Disc Golf Store
Kinston, NC 
Barnet Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
4 / 252ft.   4 / 333ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Ticks and Trees

5+    7/15/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: rhino21
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great wooded course with a few open holes. Get a chance to use more of your arsenal (in both shots and discs). Good signage. Errant shots give you a chance to find lost discs ;)
Cons: In the summer months the course can get a little overgrown. Some shots are just ridiculous (#6) - and this is the main reason I did not give this course a 4. The back tees do not have signs - so you have to walk up to the front tees if you want to know the footage.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. It doesn't have a lot of traffic (unless there is a softball game going on). Most holes have two sets of tees. I like that the course gives you a chance to throw a few real drives. I would recommend that you throw good plastic on your tee shots because you will most likely hit a tree at some point.
Snakes are definitely in the area. Last time I played, my disc landed near one - and he did not move at all until I got near him. Not a great feeling.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and interesting hole designs. Rough can be punishing on some holes, and rewards playing on the fairway. This course has a great mix of wooded and a few open holes, and will test a variety of shots. Excellent tee pads and signage.
Cons: A few of the holes are lacking a definitive and fair fairway, and rely too much on luck. Almost all holes are par 3 for tournament players, regardless of what the tee signage says. I wish there were more par 4 and 5s.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improved!

5+    5/9/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: BigJ198
Played: 84  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course year-round. Even more challenging with the summer greenery. Hole six is worth the drive from anywhere east of Greensboro. Easy to navigate the course even though the first hole is not easily found.
Cons: Bugs in the summer and soggy conditions after a good rain. Neither should influence a decision to play here.
Other Thoughts: Writing this review makes me want to drive over a throw hole six a couple of times and come home. Course is constantly being improved much better than when I first played there in '02.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ant-ticing Course

2-4    12/7/2008   1/7/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm partial to wooded holes, so this did not disappoint. Very nice scenery, nice large tee boxes, well defined fairways, good length and variety. A little tricky getting to the park but once you get there it's easy to navigate. Practice basket, always a good sign. Just a really great mix of holes but they do tend to finish to the right to favor FH and lefties.
Cons: Hole 6 AKA the skinny. It's just stupid how tight that fairway is. I couldn't even throw a thumber through there. Still a fun hole though.

Update: It's still super duper tight but it's really short so once you get through the hallway of trees it's just an elevated basket to contend with. There's also a couple months of the year during the Summer where the back 9 is literally swarming with red and black ants. You quite literally can't put your bag down without having them crawling on it. Some of the holes on the blue tees need some branch clearing around the teepad.
Other Thoughts: Fun Fact: Kinston is the home town of actress Jaime Pressly. Unfortunately she was not out there when I played. A lot of the locals like to come in a back way and park on the other side of the softball field, it's less walking to the first tee that way.

Course comparison: A lefty friendly Castle Hayne mixed with a little of Hornet's Nest's front 9.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 kinston

2-4    11/6/2007   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very crazy course. Some holes are fun to play where the others make you want to pull your hair out. Very challenging!
Cons: BUGS!!!!
Other Thoughts: Fun to play. Some tough holes. This course has the power to beat you up a little and then make you want to come back and play it more!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/20/2008   9/20/2008
Review By: Cool Daddio
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful park and I do love a good walk through the woods. It certainly calls for a wide variety of shots. The posted par seems reasonable from the blues though absurdly easy from the reds. The pads are oversize and mostly level. Course navigation is a breeze and the start area bulletin board has a nice map.
Cons: Some holes are just sadistic. #2 and #6 for sure. There is no real approach lane even a narrow one so it brings in a tree bonking luck element. Cut down a few trees here and there and lower the par according and it would feel much more satisfying. Only the red tees have yardage signs.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure the course was designed by a sadist. The front nine seem just in your face brutal. I'm not talking 'technical' I'm talking "what the hell". Being a masochist who always plays the long tees despite the torture this course none the less keeps calling me back.
(Update: apparently course designed by Harold Duvall a Hall of Fame discer and course designer and non sadist apparently so I guess I suck more than I thought :-))

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 How Sweet It Is.

12/7/2007   12/7/2007
Review By: discgnome
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent course in eastern North Carolina. Has open and wooded holes that will tax even the best players. Bring your game, course will make you use it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.