Albuquerque, NM 
Roosevelt Park Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #2 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Teddy And FDR Would Be Proud!

1    3/27/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great piece of rolling land for a course. Just across the street from the Univeristy of NM. Lots of mature trees for those sweltering hot NM days. Green grass to walk on. A few ACE RUNS! Lots and lots of epic downhill shots. Tee pads are adequate. Signs are nice although I wish they showed the distance. Park was relatively litter free.
Cons: I did wake up one homeless dude when I banged in a putt at 7 AM. Sorry, he shouldn't be camping out right under the basket. Later I threw a great approach right over his head for a gimmee birdie. I don't think he noticed. I did let another homeless guy tee off with a couple of my discs. I think he's hooked! 10 baskets and 18 holes does make for a confusing layout. I could see this course getting mega crazy on a busy afternoon with discs flying everywhere and picknickers too, what a zoo that would be. # 4 is listed as a par 4. It's a eagle waiting to happen.
Other Thoughts: This was easily my favorite of the 9 New Mexico courses that I was able to play. The challenge probably isn't there for the advanced to pro player. There are the safety issues. But I'm a total rec player. I'd play it at odd hours stepping/stumbling over the occasional homeless fellows and loving all those epic downhills.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Roosevelt Park...

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course located right next to the university. The park is located in a very picturesque part of Albuquerque. Holes utilize trees, hills, and O.B. very well. Tee pads were ok, but a little on the small side. Baskets were in good condition and were all marked correctly.
Lots of fun shots to play. Tons of elevation changes with some elevated tees. A few ace runs (#5, 7, 18).
Cons: Navigation issues. Almost every fairway crosses another fairway. Every basket (I think) was shared with another tee. Long walks between tees and some holes you have to walk all the way back to where you teed off the previous hole. Graffiti is a major problem...almost everything has spray paint on it making it impossible to read some of the tee signs(which weren't very good to begin with).
Other Thoughts: This course probably should have been a 9 hole course with alternate tees, making it an 18. It's crammed up into a small space when there's more empty space in the same park. Sprinklers in the morning seem to be aimed at the tees and baskets, but shut off at 7a.m. so it shouldn't be a problem for most people. Lots of not disc golfers, but they usually stay out of your way. This course could be a 5 disc course if it had more space.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/13/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: DanG
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of shade, with hills for exercise. The permenant tee boxes are nice and the basket locations change often. This keeps playing this course fresh.
Cons: There are alot of people wondering the park and pay no attention to disc golf. The bums and hobos are permanent fixtures. But, of all the people in the park, they are the most aware of the discs and expect to get hit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A small course with Big trees

2-4    6/16/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: awsome layout alot of diffrent shots theres is no way u can get posibly bored with this course with diffrent pin locations to make more intrestting there are cement teepads on every hole as well there are alot of big trees and alot of downhill shots that are like 440 feet and u chuck a midrange on and u can park
Cons: theres are alot of bums in the park who do drugs they dont bother u but just bring the place down in saftey and makes the course lokk bad but besides that it does not make the course bad
Other Thoughts: also play the courses by it and there are alot of fast food places nearby

I aced hole 5A with a dx avair on 6/17/10

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course. Much more elevation than you expect, especially in such a small park. People in park seemed more aware of the golfers and were more courteous than most any other park I have played. Very large trees, very shady and fun to play around. Multiple positions, varying lengths. Some holes were a bit too easy. Nothing too challenging.
Cons: Navigation is tough, baskets are too close together, 8 holes are shared baskets. Public park, lots of people.
Could have tighter fairways.
Other Thoughts: I hope to play this one again on another trip.
Its questionable whether tourneys could be run smoothly with all the overlap.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Roosevelt Park

2-4    4/2/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Sheriff288
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice Park, challenging in the wind, some nice holes!! local players and folks in the park extremely nice and helpful. Even the homeless guy was friendly.
Cons: the crossover and blind throws keep you on your toes.
Other Thoughts: nice shaded hangout for the college kids, couple drum circles when I was playing, groups very friendly. all in all a very nice course, with very friendly locals.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Small, but with Good Shots

5+    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: iceparrot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Off the Tee: This course requires having a variety of shots in your bag, especially when the wind picks up. A lot of the tees are up on hills which allows for long downhill drives, but the difficulty of these shots is increased by the large trees. The tees are nice flat concrete platforms, but might be a little too narrow for those who really rip a disc

Putting and Approach Shots: Approach shots are critical on this course and require thought to ensure you have a putt at the basket, which are often on the sides of hills or tucked in a small grove of trees. When the wind picks up on this course, this is the most difficult part of the game.

Environment: The course is great in the hot Albuquerque summer due to the shady park. Several of the holes, especially off the tee are just fantastic to look at.
Cons: The course is simply too packed in. As a nine hole course it could have been fine, but making the course work for 18 holes with 10 baskets in a small and sometimes crowded with non-discer space can be frustrating. It's one of those cases were less is more.

The course is difficult to navigate the first several times, as the layout isn't quite logical. The baskets are numbered to help, but you can't always see it from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Definitely try to go early on weekend mornings or during the week to avoid crowds of non-discers. Many of the people who hang out in this park realize you are playing disc golf and will let you throw over their picnic, but it does make one nervous.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What??

1    3/30/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nicely groomed course with play on a large hill. Baskets in good shape. Large mature trees come into play on many of the holes. Elevation is a big factor and enjoy the teepads on top of the hills. No underbrush to lose your discs in.
Cons: What were they thinking when they designed this course? All the baskets are shared which is ok, but the fairways intersect each other on multiple holes. You tee off over other fairways and lines. Way too close to each other and is a definate hazard. This course should be a 9 hole course, period! Trying to pack in a 18 hole course in this amount is land is unsafe. The map is not very helpful and there are definate navigation issues. It seems as though the pins could have been placed in better spots. The teepads were cement and in good shape, but some had some pretty dramatic slopes to them, not level. Lots of trash on the course, including lots of dog poop.
Other Thoughts: I would probably pass this course up the next time I am in the area. Way too much walking from tee to tee, especially when you can't even find the next tee. Trash on the course takes away from the experience. The confusing layout and design just doesn't flow together. If I just want to throw some discs at a basket, then I might stop here, but if I want to play a course where there is thought put into the design and a flow to it, then I would not come here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The people make this course twice as good

5+    8/25/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 78  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good location close to UNM/Downtown area. Manicured lawn year round. Multiple pin placements. Many alternate courses mapped out to add challenge and variety. As much as social experience as a golf experience. Amazing group of local golfers, just go to a Wed. night doubles or Sunday tag challenge and find out! Can go to this course at any time of day and see someone you know (if you are a local, if not, just meet one!)
Cons: Pedestrian traffic, crossing fairways, bums.
Other Thoughts: I love this course for many reasons other than it being my home course. The community makes this course great!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heads up !!!

2-4    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Great disc golf community, get out early on Sundays to play in their doubles league
*Really picturesque landscape, huge mature trees, lush green grass, nice manageable elevation change at one end of the park. Just have to ignore all the homeless people
*Championship level shots, good mix of long and short holes
Cons: * DANGEROUS. I was almost hit a few times and I almost hit some people.
* I would rate this course at least a 4 considering only the challenge that the holes present. But the environment of the course brings the rating way down.
* Course is crammed in a very small park. 10 baskets for 18 holes and with some blind shots from the tee box you may be throwing at a group playing a different hole number but they are going to the same basket as you.
* Some holes play right across the face of a tee box and you have to wait for people to clear.
* Lots of people who are completely oblivious to disc golf. People just lying in the grass in the middle of the course and lots of bums hangout here.
Other Thoughts: * First time I made the mistake of playing at 6 pm park was so crowded it took my concentration from throwing to keeping my head on a swivel. So go early to have a shot at a peaceful round.
* Met some serious locals that night though and they told me to come back on a Sunday morning to play their league and the course hadn't been filled with all of the non-discers yet. Very cool locals who have mapped out at least 3 courses here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.