Kinston, NC
Barnet Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 330ft.   4 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Multi-use park

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2013
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Kiosk with map. Concrete tees with benches.
Nice signs on short tees as well as many "Next Tee" signs for easy navigation.
Bathroom, water fountains, and a concession stand.
Holes 7 and 8 had 2 baskets, hole 8 had 2 tees making 4 options of how you can play it.
12, 13, and 14 gave 3 fun ace runs from the red tees.
15 blue had an interesting tee location in a cave of trees. 16 blue also had a cool elevated tee pad looking down at a narrow opening and the basket. I found an anchor 100 feet to the right of basket 15 which looks like it may be used as a tourney location.
hole 9 ends at hole 1 incase you need to return to hole 1, but there is better bathroom/water fountain access at hole 15.
Course plays along the outskirts of a busy park. The course is deep enough into the wooded areas where you can feel secluded and enjoy the wooded fairways without only the occasional dog walker distraction.
Course is wooded with decent fairways, good shot variety and some elevation change.
Cons: Nearly none of the blue tees had signs.
Flow is a bit funky at the start. Hole one ends at four, you have to walk the opposite direction to play 2 and 3, then return to 4. (not a major issue, just funky).
Not a fan of the 90 degree turn with mando and a tree 20 feet infront of the tee which was the set up for number 4.
6 was a neat set up with the basket on a mound that was on another mound, but you had to throw through a plinko forest with no fairway to get to it.
5 pads were shared both the red and blue.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 has a sign that says "Hole 18 mandatory" on a hole with no mandos, isn't it always manditory to play hole 18?..I guess I don't get the joke.
large multi use park, so it can be very crowded. I was there very early in the morning and only had to compete with several dog walkers.
If you do not give this course a 4 or higher when you review it, the locals will give you thumbs down.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in eastern NC

1    12/31/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: Frank Delicious
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the better front nines in North Carolina from the blue tees. The holes on the front nine vary in both distance and lines and none of them really feel like filler holes. I particularly enjoyed holes 2 which is a long uphill anhyzer shot and holes 5 which is a long 500 foot hole that requires a long but accurate tee shot that must be placed well to allow for an easier second shot to the basket. The back nine was not as all around solid but had some great shots with holes 11 and 16 standing out. Hole 16 was a great elevated teeshot that requires an accurate shot from between two large old trees.

The course also is clean with trash cans well placed around the course. There are benches on almost every hole and bag holders on almost every hole (some have been vandalized). Concrete teepads are on every hole and there are a couple of holes with alternate longer pins (hole 7 being the best one) with orange bands.

Plenty of signage makes navigation very easy and the locals are nice enough to help you out if you lose your way somehow.
Cons: A few of the teeshots from the blue tees seemed a bit neglected or not as well thought out. Hole 9 from the long was way too tight off the tee and hole 15's teepad had a ton of branches hanging down in front of it, to be able to tee off from 15 blue, I would have had to crouch down to throw. Some of the back nine holes felt uninspired, hole 10 was just an open field shot, holes 17 and 18 were a pretty big let down as finishing holes after the great hole 16.

The fairways needed some serious trimming as many limbs and smaller trees had taken over more of the fairway than they should have.

Some of the red tees on the back nine are almost too easy or short, hole 14 really stood out as the best example of this followed closely by 12.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6, the skinny, was quite skinny but the distance really negates the skinniness of the fairway.

Overall this course is one of the better courses in eastern NC. The course has a good mix of open and wooded holes. The back nine is what kept this course from getting a better rating from me, it just didn't play as well as the front nine (although it was still pretty good).

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: SteveLancaster24
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, and great obstacles. Really impressed with the layout and difficulty. Would recommend for anyone. This course is a must play, at least once.
Cons: Be prepared to be choppin' at a few trees, cutting down a few on a few holes would make for better play.
Other Thoughts: Not much traffic to deal with on the course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet, clean Park

1    1/14/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout. 18 holes. Well maintained. A mix of open and tight holes. Good use of elevation. Some Par 3's and Par 4's mixed in. Benches, trash cans, nice tee signs, concrete tees, alternate tee pads for long or short, directional pointers to the next tee. The course flows fairly well. Once we found the first tee, it was fairly easy to go from hole to hole. Well-defined greens areas. Well-defined lines to the basket. If you can hit the tight lines, you'll score well. If you scatter throws, it will get unpleasant.
Cons: I don't really have any big cons, but there are a few that deserve mentioning. I did not see any permanent Rest Room buildings. I always like to see a playground nearby for Mom and the kids, didn't see any. The holes are varied in a lot of ways, but the vast majority of them call for a left-to-right or center-to-right approach.
Other Thoughts: The course can play tough if you don't have a RHFH or a LHBH. VERY lefty/flick-friendly. A majority of the holes bend to the right due to the clockwise direction of the course around a few baseball fields. The posted pars are generous. Most everything still plays as a three for advanced players. Other than Hole 6 (The skinny) the course is very reasonable and still challenging. I like the variety of open and tight, long and short. Way too left-handed friendly for my taste, and I'm left-handed. I played it in the winter (January) so I'm looking forward to playing it with the leaves in full growth.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 King's Cup Course

5+    8/16/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course with distance and accuracy that comes into play. 2 sets of teepads for most holes which shows that it can be a difficult course.
Cons: Lots of Woods, you could lose a disc and watch out for snakes and ticks. The Skinny is impossible to get through so throw you best plastic.
Other Thoughts: Designed by Hall Of Famer and World Champion Harold Duvall.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ticks and Trees

5+    7/15/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: rhino21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great wooded course with a few open holes. Get a chance to use more of your arsenal (in both shots and discs). Good signage. Errant shots give you a chance to find lost discs ;)
Cons: In the summer months the course can get a little overgrown. Some shots are just ridiculous (#6) - and this is the main reason I did not give this course a 4. The back tees do not have signs - so you have to walk up to the front tees if you want to know the footage.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. It doesn't have a lot of traffic (unless there is a softball game going on). Most holes have two sets of tees. I like that the course gives you a chance to throw a few real drives. I would recommend that you throw good plastic on your tee shots because you will most likely hit a tree at some point.
Snakes are definitely in the area. Last time I played, my disc landed near one - and he did not move at all until I got near him. Not a great feeling.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and interesting hole designs. Rough can be punishing on some holes, and rewards playing on the fairway. This course has a great mix of wooded and a few open holes, and will test a variety of shots. Excellent tee pads and signage.
Cons: A few of the holes are lacking a definitive and fair fairway, and rely too much on luck. Almost all holes are par 3 for tournament players, regardless of what the tee signage says. I wish there were more par 4 and 5s.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improved!

5+    5/9/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course year-round. Even more challenging with the summer greenery. Hole six is worth the drive from anywhere east of Greensboro. Easy to navigate the course even though the first hole is not easily found.
Cons: Bugs in the summer and soggy conditions after a good rain. Neither should influence a decision to play here.
Other Thoughts: Writing this review makes me want to drive over a throw hole six a couple of times and come home. Course is constantly being improved much better than when I first played there in '02.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/20/2008   9/20/2008
Review By: Cool Daddio
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful park and I do love a good walk through the woods. It certainly calls for a wide variety of shots. The posted par seems reasonable from the blues though absurdly easy from the reds. The pads are oversize and mostly level. Course navigation is a breeze and the start area bulletin board has a nice map.
Cons: Some holes are just sadistic. #2 and #6 for sure. There is no real approach lane even a narrow one so it brings in a tree bonking luck element. Cut down a few trees here and there and lower the par according and it would feel much more satisfying. Only the red tees have yardage signs.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure the course was designed by a sadist. The front nine seem just in your face brutal. I'm not talking 'technical' I'm talking "what the hell". Being a masochist who always plays the long tees despite the torture this course none the less keeps calling me back.
(Update: apparently course designed by Harold Duvall a Hall of Fame discer and course designer and non sadist apparently so I guess I suck more than I thought :-))

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.