San Luis Obispo, CA 
Sinsheimer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Afternoon delight!

5+    8/3/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.5 Years
Pros: Super quick 9 hole! Easily navigated and excellent use of limited space. Fun, semi techy short holes great for working on mid and short game. Good use of elevation, trees and water/ streambeds. A really good mid-city short course.
Cons: Tees are on the small side and signage is weak. Really, minor issues for such a good little course.
Other Thoughts: Hit this up when you have 30 minutes available or repeat/threepeat it for a better fix or even safari it (plenty of surrounding open space to expand the possibilities). Well worth the time and I can say from personal experience a great place to take the young'uns or newbies!

Fun Beginner/Intermediate 9

1    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Small cement tees with wide grooves in the front. Small creeks running throughout the course (seasonal). Nice grass throughout most of the course that was not too long when I played. 2 pin locations per hole. Some technical shots required but nothing too challenging. Garbage cans next to hole 2's tee and at the entrance to the park near the baseball fields. Benches on most holes. Nice, clean park with restrooms on site. Slight elevation change throughout course. Baskets have hole number on them. Hole 6: nice longer blind shot throwing from behind a grove of short bushy trees. Nice views of the mountains.
Cons: Tees are only 6' long and 3' wide making full run-ups difficult. No signs. Some baskets were close to other tees and the last 3 holes play side-by-side-by-side with one another. Mostly open throughout the course. All baskets were a little bit too high off the ground and some were worse than others. Layout can be tricky without signs so the using the course map is highly recommended your first time playing. All holes medium distance; none are very long.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and interesting shorter 9 hole course with decent hole variety. Great course to challenge beginners and give them a taste of what the more difficult courses are like. To me it felt like a mini, tamed-down version of a challenging professional caliber course as it has a couple creeks in play (although they are very small and were dry when I played), some small hills and elevation change, a variety of left, right, and straight shots (although none are very long), some technical shots throwing around trees, a blind ~300' shot, and some well placed baskets. Quick and easy course to play (< 30 minutes to play 9). Print the map before your first round and navigation will be a breeze.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Crammed for time?

5+    4/5/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: TheBarberena
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: easy course to follow, fun to hit up on a lunch break because you can play it quickly.
Cons: windy, crowded, not incredibly challenging but when its windy (which is pretty much always) it can be frustrating

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/25/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: RIPE MELON
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to find pads and baskets.
Fun for pros and beginners.
Easy biking distance from town.
Quick stop markets close by for beverages.
Likable people always on the coarse.
Joggers!

Cons: No enough trash cans.
Windy conditions after noon.
Large groups on really nice days slow the flow.
( 10-12 people groups)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    12/16/2010   1/2/2011
Review By: brent44940
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: fun short shots for begginers.couple long shots u can actually let it rip off.deff still tough enough for pros but easy enough for first timers.
Cons: not too many cons,just the usually wind late in the day.basically a fun lil quick 6 pack course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun local 9er

1    11/16/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: ralbrecht
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great basket locations, challenging but not impossible even for new players like me. The layout flows nicely and it's not too hard to find your way around. I like the elevation changes. Some of the course is in the open and some is protected from the wind. Nice variety.
Cons: The only thing I can think of is the random people cycling or walking on the path on hole #4 (I think it was #4) and the construction that was going on. The construction is temporary so no big deal there. My bro actually landed a disc on one of the trucks.
Other Thoughts: I'm a new player and this was the first real course I've played. It hooked me for sure and I'll definitely be out there sharpening my throwing skills! The course is close to my office so I can sneak out for a quick 9 or 12 holes at lunch. Friendly locals make it a great time too.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nine holes well done

5+    8/4/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sinsheimer is a fun little course that offers a lot more than the average niner.
- Excellent use of obstacles: Moderate elevation changes and wind make you think about a seemingly routine shot.
- Begginer friendly : This is the kind of course where you can bring your friends to learn for the first time and still keep it interesting for more experienced players.
- Variety of holes: You will need more than a RHBH hyzer on this course.
- Navigation: is fairly easy even for a first timer. Although tee signs are missing, there is a logical flow to the course and all the baskets are numbered.
- Mostly DG exclusive
Cons: - No signage: although the course flows pretty easily it would be nice to know the distances.
- Relatively short: I don't know what the distances are but I'm pretty sure that none are over 300'
Other Thoughts: In my opinion this is exactly what a neighborhood niner should be. It is a great place to get a quick nine and introduce friends to the sport. It is not a destination course and is not much of a challenge to experienced players, but it still has enough variety to make it interesting.

Hats off to the designers of this course. They made good use of the terrain and found some tricky pin placements.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Niner

5+    5/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: El Oso
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course for learning the game and yet still challenging enough to keep you coming back. Decent variation in terain.
Cons: Can get windy in afternoon and if the grass has not been trimmed Ina while it can be hard to find discs.
Other Thoughts: Great 9 holer. I like to play a warm up round and then another 18. The pin locations seam to get changed monthly or so on and that keeps it interesting.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 Holes

1    3/16/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Nate Brooks
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's a lot of variety for such a small space. The first tee is off the top of a small hill, second is over a creek, third is blind over some trees, fourth is threadding the needle, fifth is a distance hole, etc.

The flow worked very very well. The only confusion was which basket to shoot for on 7 and 9.

Though oftentimes crowded, groups played quickly or allowed me to play through.

The park is clean and obviously well cared for by the DGers.

The course is rather DG exclusive.

You have to throw many different kinds of shots to do well here. It forces you to develop your skills rather than depend on simply having a huge arm.

The trees are not too numerous, but enough to make the round interesting. Whoever designed this course obviously knew what they were doing and maximized the space. For the space they have here, this is an excellent course.
Cons: The tee boxes are tiny, but there's ample space for some run up. They can be slick at times because of the dirt.

The lack of space makes hole 8 really the only lengthy hole (and even it is pretty short).

Lack of signage. But the course flowed so well it hardly mattered.

If you over-anhyzer the first hole, you'll wind up in left field of the baseball diamond.

The grass can be very long in the springtime. I'd recommend against throwing candy-green discs.
Other Thoughts: While not a destination course, this little course has a lot of charm. Everyone who is out there loves to play DG.

This course is far superior to Laguna Lake. I did both in one day, and found myself wishing I had just played Sinsheimer 3 times.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Navigation is easy despite a lack of signage
-Benches at every tee (made up for lack of signs)
-Concrete tee pads
-DG Exclusive corner of the park
-DISCatcher baskets, all numbered
-Most variety and terrain that I have ever seen at a 9 hole (that I have played)
Cons: -No signs, hard to determine where to start for the first time player.
-Tee Posts featured in some photos were not present during our visit. Stolen? Removed? Hidden by killer grass?
-Short tee pads do not allow for a full run-up
-The last few fairways play fairly close to each other, to the point that there were several black ace opportunities
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole course plays in a generally unused corner of a neighborhood park, roughly bordering the outfield of a pair of baseball diamonds. The terrain is lightly hilly, with a good amount of bushy trees and a couple of small streams.

A few other people were playing despite a threat of rain, and they were nice enough to show us where to start the course, and we generally followed them throughout. First time navigation can be tricky, but only the first time.

Tee pads were a bit short, not long enough to allow for a full X step, but you can start your run up behind them in most cases. The longest drive of the course had a slightly longer tee pad, so that was nice.

The pictures and map attached to this website show a well manicured grassy field, but this was not the case. LONG grass in the wintertime made disc finding a challenge on errant throws. Always pay attention to where your disc landed. Oh, and try to avoid throwing lime green champ plastic drivers.

Hole 6 was a pretty cool shot in a small ravine with a couple of bushes begging you to throw a picture perfect RHBH, but its actually better to throw something else. You can figure it out when you go there.

At the time, hole 7 was blind and we accidentally shot at the wrong basket. We restarted and had no fruther issues.

Clever pin placements made this a really fun round, we are usually apprehensive to go out of our way for 9 hole courses but this one is definitely worth checking out. At the very least, it was more interesting than the front 9 at Laguna Lake. Each hole was different, none were repetitive, and we actually had a ton of fun. Short, but not too short, and lots of variety make this a course to check out if you are spending a few days in the SLO area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.