Albuquerque, NM 
Roosevelt Park Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #1 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Rosey

5+    6/12/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: alpha_dave
Played: 64  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes= One set of concrete tees, mostly in good condition.

Baskets= the baskets are in good shape and the pins are moved frequently. I don't think I've ever played in the same layout twice.

Signs & Stuff= signs are hit and miss, a few have useful information, but most are heavily vandalized. The tees are well enough marked to know that you are on the right pad, but sometimes its hard to tell exactly which basket you should be throwing to.
Really nice playground next to 1 & 10's tee pads.

Design= With such a small plot of land, the designers got as much disc golf in as they could. Locals also have at least one set of alternate tees that I believe are used for minis.

Dave's Point= The only course in ABQ, Rosey is an experience unto itself. The course has many "unique hazards" in the form of vagrants, bums, crashed out addicts, non-discing locals and folks playing with their dogs, most of which are aware enough of disc golf to find safe places to stand (I've had a gallery of bums gathered watching ace runs on hole seven before) It is a unique landscape in ABQ with lush grass, large mature trees and rolling hills.
Cons: Tee Boxes= some of the pads are sloped, minor issue though.

Baskets= Most are shared baskets, which can be confusing and downright dangerous at times. The pin numbers can be hard to see off of the tee, which makes navigation more difficult. I always have to remind myself basket 5 really is that close.

Design= Lots of crossing fairways with the shared baskets and changing locations, a local guide would be very helpful the first couple of times you play this course.

Signs&Stuff= Some of the signs are heavily vandalzed. No public bathroom at the course.
Very few benches on the actual course.

Dave's Point= You better have yo head on a swivel while playing Rosey. Be aware of where other groups are and watch out for non-golfers. Lot's of "unique hazards", last trip out we had a family setting up a tent next to the mando tree on 11…it forced a very safe shot.
Other Thoughts: Ratings Breakdown:

Tee Boxes= .50
Baskets=.25
Signs & Stuff= .25
Design= .50
Dave's Point= .50
total= 2.00

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course but...

5+    6/1/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: jamesp123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grass course with movable baskets.Moderately wooded and hilly conditions.Cement tee pads that are in great condition. There are several alternate courses for this course.
Cons: This is a large city park which only half of it is set up for disc golf yet people who come to the park ignore the other half and set up events in the middle of the disc golf course. Last weekend there was a wedding right on hole 17, so we made up an alternate real quick but they could have been on the other side of the park uninterrupted.Also there are homeless people living at the park and there is evidence of drug use there.
Other Thoughts: I really like the course but what bumps it down for me is the outside interference that is constantly there.if its not a family gathering or wedding its people playing games in the middle of the course and it doesnt matter if you were playing before they got there

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Terrain, Bad Course

2-4    7/2/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: Ghetto Leprechaun
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Terrain: Grassy, Hilly, many big, full trees.
Cons: Confusing layout: It's a guessing game as to where the next tee is.

Bums, drug addicts, and more! Lots of bums, addicts, and transients have made this park their home or temporary motel. I was out with a buddy once and he asked where the pin was. I literally told him, "You see that bum peeing in the tree over there? It's 20 feet to the left."

Trash, trash and more trash. I guess with bums comes trash. Empty booze bottles and general garbage scattered throughout the park.

Crowded park: The park can be crowded on the weekends. The other park goers have every right to be there but it can be detrimental to playing always looking out for them, waiting for them, worrying about hitting them, etc.

Humid: This may be the only humid place in all of NM and boy is it humid. (And this is coming from a Midwesterner)
Other Thoughts: If this was less crowded, cleaner, less confusing layout, and a few less bums/addicts this would be a great, great park. It reminds me of the parks from back home. But, I don't see that ending any time soon. It's too bad really. Great terrain, wasted...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What??

1    3/30/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nicely groomed course with play on a large hill. Baskets in good shape. Large mature trees come into play on many of the holes. Elevation is a big factor and enjoy the teepads on top of the hills. No underbrush to lose your discs in.
Cons: What were they thinking when they designed this course? All the baskets are shared which is ok, but the fairways intersect each other on multiple holes. You tee off over other fairways and lines. Way too close to each other and is a definate hazard. This course should be a 9 hole course, period! Trying to pack in a 18 hole course in this amount is land is unsafe. The map is not very helpful and there are definate navigation issues. It seems as though the pins could have been placed in better spots. The teepads were cement and in good shape, but some had some pretty dramatic slopes to them, not level. Lots of trash on the course, including lots of dog poop.
Other Thoughts: I would probably pass this course up the next time I am in the area. Way too much walking from tee to tee, especially when you can't even find the next tee. Trash on the course takes away from the experience. The confusing layout and design just doesn't flow together. If I just want to throw some discs at a basket, then I might stop here, but if I want to play a course where there is thought put into the design and a flow to it, then I would not come here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heads up !!!

2-4    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Great disc golf community, get out early on Sundays to play in their doubles league
*Really picturesque landscape, huge mature trees, lush green grass, nice manageable elevation change at one end of the park. Just have to ignore all the homeless people
*Championship level shots, good mix of long and short holes
Cons: * DANGEROUS. I was almost hit a few times and I almost hit some people.
* I would rate this course at least a 4 considering only the challenge that the holes present. But the environment of the course brings the rating way down.
* Course is crammed in a very small park. 10 baskets for 18 holes and with some blind shots from the tee box you may be throwing at a group playing a different hole number but they are going to the same basket as you.
* Some holes play right across the face of a tee box and you have to wait for people to clear.
* Lots of people who are completely oblivious to disc golf. People just lying in the grass in the middle of the course and lots of bums hangout here.
Other Thoughts: * First time I made the mistake of playing at 6 pm park was so crowded it took my concentration from throwing to keeping my head on a swivel. So go early to have a shot at a peaceful round.
* Met some serious locals that night though and they told me to come back on a Sunday morning to play their league and the course hadn't been filled with all of the non-discers yet. Very cool locals who have mapped out at least 3 courses here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.