Albuquerque, NM 
Roosevelt Park Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #17 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Roosevelt Rocks, but...

2-4    10/4/2015   10/26/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 259  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Roosevelt Park in Albuquerque is set in a beautiful city park, with grassy hills that are spotted with mature trees. There are 9 baskets, each with two concrete tees, combining for an 18 hole layout. The hills offer a nice elevation element, and the trees make the lines more interesting. Everything is par 3, so you will get birdie chances, but there are a few tricky drives.
Cons: The course layout is confusing, and the multiple tee pads often result in holes that are too near each other. I printed the map linked to the DGCR page, and still had trouble navigating. Others using the park to walk dogs or just hang out are another issue.
Other Thoughts: While the course offers some fun throws in a nice setting, it is hard to play a round and not be interrupted waiting for park goers wandering through or other disc golfers playing adjacent holes. The shared baskets are far from ideal, and the signs were not very helpful. I have played all 18 holes on a previous trip years ago, but couldn't complete the circuit on my most recent round. A Sunday morning group was preparing to begin league play, and dog walkers and homeless slowed progress prior to that. It is what it is, I'm not sure redesign would help a whole lot. If you are going to play the course, try to get a local guide the first time and visit off peak hours. A fun course that that has a little too much going in a cramped space. I would rate it higher if it was better marked and not so busy. There are not many options for disc golf in ABQ, while this course is far from ideal, I'm sure it is well loved by those who live there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, if you can avoid the crowds

1    5/31/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: Hyzer Ale
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Park Setting
- Park has water fountains, trash cans, dog bags
- Good mix of challenging and straight forward holes
- Nice Elevation change
- Lots of trees/shade
- Good Variety of holes
- Mostly nice tees (some had and incline and decline)
- Quality Baskets
Cons: - Too many crossing fairways
- Shared baskets and fairways meant a lot of waiting, even at 8am. Can't imagine playing this course in the afternoon
- Graffiti on some tee signs
Other Thoughts: Overall, I had a good time playing this course. There was a nice mix of easy holes and holes with a little higher difficulty. The total size of the course is way too small to have 18 holes. On almost any tee pad, you are throwing at or across another fairway. The shared baskets led to both confusion and a lot of waiting even while playing an early morning round. There were a few times that I was almost hit by a disc by someone on another hole. I have a feeling that this course is nearly un-playable when the crowds get up there.

If you could have this same course, with out any crossing fairways or shared baskets I would score it closer to a 4/5. Even with the that I was going back and forth between a 3 and a 3.5 (I wish we could do quarter points on DGCR) but felt with the overlap I had to go with a 3.

I would recommend playing this course, just try your hardest not to go at a time that it might be busy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/26/2014   8/5/2014
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 225  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of grass in the park, which is a nice change of pace and easier on your disc. The tee pads and baskets were fine. The holes had a variety of distances that use a variety of shots. They did a good job of getting the most out of the space. If the holes were spread out and didn't cross this course could be a 3.5.
Cons: Use baskets multiple times which makes it confusing on what basket to shoot for. Sometimes the baskets were really close together and I ended up aiming for the wrong basket. Then when finishing a basket there were 3 tee pads equal distances away and I had to guess (sometimes wrong) which tee pad was the next one. Not very much parking and you have to guess where to start. (Park on the west side of the park).
Other Thoughts: I ended up being frustrated and did not finish the course. It was crowded and I often had to wait on others because they were using the same basket. Once there was someone waiting at a tee pad that was in my path so I waited. He was waiting on a group that was using a shared basket. Very frustrating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good fun course

1    8/2/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: mtnryan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice long open drives, double chain baskets is always nice, love the hills for extra challenge, hills help for a good workout.
Cons: Very hard to figure out for first time players at the course, back nine go to same baskets from front nine so makes navigation a little bit harder.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/12/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: alpha_dave
Played: 90  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Boxes= One set of concrete tees, mostly in good condition.

Baskets= the baskets are in good shape and the pins are moved frequently. I don't think I've ever played in the same layout twice.

Signs & Stuff= signs are hit and miss, a few have useful information, but most are heavily vandalized. The tees are well enough marked to know that you are on the right pad, but sometimes its hard to tell exactly which basket you should be throwing to.
Really nice playground next to 1 & 10's tee pads.

Design= With such a small plot of land, the designers got as much disc golf in as they could. Locals also have at least one set of alternate tees that I believe are used for minis.

Dave's Point= The only course in ABQ, Rosey is an experience unto itself. The course has many "unique hazards" in the form of vagrants, bums, crashed out addicts, non-discing locals and folks playing with their dogs, most of which are aware enough of disc golf to find safe places to stand (I've had a gallery of bums gathered watching ace runs on hole seven before) It is a unique landscape in ABQ with lush grass, large mature trees and rolling hills.
Cons: Tee Boxes= some of the pads are sloped, minor issue though.

Baskets= Most are shared baskets, which can be confusing and downright dangerous at times. The pin numbers can be hard to see off of the tee, which makes navigation more difficult. I always have to remind myself basket 5 really is that close.

Design= Lots of crossing fairways with the shared baskets and changing locations, a local guide would be very helpful the first couple of times you play this course.

Signs&Stuff= Some of the signs are heavily vandalzed. No public bathroom at the course.
Very few benches on the actual course.

Dave's Point= You better have yo head on a swivel while playing Rosey. Be aware of where other groups are and watch out for non-golfers. Lot's of "unique hazards", last trip out we had a family setting up a tent next to the mando tree on forced a very safe shot.
Other Thoughts: Ratings Breakdown:

Tee Boxes= .50
Signs & Stuff= .25
Design= .50
Dave's Point= .50
total= 2.00

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The social course

2-4    11/25/2001   11/25/2013
Review By: Mako8
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is challenging because they change the pins and tees often. There are so many varieties of shots it is hard to become bored at this course. The cement tee pads are great and offer sure footing for the long downhill and uphill shots. You will use all disc in your bag. Very nice green grass with large trees make this course very scenic in the heart of ABQ. Great place to meet other disc golfers and get the "skinny" on the DG scene. Holes are well layed out and signage is present.
Cons: The bums and transients frequent the park often for its location. They do not watch out for discs, they sleep in the park, ask you for money and sometimes have seen players being bothered by the bums. There are a lot of families that use the park but they are aware of the discs and watch out for them.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast to play with so many different tee and pin locations you can play there all day and have different shots. Some of the long downhill shots are great, you just need to watch out for other players as some fairways are crossed, which you can't help when the course is set in a "smaller" park. Play in the morning and you will get less traffic, but there is always some kind of event happening and they are not concerned with the course. Play at your discretion but please Enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course but...

5+    6/1/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: jamesp123
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grass course with movable baskets.Moderately wooded and hilly conditions.Cement tee pads that are in great condition. There are several alternate courses for this course.
Cons: This is a large city park which only half of it is set up for disc golf yet people who come to the park ignore the other half and set up events in the middle of the disc golf course. Last weekend there was a wedding right on hole 17, so we made up an alternate real quick but they could have been on the other side of the park uninterrupted.Also there are homeless people living at the park and there is evidence of drug use there.
Other Thoughts: I really like the course but what bumps it down for me is the outside interference that is constantly there.if its not a family gathering or wedding its people playing games in the middle of the course and it doesnt matter if you were playing before they got there

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not safe

1    1/27/2012   1/21/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small city park with great grass and nice mature trees. There are lots of nice elevation changes that are used pretty well. There are tricky uphill shots and some fun downhill shots. A few of the pins are in spots that offer some rollaway potential adding some difficulty to the short game.

There is decent distance variety, with some short reachable holes, and some longer shots that stretch your arm out a little. A few of the shots have tighter lines that force more technical line shaping, and there are some nice low ceilings to navigate.
Cons: The layout is a bit of a safety nightmare. The baskets are shared and the holes all cross over other fairways, tees and baskets. Just about every single shot risks hitting someone on another hole. This park would have made for a really nice 9 hole course, and instead 18 holes were crammed in.

The crowded and crossing layout also makes for some navigation issues. There are always several tees around, so it takes some time to figure out which is the correct one especially with a couple missing signs. There are also many baskets visible from each tee, so it can be a little unclear on where to throw (or if you're really supposed to throw right over 2 other baskets to get to the correct one).
Other Thoughts: This would have been a fantastic park to install a 9 hole course with a beginner friendly set of tees and a more challenging set. Instead, there's a very unsafe layout that crams too many holes in too small a space.

Beginners will find the shots here challenging, but there isn't too much punishment for errant shots so it won't be too frustrating. More experienced players will find some really nice challenges on some of the holes, along with some easy birdies. If you can play this course when nobody else is using the park it's a fun round, otherwise be ready to wait and ready to duck.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Improvements needed

2-4    7/28/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 33  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Trees! Not many courses with trees in ABQ.
-Nice concrete level tee pads.
-Elevation changes add to the challenge.
-The only grassy 18 hole course in the ABQ area.
-Multiple pin positions allow for a variety of hole variations.
Cons: -TONS of people on a sunny Saturday afternoon
-Signage is damaged. Lots of signs graffiti'd up.
-Sharing baskets with people coming from a completely different direction can get confusing.
-TRASH littered all over throughout the park
-Homeless, transients, and evidence of drug use throughout the park.
Other Thoughts: BUM CENTRAL. Bums passed out in fairways, near holes. Generally not a problem, just a slight hazard.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/2/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great use of the space, love the elevation changes,
Cons: cross path with other holes and sharing baskets so must really watch for where others are
Other Thoughts: if a first timer take the map of the course it was very very helpful

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.