Hickory, NC 
Glenn C. Hilton Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: thirstydisc Hole #13 (Taken 1/2014)
4 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Baskets: Two longest positions B (par 3) and C (par 4). The basket in B rotates between A and B positions.



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    7/10/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: themanlevan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great Signs. Mapped out well on the tee boxes and signs at the baskets are good. Nice atmosphere and cool picture spots with the UFO made of logs and carved into trees. Really just a nice well kept course
Cons: Really none unless you have to look for your disc on #24. It can get tricky if you have too. The group i play with has some iffy arms sometimes, including mine.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. it's challenging in places and some more of a relief. Worth the time i've spent playing it

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to Navigate / Challenging to Play

1    6/30/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: illuminatefreak
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - GREAT signage. Almost don't even need course map. Signs at baskets point to next tee. Really nice to navigate for a first timer (which I was).
- Very fun layout.
- Practice basket
- Being almost all wooded, tight yet fair lines force you to be accurate.
- Various holes, distance, and angles makes you have to really shape your shots.
- Clean, with trash bins at every hole.
- Hole 24 is very fun (over a ravine). Could be a con for a newbie who might be struggling with distance on their drive.
Cons: - Being mostly wooded, it was difficult to feel consistent as a fairly new(er) player. Trees definitely create challenges.
- Signs at tees aren't updated (some show two baskets where only one exists). Use the course map on here for that since they updated the course.
- Lots of roots just waiting for a twisted ankle (almost rolled mine twice). Just watch where you're stepping and you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: Visiting the in-laws in Mocksville. Decided to make the 50 minute drive to check this one out. Definitely glad we did. Would love to have this as a home course to really hone in on carving specific lines with different discs.

Disc choice is pretty big here as well. I went for drivers when I clearly should have gone for mid range.

Thoroughly enjoyed the course. Hope to return next time we're visiting.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 excellent course

1    6/17/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 24 holes!
Friendly local club members glad to offer advice or directions
informative signs
practice basket
good mix of hole styles (open, tight, up, down, level, side sloping, left dogleg, right dogleg, straight, long, short, blind, ace potential, 4-if-you're-lucky)
beautiful natural scenery
Cons: crowded (both on the course and in the park)
big rec groups just takin' their time...
hard to navigate (Read and decode the signs!)
near a road on at least one hole
parking lot pretty full
Other Thoughts: I was passing through on I 40 and decided to take the detour in Hickory to play this reputable course. No regrets at all.

It was a sunny Sunday afternoon in June, and as you might expect, this beautiful wooded park in the mountains was packed. Disc golfers and picnickers and hikers.

Hole 1 had a large group of teenagers who were not moving along very fast. I decided to skip ahead to an open hole, and didn't study the map carefully. I had a hard time finding a hole without someone playing it. I missed a couple of holes because I didn't know where they were. Anyway, I finally found an empty fairway, which turned out to be hole 21. I played 21-24 before going back to 1, which is by the parking lot. The signs depict the different pin positions. At first I didn't realize that they also tell which position it is in currently. On the signpost, the position letters are listed in a column, with a screw or something next to the appropriate letter. That info would have been very helpful to me on the last 4. At least a couple of blind holes there.

The signs also have a pointer to the next hole, and it's important to note the direction before teeing off and chasing down the disc.

Anyway, I made it back to 1, and a couple of locals were sitting there, and explained all that to me. One of them offered to tag along and play a round with me. Jay was full of good advice.

At hole 9, there was a family lounging in the middle of the fairway, and we decided to just skip the hole. It was a pretty open shot across a meadow.

At the next hole (I think) we were behind another big group of rec-level teenagers who seemed to take forever. It was a nice side-slanted fairway, with elevated tee and elevated basket. downhill to the left was a lot of foliage (in June) above the slow, clear creek.

One hole (maybe 17?) I came really close to getting an ace. A tight short fairway, and I threw a Roadrunner RHFH. Got a slight S curve, snaked between some branches I didn't intend to go between, and hit the yellow at the top of the basket!

Some other holes I felt really good about getting it in 4 strokes (and there were some I failed to get in 4).

You should have several hours set aside to play when you come here. There's a lot of walking up and down hills, and sometimes it's hard to find the next hole, and since the place can be crowded, and there are 24 holes, you're going to be there for a while.

Just walking the course would be good strenuous exercise, and I was worn out after playing this course.

I'm not likely to drive through Hickory without stopping here in the future!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 LOOK OUT FOR THAT...tree.

2-4    5/19/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, grass stays cut, very challenging, 24 holes, the last hole is amazing, they have the ability to move the baskets around so each time out is a little different, benches along the way.
Cons: Parking (on most nice weathered weekends the parking lot fills up quick), the wait (again, on most nice weathered weekends you will be waiting behind people to play, which isn't alot of fun when you are a group of 2 waiting behind a group of 6 that even if they let you pass are waiting on others themselves), can be overly challenging for new comers, very few holes that allow for long open drives so that you can just "sling" it, I remember one or two holes being somewhat difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very good challenging course that stays busy for obvious reasons.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Holy Hilton!

1    5/19/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - Bring your big bag of discs and your A game because you will be tested. You will have to hit tight gaps, place shots to make turns, place shots to not roll down hills, place shots to not be behind a grove of trees 5' from the basket. From a technical standpoint the course has it all, if you love to shape shots and think about just what the hell you're going to do this is the course for you.

This course is a banner child for risk/reward on a good many holes. If you go for the basket it can cost you, accuracy and creativity are a key here. The good thing about this course is that you still have multiple options to get there, it's just that rarely are any of them easy.

Got elevation? Yeah the place is hilly and not every hole is on an incline but the ones that are make things really interesting. Even a good many greens are on no joke type hills.

Another huge plus for this course is the multiple basket positions that really change up the hole lengths on some holes.

The course does give you more than just wooded insanity, the front nine while not all open is more of defined fairway type part of the course and has a few park type open holes with sparse trees.

There's a creek running through some of the holes as well which adds a nice touch of difficulty and the brush here can be thick and punishing in parts.

The greens and basket locations are very well designed and really add another layer of difficulty on top of an already challenging layout.

Equipment - Nice large concrete teepads and newer baskets. There signage here is very well done and let's you know which position the basket is in. I think there were benches on just about every hole which is a good thing for a course with 24 holes, hills and punishment. There's navigational clues along the routes as well.

Atmosphere - The park is beautiful aside from the erosion but for me that kinda adds to it all. The exposed roots add another level of difficulty and keep you on your toes while walking. It looked like a pretty heavily used park but aside form the first few holes you are pretty secluded from it all which is a huge pro for me. All of the club graffiti they've thrown in to random parts adds a nice touch.
Cons: Layout - One of the better designed courses I've played but... it doesn't mix up the wooded and sorta open holes enough for me. I know it wouldn't flow as well but it does get kinda monotonous at some point and I can't really tell where. There's just some holes that kind of blend together on the back part, you go in to the woods and never really come out.

There's a few long holes on the course but only a couple really let you rip it and that's one thing adds to my enjoyment. If the course had two or three more open bomber holes thrown in the back 14 I'd be in love and the course would be rated higher.

Equipment - I could see this course needing some kind of effort to stop the erosion, hopefully the club will address that looming problem soon enough.

Atmosphere - Finding this course is confusing, there are like 900 6th streets in Hickory so make sure you're going to 6th NW.
Other Thoughts: I could list the holes I loved but that would take to many words, so I'll just say #24 is badass. I've played valley holes before but this one is special, it's not incredibly difficult but it's just that badass and a great finishing hole; puts the course over the top.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded NC DG Cranked to 11

1    5/17/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 24 holes of good, quality golf. Not a bad hole to be found really. The first hole is the most boring, a routine field hole BUT it makes sense to have that for a warm-up. The last hole is the bomb, or rather a bomb over a valley, one of the best finishing holes I've played.

For the most part, you're in the woods, fighting and clawing your away among roots and up and down hills and navigating slopes. Lots of otherwise routine holes make you think twice b/c of roll away potential. Not the longest course but a good mix of length, trees, and lines. No two holes feel the same, from hole-to-hole it really mixes up the lines well. Some water OB in the form of a large creek/small river provides some pucker factor if you kick off the fairway too hard.

Lots of pin placements, which is rad, and the tee signs do a great job of letting you know which hole you're going for, distances, etc. Despite the age of this course, these signs are in remarkably good shape. The concrete tees are more than serviceable. Benches on every hole.

The course flows extremely well.
Cons: Not many. The worst part of this course is the erosion as there are exposed roots all over the place. There are some great places where an erosion barrier would greatly enhance the quality of the holes, like one between holes 20 & 21 for example. Put along the first high slope b/w the basket for 20 and the tee for 21, it would eventually create a neat little trench to shoot over for 21 or skip perilously into for 20, rather than just an eroded slope of meh like it is now.

The tees have some texture to them, occasionally my pivot foot (I wear Merrell Moabs) was prevented from pivoting for some reason. The tees are mostly good though, although some have a little gangsta lean to them.

Other Thoughts: This course reminds me a lot of Valley Springs and Johnson St, but it's better than both, easily really. Especially if you like wooded courses. I'd love to rate this course higher but the erosion kind of bothers me. If the club spent as much time carving in steps and barriers as they do carving their initials into dead trees and the lawn, it would be a non-issue.

Aside from that, it's hard to have a funner round of golf; this course would be great for doubles.

Favorite/Signature Hole: #24, duh. Who doesn't want to air out a drive over an ivy covered valley complete with a little creek?

Honorable Mentions goes to hole 20, just a simple but always fun downhill putter hole. Actually, the basket is tucked so close behind a tree that you're really better off going OH.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not Paris

1    4/1/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Fully-equipped tee locations:
* Long-n-wide-flat concrete teepads
* Teesigns showing all the possible pin positions, and indicating the currently-used position
* Benches and Trashcans

Friendly locals:
I was passing through the area, and had just one chance to play the course. I happened to arrive at the start of the bi-weekly tag match, but I was invited to join as a non-participant, and shown about the course by Dan, Aaron-Y, and Aaron-W. Aaron (Y, I think), about half my age, went over-and-beyond the call of duty when he retrieved my overthrown Mako on #7 from a steeply-banked creek!
Cons:
The park is quite popular with non-players, which can make finding parking a challenge, and create some delays on some of the early holes, as they play somewhat near walking paths and open spaces.
Other Thoughts:
Course initially plays in-to, out-from, and across the relatively flat open space at the front/near the creek of a multi-purpose park, then spends the bulk of its time playing up, down, and across multiple wooded slopes at the back of the park. Definitely more wooded than open, offering a wide variety of challenges, but avoiding the extremes. The types of challenges you'll face include:
* Looming out-of-bounds - a few of the holes will have ob, typically to the right, along the fairway/near the basket
* Precarious basket locations - a few of the baskets are located on/near steep slopes or mini-cliffs
* Woods combined with length - a few of the wooded holes are quite long, requiring a specific landing zone to be hit in order to have a reasonable approach shot to the basket
* Shot-shaping - while straight-n-true or subtle turns (both lefts and rights) will serve you well on most holes, there a definitely a few meat-hook shots
* Elevation - on the flat-side initially, there is a mixture up, down (some pretty steep), across slope, and valley tosses to overcome when avoiding trees at the same time

Even w/o playing with locals, navigation was simple, as the map is accurate, and there are plenty of next-tee signs.

Very good course. Unless you like them super-tight or super-long, you should enjoy your round here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/30/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: Cwisicle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Always in nice shape, the maps for each hole is accurate and the next tee signs are perfect to find where to walk to next hole if not familiar with the area.
Cons: Most of holes are in woods and need adequate shoes, can twist ankle very easily or stumble. What do you expect walking through woods though.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/20/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: Pooterpig
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I thought the course lay out was great! Nice practice basket. The course demands all the shots in your bag. Hyzer and anhyzer shot's. Good elevation changes and use of water hazards. All the different pin locations was really cool. As this way my first time playing this course, I really like the screws showing which basket location was in use. A pleasure to walk. Benches and trash can's on all the holes was a big plus!
Cons: Some of the holes in the middle felt a little cramped. But there are 24 holes!
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this course to anyone.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A day in the foothills

1    9/29/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: chrissauls
Played: 98  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with all the amenities to keep the entire family busy while dads gets a round in. There is a great vibe about this place as soon as you get out of the car. Hole 1 is the perfect "empty your bag out" kind of hole to get you lose before you enter the woods for the next couple of hours.

-Direction signs and arrows on every hole so you always know where to go next.

-Bridges, great signs, tee pads, easy navigation.

- Very fun course to play.
Cons: None really, but my only negative thoughts were that there are 24 holes. Sometimes, you can have too much of a good thing. The final 6 holes do not add anything positive to the course, with the exception of hole 24 which is scenic but not very challenging. Although the first nine holes have great variety and some very fun shots, the course started to lose my attention much like a long drawn out story. If I didn't know any better, I swear that I played some of the same holes twice when I hit the next 15.
Other Thoughts: I've been waiting 10 years to play this course and I didn't leave disappointed. Some people are so lucky. What I would do to have a park like this in my town. The elevation changes, mowed fairways, bridges, landscaping around pins, nice LONGGG tee pads, playgrounds for the kids, Hickory has it going on and they should be proud. Well worth the wait.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.