Gastonia, NC 
Rankin Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 409ft.   4 / 474ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 What a gem!

1    7/11/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: Urban Bobcat
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm keeping this review simple and concise.

- Well maintained considering that most of the course plays in plain sight of the main park area.
- Nice hole layout/variety.
- The signage helps clear up any confusion that you may have when you can't spot the basket from the tee.
- The course feels like it's tucked away from any hustle and bustle. Even the park patrons were few and far between.
- Emergency runs to the bathroom can be taken care of from most holes on the course.
Cons: Nitpicky comments below:

- A few more benches along with trashcans at the tees would have been nice.
- A clearer anhyzer cut out is needed for the par five on the front 9. My whole group, three of which had played the course before, had wild approaches due to no one really knowing where the basket was exactly.
- One of the people in my group has mentioned car break-ins. Park near the bathrooms and tee #1 and you should be okay.
Other Thoughts: This isn't the most demanding course that you'll ever play, but it offers a healthy challenge and rewards a good tee shot. The course doesn't play too short or too long and will easily appeal to the 1st season or seasoned veteran disc golfer. Although some of the tee shots offer a difficult approach for birdie, a stray disc can usually be recovered for par.

While there are several courses in Charlotte worth playing over and over, I will most certainly make the drive back out to this one! Go check this one out and be sure to pack out what you pack in. Enjoy!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Tale of Two 9's.

1    1/6/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Front 9. The front 9 is practically wide open (some trees come into play) with tons of OB to help tighten and add interest to what would otherwise be ordinary holes. The pin positions, in relation to OB features (creek and roads), make the holes exceptionally good. Most of the holes are essentially peninsulas in that they are surrounded on all sides by OB. You could literally go OB multiple times on the same hole. I really enjoyed the front side.
- Back 9. The Back 9 plays through an extremely wooded section of the park, giving an extremely different DG experience. The fairways are pretty fair, but require good shots to be successful. Getting off the fairway here equates to being OB… usually requiring a pitch out… and OB is still in play on many holes.
- Navigation Arrows. They had a cool system of letting you know where the next tee-pad was. They had little arrows bolted to the pin under the baskets that pointed in the direction of the next tee-pad(s) (white or gold).
- Several Legit Par 4's. I really enjoy when course incorporate Par 4's… especially when tons of OB is involved. It definitely makes the game more "golf"-like.
Cons:
- Front 9. The only cons with the front 9 would be the openness of it and the resulting seemingly redundancy of it.
- Back 9. The tee-signs on the back 9 were different than the front 9. Not necessarily a con, but they weren't as nice or professional as the signs on the front. They were laminated pieces of paper stapled to brown posts. Because they're stapled, they could become water damaged or possibly blow away.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Rankin Lake is essentially two completely different 9 hole courses that make up an 18 hole course. Due to the OB's and thickness of the ruff, the course is fairly challenging. I went OB 5 times and had to pitch out of the ruff several other times resulting in a final score that was several over par. It's definitely a fun course that I need another crack at.
- EZ Access from Freeway. Getting to Rankin Lake is simple. It's a quick 2.5 blocks off the I-85. Extremely simple as the road practically becomes the parking lot for the DG course.
- Thanks bikinjack. bikinjack met me and guided me around the course on a weekday morning at 7:15 am when the weather was 25* (or less). It was cold! At one point (on the 5th hole) he fell in the creek trying to retrieve a disc… and played the rest of the round with wet socks and a frozen (literally) pant leg. That's what I call going above and beyond the call of DGCR guide protocol. Thanks again!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/10/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: Mcswainmj
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play! Front 9 fairly open & easy with plenty birdie opportunities. Back 9 wooded and a bit tougher. All holes have good upkeep! Never very crowded
Cons: No signs on back 9. Confusing my first few times playing trying to find next tee
Other Thoughts: Great park! Very nice area and very nice course. Well worth the trip! Just outside of Charlotte, only 3 minutes off of Hwy 85 Convenient!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rankin Lake, for the rest of us

1    7/3/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of wooded and open, the front 9 being virtually all open with nice length, and the back 9 being all wooded. The course is very quiet, charming. Nice baskets, good concrete tees and signs. Well maintained. Not a lot of elevation but not super flat, there are some potential roll-aways possible. Course is designed by local club who definitely seemed to know what they were doing. Excellent use of the park considering the space provided. One of the nicest park restrooms I've seen.
Cons: The wooded holes are kind of pitch and putt feeling, although 2-3 were real quality holes. They're still rough around the edges, too. I don't know the word for the opposite of tight, wooded holes but this course has a few. I didn't notice any suspicious "homosexual activity" although the Freddie Mercury look-a-like in the Mazda Miata kept whistling at me (joke). There is a shooting range nearby, kind of unnerving. The park is not obviously advertised if you're coming from the south, which isn't their fault, just a heads up for people looking for the park.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to apologize for the basket on hole 13. After my brother and I holed out there my bro said, "The basket is tilted." I turned around and walked over to it and slightly, gingerly touched it and it completely fell down the pole. I have no idea why. Just thought someone should know.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with a good mix

1    6/16/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A variety of open and wooded holes.
A good variety of distance holes and short, technical holes.
Great use of elevation changes and other landscape features.
Great signs on the front 9.
Cons: Very few signs on the back 9 so you have to guess distance and location on several holes...no biggie if you play here a lot, but first time it was more or less a blind throw and hope for the best.
16 frustrated me because all 3 pin positions were blind so you just threw out of the woods and hoped you aimed right.
Other Thoughts: I loved hole 9, I found staying on the curved slope very difficult and challenging.
I also liked the use of the rock features on a couple holes.
This course had good navigation with arrows on the basket pointing you in the right direction and sometimes on trees if the tee is a distance away.
If this course were local to me I would probably travel 25-30 miles to play it on the weekends. This area has some tough competition but this is the first one I played and enjoyed it a lot.

Using my rating system this course scored 75 out of 100. Its main positives were the variety of distances, nice tees and general condition of the course. The biggest negative is related to new players...though there are not many huge arm holes, a grass alt. tee might be handy.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Rankin Lake

5+    1/15/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.9 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: True Jekyll and Hyde course. The front nine is fairly open with a pair of air it out holes. Though open it is still a challenge thanks to some stingy OB lines. The back nine is a tight technical course with dense woods that you do not want to get stuck in. Great ameneties with an heated indoor area with bathrooms and water fountains. Clean course, well maintained, and makes great use of a creek that runs thru and elevation changes. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Back nine could use some nicer teesigns. Also, this isn't a park that I would bring the wife/kids to as the aforementioned "homosexual sex soliciting" does seem to be an issue here.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth making the time to play. It offers a great mixture of shots and variety of holes, all located in a beautiful park.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Variety

8/6/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 80  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - I've played this course twice now, and I feel like it has a good variety. As mentioned before, the front nine is out in the open while the back nine is wooded. But, aside from that, there are holes that sit atop hills where you have to take rolling discs into account. There are longer holes - one that even exceeds 800 feet. There are holes that put a small creek in play. One in particular has the creek framing the right boundary of your drive, but you actually have to throw your approach shot through an opening in trees to reach the basket on the other side of the creek. On the back nine, there are holes that go uphill, some that go downhill, and one that even partially hides the basket behind a group of large rocks/boulders. The course really seems to have a little of everything.
Cons: - It can't be said enough: the homosexual liaisons continue to be an issue. We saw many of the same cars circling the park again and again, parking, guys getting out and walking into the woods, etc. The police came through once during our round, causing one guy to rush back to his car and hightail it out of the park. Hopefully with some more foot traffic, this problem will die down some.
Other Thoughts: - To give you a feel about how the course is laid out:

You've got the lake (which is separated from the park by a fence) at the outer edge of the park. The 800+ foot hole is next to the lake. The creek then runs parallel to the lake, and a few of the front nine holes run along the other side of the creek. Then, you've got a good-sized hill that has the last three front-nine holes atop it. The back nine goes further up the hill and meanders through the woods.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

3/11/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: kpkirishy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front 9 and Back 9 are like 2 different courses. Challenging course with some long holes. On the back 9 you need to use a variety of shots to make it.
Cons: Several Holes were just long drives with a straight fairway (with some obstacles) and then a sharp turn at the end. Those types of holes got a little monotonous. Some wierd "activity" goes on at this park. Not violent or criminal but wierd traffic (Homosexual Sex soliciting, parking) seriously. Local police backed this course for that reason. To get more good traffic in this park to hopefully cut down on wierd stuff like that.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.