San Luis Obispo, CA 
Sinsheimer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 

1    2/21/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Navigation is easy despite a lack of signage
-Benches at every tee (made up for lack of signs)
-Concrete tee pads
-DG Exclusive corner of the park
-DISCatcher baskets, all numbered
-Most variety and terrain that I have ever seen at a 9 hole (that I have played)
Cons: -No signs, hard to determine where to start for the first time player.
-Tee Posts featured in some photos were not present during our visit. Stolen? Removed? Hidden by killer grass?
-Short tee pads do not allow for a full run-up
-The last few fairways play fairly close to each other, to the point that there were several black ace opportunities
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole course plays in a generally unused corner of a neighborhood park, roughly bordering the outfield of a pair of baseball diamonds. The terrain is lightly hilly, with a good amount of bushy trees and a couple of small streams.

A few other people were playing despite a threat of rain, and they were nice enough to show us where to start the course, and we generally followed them throughout. First time navigation can be tricky, but only the first time.

Tee pads were a bit short, not long enough to allow for a full X step, but you can start your run up behind them in most cases. The longest drive of the course had a slightly longer tee pad, so that was nice.

The pictures and map attached to this website show a well manicured grassy field, but this was not the case. LONG grass in the wintertime made disc finding a challenge on errant throws. Always pay attention to where your disc landed. Oh, and try to avoid throwing lime green champ plastic drivers.

Hole 6 was a pretty cool shot in a small ravine with a couple of bushes begging you to throw a picture perfect RHBH, but its actually better to throw something else. You can figure it out when you go there.

At the time, hole 7 was blind and we accidentally shot at the wrong basket. We restarted and had no fruther issues.

Clever pin placements made this a really fun round, we are usually apprehensive to go out of our way for 9 hole courses but this one is definitely worth checking out. At the very least, it was more interesting than the front 9 at Laguna Lake. Each hole was different, none were repetitive, and we actually had a ton of fun. Short, but not too short, and lots of variety make this a course to check out if you are spending a few days in the SLO area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sinsheimer Park DGC

5+    1/11/2009   1/14/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A perfect course to get a quick 9 in
Nice concrete pads (though a bit small)
Good variety for such a short course
Can play at night when baseball stadium lights are on
Variety in pin placement
Elevation change and constant wind add plenty of challenges for the recreation player
Cons: Random visitors will often cross the course
On weekends it can often get crowded
Short holes
Holes a place right next to each other so you will often find players from the next hole on yours
There's often a murky area crossing the bridge on hole 7
You will often find homeless people within the brush
Other Thoughts: To sum up, I gave it a 2 because of it's lack of difficulty, yet it can be outrageously difficult if the wind is blowing hard. Number 8 is virtually impossible in heavy wind. For newer players, this is definitely the course to develop your skills.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/4/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. The only reason I don't give this a 2.5 is because of the lack of courses in the Area. I would much rather play here then Laguna. San Luis is always windy, but not too bad at Sinsheimer.
2. It is clean and fairly well maintaned.
3. Great views of the Hills. Nice in the winter.
4. The best place for a Student at Cal Poly to play without driving down to Waller in Santa Maria (I hear, haven't played)
5. Multiple pin locations make for some variety. They are changed fairly regularly.
6. Concrete tee pads.
Cons: 1. Most of the holes are quite short.
2. Not all of the holes are clearly marked (no maps)
3. Hikers, Bikers, and folks with Dogs will walk through the course, unaware. Patrons of the Ballfields abound. Can be difficult to find parking when Ball fields are in use.
4. Not very challenging terrain, and few trees for such a short course.
5. DISCatcher baskets are not my favorite, but it adds some challenge.
Other Thoughts: Not a destination course, but if your going to play while in San Luis, it is the preferred course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

7/18/2007   5/30/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 120  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2008
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun 9 hole course in the city.
Some variety and elevation change.
Nice tee pads and baskets.
Wind can add some needed challenge.
Course uses the land available well.
Not really any place to lose discs.
Good place for newer players to learn.
Cons: Course layout is fairly simple, no holes really offer much of a challenge in distance or in overall difficulty of the hole.
When I played in July the course was very dusty and dry and just felt unforgiving on the whole.
Some trees or other obstacles would really help the course.
Other Thoughts: In general Sinsheimer has some nice charm for a small city park course, I played it twice in my 4 days in the San Luis Obispo area, there were many other casual golfers using the course. It's main limitation is simply space and the lack of challenge. But surely a good course for newer players and a good short game tune up for the areas more skilled shooters.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.