs, hole layout, basket placement...EVEN the practice basket says, "PRACTICE" on it. BRAVO!!!!!!!
3) Risk versus Reward- A+...every single hole caused an internal dialogue...do a lay up or do I bomb it? Do I spike hyzer or keep the disc below the tree line and work the shot? What happends if....you catch my drift...This was SUCH a neat treat because not only was I playing in the rain, playing a course I never played before, but I was playing THE COURSE....today it won..+2...
4) Architectural detail- I say this because of the DIFFERENT shots that I had to make today because of the fairway shapes, hole placements, uphills, downhills...alone today I had to execute straight shots, Hyzer/A-Hyzer, Thumber, Tomahawk, long put, short put, roller, skip shot, and a PUT UP or SHUT UP 200' drive (normally not a big deal) acoss a Kudzu valley..
5) Practice area. NICE open practice area (well marked as stated above) and adjacent to the parking lot and Hole #1. I state this as a Pro because it is nice to have an area where you can short put and long put for warmups, plus be near your car for a quick change if you under or over dressed
6) Online course map. This map was GREAT...it was VERY easy navigating the course, but it was nice to have such an accurate and detailed map to have as a back up...I drove over 2 hours to play this course and did not spend my time searching for baskets or tee pads....
7) Course Condition. A+++...PROPS to the UFO's...guys, your course is OUTSTANDING and I appreciated the attention to detail with the benches, signage, directional signs, but more importantly there are no downed trees in the fairways, or psycho underbrush. The steps, bridges, and benches are in GREAT if not PERFECT shape, and it is CLEAN...AHHHH...how refreshing...AND...nice Info Kiosk...it represents you guys and gals wells and hats off to the UFO's...Oh, I would be remiss if I did not mention on Hole #2 HOW COOL of a idea was it to dig out UFO in the fairway...NICE TOUCH!!
Cons: Cons....Hmmm, the ONLY con I can think of is that this course is over 2 hours away from me (I live in Chilhowie, VA).
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the person who previously posted the GPS address....this was SPOT ON...thanks...I can see where it would get tricky without that.
For me, this is disc golf, This is why I have fallen in love with this sport. On a very serious note, THANKS UFO'S. You have a great course and I appreciate the love and attention you show your course. It made it a very PLEASANT trip and I plan to be back...
Favorite Holes-
#2- I LOVE this hole...one slip up or left turn of the disc and you are toast!!! Nice little holeshot hole and steep drop on the other side of the paved trail...
#10...I nearly aced this hole...I hit the basket and it hit the tree right in front...
Hole 7.5- I will always refer to this as the BASTARD hole...a simple little hole, but that little L to R curve and across the ravene took me by suprise...but it was fun...
Hole 18- I have to admit that a 200' drive is really not a big deal for me, but put kudzu between you and the basket and a ZERO chance of finding your disc if you shank it, PRICELESS....got my blood pumping....
GO PLAY THIS COURSE...This was such a great round for me and worth every minute of travel and gallon of gas. You have restrooms/changing area (CLEAN, too), great playground areas and places for the family to play while dad is in the woods chasing discs...safe area of Hickory in a nice neighborhood, but most importantly a very family-oriented, clean, and inviting place to come to!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What a gem!

2-4    8/18/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: glax
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the best courses I've ever played. Great layout. Mixture of open and wooded holes. Fun elevation changes and shot shaping. When you're in the woods the age of this course really shows in a good way. Very mature lanes and well maintained. You will empty your bag on #18. What a great tee shot!
Cons: I'd be nitpicking. This place is amazing! You can't see the basket on #2, it is a blind shot over a hill into the woods. Great hole, just took a while to figure out where to go. Beware of runners/walkers on the trails, everyone seemed to understand it was a disc golf course. Take your time on the pad and locate the next tee because with all the trails it is easy to get turned around.
Other Thoughts: Play this course! You won't regret it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 hickory

2-4    6/5/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: chingaling
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this course is one of my favorite courses around, its an all par 3 but don't let that fool you, the slopes and the roots on the ground will make your frisbee roll like you wouldnt believe, and watch out for the main creek running through the course, a couple holes hug it tight.
this is a good course for a beginner to play around with there shots, great course to try to ace some holes, park is great, really really, top notch.

have fun with #18 , fun hole
Cons: if your out of shape, this park isnt for you, by all means wear comfortable shoes, you'll be walking up and down slopes from hole 3ish on out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/29/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: JackAce
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off I wanna say that the UFO club does a great job in all aspects for this course. The course is unbelievably well maintained. Holes are sponsored by local businesses. Weekly tournaments. The guys are super nice and always helpful.
All that and it's in a very nice park.
The course is heavily wooded and is easy to navigate. I think they are up to 22 holes and most have multiple pin placements. Concrete tee pads, great signage, and trash receptacles throughout course. Heavily wooded and has a creek to contend with on 3, 5, 7, and 22. Challenging course, but not frustratingly so. Just a beautiful layout. The final hole is just awesome. Tee pad is right on the edge of a gully that you throw across.
Cons: Getting from 3-4 can be confusing, as it's the only "long trek" between holes. Just cross the field to the right and you can see the tee pad. On the weekends the park can get crowded so parking can be an issue. There are a couple of different parking areas but it fills up fast.
Other Thoughts: Just an all around great course. Challenging holes. Aceable holes. Great people.
If you are anywhere in the area this is a must play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive.

1    1/9/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: lukegardner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of shots required to do well.
Challenging but not impossibly challenging, could be ideal for a huge variety of players since there are "short" and "long" pins on a number of the holes.
Well maintained by the locals.
Great layout - you end up close to where you start and don't have to double back.
Absolutely beautiful area.
Elevation changes keep things interesting.
18th hole is very fun, it's a short (200 ft. or so) throw over a deep ravine; a lot of the other holes are interesting as well.
You'll have to use forehand and backhand throws as the pin locations are often hard left or right of the tees.
Great signage. Since the tees are often in somewhat counter-intuitive places, there's a plethora of markers on trees and on the tee cards that tell you where to go next.
Other Thoughts: I was very pleasantly surprised by this course, it's a must-play if you're within an hour of the area. I'd love to play this course again as it's (almost) the best course I've ever played.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.