Kinston, NC 
Barnet Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / 202ft.   4 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
ecudg

1    4/7/2014   4/7/2014
Review By: Rmldchi
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Has a great mix of everything. The course is mostly wooded but its open enough to be a high tier course. Par 3, 4 & 5's white and blue tee boxes that are concrete. This is a course that is well thought out and is worth the drive from Greenville.
Cons: Holes 1,7,8,12-18 becomes a swamp after it rains. Hole four is a dumb setupů 100 feet straight shot and then a right angled finish.
Other Thoughts: Sunday @ 2:30 is open to random group play.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A must play...

1    11/2/2013   12/11/2013
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 29  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 1.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Sweet layout! Set in a large park in well-established woodlands, this is a pretty technical course. It offers both tight lines and open lanes with enough kick to give your accuracy and your power a run for their money.

- Alternate tees! They give both beginners and advanced players an opportunity to enjoy this course without either being overwhelmed or giving enough of a challenge.

- Easy navigation. Tees signs were plentiful and gave enough of an idea of where you were throwing to keep you on track. Even from blind teeshots.

- Elevation changes. Not your run-of-the-mill eastern NC course. Barnet Park offers some nice hills to exercise both your uphill shots and downhill rollers.

- Beautiful! A very scenic park that is not only clean, but picturesque. Seriously, Ansel Adams missed out when he didn't paint this front 9.

- Amenities galore. Plenty of parking, concession stands, bathrooms, and water fountains are available on site.

- No gridlock! ZERO traffic on the course (that day). No waiting, and the one group we did see were extremely helpful to us newbies who were playing the course for the first time. Great atmosphere all around.
Cons:
- Park map. Had a hard time finding the first hole after parking. Wandering around for long enough got us to #1 through trial and error. Incidentally, #1 is located between the two softball fields towards the woods.

- Pro (blue) tees lack signage. I only know this because my buddy decided that we'd play #1 from the blues and we had to walk down to the whites to get the distance. Usually this doesn't even make my radar because I'm playing from the whites (reds & greens too, if they have 'em), but I noticed and this might be an issue for some.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Barnet Park is definitely a must-play if you're traveling through eastern North Carolina. It almost feels like Castle Hayne with hemorrhoids: Same-same, but lumpier. If you find yourself in Kinston, do yourself a favor and check it out. Definitely worth the stop.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Diamond in the Kinston rough.

2-4    4/4/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Barnet is a well designed technical course set in an old growth forest.

The layout features a variety of hole lengths with a solid mixture of shots around the course. Mixes in lines that turn sharp or more gradual.

The course has a lot of tight gaps and the fairways are shaped to make you work the disc throughout the flight. Really makes you think about disc selection and possible lines; multiple paths on some fairways add to that.

The par 4s make you play accurate placement shots to turns to set up your approach.

Most holes have two tees which sometimes give you a completely different path and line. 2 alternate pins on 7 & 8. Some blue tees are really tight off the pad; they're suited more towards experienced players.

Short tees are a mix between mildly challenging and easy.

Good elevation out there, no major up or downs but there are rises/drops throughout the fairway giving holes a multilevel effect.

Elevated pads and some elevated greens with some drop offs; nice and risky but nothing extreme. Very well placed baskets and green design overall.

A creek runs through parts of the course giving some OB trouble.

A couple more open shots are thrown in to give balance. 9 brings you back to the parking lot.

Equipment - Nice large and level concrete pads that are clearly marked with paint. Informative signs at the short tee with hole map. Directional signs show you where to go. Aging disc catchers but still catch well.

Benches, bag holders and cans all there.

Atmosphere - Nice old growth forest type course. Not much heavy rough right off fairways. Well taken care of place.

Course keeps you away from the rest of the park in most places. You get a secluded feeling in parts.

Some cool natural features; I mentioned the creek & elevation. 15 has a cool canopy topped tee.
Cons: Layout - Biggest complaint here is that about half of the course is more suited for RHFH or LHBH.

Some lines may ask to much for the length combined with the angles and gap width.

6 is gimmicky, only place on the course but it's there. Super tight RHFH line to a rollaway green.

A few holes on the back 9 aren't spectacular especially from the reds; some dinkers. 17 & 18 are forgettable finishing holes.

Awkward flow in a couple spots, 18 ends kinda far from 1.

Equipment - I wish the long tees had the signs, makes you walk up. Some chains were showing rust.

Atmosphere - Ants all over the back 9. Course gets some traffic because it's the only one in the area.
Other Thoughts: A fun and challenging course with some memorable shots, it feels good to Birdie here. Definitely a must hit and one of the better NC courses.

When I walked off the front 9 I would of given it a 4.5; though the back doesn't keep it going. Wish it ended better but overall I'm a fan.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1st Run

1    1/18/2013   1/18/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Very well marked tee pads, with signs to nex-t.
- Bathrooms and drinking fountains
- Very good mixture of holes from flat and open, to hilly and wooded
- Good mixture holes to challenge both the right handed and left handed player.
- Very well maintained course
- Back 9 has a lot of ACE run holes, we were tempted to stay and play the back 9 again.
Cons: - Don't remember this course having any of these.
Other Thoughts: Very well thought out course. I have read over some of the other reviews prior to playing and was a little concerned of the branches and limbs, but we must have hit it on a good day because it was very well trimmed up.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Multi-use park

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2013
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Kiosk with map. Concrete tees with benches.
Nice signs on short tees as well as many "Next Tee" signs for easy navigation.
Bathroom, water fountains, and a concession stand.
Holes 7 and 8 had 2 baskets, hole 8 had 2 tees making 4 options of how you can play it.
12, 13, and 14 gave 3 fun ace runs from the red tees.
15 blue had an interesting tee location in a cave of trees. 16 blue also had a cool elevated tee pad looking down at a narrow opening and the basket. I found an anchor 100 feet to the right of basket 15 which looks like it may be used as a tourney location.
hole 9 ends at hole 1 incase you need to return to hole 1, but there is better bathroom/water fountain access at hole 15.
Course plays along the outskirts of a busy park. The course is deep enough into the wooded areas where you can feel secluded and enjoy the wooded fairways without only the occasional dog walker distraction.
Course is wooded with decent fairways, good shot variety and some elevation change.
Cons: Nearly none of the blue tees had signs.
Flow is a bit funky at the start. Hole one ends at four, you have to walk the opposite direction to play 2 and 3, then return to 4. (not a major issue, just funky).
Not a fan of the 90 degree turn with mando and a tree 20 feet infront of the tee which was the set up for number 4.
6 was a neat set up with the basket on a mound that was on another mound, but you had to throw through a plinko forest with no fairway to get to it.
5 pads were shared both the red and blue.
Other Thoughts: Hole 18 has a sign that says "Hole 18 mandatory" on a hole with no mandos, isn't it always manditory to play hole 18?..I guess I don't get the joke.
large multi use park, so it can be very crowded. I was there very early in the morning and only had to compete with several dog walkers.
If you do not give this course a 4 or higher when you review it, the locals will give you thumbs down.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    10/20/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: chainbangers
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -In the woods the whole time
-Challenging at times
-need skilled/technical shots
-Good place to practice the "right shot and disc for the lie"
Cons: One of the holes, I think 8/9 needs some serious tree chopping done. no clean lines to drive through. Got pretty busy because of softball tournament.
Other Thoughts: Sunk my first "turbo putt"

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: gvdg jake
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great course. short par 3s to long par 5s. has a little elevation through out the course. hole 6 aka the skinny is a challenge for all players.
Cons: FIRE ANTS!!! the back 9 is covered in them. watch where you set your bag and where you step.
Other Thoughts: overall a great course, kinston has done alot of work over the past year ive played here. this is also the course i picked up my first ace at. so it will always be a great course for me:)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Summer Vacation

1    6/2/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course was in great condition and very well marked. They have running water and clean established bathrooms. There is also ample parking with in the great course layout. All of the tees had signs with a small map and lengths on them. Most signs had pars marked also. All tee pads had benchs and/or bag posts. This course seems to have a little bit for everyone from beginners to more advanced. I really wish I had a local course like this.
Cons: Lots of ants when we played. They were everywhere and they bit my wife alot. She almost didn't play the back nine because of them. A local bartender said that it was due to the heavy rains so I would play when it has been nice lately or spray yourself and your bag heavily.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    1/1/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: rajen5_99
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses my wife and i have played. Great sign's and tricky enough to keep us comming back. They have all the storm damage cleaned up now so play is open for all holes.
Cons: there was some vandelism on &,8 and 9 with the signs being torn down. we found the sign for 7 and put it back but could not find the rest.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/9/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Jim West
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A Quiet course secluded, no foot traffic, with some challenges a lot of trees, and no water hazzards.This course is well laid out. The front 9 are in the wood with some blind baskets and dog legs. The back 9 are in more open fairways with tunnel vision shots. All tee pads are concrete with signs to show holes distance and pars, Trash cans, benches and drinking fountains are plentiful. The Association & parks and rec take great care of this course. A pleasure to play! Hole #6 is my personal favorite its a short par with tree obstructions and the basket is on a raised mound.
Cons: No cons that I can think of or saw
Other Thoughts: Mix doubles during summer on Tuesday Nights at 6. Well worth the stop. Great time for 3 dollars.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.