Course Extinct
Charlotte, NC 
Veterans Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 130ft.   3 / 175ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Almost Gone

1    2/14/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 181  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 5 baskets left, 2 are in woods, 2 on a hill side and one is on the other side of a small creek. If you are brave, this can be a good place to practice. The 2 holes that are along tennis courts are in the open on a hill. You can set up an interesting round of safari golf here if you don't care about playing the designed holes. You can see the 5 remaining baskets from 1 standing location so they aren't very spaced out.
Cons: Terrible neighborhood, 5 baskets left. The original holes were very close together. Tee areas have tee signs but there are no pads or markings so it is hard to determine where the hole is supposed to go. Originally you could see 4-5 close by baskets and it was almost impossible to decifer which one to throw to.
Other Thoughts: This park is going, soon the last 5 baskets will be removed and re-purposed. If you want a place to practice it could be good if you go when there are alot of people around. Because there are woods and open areas you can pick a shot and practice it. No one will be there playing. The grass isnt even worn around the baskets. You can go to better courses near by I would steer clear of this one. The baskets will be put to good use as Charlotte builds 6 more courses in preparation for worlds.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing spectacular, but sad to see it go

5+    6/2/2009   1/2/2010
Review By: Schmakt
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Holes that are easy to birdie but almost as easy to bogey make this a really fun course for having a casual round with friends of varying skill levels

- running up and down the hill on the back half is tons of fun :)

- nice tennis courts make this a great post-tennis course

- very very unique feel amongst courses in Charlotte

- amazing variety for such a small course

- never ever crowded
Cons: - the last several times I have played, there have been homeless people in the woods asking for money

- easy to lose discs near holes 2-5 even if your shot isn't terrible. The vines and underbrush were almost always more trouble than the water.

- very confusing layout if you've never played... a map is helpful, but you can still get turned around.
Other Thoughts: This was never a course that I would set out to play, but it was always nice to tack on to the end of a day of playing other courses or after a tennis match. Also fun to do after having a few pitchers at The Penguin or Thomas St.

I can't say that it's unexpected to see this go away, but it's still saddening. This was one of the more unsafe courses in Charlotte (I would not take my girlfriend or children, if I had any, to this course), but there's nothing else in town that really will fill the hole that will be left when this course is gone.

I'm glad I've been able to play it in the past. Happy Trails, Veteran's!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginners, Kids, Girlfriends, and Practice

1    12/16/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Short for Charlotte. Charlotte needs a short course that the average family can go play without the frustration of crazy difficult holes. This would be a great course for kids, extreme amateurs, girlfriends, to practice your short game, or go for aces.
-Pin Locations. A few of the pin locations are situated on the edge of a hill, punishing missed ace-runs and bad putts.
Cons:
- Layout Confusion. There were two tee-pads for every pin, which might normally be a Pro; however, for such a small, compact course, all the dual tees did was make confusion. In some parts of the course, you finish a hole and there are so many tee-sign posts that it is basically trial and error to find the next tee-pad.
- Basket Confusion. Which basket do I shoot at??? The baskets weren't numbered; and, with two tee-pads shooting at each basket, and with multiple baskets in sight, it was hard to figure out if I was on the right hole or not.
- Plays Out, Not Back. The course plays away from the parking lot and never loops back to the parking lot. Therefore, to get back to the car, (or hole 10's tee), you have to walk from practically the furthest part of the course, back to the parking lot, and then, if you choose, retrace the course for the second loop.
- Missing Basket. Hole 8's basket seems to be missing… the Tee-pad too… I never did find it/them. And therefore, hole 17's basket is also missing, although, I did find 17's tee-pad.
Other Thoughts:
- I didn't have a lot of time to play this course. I was in Charlotte for an early morning business meeting and tried to sneak this course in before the meeting. With all the confusion and missing basket, it was hard to get a flow and I had to leave before playing the whole thing (i.e. "back 9"). However, I had seen all I needed to see… and wasn't about to make a second loop anyway.
- If you were on a road trip to Charlotte, this is probably the last course you would want to pick. However, if you were a beginner, have kids or a girlfriend, really like bagging new courses and reviewing them (like me), or have a 45 minutes to kill before a business meeting one mile away (like me), then Veterans could be fun. I stretched my legs and went into the business meeting with a smile on my face… so, it's not all bad.
- My Rankings. If you're planning a road trip to Charlotte, here are my rankings (of the courses I've played): Renny, Hornetts, Sugaw, Kilborne, Reedy, …………………Veterans.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dah, Dah, Dum! (Taps Is Playing!

1    7/18/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Losing this little gem of a Pitch and Putt course will be a real shame. I would have liked to have played it when it wasn't dying. It's set on small, little hilly section of the park offering some fun downhill throws. There are still some small laminated tee signs on short posts. They help a little but navigation is a problem. The baskets are single chain discatchers.
Cons: On about the first four holes, this ivy like vine (Is this called kudzu?) has just taken over and gotten out of control making at least one of these first holes unplayable. Navigation is about impossible. I guess one basket is missing and two others are broke with the basket part having slid down the pole and is currently setting on the ground. They're kinda funny looking! It either looks as though they were panced (sp.?). You know, when you pull someone's pants down. Or they (the baskets) are just trying to fit into the neighborhood here by sagging, with their pants down below their butt.
Other Thoughts: Regardless, I officially deem this course unplayable and unsafe and someone should get in contact with the park officials to salvage the baskets before they all get torn up. Man, it's such a shame when we are forced to close a course. Getting one built is often times such a beaucratic nighmare.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Practice

2-4    5/18/2008   6/2/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great for practice (short game, putting)
-Close to Kilborne and not too far from Sugaw!
-Good variation in holes considering its 9 holes (woods and open with elevation changes).
Cons: -Haven't been in a while, but when I went kudzu and construction were problems
-Course layout, watch the Be the disc on charlotte's dg club site to get a handle on layout. It can be confusing.
-Not the best part of town, but its close to Kilborne (hint hint).
Other Thoughts: Like one other reviewer said, if you know what to expect here than you'll be fine. Its good for practice, and when I've played there I actually used Veterans as practice before heading over to Kilborne to get my round in. It is what it is and if you're in the area or want to empty the bag or warm up for Kilborne, then Veterans is the place to go.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Interesting and addicting for a 9 holer

5+    5/20/2008   4/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (from the longs):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+ (The punishment on several of the holes is pretty appropriate for the level of inaccuracy of your throw. Miss early on these and you will be struggling to save par.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+ (Many are tight enough, although shortish, that achieving the perfect round on -9 is a challenge)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A (Great use of both - amazing really that there is so much variation on a 9 holer)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B- (The grove of woods that course plays through are pretty, but no seclusion from the downscale neighborhood the course is in)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good for practice

1    3/25/2008   6/10/2008
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 80  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2009
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Not much traffic.

- You can play a quick 9 (or 18) in no time.

- Great course to work on different shots. The hills can challenge your throws, especially when it gets windy (as it was the day I played).
Cons: - Make sure you check out a course map beforehand or you'll be totally confused by the layout. Every basket is shared by companion tees for the front and back nine, so that can throw you off a little. Also, the tee markers don't always do a great job of pointing you toward the correct baskets.

- It's not the most scenic area, but there's some development in the surrounding neighborhood that should improve that greatly.

- Along those lines, there's currently a lot of construction going on behind 8/17, and throwing downhill makes it easy to sail your drive beyond the hole into the fenced-off construction area.

*** UPDATE***

As of July 2008, the construction area has expanded and taken out one basket (#8/#17). Also, the amount of kudzu/undergrowth around the first 4 or so baskets is beyond ridiculous. Between the construction and the kudzu, I'm not sure which is encroaching on the course more. It has really taken a lot away from the course even in just the past few months. Hopefully these problems will be corrected after the construction around the park is completed.
Other Thoughts: Veterans isn't one of the better courses around, but it never seems to be crowded. This is good place to get a quick round in. If you realize that going in, you should get what you want out of the course.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice pitch and putt course

2-4    3/25/2008   4/25/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2009
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a good course to practice your short to mid-range game. Elevation changes and trees present good challenges.
- Great emphasis on accuracy. If you want to learn to throw tight shots, this is the perfect course.
- Only about 5 minutes from Kilborne, 10 minutes from Sugaw. So you can always squeeze this in before or after a round at one of those 18 hole courses.
Cons: Don't expect great things out of this course. It is what it is- a short course that isn't meant to overwhelm you. It's a tight course with holes close to each other, so it can be a little confusing first time playing, trying to determine which hole you're throwing to.
- Underbrush is thick on first 5 holes, so pay close attention to throws. Any shots that sail too far off line may be in trouble.
UPDATED 7/09 - underbrush has gotten out of control. It's no longer managed due to the fact the course is on its way out. You're taking the life of your discs in your own hand by playing these holes.
Other Thoughts: You don't need the driver on this course. No hole longer than 250 ft, and even that's a downhill hole. Not a heavily played course, so good opportunity to empty the bag and try multiple shots. Creek could come into play on 3/12, thick brush near 5/14 basket.

UPDATED 7/09
- Sad to see the course dying a slow death. This was a great change of pace course from the other 18-holers in the area. Always good for a cool-down round after playing Kilborne around the corner.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.