Kinston, NC 
Barnet Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 194ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course!

5+    4/10/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Prothios
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great, well maintained course. Locals are always friendly here. 2 sets of concrete tee boxes well marked with painted front edges. Every tee pad has a bench. Great signs with par distance and map of holes. Well laid out mix of open and wooded shots. Hole 6 reminds me of plinko from price is right. Variety of long 500' to short 150' shots. Hole 9 ends close to 1's tee box so its easy to play 9 at a time if you want. Back 9 is a little more open and than front. Wraps around a soccer/baseball complex with bathroom facilities and water fountains, but keeps you separated enough you don't have to worry about a stray disc landing in the middle of a soccer game. 7 and 8 have alternate tee's to change it up if you feel like it.
Cons: Parking lot is huge but still tends to get crowded when there's ball games going on. All i could think of for cons.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and pros alike. Pro box makes it an entirely different challenge for the course.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Kinston is a good challenge

2-4    1/8/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: thux_ecu
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and the map illustrates the whole well. The front 9 is not too long, except for a few holes, but it's wooded most of the time, so it can make or break your round. The back 9 is shorter and more open, although it goes in and out on some holes. It tests your accuracy pretty well, since most of the holes are tight, in the woods, with tight lines. From ams, the holes aren't too long at all, just tight. Haven't played pros, but the view I had from pads were way farther and tougher. Expect a high score from pros, unless you're pro yourself, but that's my view. Barnet is well put together, and I'd play every opportunity I would get.
Cons: Barnet is extremely lefty backhand favored. So unless you have accurate flicks and excellent anhyzer for right handers, you might have trouble. Woods are EXTREMELY thick so avoid that at all costs. Not many cons to say.
Other Thoughts: My first time playing this course was in the 2011 Kinston Ice Bowl. 2 rounds and I shot 56 & 59 from ams. Barnet will definitely test you. One of the best courses I've played. Enjoyed every second of it. If you hit tress in the beginning, don't get flustered, because there's more trees to come!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in eastern NC

1    12/31/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: Frank Delicious
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the better front nines in North Carolina from the blue tees. The holes on the front nine vary in both distance and lines and none of them really feel like filler holes. I particularly enjoyed holes 2 which is a long uphill anhyzer shot and holes 5 which is a long 500 foot hole that requires a long but accurate tee shot that must be placed well to allow for an easier second shot to the basket. The back nine was not as all around solid but had some great shots with holes 11 and 16 standing out. Hole 16 was a great elevated teeshot that requires an accurate shot from between two large old trees.

The course also is clean with trash cans well placed around the course. There are benches on almost every hole and bag holders on almost every hole (some have been vandalized). Concrete teepads are on every hole and there are a couple of holes with alternate longer pins (hole 7 being the best one) with orange bands.

Plenty of signage makes navigation very easy and the locals are nice enough to help you out if you lose your way somehow.
Cons: A few of the teeshots from the blue tees seemed a bit neglected or not as well thought out. Hole 9 from the long was way too tight off the tee and hole 15's teepad had a ton of branches hanging down in front of it, to be able to tee off from 15 blue, I would have had to crouch down to throw. Some of the back nine holes felt uninspired, hole 10 was just an open field shot, holes 17 and 18 were a pretty big let down as finishing holes after the great hole 16.

The fairways needed some serious trimming as many limbs and smaller trees had taken over more of the fairway than they should have.

Some of the red tees on the back nine are almost too easy or short, hole 14 really stood out as the best example of this followed closely by 12.
Other Thoughts: Hole 6, the skinny, was quite skinny but the distance really negates the skinniness of the fairway.

Overall this course is one of the better courses in eastern NC. The course has a good mix of open and wooded holes. The back nine is what kept this course from getting a better rating from me, it just didn't play as well as the front nine (although it was still pretty good).

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 play this course!

5+    8/20/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: shane8002
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Best course around eastern NC, the shots are very well designed and use of elevation is great also. Not much traffic at all, and its a challenging course.
Cons: None really some holes could use a good tree wacking
Other Thoughts: The skinny hole isnt that bad haha, honestly the best course ive played.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Kinston

2-4    8/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: norcalmofo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean park, Easy to read signs, Multiple tee pads very long or short. Loved the layout of both long and short holes.
Cons: Back nine was kinda hard to tell where the next tee was. I think hole 17 or 18 plays right next to a baseball or soccer field so be careful not to hit a little kid coming out of the woods as you cant see the basket around the dogleg.
Other Thoughts: Locals are nice and welcoming. Really nice park, better than Fayetteville parks. They also have wednesday doubles at like 5 or so.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 super course

1    8/28/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: totkst1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great park! It has a great layout of holes, great flow, and super use of elevation to make the course more difficult. It was very easy to find your way from hole to hole.
Cons: On the way out of the 18 th hole, we ran into some softball players practicing in front of the basket.
Other Thoughts: Will definately be playing this course again. It was well worth the 1 hour and 35 minute drive.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 where the cup is

5+    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: oki40484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: beautiful park, with beautiful course, extremely nice locals who won't mind you jumping in to help you see local routes. clean all the time, nice use of elevations, addition of 2nd perm. baskets on some holes make course worth two rounds one day, alt tees, alt baskets ultimate course
Cons: besides not furnishing a golf cart what can i say. concession stand was open one day and we were the only ones out there. ok they beat my pocket up but man the convienance.

also no othercourses in kinston is odd, most areas with courses this good have others,
Other Thoughts: the skinny is not that hard of a hole, but can make your great round terrible with 10 quick throws.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: SteveLancaster24
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course, and great obstacles. Really impressed with the layout and difficulty. Would recommend for anyone. This course is a must play, at least once.
Cons: Be prepared to be choppin' at a few trees, cutting down a few on a few holes would make for better play.
Other Thoughts: Not much traffic to deal with on the course

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet, clean Park

1    1/14/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout. 18 holes. Well maintained. A mix of open and tight holes. Good use of elevation. Some Par 3's and Par 4's mixed in. Benches, trash cans, nice tee signs, concrete tees, alternate tee pads for long or short, directional pointers to the next tee. The course flows fairly well. Once we found the first tee, it was fairly easy to go from hole to hole. Well-defined greens areas. Well-defined lines to the basket. If you can hit the tight lines, you'll score well. If you scatter throws, it will get unpleasant.
Cons: I don't really have any big cons, but there are a few that deserve mentioning. I did not see any permanent Rest Room buildings. I always like to see a playground nearby for Mom and the kids, didn't see any. The holes are varied in a lot of ways, but the vast majority of them call for a left-to-right or center-to-right approach.
Other Thoughts: The course can play tough if you don't have a RHFH or a LHBH. VERY lefty/flick-friendly. A majority of the holes bend to the right due to the clockwise direction of the course around a few baseball fields. The posted pars are generous. Most everything still plays as a three for advanced players. Other than Hole 6 (The skinny) the course is very reasonable and still challenging. I like the variety of open and tight, long and short. Way too left-handed friendly for my taste, and I'm left-handed. I played it in the winter (January) so I'm looking forward to playing it with the leaves in full growth.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 King's Cup Course

5+    8/16/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course with distance and accuracy that comes into play. 2 sets of teepads for most holes which shows that it can be a difficult course.
Cons: Lots of Woods, you could lose a disc and watch out for snakes and ticks. The Skinny is impossible to get through so throw you best plastic.
Other Thoughts: Designed by Hall Of Famer and World Champion Harold Duvall.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.